Hi all, my MB temperature is on average 60 degree C and at one point during burning 80. Wat's the heat on your MB's
Macbook heat
Jun 5 2007, 03:30 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
256 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi all, my MB temperature is on average 60 degree C and at one point during burning 80. Wat's the heat on your MB's
Jun 5 2007, 03:40 AM
292 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Sunway |
wah, how come will 80? quite serious leh..
my mbp temperature is on average 52 something.. |
Jun 5 2007, 06:34 AM
121 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Whoah...that really is toasty....
Mine really doesnt average more than 33 to 34 degrees....I start to "freak" out a lil as soon as it gets to 35 - 36 and turn off my MB. |
Jun 5 2007, 06:50 AM
753 posts Joined: May 2006 From: cj , sa. |
where is the 'fan' for macbook?
cant find it.. |
Jun 5 2007, 07:38 AM
360 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: PJ |
mine was around 50-60 as i'm using wifi everytime....
without wifi, it would be around 40-55 sometimes.. it goes to 80 something when i'm playing sims2 n frozen throne.. |
Jun 5 2007, 08:39 AM
1,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
its quite normal to have this heat i think.. u even can cook egg..
Jun 5 2007, 09:11 AM
1,479 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Mine is always around the 60 region. I've reached 80 before, by accessing some flash based site that crapped out on me...
Jun 5 2007, 11:51 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
30-34 degrees?! I've never even seen mine go below the 38 mark!!
Jun 5 2007, 12:34 PM
767 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Brisbane, Australia |
Is there any external notebook fan for it?
Jun 5 2007, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(Cello @ Jun 5 2007, 12:34 PM) tat does work for macbook... no sure bout mbpas there arent any vent holes for heat to dispend under the mb... cooler pad wont work in this case... i once borrow my fren's cooler master cooling pad... the temp r still as usual... but there will be obvious temp drop if u r in a aircon room... |
Jun 5 2007, 03:28 PM
I have a cooler master but it does not help the cooling at all. The bottom enclosure is always at 32 but the cpu is 60 on normal emailing and surfing. The heat does disipate from the keyboard in which this case i have a keyboard protector but removing it only helps 1-2 degree so i better send it to Apple to have a look
Jun 5 2007, 03:42 PM
767 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Brisbane, Australia |
QUOTE(baby26 @ Jun 5 2007, 03:28 PM) I have a cooler master but it does not help the cooling at all. The bottom enclosure is always at 32 but the cpu is 60 on normal emailing and surfing. The heat does disipate from the keyboard in which this case i have a keyboard protector but removing it only helps 1-2 degree so i better send it to Apple to have a look Awwww...good.Get some information for us too! I'm going to get a MacBook soon. |
Jun 5 2007, 03:45 PM
182 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
put a book or sth under yr MB to elevate it , so that you can hv better airflow for the MB . esp in hot weathers like in Malaysia , putting it on a flat surface definitely will coz the temp to shoot up. So either u go get a stand for it , or use it in an aricond room if you dun want yr MB to shoot up to 80 degrees.
Jun 5 2007, 03:49 PM
344 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuching |
mine is about 45-55..
Jun 5 2007, 03:57 PM
2,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In front of my computer |
i always use a pillow, yes a pillow, under my macbook....in fact, i seldom use it on a proper table...either a pillow or my bed..heheh.....
my temp is always at about 60 degrees...with the enclosure bottom at about 30-35 degrees..... dunno y it runs this cool even with blockages under my macbook....hehe |
Jun 5 2007, 06:29 PM
@lokgotz,
Putting a pillow underneath your MB?! Just can't wait to get your hands on the latest MBs huh?! *g* Good way to give urself a reason to get a new one *g* Am sure your MB's serving you more than well at this point in time so sayang it a bit lah |
Jun 5 2007, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 5 2007, 03:57 PM) i always use a pillow, yes a pillow, under my macbook....in fact, i seldom use it on a proper table...either a pillow or my bed..heheh..... lol. my friend . salute. Apple even say Do Not Place your macbook on a pillow or cushion. my temp is always at about 60 degrees...with the enclosure bottom at about 30-35 degrees..... dunno y it runs this cool even with blockages under my macbook....hehe |
Jun 5 2007, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 5 2007, 06:29 PM) @lokgotz, haha..but the temperature is always at normal....no overheating and stuff...and it's too hot to put in on my lap, even with jeans on.....Putting a pillow underneath your MB?! Just can't wait to get your hands on the latest MBs huh?! *g* Good way to give urself a reason to get a new one *g* Am sure your MB's serving you more than well at this point in time so sayang it a bit lah i'll *try* to use it on a table....hehe..... QUOTE(rhesusv @ Jun 5 2007, 07:00 PM) did they say that??must have missed it.... |
Jun 5 2007, 07:08 PM
@lokgotz,
It's not advisable to put ur notebook (whether it's a Mac or PC) on a pillow or cushion cause it blocks the air flow - u should know about it... no? *g* But anyhow, admittedly, I do rest my MBP on a pillow when I use it on the bed but it's more often than not left lying on the desk @rhesusv, He's just finding creative ways to either claim a brand new one, or buy a brand new one |
Jun 5 2007, 07:16 PM
2,573 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Mine is usually ard 52 - 55 C at normal room temperature without aircond.
Jun 5 2007, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 5 2007, 07:08 PM) @lokgotz, yeah....i know that...but the bed is too tempting!!!!It's not advisable to put ur notebook (whether it's a Mac or PC) on a pillow or cushion cause it blocks the air flow - u should know about it... no? *g* But anyhow, admittedly, I do rest my MBP on a pillow when I use it on the bed but it's more often than not left lying on the desk @rhesusv, He's just finding creative ways to either claim a brand new one, or buy a brand new one and i dont see any air vents at the bottom of the MB...and temperature is running fine... anyway guys, DO NOT DO WHAT I DO....I'M INSANE!!!hehehehe.... *gets off bed and start typing on table* |
Jun 5 2007, 07:26 PM
@lokgotz,
Are u running any fan cooler program? I think it's pretty good the fact that the temperature of your MB is normal even when u use it in bed... Go ahead and do what u always do - just be comfortable and i always believe... just don't do the extreme and u'll be fine Ok.. we're going way off TOPIC here!! *grins* Anyways, if my MBP ever ran up to 80 degrees celcius I probably will freak!!!!! It might have, I just don't have my eyes looking at the temperature 24/7 !!! kEKekekkeke And, having said that... it's running at 44.8 right now |
Jun 5 2007, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 5 2007, 07:26 PM) @lokgotz, i have smcfancontrol installed.....but i only run it when i am photoshoping and stuff...i dont normally run it...Are u running any fan cooler program? I think it's pretty good the fact that the temperature of your MB is normal even when u use it in bed... Go ahead and do what u always do - just be comfortable and i always believe... just don't do the extreme and u'll be fine Ok.. we're going way off TOPIC here!! *grins* Anyways, if my MBP ever ran up to 80 degrees celcius I probably will freak!!!!! It might have, I just don't have my eyes looking at the temperature 24/7 !!! kEKekekkeke And, having said that... it's running at 44.8 right now |
Jun 5 2007, 08:08 PM
@lokgotz,
Ok.. I have some fan control too but I don't know what - kEKekke Just got the shop to install it and so as long as it works I don't care what it is.. And, uh... don't need to even bother asking me when it's switched on and off - i assume it's automatic !! hAHahAHhahAHhaHA... BUT please let me know if i'm wrong! LoL |
Jun 5 2007, 08:29 PM
u r not wrong..the fan controller on ur mac runs automatically....if it gets too hot, the fan spins faster....
if u launch the app, u can control how fast u want the fan to spin.....something like that..... |
Jun 5 2007, 11:15 PM
@lokgotz,
I don't bother running the application since the shop set it for me so i leave it in its set 'default' mode. The very few times I run this application is to just check the current temperature - *grins*.... which reminds me... wanna check that against iStatpro's information for consistency Will update all if it's entirely out of scale |
Jun 5 2007, 11:28 PM
143 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
My Macbook going heat only when I use both Adobe softwares. I think it depend on the softwares too, if the software use a lot of the resources, the fan will start spinning faster and louder... My macbook went up to 80 degree c before too...
Jun 6 2007, 02:23 AM
I have iStat and CoreDuoTemp both showing the same temperature reading
Jun 6 2007, 03:19 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
when you guys talk about MACBOOK, you must identify whether it's the Core2Duo version or the Core Duo version.
AFAIK the heat levels produced by them are different. |
Jun 6 2007, 05:30 AM
@lokgotz,
hahaha ya. they did put that in their manual. Besides that , when i m in the aircond room the temp of my MB seldom goes more than 60 . |
Jun 6 2007, 04:31 PM
Macbook 1.83Ghz C2D
Average operating temp = 60 Highest temp = 80 Wifi on, Bluetooth on, some web surfing and IM |
Jun 9 2007, 12:08 AM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jun 5 2007, 07:48 PM) i have smcfancontrol installed.....but i only run it when i am photoshoping and stuff...i dont normally run it... lokgotz,what do you mean smcfancontrol? what's that? >< By the way, when you do photoshop, what's the highest temperature it shoot? When you say photoshop, is it Adobe photoshop? or Apple Aperture? or iPhoto? Sorry, i'm kind of interested, dont mind answering my questions? |
Jun 9 2007, 02:25 AM
QUOTE(uchan @ Jun 9 2007, 12:08 AM) lokgotz, download the smcFanControl here. It's a small app that enables you to control how fast you want ur MB/MBP to spin, the faster it spins, the cooler your mac gets because it exhausts the hot air from your mac...your mac's fan will spin faster when it detects hot temperature....but with smcfancontrol, you could control how fast u want your fan to spin...hehehwhat do you mean smcfancontrol? what's that? >< By the way, when you do photoshop, what's the highest temperature it shoot? When you say photoshop, is it Adobe photoshop? or Apple Aperture? or iPhoto? Sorry, i'm kind of interested, dont mind answering my questions? Photoshop i meant was Adobe photoshop, illustrator and stuff and sometimes when i run processing intensive apps....i dont know bout u guys but whenever i am streaming from youtube(2-3 videos) my macbook runs hotter and the fan spins faster... i hope i answered your questions...let me know if u dont understand...heheh |
Jul 24 2007, 11:17 PM
334 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: United State of Malaysia |
y u guys din talk about ibook g4???
hehehe....my ibook usually will get heat when i turn abt half n hour.... but i'm not sure about the degree Celsius... any solution??? btw,how to check the degree celsius in the system??? |
Jul 25 2007, 07:33 AM
2,939 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: localhost |
mine usually average 52-60 C
if i'm using Toast 8 ...the heat will increase until 80..like baby26 |
Jul 25 2007, 12:01 PM
6,738 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia | Eau Claire, Wisconsin |
Urm, dude. Once in school I was playing Halo Demo on Mac OS X. Temperature was 60C. When my Dad picked me up from school. I just closed the screen (sleep mode). When I opened it in the car (2 minutes later) Temperature was 98C. I can show you screen shot (SS). I used Core Duo Temp to monitor my temperature.
Jul 25 2007, 12:02 PM
bottomline = use air-cond if you have more money ...and also , good air-flowing
Jul 25 2007, 05:39 PM
770 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
mine is around 50 - 60 .
it runs faster with parallels desktop or opening a lot of tap under firefox. mine macbook got the click click click sound after 30 seconds to 1 minutes like that . is it consider ok ? i am not too sure what, may b is hard disc spin eh |
Jul 25 2007, 07:32 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
lol resting a MB on a pillow? never tried that..but whenever I get my hands on a school MB I usually have it at around 60. I prefer PC, no doubt.
Jul 26 2007, 04:58 AM
5,252 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Apple MACland |
for my Macbook 1.83Ghz C2D
currently 63 with wifi and adobe running and it's hot! can't imagine 80 |
Jul 26 2007, 04:16 PM
222 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
just get one of these from ikea.
http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/10027589 beats resting them on your lap or on the bed. i must confess that i dunno how to check the temperature of the laptop. if it feels uncomfortably warm, it probably is. This post has been edited by bola: Jul 26 2007, 04:21 PM |
Jul 26 2007, 04:43 PM
buy iLap ...end of story
iLap = Rm300 plus |
Jul 26 2007, 05:29 PM
kevler,
Do you own an iLap? If you do, how much difference in temperature drop does it make? thanks |
Jul 26 2007, 05:35 PM
i never buy that thing ...but i have made experiment where if there's good air-flowing beneath the laptop , the heat will reduce by itself.
so iLap is one of the solution to fade the heat away from Macbook/Pro |
Jul 26 2007, 11:49 PM
159 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
mine's c2d
average = 60 C max = 84 C here's a screenshot for the 84C... http://bp3.blogger.com/_P2frQZtLMxA/RqjApi...BDeg%2Bcopy.jpg This post has been edited by cazed: Jul 26 2007, 11:50 PM |
Jul 27 2007, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(bola @ Jul 26 2007, 04:16 PM) just get one of these from ikea. I have one of these but it's not comfortable where it's hard that you have to adjust your body to it's height and strains my back http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/10027589 beats resting them on your lap or on the bed. i must confess that i dunno how to check the temperature of the laptop. if it feels uncomfortably warm, it probably is. |
Jul 27 2007, 03:12 PM
427 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(cazed @ Jul 26 2007, 11:49 PM) mine's c2d dont you think it abit too hot?average = 60 C max = 84 C here's a screenshot for the 84C... http://bp3.blogger.com/_P2frQZtLMxA/RqjApi...BDeg%2Bcopy.jpg average 60 and max is 84, almost boiling T_T |
Jul 27 2007, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(cazed @ Jul 26 2007, 11:49 PM) mine's c2d average = 60 C max = 84 C here's a screenshot for the 84C... http://bp3.blogger.com/_P2frQZtLMxA/RqjApi...BDeg%2Bcopy.jpg QUOTE(uchan @ Jul 27 2007, 03:12 PM) er...my c2d 2.0Ghz macbook is almost the same... i got my wifi on 24/7, n transmission then got tat temp... 80+ when i'm playing dota in mac... it goes somewhere around 55 if i din turn on my wifi. i'm getting used of it thou... the heat din affect my hand... the palm rest is juz normal... This post has been edited by jensen_tidus: Jul 27 2007, 04:37 PM |
Jul 27 2007, 06:47 PM
659 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Russia with Love |
mine too... 80+ when running on real player, microsoft powerpoint etc. (already got smcfan control but for me it make not much different) i think it is normal for mb n mbp.
Jul 27 2007, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(torreto @ Jul 27 2007, 06:47 PM) mine too... 80+ when running on real player, microsoft powerpoint etc. (already got smcfan control but for me it make not much different) i think it is normal for mb n mbp. i think real player is ur source of high temp...whenever i watch a .rm movie... it always boast the temp till 80+ de... so now i tried not to view in full screen... |
Jul 28 2007, 03:24 AM
Mine with Wifi and Abode Photoshop + Itunes is only at 76C atm.
Jul 30 2007, 03:03 PM
Validating
25 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
i just start my MB n its above 30C ady, is it a problem??
Dec 5 2007, 12:20 AM
333 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
ok guys, i'm not sure will this help u. but i'm using cooler (cooler master make with full aluminum and with 3 fans for my mbp) seems not getting a hot temp. but i think i will get iLap because i feel that iLap got a better air flow and it didn't use USB port. my cooler use one USB port to power the 3 fans.
| Change to: | 0.0266sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:49 AM |