Recommendation for rim & tyre upgrade(TOYOTA VIOS)
Jonsnow68
Oct 21 2018, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(krazymy @ Oct 20 2018, 09:12 PM) I'm currently driving Toyota Vios NCP42(First Gen) and thinking about improving my car's handling and some other light modification. I will start from changing a sport spring, then follow by rim&tyre upgrade. Any suggestions sifus? I'm leaning to 17" . I think @6UE5T explained everything you need to know very well. Going from 14" to 15" will bring a noticeable improvement on your handling. I went from 14" to 15" on my myvi and the improvement was quite big. 15" gives you more option for good tyres with a lower price. 15" rims are affordable too. Your vios doesn't have an overly large fender gap so 15" rims with 195/55/15 tyres will look just nice. Upgrade to lowering springs with performance absorbers and you'll smile everytime you layan corners/bends. My suggestion, go for 15/55/15 tyres with advanti storm series. Their 15" rim is only 4.9kg. But do take note of the rims offset. Wrong offest will cause your tyres to rub your fenders.
Jonsnow68
Oct 23 2018, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(krazymy @ Oct 23 2018, 12:17 PM) I'm going to lower my car anyway to gain better handling and get better look, of course it would be best to keep the comfortness at the same time. How would you suggest me to reach my needs in the most economical way? For example changing just the spring itself, or change the absorber too? Or modify my stock absorber to serviceable or even get a HI/LOW? Any advice would be helpful thanks! Most economical way? Probably with ftuned springs + stock absorbers. Ftuned claims their springs can be paired with stock absorbers so it shouldn't be a problem. Use it till it wears out then you can decide if you want to upgrade to adjustables or better absorbers. For me, I feel sports springs + the right absorbers can give you almost the same comfort levels as stock. I'm using eibach prokit and paired with my stock kyb absorbers. The comfort was alright. Now I changed to kyb rs ultra absorber, the comfort is slightly improved with better high speed stability. They say ftuned springs has the same comfort levels with eibach so it probably should be fine. I have no experience on adjustables so I can't comment on that.
Jonsnow68
Oct 23 2018, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(krazymy @ Oct 23 2018, 03:20 PM) Great advice you gave there, thanks! It sounds logical and reasonable, I'm gonna do it your way in this part since you've got some experience in that and it's almost the same from what I've heard from the others. Have you guys heard of HWL? Heard great reviews from them too, I asked for a quotation from Ftuned and RM380 for the spring itself + RM150 for the installation is what they offer. Sounds reasonable? You're welcome. Yes, I have a few friends using hwl. It performs pretty well for the price you're paying. Rm150 for installation is a little expensive. Does it includes alignment? Try surveying around for installation cost. I installed at my regular tyre shop for rm60 excluding alignment.