Smart Tag, RM130, Merdeka RM50

tester1979
post Jun 5 2007, 02:15 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jun 5 2007, 01:24 AM)
Take note that these new smart tags in this promotion does not have the balance display anymore.
oh...did not notice that at first....

then this badge of smart tags are "stupid" la.....

lucky i bought mine years back....and my first gen one is on my old car.....

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 5 2007, 09:01 AM)
anyone has experienced smart tag not working or scanning machine not working tht u hav to do emergency break to stop b4 d bar...?
usually nothing wrong with the toll booth....only the person....because if everyone else can pass through nicely....why that person cannot.......

some people hold it and some forget to put......follow instructionlah......stick and install at the windscreen and must install in certain angle as shown in the manual.....

do that sure no problem to pass through......

those people who kena block by these people sure get pissed off....and then you'll hear horn blaring.......

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 5 2007, 09:22 AM)
There is a TNG reader at the Smart Tag lane for manual scanning, right?  So if the queue in TNG lane is long, just go to Smart Tag lane and scan manually la...
nope.....dun have.....

also regarding the price, if I remember correctly.....

1st GEN -- RM275 then drop to RM250
2nd GEN -- RM250, promotion RM100 if upload RM100 in touch n go card
3rd GEN -- as the promotion above but dun have LCD display
tester1979
post Jun 5 2007, 03:14 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Jun 5 2007, 02:24 PM)
alot of people who got stuck at smart tag lanes

reason
1) battery sudah ko-ed
2) tint too thick
3) din put properly

those type of people deserved to be shot
nod.gif
agree icon_rolleyes.gif

waiting to witness someone with 4X4 driving fast and whack these people from behind......

QUOTE(stacko @ Jun 5 2007, 02:52 PM)
Actually if SmartTag and TNG lanes are long, then you can use any of the Cash lanes for manual scanning. This is true with the Damansara toll, not sure about others, but I remembered reading that TNG can be used at all toll lanes, except SmartTag lanes.

In the evening, when exiting the Damansara toll, sometimes it is useless with SmartTag or TNG, easier to pass through with TNG on Cash lane and then squeeze yourself from the outer left lane.

My SmartTag cost me RM220 and been using daily since July 2001. I consider a good investment cos it saves me countless hours of time, petrol, and engine wear and tear.
can do that in PLUS too......

QUOTE(phoenix @ Jun 5 2007, 03:00 PM)
Should include more lanes for SmartTag and TNG to promote them. Some interchange have bottlenecks until cash lane users are blocking SmartTag and TNG lanes.
totally agree.....sometimes the smart tag lane also damn packed....

but if I am not mistaken.....for these highways to do more lanes....they have to pay for expensive equipments from touch n go right?

do they need to pay for license as well?

because i remember a while back before the standardization to use touch n go....those highways have their own tag systems......

tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 12:31 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jun 5 2007, 11:26 PM)
Emmmm?!I don't see any problem if the lastest smart tag device doesn't come with display....I can alway check the b/c from the display board after the toll wat...
another extra option is always better....sometimes the board also not working properly one....and sometimes it display very slow....

what is the point of slowing down just to see the board....

slowing down the vehicle just to check the balance on the board will defeat the purpose of having smart tag which is to have smooth, fast flow

with the display option on your smart tag......you'll most of the time just speed ahead.....and check your balance later if you want to at any time......

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 5 2007, 11:29 PM)
Alternatively, you can take out the TnG card from the Smart Tag device and check the balance at any ATM machine that offers/supports TnG application. biggrin.gif
this can be done too....but why waste petrol/time to do this???

having the display on your smart tag gives you more convenience........isn't this the main purpose of smart tags??? to give convenience to the users???
tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 12:34 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

one more thing.....don't you guys think that sometimes the smart tag lane is placed at ridiculus places??

i have seen some smart tag lanes placed relatively on the left hand sides of the toll plaza.......isn't this plainly wrong.....i mean most of the smart tag users are on the fast lane and then have to cut toleft lanes to get to the smart tag lanes.......so dangerous......opportunity for accidents to happen....
tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 12:53 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 6 2007, 12:38 AM)
Even on the same expressway, the kiamsiap plus highway really suck as to placement of the smarttag lanes.

NKVE dsara toll: 2 at fast lane
NKVE subang airport: 2 smack in the middle and have to deal with cash lane ppl who want to crisscross
NKVE klang: 2 at fast lane

terrible. why cant they just open up 2 more tag lanes for every incoming stream of ppl at the subang airport interchange and separate the streams properly.
i totally agree with you.....crazy man......disaster waiting to happen......

if accident then its be the fault of the drivers......no one will take the time and find out that the root cause could be the highways fault for poor sighted on situations like this....designing the lanes in such dangerous manner

Added on June 6, 2007, 12:54 amif in US, the highway already kena sue for doing this as creating unnecessary hazard for road users.......

This post has been edited by tester1979: Jun 6 2007, 12:54 AM
tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 10:24 AM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 6 2007, 09:22 AM)
That's great to hear.  Tanjung Malim cash booth also can use TNG.  They have 2 cash and 1 TNG booths, the other day a car had no TNG and it went into the TNG booth... everybody behind him had to reverse and scan at the cash booth.
wah.....I really hate it when those drivers do that......the signs are so BIG already.....

anyone horn him???

sometimes the toll attendant will get pissed because have to walk to the toll booth to attend to these kind of people and if kena the one that already having a bad day, sure kena marah one.......and give face also.....
tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 03:10 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jun 6 2007, 01:45 PM)
get the tagg free from mom.. haha... lucky!!

and the card from penang bridge... extra save.. haha
got my card from penang too.....bridge pay RM5.60 instead of RM7.00

cheap.......but now I am in KL working.....not often go to penang liao.....
tester1979
post Jun 6 2007, 11:11 PM

*** O.M.G ***
1,317 posts

got one time .....touch n go got start deducting money for the service....but this was a while back because they claim they give the service free for one year then annual fee will be deducted from your touch n go card....

well this was a while back and my facts might be wrong.....so better to ask them first properly........just my 2 cents......as getting money back from them takes almost eternity.....

QUOTE(Kiffer @ Jun 6 2007, 06:13 PM)
I went to the Touch N Go Hub at KL Sentral today, to purchase the Smart Tag thingy. When i asked if maybe i could have the non-special edition version as the new one did not have a balance indicator, I was informed that from now on all Smart Tag decoders will not have that indicator thingy. However, i was also told that i could go register at http://e-services.touchngo.com.my/e-Statement/index.cfm for an e-Statement. Interesting.

The decoder's main body sits rather tightly in its cradle, though. Not a good thing, if you want to take it in and out often, since you probably might not want to leave it sitting in your windscreen where it might tempt some dude to break and steal.
well.....e statement is good if you need historical data and transaction but still cannot beat the lcd for immediate information on the balance of the card....

anyway....the smart tag is tight for first few times....later will be smoother to take out and put in......

0.0217sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:17 AM