QUOTE(destiny017 @ May 26 2020, 03:08 PM)
It quite easily to reach 300gb monthly if you stream 1080p60 on twitch for 2-4 hour on working day and more on weekens/holiday. Just ytday stream twitch like 4-5 hour already ate my quota like 10-11gb ,using celcom atm.
QUOTE(Candy12 @ May 26 2020, 06:51 PM)
A HD movie is with a length of 90mins on average(1 and a 1/2 hr) is about 2GB in size, how many hours can you sit in front of the TV streaming?10 hours per day and consistently every day 24/7 365 days a week?
When I was subscribing to DiGi Infinite 150 2 years ago, with me being the only user I only get to use my internet at home only after working hours before sleep and on weekends. Even 250GB was difficult to reach.
For the 12 months of using it, I barely could even reach 500GB with heavy downloads despite having a TV box and using simultaneously with a laptop.
So as you can see content and VPN providers are also implementing hidden quotas on their accounts to prevent abuse of sharing accounts with many users and from ripping their entire library of movies/contents overnight by media pirates.
https://www.androidcentral.com/how-much-dat...aming-media-use
''''''' Here's how the streams break down on average.
Low quality video is very low-quality. think 240p or 360p. Low-quality settings will use about 0.3GB (300MB) per hour.
SD quality video is standard 480p video. SD-quality video uses about 0.7GB (700MB) per hour.
HD quality video is between 720p and 2K (remember, the app adjusts the stream). HD-quality video uses about 0.9GB (720p), 1.5GB (1080p) and 3GB (2K) per hour.
UHD quality video uses a lot of data. A 4K stream uses about 7.2GB per hour.
Afaik;
In general, 360p/SD video quality is good enough for the 6" screen of smartphones; 720p/HD is good enough for 14" laptops; 1080p/FHD is good enough for 21" desktop monitors and large TV up to 55" and 4k/2160p/UHD is needed for screens larger than 55", eg projectors.
For those who watch videos on large TV of more than 55", they need to stream at 4k/2160p/UHD. A 1-hour video = 7GB of data consumed. 4-hours daily = about 30GB. 1 month = about 900GB.
....... So, the Digi Infinite 150 phone/modem plan boleh pakai in this case since throttling to 5Mbps only happen when exceeded 1TB of data used per month. Otherwise go for unlimited TM Unifi Home Fiber or other Home Fiber plans.
I'm not sure whether watching Live TV or Live sports from the web uses more data than the above figures.
PS - https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/78358?hl=en
''''''' The table below shows the approximate speeds recommended to play each video format.
Video Resolution/Recommended sustained speed
4K ...............20 Mbps
HD 1080p ... 5 Mbps
HD 720p ... 2.5 Mbps
SD 480p ... 1.1 Mbps
SD 360p ... 0.7 Mbps '''''''
Other video-streaming sites may have different or higher speed recommendation.
For live-streaming, eg Live TV and Live Sports, double the above Mbps figures.
This post has been edited by lurkingaround: May 27 2020, 10:59 AM
May 26 2020, 10:59 PM

0.1394sec