QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 17 2024, 04:54 PM)
wow this is new. i only use didi alipay.how to access AMAP? is it another app?
in chinese or got translation?
Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
Jan 3 2025, 08:54 AM
4,149 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Jan 3 2025, 07:04 PM
14,688 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 3 2025, 08:54 AM) wow this is new. i only use didi alipay. You can access through Amap app. But this would need a Chinese phone number.how to access AMAP? is it another app? in chinese or got translation? Case in point, Chengdu SKP to Chengdu City is around 35 RMB via Didi, but 24 via Amap taxi. |
Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
728 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(dudester @ Dec 17 2024, 04:46 PM) Dont think you can test alipay in MY. tried before it failed. I did use it to pay in Taobao and it worked. Bro, Yes i saw DIDI is now in Alipay App, do we still need a china number for it OR i can buy an esim ( data only ) in malaysia and just use it in China to book DIDI?DiDi i launched inside Alipay, no issue. used it many times. |
Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM
1,089 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM) Bro, Yes i saw DIDI is now in Alipay App, do we still need a china number for it OR i can buy an esim ( data only ) in malaysia and just use it in China to book DIDI? I registered Alipay with malaysia number. Use Apps within Alipay like for Trains (scan payment) and also Didi without having china number. My roaming was Digi. So basically you can use without a need for China number, the negative is if driver see your MY number he wont call you and will also be annoyed if cannot find you. I did not face any real problems, just make sure you have correct pickup point. Having an Esim (data only) doesn't make any difference with MY Sim roaming except cost. It basically gives you internet data access. nothing to do with Call function. I did have other family member using Esim, and Alipay works the same. Note. China telco number/esim you cannot access most social media including whatapps/insta/tictok/google suite. MY roaming sim you can. |
Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM
728 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
QUOTE(dudester @ Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM) I registered Alipay with malaysia number. Use Apps within Alipay like for Trains (scan payment) and also Didi without having china number. My roaming was Digi. Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work?So basically you can use without a need for China number, the negative is if driver see your MY number he wont call you and will also be annoyed if cannot find you. I did not face any real problems, just make sure you have correct pickup point. Having an Esim (data only) doesn't make any difference with MY Sim roaming except cost. It basically gives you internet data access. nothing to do with Call function. I did have other family member using Esim, and Alipay works the same. Note. China telco number/esim you cannot access most social media including whatapps/insta/tictok/google suite. MY roaming sim you can. |
Jan 10 2025, 03:21 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 08:10 AM) Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work? Like the previous post said, you can register your non-China phone number in Didi. The problem arise if the driver need to contact you etc and they can not or will not call you non-China phone number.The best way to go around this problem is, make sure you pick up location is correct or at a more well-known location. |
Jan 10 2025, 03:27 PM
15,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
QUOTE(dudester @ Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM) I registered Alipay with malaysia number. Use Apps within Alipay like for Trains (scan payment) and also Didi without having china number. My roaming was Digi. interesting. so there's no need to buy VPN then if using roaming?So basically you can use without a need for China number, the negative is if driver see your MY number he wont call you and will also be annoyed if cannot find you. I did not face any real problems, just make sure you have correct pickup point. Having an Esim (data only) doesn't make any difference with MY Sim roaming except cost. It basically gives you internet data access. nothing to do with Call function. I did have other family member using Esim, and Alipay works the same. Note. China telco number/esim you cannot access most social media including whatapps/insta/tictok/google suite. MY roaming sim you can. QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM) Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work? don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi |
Jan 10 2025, 04:21 PM
1,089 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM) Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work? Roaming offered by MY telco in China is NOT expensive. Best option. It protects you a little from making and receiving roaming calls.QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 10 2025, 03:27 PM) interesting. so there's no need to buy VPN then if using roaming? I didnt want to try the VPN option as I heard is not reliable. For few ringgit just get roaming and enjoy your holiday. don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi China is so convenient and high tech, everything is in apps. Dont be stingy on roaming , just enjoy. |
Jan 11 2025, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 10 2025, 08:27 AM) interesting. so there's no need to buy VPN then if using roaming? With Roaming, no need for VPN. You are still, sort of still in Malaysia.don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi Buy SIM from Shopee or eSim, about half the price. May be important for some people. |
Jan 12 2025, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM) Bro, Yes i saw DIDI is now in Alipay App, do we still need a china number for it OR i can buy an esim ( data only ) in malaysia and just use it in China to book DIDI? Anything on dedicated apps, you need China number. Anything via Alipay mini apps, no need China number. Also roaming can buy from trip.com. Easy. |
Jan 13 2025, 10:35 AM
Jan 13 2025, 10:36 AM
Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 13 2025, 03:36 AM) I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me?p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom This post has been edited by touristking: Jan 13 2025, 10:56 AM |
Jan 15 2025, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM) I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me? How much is Digi Roaming? p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom From the website Digi Roaming 7 days with 2GB/Day is RM 58 In trip.com similar service is RM 28 |
Jan 19 2025, 11:31 PM
425 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
My metro card from shanghai still have balance left and with me from my previous trip (before COVID)
Can I use it in other city like Beijing? Like Japan pasmo or ic card. |
Jan 22 2025, 10:29 AM
155 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM) I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me? Personally used this (trip.com link) in Hangzhou and Shanghai and worked flawlessly. This is much cheaper compared with Hotlink roaming. I believe is cheaper than other Malaysian telcos too. p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom |
Yesterday, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(chang3rd @ Jan 22 2025, 03:29 AM) Personally used this (trip.com link) in Hangzhou and Shanghai and worked flawlessly. This is much cheaper compared with Hotlink roaming. I believe is cheaper than other Malaysian telcos too. thanks. can you use Whatsapp etc?This post has been edited by touristking: Yesterday, 10:47 AM |
Yesterday, 06:02 PM
10,742 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Hi all, im planning to go china for a week. Planned to go Yunnan, sichuan that area. Is 1 week enough?
My rough itinerary would be staying 4 days in yunnan and 3 days in chongqing then go chengdu. At yunnnan plan to go lijiang those places. If anyone went there before can share any worthwhile place to go. |
Change to: | 0.0165sec
Time is now: 24th January 2025 - 04:31 AM |