elea88
post Jan 3 2025, 08:54 AM

4,148 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 17 2024, 04:54 PM)
Didi Alipay expensive.
Generally I use amap taxi, cheaper.
wow this is new. i only use didi alipay.
how to access AMAP? is it another app?

in chinese or got translation?
Icehart
post Jan 3 2025, 07:04 PM

14,684 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 3 2025, 08:54 AM)
wow this is new. i only use didi alipay.
how to access AMAP? is it another app?

in chinese or got translation?
You can access through Amap app. But this would need a Chinese phone number.

Case in point, Chengdu SKP to Chengdu City is around 35 RMB via Didi, but 24 via Amap taxi.
Afterburner1.0
post Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM

728 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Dec 17 2024, 04:46 PM)
Dont think you can test alipay in MY. tried before it failed. I did use it to pay in Taobao and it worked.
DiDi i launched inside Alipay, no issue. used it many times.
Bro, Yes i saw DIDI is now in Alipay App, do we still need a china number for it OR i can buy an esim ( data only ) in malaysia and just use it in China to book DIDI?
dudester
post Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM)
Bro, Yes i saw DIDI is now in Alipay App, do we still need a china number for it OR i can buy an esim ( data only ) in malaysia and just use it in China to book DIDI?
I registered Alipay with malaysia number. Use Apps within Alipay like for Trains (scan payment) and also Didi without having china number. My roaming was Digi.
So basically you can use without a need for China number, the negative is if driver see your MY number he wont call you and will also be annoyed if cannot find you.
I did not face any real problems, just make sure you have correct pickup point.

Having an Esim (data only) doesn't make any difference with MY Sim roaming except cost. It basically gives you internet data access. nothing to do with Call function.
I did have other family member using Esim, and Alipay works the same.

Note. China telco number/esim you cannot access most social media including whatapps/insta/tictok/google suite. MY roaming sim you can.
Afterburner1.0
post Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM)
I registered Alipay with malaysia number. Use Apps within Alipay like for Trains (scan payment) and also Didi without having china number. My roaming was Digi.
So basically you can use without a need for China number, the negative is if driver see your MY number he wont call you and will also be annoyed if cannot find you.

Having an Esim (data only) doesn't make any difference with MY Sim roaming except cost. It basically gives you internet data access. nothing to do with Call function.

Note. China telco number/esim you cannot access most social media including whatapps/insta/tictok/google suite. MY roaming sim you can.
Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work?
touristking
post Jan 10 2025, 03:21 PM

5,678 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 08:10 AM)
Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both  alipay and didi can work?
Like the previous post said, you can register your non-China phone number in Didi. The problem arise if the driver need to contact you etc and they can not or will not call you non-China phone number.

The best way to go around this problem is, make sure you pick up location is correct or at a more well-known location.

zstan
post Jan 10 2025, 03:27 PM

15,799 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jan 10 2025, 11:14 AM)

interesting. so there's no need to buy VPN then if using roaming?

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM)
Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both  alipay and didi can work?
don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive rclxub.gif

it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi
dudester
post Jan 10 2025, 04:21 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 03:10 PM)
Roaming offered by MY telco in China is NOT expensive. Best option. It protects you a little from making and receiving roaming calls.

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 10 2025, 03:27 PM)
don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive  rclxub.gif

it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi
I didnt want to try the VPN option as I heard is not reliable. For few ringgit just get roaming and enjoy your holiday.

China is so convenient and high tech, everything is in apps. Dont be stingy on roaming , just enjoy.
touristking
post Jan 11 2025, 11:20 AM

5,678 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 10 2025, 08:27 AM)
don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive  rclxub.gif

With Roaming, no need for VPN. You are still, sort of still in Malaysia.

Buy SIM from Shopee or eSim, about half the price. May be important for some people.

Icehart
post Jan 12 2025, 01:38 PM

14,684 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 10:51 AM)
Anything on dedicated apps, you need China number.
Anything via Alipay mini apps, no need China number.

Also roaming can buy from trip.com. Easy.
touristking
post Jan 13 2025, 10:35 AM

5,678 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 12 2025, 06:38 AM)
Anything on dedicated apps, you need China number.
Anything via Alipay mini apps, no need China number.

Also roaming can buy from trip.com. Easy.
I didn't know you can buy data roaming with Trip.com. How? Can it be use with Whatsapp etc? Thanks for the info
Icehart
post Jan 13 2025, 10:36 AM

14,684 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 13 2025, 10:35 AM)
I didn't know you can buy data roaming with Trip.com. How? Can it be use with Whatsapp etc? Thanks for the info
Those eSIM are from HK, so of course can access WhatsApp, Facebook etc.
touristking
post Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM

5,678 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 13 2025, 03:36 AM)
Those eSIM are from HK, so of course can access WhatsApp, Facebook etc.
I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me?

p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom

This post has been edited by touristking: Jan 13 2025, 10:56 AM
Icehart
post Today, 08:31 AM

14,684 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM)
I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me?

p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom
How much is Digi Roaming?

From the website Digi Roaming 7 days with 2GB/Day is RM 58
In trip.com similar service is RM 28

17 Pages « < 15 16 17Top

0.0186sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th January 2025 - 12:53 PM