QUOTE(jxly55 @ Sep 7 2024, 04:59 PM)
You try insert gxbank card in your alipay and WeChat pay now. Then you got your answer.Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
Sep 8 2024, 09:37 AM
4,721 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Sep 11 2024, 04:41 PM
271 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Sep 11 2024, 04:54 PM
Just back from ChengDu & ChongQing, 40 degree everyday.. Mala hotpot everyday... still survive Mobile payment Alipay - cover 99% of scenario, from e-hailing, restaurant reservation (via DianPin), payment, renting power bank, restaurant ordering I only encounter where a least famous ancient park in outskirt of ChengDu receive only WeChat pay Even the roadside stall selling fruits can paid via Alipay How to use alipay - link Wise WeChat pay cant be used in MSIA anymore, but you can change the wallet region to Mainland China, go to Pay and service > 3 dots upper right > change region * Few restaurant ordering system is slow in alipay but smooth with WeChat How to use alipay - link Wise Internet I bought local telco 15 days 30GB in airport (120 yuan should be), you can use roaming too, but my experience is quite some of the places dont have good coverage and some application or restaurant ordering app cant be loaded on roaming. Me myself brought a old mobile and do hotspot with the china sim, while own phone activate roaming Another benefit of owning a local number would be --- you able to register local app (including restaurant / cafe app) and you get bunch of new user voucher! Trust me! Get one number Why not VPN? I have both ExpressVPN and NordVPN, both not working in iOS, but working with Android. Even connected but still the speed is not promising So end up i use the old android phone as hotspot for sharing the China Sim network This post has been edited by ultimate93: Sep 11 2024, 04:57 PM penanghomes liked this post
Sep 12 2024, 12:42 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,322 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(ultimate93 @ Sep 11 2024, 05:54 PM) Just back from ChengDu & ChongQing, 40 degree everyday.. Mala hotpot everyday... still survive Alipay in TounchNGo ??Mobile payment Alipay - cover 99% of scenario, from e-hailing, restaurant reservation (via DianPin), payment, renting power bank, restaurant ordering I only encounter where a least famous ancient park in outskirt of ChengDu receive only WeChat pay Even the roadside stall selling fruits can paid via Alipay How to use alipay - link Wise WeChat pay cant be used in MSIA anymore, but you can change the wallet region to Mainland China, go to Pay and service > 3 dots upper right > change region * Few restaurant ordering system is slow in alipay but smooth with WeChat How to use alipay - link Wise Internet I bought local telco 15 days 30GB in airport (120 yuan should be), you can use roaming too, but my experience is quite some of the places dont have good coverage and some application or restaurant ordering app cant be loaded on roaming. Me myself brought a old mobile and do hotspot with the china sim, while own phone activate roaming Another benefit of owning a local number would be --- you able to register local app (including restaurant / cafe app) and you get bunch of new user voucher! Trust me! Get one number Why not VPN? I have both ExpressVPN and NordVPN, both not working in iOS, but working with Android. Even connected but still the speed is not promising So end up i use the old android phone as hotspot for sharing the China Sim network |
Sep 13 2024, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(penanghomes @ Sep 12 2024, 12:42 AM) i used alipay app (international version)TnG is working too, but sometimes it's slow.. you know the feeling when someone is queuing behind you I would say Alipay app is the best since everything is integrated, like DiDi, Meituan etc penanghomes liked this post
Sep 19 2024, 08:45 PM
937 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
sharing my exp after back from biz trip in shanghai.
Must download Alipay app. I Link with my big pay card. Tried Gxbank card but failed payment. maybe my fault i dunno but i tried twice to pay by QR in Alipay link to GXBank card even with overseas transaction enabled but it failed. In the end use link with big pay card and it works. within alipay app you can create metro card and scan easily to use their transport. plenty of example on youtube. no need queue for ticket at each station. you can also use didi app within alipay. the driver will usually ask last 4 digits of your hp number (in my case is my msia hp number since i'm on roaming) to verify. I Didn't bother getting local number but used roaming instead. no need to bother with vpn since google whatsapp etc all works via roaming on celcom digi. google maps might not be accurate for some locations. my hotel location totally different on google maps compared to actual location. use apple maps if lost from google maps lol. if possible, prepay your hotel online via trip.com for example. at my hotel i tried paying by CC but failed. tried with visa and mastercard both also fail. I think the CC terminal doesn't accept. In the end paid via QR using Alipay app (link to my big pay card) but niama kena 3% charge. Any payment above 200 yuan kena extra 3% charge on Alipay. Try to split your payment if can. Cash is still used widely for tourists but easier to pay via QR. they prob think i'm some kampung fella since pay by cash lol all the locals just pay via QR. I didn't bother with wechat app but ok la still survived. most places accept alipay. the only time was at a vending machine which only accept wechat. |
Sep 19 2024, 11:50 PM
7,791 posts Joined: Dec 2014 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 19 2024, 08:45 PM) sharing my exp after back from biz trip in shanghai. Tried Gxbank card but failed payment. maybe my fault i dunno but i tried twice to pay by QR in Alipay link to GXBank card even with overseas transaction enabled but it failed. Must download Alipay app. I Link with my big pay card. Tried Gxbank card but failed payment. maybe my fault i dunno but i tried twice to pay by QR in Alipay link to GXBank card even with overseas transaction enabled but it failed. In the end use link with big pay card and it works. within alipay app you can create metro card and scan easily to use their transport. plenty of example on youtube. no need queue for ticket at each station. you can also use didi app within alipay. the driver will usually ask last 4 digits of your hp number (in my case is my msia hp number since i'm on roaming) to verify. I Didn't bother getting local number but used roaming instead. no need to bother with vpn since google whatsapp etc all works via roaming on celcom digi. google maps might not be accurate for some locations. my hotel location totally different on google maps compared to actual location. use apple maps if lost from google maps lol. if possible, prepay your hotel online via trip.com for example. at my hotel i tried paying by CC but failed. tried with visa and mastercard both also fail. I think the CC terminal doesn't accept. In the end paid via QR using Alipay app (link to my big pay card) but niama kena 3% charge. Any payment above 200 yuan kena extra 3% charge on Alipay. Try to split your payment if can. Cash is still used widely for tourists but easier to pay via QR. they prob think i'm some kampung fella since pay by cash lol all the locals just pay via QR. I didn't bother with wechat app but ok la still survived. most places accept alipay. the only time was at a vending machine which only accept wechat. Since GX Bank is relatively a new bank, they had to use the latest 8 digits BIN number standard for its card number. It is the future card number standards for Mastercard and VISA, and meant to supersede the current standard of 6-digits BIN number that is in use since long long time ago. But it is believed that some overseas merchants did not or have not update their POS systems to support 8 digits BIN number from Mastercard/VISA cards due to technical reasons. Therefore as a result from the end user, the transaction will get declined. I believe this issue won't happen if the merchant supports 8 digits BIN number. This is more towards the merchant's problem, nothing got to do with the country you visit. In the end use link with big pay card and it works. Meanwhile, BigPay's exchange rate is not attractive anymore, and not "0% bank fees" anymore, so I wouldn't recommend to use it, unless for backup or emergency. I suggest you use Wise card instead. The exchange rate is better. Getting a physical Wise card costs RM13.70, but that will be waived only if you sign up Wise using a referral link (from other existing Wise user). Virtual card is free. Wise also supports overseas ATM withdrawals, so you can have additional cash to use in hand when needed. There'll be no additional fees from Wise as long you don't withdraw more than 2 times in a calendar month, or equivalent to RM1000 in a calendar month, whichever comes first. at my hotel i tried paying by CC but failed. tried with visa and mastercard both also fail. I think the CC terminal doesn't accept. Did you ask them whether they support VISA or Mastercard card payment? In China, this is the question you should ask the merchant (unless you clearly see VISA and Mastercard logo there). If they don't know what is Mastercard, use the Chinese name, it's called 万事达卡 In the end paid via QR using Alipay app (link to my big pay card) but niama kena 3% charge. Any payment above 200 yuan kena extra 3% charge on Alipay. Try to split your payment if can. Yes. It is true that 3% transaction fee will be charged by Alipay if you pay more than 200 RMB in a single transaction. The same rules applies to WeChat Pay. But to pay for your hotel, assuming that it costs more than 200 RMB, how would you split it? Example: If the hotel costs 550 RMB, so you tell the hotel staff that you want to pay in separate 200 + 200 + 150 RMB, like that? Would they accept that? Cash is still used widely for tourists but easier to pay via QR. So far did you experience places or merchant that don't accept cash at all (means accept cashless only, like Alipay or WeChat Pay)? This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 20 2024, 12:00 AM |
Sep 20 2024, 11:35 AM
In the end use link with big pay card and it works. Meanwhile, BigPay's exchange rate is not attractive anymore, and not "0% bank fees" anymore, so I wouldn't recommend to use it, unless for backup or emergency. I suggest you use Wise card instead. The exchange rate is better. Getting a physical Wise card costs RM13.70, but that will be waived only if you sign up Wise using a referral link (from other existing Wise user). Virtual card is free. Wise also supports overseas ATM withdrawals, so you can have additional cash to use in hand when needed. There'll be no additional fees from Wise as long you don't withdraw more than 2 times in a calendar month, or equivalent to RM1000 in a calendar month, whichever comes first. I do have wise card. but when try to pump RMB and see the fees they charge, no thanks. Wise keeps adding commission fee here and there. bigpay just bakes it into their exchange rate, probably roughly around the same at the end of the day. at my hotel i tried paying by CC but failed. tried with visa and mastercard both also fail. I think the CC terminal doesn't accept. Did you ask them whether they support VISA or Mastercard card payment? In China, this is the question you should ask the merchant (unless you clearly see VISA and Mastercard logo there). If they don't know what is Mastercard, use the Chinese name, it's called 万事达卡 yea they said accept visa and mastercard but after keep tapping multiple times all failed, i just gave up. it's an international hotel chain but still failed lol. In the end paid via QR using Alipay app (link to my big pay card) but niama kena 3% charge. Any payment above 200 yuan kena extra 3% charge on Alipay. Try to split your payment if can. Yes. It is true that 3% transaction fee will be charged by Alipay if you pay more than 200 RMB in a single transaction. The same rules applies to WeChat Pay. But to pay for your hotel, assuming that it costs more than 200 RMB, how would you split it? Example: If the hotel costs 550 RMB, so you tell the hotel staff that you want to pay in separate 200 + 200 + 150 RMB, like that? Would they accept that? ouh no i didn't split my hotel payment. no choice have to accept 3% transaction fee. but for others like buying souvenirs or items, can separate out the items so it doesn't breach 200 lol. Cash is still used widely for tourists but easier to pay via QR. So far did you experience places or merchant that don't accept cash at all (means accept cashless only, like Alipay or WeChat Pay)? got..at a damn luckin coffee where they didn't wanna accept cash. force me to scan their menu with alipay. |
Sep 20 2024, 06:24 PM
131 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
How do you guys add Wise card to Alipay app? I just install Alipay international on my phone but can't seems to add my Wise card, it keep saying my bank card account information is incorrect but I couldn't find anything wrong. Do you all add using the "Add Credit or Debit Card" option?
Sep 20 2024, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(amandalim @ Sep 20 2024, 06:24 PM) How do you guys add Wise card to Alipay app? I just install Alipay international on my phone but can't seems to add my Wise card, it keep saying my bank card account information is incorrect but I couldn't find anything wrong. Do you all add using the "Add Credit or Debit Card" option? Yea using that option. Hv u done the account verification? Hv to add passport info and take selfie |
Sep 21 2024, 02:34 AM
QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 20 2024, 11:35 AM) In the end use link with big pay card and it works. I do have wise card. but when try to pump RMB and see the fees they charge, no thanks. Meanwhile, BigPay's exchange rate is not attractive anymore, and not "0% bank fees" anymore, so I wouldn't recommend to use it, unless for backup or emergency. I suggest you use Wise card instead. The exchange rate is better. Getting a physical Wise card costs RM13.70, but that will be waived only if you sign up Wise using a referral link (from other existing Wise user). Virtual card is free. Wise also supports overseas ATM withdrawals, so you can have additional cash to use in hand when needed. There'll be no additional fees from Wise as long you don't withdraw more than 2 times in a calendar month, or equivalent to RM1000 in a calendar month, whichever comes first. I do have wise card. but when try to pump RMB and see the fees they charge, no thanks. Wise keeps adding commission fee here and there. bigpay just bakes it into their exchange rate, probably roughly around the same at the end of the day. at my hotel i tried paying by CC but failed. tried with visa and mastercard both also fail. I think the CC terminal doesn't accept. Did you ask them whether they support VISA or Mastercard card payment? In China, this is the question you should ask the merchant (unless you clearly see VISA and Mastercard logo there). If they don't know what is Mastercard, use the Chinese name, it's called 万事达卡 yea they said accept visa and mastercard but after keep tapping multiple times all failed, i just gave up. it's an international hotel chain but still failed lol. In the end paid via QR using Alipay app (link to my big pay card) but niama kena 3% charge. Any payment above 200 yuan kena extra 3% charge on Alipay. Try to split your payment if can. Yes. It is true that 3% transaction fee will be charged by Alipay if you pay more than 200 RMB in a single transaction. The same rules applies to WeChat Pay. But to pay for your hotel, assuming that it costs more than 200 RMB, how would you split it? Example: If the hotel costs 550 RMB, so you tell the hotel staff that you want to pay in separate 200 + 200 + 150 RMB, like that? Would they accept that? ouh no i didn't split my hotel payment. no choice have to accept 3% transaction fee. but for others like buying souvenirs or items, can separate out the items so it doesn't breach 200 lol. Cash is still used widely for tourists but easier to pay via QR. So far did you experience places or merchant that don't accept cash at all (means accept cashless only, like Alipay or WeChat Pay)? got..at a damn luckin coffee where they didn't wanna accept cash. force me to scan their menu with alipay. You can just topup into Wise as MYR as usual, then it'll do the conversion automatically as per mid-market exchange rate of that time and deduct your MYR balance as you spend at whatever country you visit. If you have multiple currencies in your Wise account, then it'll always aim to minimize your conversion costs by selecting the balance that results in the lowest overall fee. And it's not necessary that you must convert to CNY first then only can use in China one. Wise keeps adding commission fee here and there. bigpay just bakes it into their exchange rate, probably roughly around the same at the end of the day. No it's not exactly the same. EDIT: Refer this post for an accurate example & screenshots: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=110514616 If you're making large amount purchases, then the difference would be even bigger. yea they said accept visa and mastercard but after keep tapping multiple times all failed, i just gave up. it's an international hotel chain but still failed lol. Hmm, you said you used a credit card for that... Is the overseas transactions setting enabled on your credit card? Did you try perform transaction elsewhere in China, besides the hotel? How about the credit limit of your credit card? Still far from reaching it, I suppose? Just trying to rule out what went wrong... This post has been edited by joshhd: Sep 26 2024, 02:51 AM |
Sep 21 2024, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Sep 21 2024, 02:34 AM) If you have multiple currencies in your Wise account, then it'll always aim to minimize your conversion costs by selecting the balance that results in the lowest overall fee. Hsbc and cimb credit cards. All 3 failed. Overseas transaction enabled since i tried at other countries previously all ok. Credit limit way above hotel cost. Lol dunno la it is what it is.And it's not necessary that you must convert to CNY first then only can use in China one. You pay either RM59.63 for Wise, or RM60.99 for BigPay Visa card, for a 100 RMB transaction. If you're making large amount purchases, then the difference would be even bigger. K next time ill try again wise card with myr on the go. yea they said accept visa and mastercard but after keep tapping multiple times all failed, i just gave up. it's an international hotel chain but still failed lol. Hmm, you said you used a credit card for that... Is the overseas transactions setting enabled on your credit card? Did you try perform transaction elsewhere in China, besides the hotel? How about the credit limit of your credit card? Still far from reaching it, I suppose? Just trying to rule out what went wrong... |
Sep 26 2024, 02:49 AM
QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 21 2024, 09:43 AM) Sorry, I have a correction to make. Wise keeps adding commission fee here and there. bigpay just bakes it into their exchange rate, probably roughly around the same at the end of the day. Here's a sample comparison of exchange rate between Wise and BigPay's 1% bank fee: If MYR 100 balance on Wise and spend in China, then it's equivalent to 168.41 CNY: ![]() https://wise.com/my/pricing/card-fees?sourc...R&targetCcy=CNY Compared to BigPay's Visa card (with 1% bank fee), then it's equivalent to 165.71 CNY: ![]() https://www.visa.com.my/support/consumer/tr...calculator.html Note: Because Wise uses real-time exchange rates (and then plus their small service fee), you will notice that their calculator tend to fluctuate every few minutes throughout the day based on market conditions. So there are certain hours or days that you might see that the total rates on Wise (inclusive of their service fee) is lower, similar, or higher compared to VISA's 1% bank fee rate (e.g. BigPay). For VISA/Mastercard's rates however, they typically update their exchange rates once a day. |
Oct 1 2024, 11:11 AM
240 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
Guys, what about Touch and Go? can i reload MYR inside just pay with that? planning to bring 1-2k cash only
Oct 1 2024, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 1 2024, 11:11 AM) Guys, what about Touch and Go? can i reload MYR inside just pay with that? planning to bring 1-2k cash only You can reload TnG ewallet in MYR as usual, and just Scan/Pay when you're in China.Remember, just because you see there's 支付宝 Alipay logo at the merchant, it doesn't mean it supports Alipay+ The merchant must support Alipay+ then only it'll work on TnG ewallet. If the merchant's system uses Alipay (not Alipay+), and you scan their QR code or they scan yours, you would see that it is an invalid QR on your TnG ewallet app, or the transaction just fails. Alipay and Alipay+ is different. If you want better acceptance everywhere, download Alipay and WeChat app on your phone, sign up/login account, then perform eKYC process (upload photo of your passport and selfie). To set up WeChat Pay to work in China, you need to Select Wallet Region to China Mainland. Otherwise, you'll only see the "This service is no longer available. As WeChat Pay MY has discontinued its payment services on September 1, 2024..." error. Use the Search function in WeChat, type WeChat Pay, select it, then tap Enable. Then open WeChat Pay (Me>Services), tap "..." on top right corner, tap Select Wallet Region, then change from Malaysia to China Mainland. Once done, start the eKYC process. For Alipay and WeChat Pay, they will impose 3% transaction fee if the single transaction exceeds 200 CNY. The workaround to avoid the 3% is, split into multiple transactions if the merchant don't mind. No additional transaction fee if it is below 200 CNY. This post has been edited by joshhd: Oct 1 2024, 05:13 PM elea88, Gentleman_League, and 1 other liked this post
Oct 1 2024, 05:53 PM
Probation
5 posts Joined: Jun 2020 |
Hi, do you guys reload your Wise account in MYR and spend in China? Or reload in MYR, convert to CNY and spend?
What is the most cost effective way in terms of rates, fees? Thank you! |
Oct 1 2024, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(jxly55 @ Oct 1 2024, 05:53 PM) Hi, do you guys reload your Wise account in MYR and spend in China? Or reload in MYR, convert to CNY and spend? The cost is the same for both scenario as I know. What is the most cost effective way in terms of rates, fees? Thank you! The reason you want to convert to CNY first is because you want to LOCK in a good rate NOW. If you want to minimise cost, you don't want to over convert. Because when you convert from CNY back to MYR after you come back from your trip, you incur another round of conversion fees. Itu saje. It's a risk you have to take. I just link wise card to alipay. Didn't really bother to convert to CNY. But when I went few months back, not much fluctuations in the rate. |
Oct 1 2024, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 1 2024, 05:10 PM) Another tip to add to this. Since China bigger cities has many restaurants may have the scan-to-order-and-pay system, what you can do is if your food order exceed 200CNY, you order 1 time, pay first. Maybe use another phone scan and order another round of food and pay again.This post has been edited by adele123: Oct 1 2024, 10:14 PM joshhd liked this post
Oct 2 2024, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 1 2024, 10:14 PM) Another tip to add to this. Since China bigger cities has many restaurants may have the scan-to-order-and-pay system, what you can do is if your food order exceed 200CNY, you order 1 time, pay first. Maybe use another phone scan and order another round of food and pay again. But you may not necessarily know upfront whether the self-service ordering system used in that restaurant is a scan-to-order-and-pay system, right? It could be a scan-to-order system only, where even if there's different devices submit the food order (from the same table), eventually when it comes to payment at the counter, all food items are counted in a single bill... Let's say if the food bill is 280 CNY. Is the counter staff okay if you pay 200 CNY first (scan their Alipay/WeChat Pay QR), and once done, pay the remaining 80 CNY? |
Oct 2 2024, 10:44 AM
240 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
QUOTE(joshhd @ Oct 1 2024, 06:10 PM) You can reload TnG ewallet in MYR as usual, and just Scan/Pay when you're in China. Remember, just because you see there's 支付宝 Alipay logo at the merchant, it doesn't mean it supports Alipay+ The merchant must support Alipay+ then only it'll work on TnG ewallet. If the merchant's system uses Alipay (not Alipay+), and you scan their QR code or they scan yours, you would see that it is an invalid QR on your TnG ewallet app, or the transaction just fails. Alipay and Alipay+ is different. If you want better acceptance everywhere, download Alipay and WeChat app on your phone, sign up/login account, then perform eKYC process (upload photo of your passport and selfie). To set up WeChat Pay to work in China, you need to Select Wallet Region to China Mainland. Otherwise, you'll only see the "This service is no longer available. As WeChat Pay MY has discontinued its payment services on September 1, 2024..." error. Use the Search function in WeChat, type WeChat Pay, select it, then tap Enable. Then open WeChat Pay (Me>Services), tap "..." on top right corner, tap Select Wallet Region, then change from Malaysia to China Mainland. Once done, start the eKYC process. For Alipay and WeChat Pay, they will impose 3% transaction fee if the single transaction exceeds 200 CNY. The workaround to avoid the 3% is, split into multiple transactions if the merchant don't mind. No additional transaction fee if it is below 200 CNY. QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 1 2024, 11:10 PM) The cost is the same for both scenario as I know. thank you for the heads up, if i link wise to Alipay it still have the 3% charges fees?The reason you want to convert to CNY first is because you want to LOCK in a good rate NOW. If you want to minimise cost, you don't want to over convert. Because when you convert from CNY back to MYR after you come back from your trip, you incur another round of conversion fees. Itu saje. It's a risk you have to take. I just link wise card to alipay. Didn't really bother to convert to CNY. But when I went few months back, not much fluctuations in the rate. |
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:40 AM |