The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V3, Welcome to the big screens.

ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 08:33 AM

10,859 posts

i tried charging using the usb c to lightning from apple, mcdodo usb PD charger, i use ampere app to check when charging from 30% the wattage is only 14.64watt only. Does it mean my charger cannot support 9V/2A? but the charger mentioned it can go 9V/3A, 14.5V/3A, no sign of 9V/2A. so in this case, we should get precisely 9V/2A charger to get 18w?
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 08:55 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 31 2018, 08:52 AM)
Wait for the new 18w iPad pro charger to instead of 30w USB c apple charger
ok.. but i think my charger already super fast.. much faster than ipad charger if charge from 30-80.. really less than 30mins. but if 80-100% is normal 5w charging speed based on the ampere app. i guess that is ok because for optimum batt life, should go 30-80% based on recent articles.
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 09:46 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Stochastic @ Oct 31 2018, 09:25 AM)
Can share the apps link and your battery health? Thanks
search ampere and i am using ampere light. battery health is 100%.

Btw, u guys on digi does ur phone show LTE or 4G? cos mine is showing 4G. i mean in the mobile data there is 4g, when u select data or voice and data there.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 31 2018, 09:47 AM
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 09:57 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Oct 31 2018, 09:55 AM)
bro.. did you try charging from 0% or near to 0%? mayb you could get near to peak 18W.. the charging do not always stay with peak power and not to forget there will be power lost during the charging heat, distance etc..  It the same scenario i got it from ipad charger. I do not get consistent 11W measure with external power meter.

i noticed you check with ampere app? the data might not be precise.. i believe apple do not allow or somehow difficult to access to those hardware data? Im not too sure bout this.. best to check with external power meter... which i do not have at this moment for type-c input...

but if you could get 0-50%+- in 30mins.. your charger is doing alright.
i see, thanks for the info. i did not try to discharge the phone until near 0% ever lol.. but i think the speed is way much faster than normal ipad charger. Yeah the apps did mentioned that they actually only calculate how much time it need to get 1% and do rough estimation only.

now hopefully they can come out with cheaper usb c to lightning cable that is MFi. Apple is way too expensive and the quality is meh.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Oct 31 2018, 09:58 AM
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 01:51 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ejump82 @ Oct 31 2018, 12:31 PM)
so far work flawless. just when activated it, will prompt not verified esim. but just proceed.
how u get esim?
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 02:24 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ejump82 @ Oct 31 2018, 02:04 PM)
go to maxis klcc just said want the esim for huawei watch 2. don't ever mention about iphone.
i see.. but how u can register it into the phone? i tot we need them to activate it in the phone? If like that apple watch cellular also can use liao
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 02:29 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(ejump82 @ Oct 31 2018, 02:27 PM)
just update to ios12.1, add cellular plan and scan the QR.. everything it will automatically configured.
i see, maybe diff for apple watch. saw it over there they cannot add cellular to apple watch. I believe esim is not officially supported. Anyway my unit is physical 2 sim smile.gif just asking out of curiosity.
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 03:22 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 31 2018, 10:06 AM)
Have you try from 50-100% with PD charger how long it would taken, thanks
tried 50%-100%. from 50-80% 25mins, from 50-100% 1hour 10 mins. it was really slow at 80-100%, i guess this is when the fast charging was cut off.
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 04:07 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 31 2018, 03:53 PM)
If charge from 50-100% just taken 1:10mins this it pretty fast.
To compare mine, so far 3 of them use with 1m apple lightning cable.
Xiaomi 65w : 1.26 hrs
Apple 30w : 1.33 hrs
Joyock 45w : 1.27 hrs
Helper 60w : 2.11 hrs (1-100%) 2m apple lightning cable
Joyock 60w : 2.32 hrs (1-100%) 2m apple lightning cable

Haven't got time to try with apple 30w with 2m long lightning cable at home.. All the while just left it overnight charge with mcdodo auto disconnected lightning cable.
i see, then this mcdodo charger is a keeper lol. next gonna try charging from maybe 10 or 5%, but normally i dont discharge until that low.
ben3003
post Oct 31 2018, 06:42 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 31 2018, 04:25 PM)
I tried Apple 30w with 1m Mcdodo cable charged from 36-100% for 1.43 hrs (103mins)
with latest ios 12? sounds like similar speed with 12w adapter. i heard 3rd party type-c cable no longer provide fast charge. how about from 30-80% because pd fast charge only happens when the batt is at 80% and below, from 80 to 100% is really draggy, as i mentioned that my phone charge from 50-80% only need 25mins, but 80-100% took 50mins? so fast charge is not very relevant if we are charging it to 100%.
ben3003
post Nov 1 2018, 11:43 AM

10,859 posts

charged from 10-100% in 1hour 40+mins. mcdodo usb pd charger and apple official type-c lightning cable.
ben3003
post Nov 1 2018, 12:56 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 1 2018, 12:01 PM)
This one ?
Look what I found on AliExpress
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/E0FUkAL
nope, this one
https://shopee.com.my/product/13046/1438099870
ben3003
post Nov 1 2018, 01:42 PM

10,859 posts

better invest in good case and screen protector. Cannot use thin case anymore lol.
ben3003
post Nov 1 2018, 02:59 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 1 2018, 01:50 PM)
They better put back the original box and keep it for next year then 😅🤣🤣🤣🤣
i having the same thoughts lol.
ben3003
post Nov 2 2018, 08:05 AM

10,859 posts

3rd party lightning cable does not support fast charging.
ben3003
post Nov 2 2018, 08:40 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 2 2018, 08:18 AM)
That is not for all 3rd party cables are not supported.
Can try with : Baseus & Mcdodo 1m long cables, so far the duration time just slightly slower a bit than the original apple 1m long lightning to USB C cable only.
Pay lesser and get the fast charge result, why not.
i see, maybe i can buy mcdodo cable to try.
ben3003
post Nov 2 2018, 10:07 AM

10,859 posts

i think if u use 3rd party max speed u can get is 2.4a only.. 2.4a is not fast charging. If ur speed can 0-50% in 30mins that is fast charging. 2.4a cannot do that, i believe ur third party cable also cannot do that. 2.4a 12w charging is faster than the 5w yes, but that is not fast charging.
ben3003
post Nov 2 2018, 10:38 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Nov 2 2018, 10:19 AM)
no doubt.. but my main sharing is.. what you achieve with after market PD can be achieve with ANY 5v/2.4A charger with ANY type A to lighting(come together in box) for even cheaper price...

No need to spend extra getting on USB PD charger + cable to do that
yup.. u can just use ur existing 2.4a charger with normal apple cable come out with the box will give u the same speed if u use 3rd party type c cable with pd charger.

0.0742sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 AM