Path of a Mechanical Engineer, Lost in the jungle

TSleezy
post Oct 15 2018, 12:14 AM, updated 8y ago

59 posts

Hello guys, I'm 28 years old and holding a MSc. I have been working in a company as an mechanical design engineer for 2 years in Singapore. Well basically I'm designing mostly automation machine and small standard part for site.

So now I'm actually kinda lost, just a weird feeling like I'm in my comfort zone long enough and think it is time to take a step forward (sorry unneassary info for u guys xD). When I search from the Internet of what a mechanical engineer could do in the future, what Google showed me was just becoming a P. E or we call it IR in Malaysia. But there is one thing that contradict my thoughts. Well getting a P. E may need a recognized institute but my uni is not in the list, so I was thinking is there any other side path we can go? I have found out abit info like going for steam engineer license, six sigma black belt licence kind of thing... Are there any other options? Thank you very much.

P. S if for steam engineer, totally out of the option as I need to go back malaysia and start from 0 again. I don't mind going back to my home country but reversing the path is not very wise choice for me as I'm reaching 30 soon.
TSleezy
post Oct 15 2018, 09:16 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Oct 15 2018, 08:45 PM)
The automotive industry has no luck in Malaysia..although if you managed to get IR, it would not carry any bearing in the automotive industry..
Hmm I get that too, feel like I'm stucked in this industry. Any idea what kind of certificate we can get as a mechanical engineer? Like a license or something.
TSleezy
post Oct 16 2018, 10:49 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Oct 16 2018, 07:35 AM)
You can join the Safety and Health discipline as a Registered Competent Person.
Owh, but I'm already a member there for height safety. I'm not sure if that's considered. Haha
TSleezy
post Oct 17 2018, 09:25 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(blitzbullet @ Oct 16 2018, 03:51 PM)
you can get PE in singapore too right. that will definitely worth something. Other than PE, career paths that you may want to consider.

1) Project manager- get certified for PMP
2) Energy manager - get certified for energy manager (singapore also have if I am not mistaken. Malaysia (called REEM) also have under suruhan jaya tenaga). This if you want to move into energy management field.
3) Technical ladder/corporate ladder in whatever company - you can just climb those ladders, be promoted from executives all the way to president.
Wa thanks man, I sense hope now. But climbing ladder ain't my type haha. Guess energy manager could be my type. Thankss
TSleezy
post Oct 17 2018, 04:09 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Oct 17 2018, 09:36 AM)
i'll share to you my path as a mechanical engineer

2014: graduated with bachelor degree (Hons)
2014: got hired to a japanese MNC company, doing Mech Design & R&D (and yes the best place to learn mechanical design) for electronic consumer product
2018: left that company after 3.5yrs, joined another emerging Japanese MNC in R&D (role is more to project and also some design due to it's still new, im pioneer)
2018: after 10months, i left and joined an Italian electronic company but as an Application Engineer (my highest salary jump so far)

in between these career jump, i seek actively in jobstreet etc
reason is because i felt undervalued in terms of salary and talent appreciation (like one forumer said, probably in OnG you're more valued)

Mechanical Design by states/industries from my exposure
Penang - electronics industry
Selangor - automation & automative industry
Johor - a lot of mix & match industry, but i see many suppliers (tool makers, injection molders, metal stamping)

in the end, its what you want to do or seek:
salary?
career?
location?

for me, i am seeking for a role in between sales and technical (Project seems to fit in this role or maybe application) thus now i left my comfort zone as a designer and doing application now
Actually I believe every mechanical engineer work for the sense of accomplishment. That's why designing is what we chose at first. But slowly we may realize doing design could only give us a sense of accomplishment but not a living.

Can i know what's good about mnc beside the ladder and pay?

Location ofcourse mau balik malaysia kerja but if to go back, I need to have my aim like what's the next step. Not like going to repeat what I'm doing here, need more aim to motivate myself. Need more challenge haha. Guess going chartered will be one of my choices. Have u thought of getting chartered?

0.0164sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:09 PM