What currency I should change to Cambodia?

TScarso
post Oct 14 2018, 09:36 AM, updated 8y ago

35 posts

Hi guys,

Next week i am going to Cambodia and I am doing a last minute preparation.

I have need to quick answer the following:

1. What currency I should change to travel to Cambodia?
2. I am currently using https://www.gomattafair.com/cambodia to find more about cambodia, any other recommendation please let me know.

Thank you. smile.gif
moonsatelite
post Oct 14 2018, 09:43 AM

737 posts

Bring USD, as they officially accept it in Phnom Penh. But change up to RM 150 to Cambodian Riel, do note that if you buy something from stores in USD they will give you back Cambodian Riel in change, also they rip you off using that method.
TScarso
post Oct 14 2018, 09:49 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Oct 14 2018, 10:43 AM)
Bring USD, as they officially accept it in Phnom Penh. But change up to RM 150 to Cambodian Riel, do note that if you buy something from stores in USD they will give you back Cambodian Riel in change, also they rip you off using that method.
Ok, so you mean in Malaysia, I should change USD first, then when I arrived Cambodia, I should go ahead to change from USD to Cambodian Riel, so this is the best way?
moonsatelite
post Oct 14 2018, 09:53 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(carso @ Oct 14 2018, 09:49 AM)
Ok, so you mean in Malaysia, I should change USD first, then when I arrived Cambodia, I should go ahead to change from USD to Cambodian Riel, so this is the best way?
Yes, that's good. But don't change too much to Cambodian Riel.
TScarso
post Oct 14 2018, 10:02 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Oct 14 2018, 10:53 AM)
Yes, that's good. But don't change too much to Cambodian Riel.
Oh Ok biggrin.gif .

Btw Cambodia got Grab?
scorgio
post Oct 14 2018, 04:28 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(carso @ Oct 14 2018, 10:02 AM)
Oh Ok    biggrin.gif .

Btw Cambodia got Grab?
Phnom Penh got.

Try to exchange some small USD notes. You'll need it when you pay the tuk2 or trishaws.

They don't discriminate small notes there. The exchange rate is the same as USD50 & 100.
ThisWorldisWeird
post Oct 15 2018, 01:12 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(carso @ Oct 14 2018, 09:49 AM)
Change from banks or airports, those small money changers will rip you off.
MR_alien
post Oct 15 2018, 03:02 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

just bring pure USD(small notes) and use USD
the change given back will be in riel and finish your riel before u get out of cambodia
it's worthless outside of cambodia
greyshadow
post Oct 16 2018, 05:11 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Do not ever try to change your riel back to USD there, very high chance you'll get counterfeit USD in return
TScarso
post Oct 16 2018, 10:16 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Oct 16 2018, 06:11 PM)
Do not ever try to change your riel back to USD there, very high chance you'll get counterfeit USD in return
Ok sound good. Tomorrow morning I am going to fly smile.gif
greyshadow
post Oct 17 2018, 08:20 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(carso @ Oct 16 2018, 10:16 PM)
Ok sound good. Tomorrow morning I am going to fly smile.gif
if you pay the vendor in big USD note, some might give you small change in smaller USD note, either you insist on local currency change, or you can accept those, just make sure you spend it all before returning

my friend kena before in russian market many years back, paid the vendor USD20 note for a USD2 item, got 18 piece of USD1 in return
only found out almost half of it is counterfeit 1 dollar according to another banker friend back at the hotel
didn't even know some actually bother to counterfeit 1 dollar, all these while thought it's only applicable to bigger notes doh.gif

0.0150sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:57 PM