Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 9 V4, Yup V4

MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 01:39 AM

3,599 posts

Guys, I would like to ask about the dual sim functionality in Samsung mobile phone.

I am having this issue,

The phone is for my parent and they are using prepaid now. Hence, they will only reload when they wanna make phone call.

So, now I plan to buy XOX sim card for them. So they will have some internet for their phone.

The problem is, XOX sim card also have charges in calling...

Hence, in this scenario, how do i ensure that my parent able to reload money to Sim 1 when they needed to make phone call and to make phone call with Sim 1 only, while leaving XOX sim (sim 2) untouch and only purely for internet?

Hope sifu here can advice. My apology for spamming here. Thank you.

Note:I will be buying Note 9 for my bro later this year as well smile.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 09:50 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Oct 29 2018, 08:08 AM)
Why u use 2 different XOX sims?

Use OneXOX, better. Unused Data can be carry forward n calls are cheap. This is how cheap they are
Oh, my apology for causing some misunderstanding.

My parent will be using maxis to make/receive phone call.

So I plan to get one XOX SIM card for them for internet connection.

But then, I am not sure whether Samsung phone enable my parent to just reload maxis for making calls etc as the XOX SIM card also got the calling charges etc.

Erm.. you get what I am trying to say right? smile.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 11:35 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Oct 29 2018, 11:26 AM)
Oh of course u can select,  which card use as call card n which card use as data card.

Under settings. > connection > sim card manager
Oh my god, this is really helpful notworthy.gif

In order to do this, much enable the confirm SIM card for call feature right? I saw it in the SIM card manager’s picture

Oh ya, all Samsung dual SIM card is the same right? I mean all have the same feature right? smile.gif still, thank you so much. notworthy.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 11:49 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Oct 29 2018, 11:46 AM)
Yup. Same
Thank you so much ☺️
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 04:49 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Oct 29 2018, 12:30 PM)
wtf you bought a note 9? masboleh
anyway,

for everyone else.. did you all manage to notice the navbar changes to a different shade of grey after 1-2 seconds?

For example...

Launch your Settings app -> then just keep noticing the navbar.. does it change to a lighter shade of grey for the nav buttons?
* i started to notice this after a recent update hmm.gif

before this i didnt notice that.. and im very particular of my surroundings as i have designer OCD sweat.gif
Tag my name also tag salah..I am sad sad.gif

Well, i actually bought a Samsung A7 for my parent. But dunno how to use the dual sim thingy so I came here and asked. (Sorry guys for such a sudden questions, but thank you for been so helpful notworthy.gif)

As for note9, my brother already decided to buy note9, for some reason he wanted to buy in Malaysia instead and he will be back from US this dec. so I most probably will get a note9 for him at nov or dec. smile.gif

That time may need to some help from all the sifu-sifu here again. notworthy.gif

Oh ya guys, it is better to buy note9 on 11/11 or 12/12? Which platform shall I buy note9? Lazada? Shopee? Or 11street.my? Maybe it is still too early for me to ask.

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Oct 29 2018, 04:55 PM
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 05:10 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Oct 29 2018, 04:57 PM)
Which platform you plan to buy?
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 10:40 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Oct 29 2018, 05:37 PM)
lazada coz i got 500 voucher
Woah, how you got that voucher?

QUOTE(leongsem @ Oct 29 2018, 05:40 PM)
if you do not have voucher q100lo or shopee will be slightly cheaper
I see. q100lo.. heard that before but never buy anything from there before.

QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Oct 29 2018, 05:44 PM)
I bought couple of phones and recently bought note 9 from qoo10. Always find their tech coupons are more "sincere" than shopee and lazada. Just ordered a note 9 128gb rm2600 after applying digital week voucher rm400. Bought microsd from shopee, spigen phone case from lazada. LOL!

Lazada, since taken over by chinaman...no point looking at it. I only use it to see item descriptions and items not available in other platforms.

Shopee...cheaper than retail for most of the things except phones. Very good for seeing reviews with photos.

11street...so far I only find some amount of items that is cheaper than shopee. Very few. E.g. original Samsung fast charger, yi dashcam.
Woahhh.. so how to get the digital week voucher? is it only available during special event like 11.11?

But I knew Lazada got consumer protection, means Lazada will refund if kena scam, how about qoo10?

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 29 2018, 07:28 PM)
What you offering?
We can't predict the future.. Best time to buy is best time you want it. Else wait, in typical fashion legit price should go down. However, you miss a glitch or one time only price slash? That's gone.. Just like pre-order..
This man gets it..  thumbup.gif
I see. Thank you so much. But the glitch or price slash normally will be share at here? If yes, then i will monitor this thread from time to time haha.
MasBoleh!
post Oct 29 2018, 11:45 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(leongsem @ Oct 29 2018, 11:14 PM)
get it when apply HSBC credit card
Woah I see. I gonna go check imoney and ringgit plus

QUOTE(lionelchia1986 @ Oct 29 2018, 11:24 PM)
Just go to note 9 selling at rm3000 then u can click download voucher within the page. I think until 31 October only. But once you download the voucher, within 24 hours must use if not expire. Seems like no one is grabbing the voucher, easily download.
Oh I see. But qoo10 safe and reliable or not? I scare Kena scam .
MasBoleh!
post Oct 30 2018, 07:26 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(noteuser25 @ Oct 30 2018, 07:10 AM)
reliable i guess. just make sure there's rating before buying i guess
Haha true also.

QUOTE(leongsem @ Oct 30 2018, 09:09 AM)
you only can get the 500 voucher thru hsbc
try to search hsbc + lazada 500 and will get the link

i don think there is any problem on qoo1o, my colleague just bought iphone xs there
Thank you. I found the website. Only limited to 3 type of hsbc cards and must apply through their site. Pretty cool thumbup.gif

Question 1:
Guys, back to quite some pages of this thread, I read you guys are discussing about possibility of note 9 been telco lock.

So I just wanna confirm, if I buy Malaysian set with official Samsung Malaysian warranty, the phone will be unlock and can use American SIM card right?

Question 2:
qoo10 can use Amex card as payment?

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Oct 30 2018, 07:27 PM
MasBoleh!
post Oct 31 2018, 01:38 AM

3,599 posts

[quote=Beebeej,Oct 31 2018, 12:49 AM]
[quote=MasBoleh!,Oct 30 2018, 07:26 PM]
Haha true also.
Thank you. I found the website. Only limited to 3 type of hsbc cards and must apply through their site. Pretty cool thumbup.gif

Question 1:
Guys, back to quite some pages of this thread, I read you guys are discussing about possibility of note 9 been telco lock.

So I just wanna confirm, if I buy Malaysian set with official Samsung Malaysian warranty, the phone will be unlock and can use American SIM card right?
You have to make a call to any Malaysian number for 7 to 10 minutes, then it's unlock according to Samsung office

[/quote]
That is a serious answer right? blink.gif
MasBoleh!
post Oct 31 2018, 03:19 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 31 2018, 06:48 AM)
I think is 5 mins
If no make phone call to Malaysian number then it will be a locked note 9? rclxub.gif
MasBoleh!
post Nov 7 2018, 04:03 PM

3,599 posts

[quote=Beebeej,Oct 31 2018, 12:49 AM]
[quote=MasBoleh!,Oct 30 2018, 07:26 PM]
Haha true also.

Question 1:

You have to make a call to any Malaysian number for 7 to 10 minutes, then it's unlock according to Samsung office

[/quote]

[quote=benny888,Oct 31 2018, 06:48 AM]
I think is 5 mins

[/quote]

Guys, I plan to buy Note 9 this coming 11.11 but I am worry that the American sim card will not be able to use, as the picture above stated for SEA sim cards only sweat.gif

So I have to put in SEA sim card and make a phone call to any Malaysian number for 10 minutes right?

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Nov 7 2018, 04:04 PM
MasBoleh!
post Nov 7 2018, 07:40 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 7 2018, 04:35 PM)
Correct
thank you thumbsup.gif
MasBoleh!
post Nov 11 2018, 09:22 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Nov 8 2018, 10:05 AM)
Correct.
And you have to make calls for 10 minutes on both SIM card slot.
If not, No Service will happen.
So after call for 10 minutes, need to shut off the phone and change sim card to slot 2 then call 10 minutes again? Or must have 2 sim cards?
Thank you for telling me ! THis is so crucial to me
QUOTE(ck0403my @ Nov 11 2018, 01:54 AM)
https://shopee.com.my/Samsung-Galaxy-Note-9...2745.1548398028

how about this, RM2499 , can get RM25 shop voucher
Bought, with final price 2436. I dunno where did my RM 100 voucher go.. haiz.. so only use the RM 25 voucher

Thank you for sharing

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Nov 11 2018, 09:25 PM
MasBoleh!
post Nov 11 2018, 10:06 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(ck0403my @ Nov 11 2018, 09:41 PM)
100 voucher only available for payment using shopee app
I don't see it in the shopee app's claim voucher section hmm.. weird..
MasBoleh!
post Nov 11 2018, 11:13 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Nov 11 2018, 10:50 PM)
In my case I put the SIM in slot 1 and make the call and change to SIM slot 2 after that,
thank you so much again

QUOTE(yupio @ Nov 11 2018, 11:06 PM)
Fully redeemed I think.
dunno.. haiz.. wealth god not with me

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 11 2018, 11:10 PM)
This is the price I got:

Subtotal: RM 2,449.00
Shipping Fee: RM 12.00
Promo Code(11MOBILE): RM 100.00
Total Payment: RM 2,361.00
Nice....
MasBoleh!
post Nov 15 2018, 12:40 AM

3,599 posts

I bought from 7 mobile at lazada initially at morning, the evening saw rainbowcity cheaper, so I cancelled lazada and went ahead rainbowcity mana tahu is same people haha
MasBoleh!
post Nov 16 2018, 01:26 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Landmarkyap @ Nov 15 2018, 03:05 AM)
Same seller loh.
Yea.. still waiting for them to deliver me my phone biggrin.gif
MasBoleh!
post Nov 20 2018, 05:05 PM

3,599 posts

Just played with Note 9.

First impression, the built is pretty solid and premium feel.

The phone is quite smooth, although when I scroll back my iPhone, i felt like iPhone is smoother somehow, perhaps I subconsciously bias towards iOS, then when I scroll back Note 9, I am satisfied as least when I used it to scroll LYN.

Pretty features packed, with all the split view, edge display etc...

I like the intelligence scan.. like i double tap, then boom...AOD to Lock screen then straight to the main home screen in split second. Not bad. No need to slide up

And the bluetooth S-pen pretty cool as well.. i used it to take picture.. woah is cool ! But then, I was kinda disappointed that the S-pen button do nothing on the Screen Memo writing. Samsung can learn from Apple that pressing the button can change to eraser mode or something on this. Nevertheless, not a big issue, can be fix with software update.

Lastly and most importantly I am very pleased to see the Fast Charger comes in the box, and also adapters. The AKG earphone looks and feel good as well.

Of course, I am also excited to wanna explore the new One UI later. Samsung has done a good job so far, I hope that Samsung can continue to keep it up like this and remained the audio jack. My next phone shall be a Note

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Nov 20 2018, 05:44 PM
MasBoleh!
post Nov 21 2018, 12:27 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(jambu21 @ Nov 21 2018, 12:25 AM)
well actually when writing in memo when you long press the pen button it will trigger the eraser mode, letting go of the button will turn back to pen mode
Oh I see. So is press and hold. Hmm interesting.. later will test it again.

Thank you for telling me.. thumbup.gif

0.0900sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:54 PM