WTA what canon DSLR and lens to buy ?
Axelredan
Oct 12 2018, 02:43 AM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 11 2018, 09:24 PM) Thanks alots,any advice which model? Get a mirrorless. It'll basically function like a DSLR and you can use DSLR lenses and all types of lenses. If you have to buy canon go with Canon EOS M50 or Canon EOS M6 (Used). Both are pretty great. If you wanna go full frame mirrorless go with any of Sony A7 series. (Though lenses and everything will be more expensive in this route. Might as well go with Canon personally)
Axelredan
Oct 12 2018, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 12 2018, 09:34 PM) Thanks for advice . So currently you also use I think ? Which lens is good ? I'm using an EOS M6. Get yourself a 50mm f1.8 EF lens. Then 22mm f2.0 lens EF-M lens (most versatile lens). These 2 lenses will cover 80% of all you wanna shoot and wont break the bank. If you wish to shoot architecture go with any 15mm lens and below. Later if you wish to take photos of birds, sports, etc you can get a telephoto.
Axelredan
Oct 13 2018, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 12 2018, 10:25 PM) Thanks, Wish to have one lens which can go travel , As a photographer thats going to be difficult. However if you really want only 1 lens then Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 is your best bet. However expect it to be chunky and heavy
Axelredan
Oct 13 2018, 02:43 AM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 12 2018, 10:25 PM) Thanks, Wish to have one lens which can go travel , And if all you want is a lot of bokeh, street photography, portraiture then Sigma 18-35mm will be pretty great. Its an amazing lens that is basically a combination of wide prime lenses (big however). This post has been edited by Axelredan: Oct 13 2018, 02:45 AM
Axelredan
Oct 13 2018, 02:50 AM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 12 2018, 10:25 PM) Thanks, Wish to have one lens which can go travel , Be aware however that expecting one all-round lens will probably make the lens heavy and expensive. Compared to buying many cheap lenses (lighter individually and you save cash and can resell easier). In the end though if you want the most portable versatile prime lens (fixed focal length) get the Canon 22mm EF-M F2.0 lens (only for mirrorless). it can fit your mirrorless camera into your pocket This post has been edited by Axelredan: Oct 13 2018, 02:54 AM
Axelredan
Oct 13 2018, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 13 2018, 04:54 PM) I hear many ppl say canon 24-105 very good Not a bad zoom lens. F3.5. If you wanna take portraits of anything you're gonna need to stand pretty far away. Also 24mm on a crop sensor isn't great for landscape. You win some, you lose some. (expensive too) This post has been edited by Axelredan: Oct 13 2018, 07:08 PM
Axelredan
Oct 14 2018, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(deric79k @ Oct 13 2018, 11:20 PM) Yes, I am new, that's why also looking for a sifu to teach me , or any beginner class, If get 200D new set, I can get used unit for 70D or 80D which still have warranty as well. FYI mirrorless cameras having low battery isnt really true anymore. Most mirrorless cameras usually come bundled with extra battery. With the 2 batteries i can easily last it a day (500+ shots)
Axelredan
Oct 14 2018, 05:01 PM
My advice is simply to research the models of mirrorless or dslr you like. Then go to shops in sunway pyramid or big shopping malls and test the cameras in the showroom out. Thats one way of finding out what you want. Dont forget to budget in your lenses too.
Axelredan
Oct 14 2018, 05:03 PM
If you get 3-4 used primes maybe you can get away with 1k-1.2k on lenses which will cover most of your photography requirements. If you want one single lens to do it all be prepared to spend 1.5k and upward and it still wont cover all photography needs like 3-4 primes would (like fish eye architecture or ultra bokeh portraits).