Mixing different brand of RAMs

TSabc456
post Oct 10 2018, 09:19 PM, updated 8y ago

57 posts

Hi Sifus,

Need your advice. Can I mix the different brand of RAMs? Currently setup using Aegis G-Skill 8GB RAM F4-2400C15S-8GIS . Wanted to buy and mix it with HyperX 8GB RAM 2400Mhz FURY DDR4 Memory Black (HX424C15FB2/8) . Don't know whether it will work or not. Both seems to have latency 15-15-15 at 1.2v. My motherboard is ASUS H110M-K LGA1151 DDR4 MOTHERBOARD. Please advice.

virusje
post Oct 10 2018, 09:31 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(abc456 @ Oct 10 2018, 09:19 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Need your advice. Can I mix the different brand of RAMs? Currently setup using Aegis G-Skill 8GB RAM F4-2400C15S-8GIS . Wanted to buy and mix it with HyperX 8GB RAM 2400Mhz FURY DDR4 Memory Black (HX424C15FB2/8) . Don't know whether it will work or not. Both seems to have latency 15-15-15 at 1.2v. My motherboard is ASUS H110M-K LGA1151 DDR4 MOTHERBOARD. Please advice.
Ram must be same speed , latency
But unfortunately my kingston hyperx downgrade both my ram to 2133mhz as in my case i mixed micron ram with kingston initially 2400mhz and both downclocked at 2133mhz. I think the latency is not the same .

So better buy same brand for peace of mind

This post has been edited by virusje: Oct 10 2018, 09:32 PM
mbr
post Oct 10 2018, 09:36 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

Hi Sifus,

If dual channel, will follow the slower ram.
goldfries
post Oct 11 2018, 03:57 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(virusje @ Oct 10 2018, 09:31 PM)
Ram must be same speed , latency
Nope, this is not true. smile.gif

You can mix, they'll just run at the lower common denominator.

goldfries
post Oct 11 2018, 03:59 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Currently setup using Aegis G-Skill 8GB RAM F4-2400C15S-8GIS. Wanted to buy and mix it with HyperX 8GB RAM 2400Mhz FURY DDR4 Memory Black (HX424C15FB2/8) . Don't know whether it will work or not. Both seems to have latency 15-15-15 at 1.2v. My motherboard is ASUS H110M-K LGA1151 DDR4 MOTHERBOARD. Please advice.
Would you like to trade?

It looks nicer running the same RAM and minimizes any possible issues.

This is mine, same models.

0.0141sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:12 PM