QUOTE(AmeiN @ Nov 14 2018, 05:18 PM)
Hello, will Time entertain list of demand/interest to install fiber for highrise. Anyone done this before?
Totally support this. SBD right?TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps
Nov 14 2018, 06:33 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Grid |
Nov 14 2018, 08:31 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
490 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Somewhere I belong |
Nov 14 2018, 10:36 PM
2,671 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Nov 15 2018, 09:36 AM
7,937 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Nov 15 2018, 12:48 PM
62 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
Nov 15 2018, 01:55 PM
116 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
I was previously on the 100Mbps package before the recent free upgrade to the 500Mbps package.
Still using the original hardware that TIME provided: 1) Huawei HG8250H GPON terminal 2) D-Link AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (300-867 Mbps) - the one that looks like a cylinder tower This area is not really my forte, but I do know that with a 400% increase in speed, the current hardware setup may be obsolete and I'm not getting the most out of the 500 Mbps connection. Is the current hardware sufficient? If not, please give me some upgrade recommendations to fully utilize the 500 Mbps speed.... My home is a 1200sqft condo unit, mostly using 2 android tv boxes and a couple of mobile devices. May consider some smart home devices down the road. Much appreciated! |
Nov 15 2018, 09:55 PM
6,931 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Bolehland for sure ^_^ |
Double post
This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 15 2018, 09:56 PM |
Nov 15 2018, 09:56 PM
6,931 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Bolehland for sure ^_^ |
QUOTE(jackpop @ Nov 15 2018, 12:48 PM) how come the ping is so high ? U get that ping if u are in Penang. That's normal. 8-12ms with LAN cablethought with fiber, the ping will be around 5ms if using cable. Please correct me if i'm wrong. QUOTE(barry80 @ Nov 14 2018, 08:31 PM) Thanks for the pic, inspire me to make one fan under router too. Thanks for the inspirationThis post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 15 2018, 09:57 PM |
Nov 15 2018, 10:42 PM
3,834 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
QUOTE(The Chauvinist @ Nov 15 2018, 01:55 PM) I was previously on the 100Mbps package before the recent free upgrade to the 500Mbps package. Hi, you're using the D-Link DIR-850L cylinder type?Still using the original hardware that TIME provided: 1) Huawei HG8250H GPON terminal 2) D-Link AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (300-867 Mbps) - the one that looks like a cylinder tower This area is not really my forte, but I do know that with a 400% increase in speed, the current hardware setup may be obsolete and I'm not getting the most out of the 500 Mbps connection. Is the current hardware sufficient? If not, please give me some upgrade recommendations to fully utilize the 500 Mbps speed.... My home is a 1200sqft condo unit, mostly using 2 android tv boxes and a couple of mobile devices. May consider some smart home devices down the road. Much appreciated! This routers have a lot of issues after speed upgrade to 500Mbps. May I know what's your budget? Your receiving devices must have 5GHz support in order to utilize the 500Mbps speed. Let me know what's your android box model? MY TV box under 5GHz can get around 200 - 300Mbps. Thanks. |
Nov 16 2018, 01:07 PM
499 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Ever since the speed upgrades, I have been noticing a lot of total connection loss to my condo.
Seems to happen more frequently at night, if I download a large file, then the connection will drop completely in my entire house, wired , wireless, different access points, totally gone. Usually the connection will re-establish itself after 15-30 mins, occasionally if I reset the modem, it will reconnect quicker. Anyone else experiencing this issue? I am in Bangsar. |
Nov 16 2018, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 15 2018, 10:42 PM) Hi, you're using the D-Link DIR-850L cylinder type? Yup. That's the model. Been noticing the problems too.This routers have a lot of issues after speed upgrade to 500Mbps. QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 15 2018, 10:42 PM) May I know what's your budget? Around RM500ish should be fine if it's worth the upgrade. Mostly a few phones/tablets streaming stuff. Laptop occasionally downloading large files.Your receiving devices must have 5GHz support in order to utilize the 500Mbps speed. QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 15 2018, 10:42 PM) My tv boxes are china boxes, 2.4GHz only. How much difference is 2.4GHz at 100 Mbps vs 5GHz at 500 Mbps? May consider upgrading my boxes too if it's worth the 5GHz and 500 Mbps... I mainly watch sports, movies, tv series and youtube. |
Nov 16 2018, 03:04 PM
5,714 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(The Chauvinist @ Nov 15 2018, 01:55 PM) I was previously on the 100Mbps package before the recent free upgrade to the 500Mbps package. Not sufficient. You have to get a better router. See here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096 Still using the original hardware that TIME provided: 1) Huawei HG8250H GPON terminal 2) D-Link AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (300-867 Mbps) - the one that looks like a cylinder tower This area is not really my forte, but I do know that with a 400% increase in speed, the current hardware setup may be obsolete and I'm not getting the most out of the 500 Mbps connection. Is the current hardware sufficient? If not, please give me some upgrade recommendations to fully utilize the 500 Mbps speed.... My home is a 1200sqft condo unit, mostly using 2 android tv boxes and a couple of mobile devices. May consider some smart home devices down the road. Much appreciated! Or read green text on my signature. QUOTE(pltan @ Nov 16 2018, 01:07 PM) Ever since the speed upgrades, I have been noticing a lot of total connection loss to my condo. Try with a different better router. Sounds like your router hardware can't handle the processing of the download. You are using the TP-Link C1200 or the DIR-850L?Seems to happen more frequently at night, if I download a large file, then the connection will drop completely in my entire house, wired , wireless, different access points, totally gone. Usually the connection will re-establish itself after 15-30 mins, occasionally if I reset the modem, it will reconnect quicker. Anyone else experiencing this issue? I am in Bangsar. |
Nov 16 2018, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(The Chauvinist @ Nov 16 2018, 03:04 PM) Yup. That's the model. Been noticing the problems too. Read green text on my signature to learn more about 2.4GHz vs 5GHz. Huge difference of max speed between 2.4 and 5.Around RM500ish should be fine if it's worth the upgrade. Mostly a few phones/tablets streaming stuff. Laptop occasionally downloading large files. My tv boxes are china boxes, 2.4GHz only. How much difference is 2.4GHz at 100 Mbps vs 5GHz at 500 Mbps? May consider upgrading my boxes too if it's worth the 5GHz and 500 Mbps... I mainly watch sports, movies, tv series and youtube. |
Nov 16 2018, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(pltan @ Nov 16 2018, 01:07 PM) Ever since the speed upgrades, I have been noticing a lot of total connection loss to my condo. Which router that you're currently using?Seems to happen more frequently at night, if I download a large file, then the connection will drop completely in my entire house, wired , wireless, different access points, totally gone. Usually the connection will re-establish itself after 15-30 mins, occasionally if I reset the modem, it will reconnect quicker. Anyone else experiencing this issue? I am in Bangsar. If you're using D-Link DIR-850L then this is a common issue that everyone is facing. QUOTE(The Chauvinist @ Nov 16 2018, 03:04 PM) Yup. That's the model. Been noticing the problems too. The router that you're using have a lot of issues and vulnerable attack.Around RM500ish should be fine if it's worth the upgrade. Mostly a few phones/tablets streaming stuff. Laptop occasionally downloading large files. My tv boxes are china boxes, 2.4GHz only. How much difference is 2.4GHz at 100 Mbps vs 5GHz at 500 Mbps? May consider upgrading my boxes too if it's worth the 5GHz and 500 Mbps... I mainly watch sports, movies, tv series and youtube. You may get the Archer C7, Archer C9 or Tenda AC18 for your situation. You may order from OOKAS. I'm using Archer C9. Your TV box cannot utilize the full 500Mbps speed. I would recommend you to upgrade. If got 5GHz devices then worth to upgrade because 2.4GHz speed will improve a bit only and less than 100Mbps. Thanks This post has been edited by FusionXY: Nov 16 2018, 04:42 PM |
Nov 16 2018, 04:34 PM
499 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 16 2018, 03:04 PM) Not sufficient. You have to get a better router. See here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4658096 Using a Linksys EA6500Or read green text on my signature. Try with a different better router. Sounds like your router hardware can't handle the processing of the download. You are using the TP-Link C1200 or the DIR-850L? But I will troubleshoot with a different router. |
Nov 16 2018, 04:36 PM
Nov 16 2018, 04:43 PM
Nov 16 2018, 05:24 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Sandakan,Sabah |
Hi guys,
I am currently with Maxis Broadband, if I want to switch to Time Fibre, what's the procedure? Is Time Fibre installer on time with their installation schedule? Previously, Maxis installer super lousy and failed to show up for 3 times without early notice. Super waste time. |
Nov 16 2018, 05:46 PM
3,606 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(maideii @ Nov 16 2018, 05:24 PM) Hi guys, Hi ,I am currently with Maxis Broadband, if I want to switch to Time Fibre, what's the procedure? Is Time Fibre installer on time with their installation schedule? Previously, Maxis installer super lousy and failed to show up for 3 times without early notice. Super waste time. We are TIME Fibre Authorised Disti & Service Installer. Let us assist you with the easy switch. We cant say on behalf of all service installers but generally TIME Installer follows more stringent process and for example our team always punctual and install much more earlier than the actual scheduled date. Thanks. This post has been edited by jjj2: Nov 16 2018, 05:49 PM |
Nov 16 2018, 06:35 PM
| Change to: | 0.0188sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:32 PM |