TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

LuckyLim
post Nov 9 2025, 01:22 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Feb 27 2025, 05:09 PM)

Hi all,

I'm planning to get 600mbps package, for those getting this package, are you getting modem + wifi7 router, two separate devices? Because I have 200mbps package on another house that comes with Wifi6 router and modem in one single device, I plan to use my own router/mesh system for the 600mbps.
Hi, you will get 1x ONT (WiFi7) if your unit only has a Fiber Wall Socket (FWS), otherwise if you have a soho box, then you will get a ONU + an ONT (wifi7 Router).
It does't matter, if you are given with 1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router), call CS to request them to turn into bridge mode & connect your own Router/Mesh System.
Thanks!
Hmm what if they give me 1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router).

But I alr have a ZTE ONT (outside cable to this router).
Can I still use the 1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router) and connect to the ZTE ONT?

Wan from ZTE ONT to Lan 1 , 1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router) ??

This post has been edited by LuckyLim: Nov 9 2025, 01:23 AM
westlife
post Nov 9 2025, 12:44 PM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Nov 8 2025, 09:12 PM)
Lodged a report to Time CS?
ya.. thinking of doing it so... dry.gif

QUOTE(Chronotech @ Nov 8 2025, 09:28 PM)
Would you have another router to confirm? Possibly, seen before rarely, where a router is failing or overheating due to placement.
i have the unifi given wifi 6 routers and also the given wifi 6 routers by time bb. but last time i had tried to use them but both also cannot give better speed and latency than my old linksys wifi 5 mesh as my mesh is tri-band while the two wifi 6 routers by unifi and time are just dual-band.
westlife
post Nov 10 2025, 12:55 PM

14,235 posts

finally one last month to go to switch to rm99 200Mbps plan (no contract). tongue.gif

finally can save around rm40++ per month.
eauyong
post Nov 10 2025, 01:45 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 10 2025, 12:55 PM)
finally one last month to go to switch to rm99 200Mbps plan (no contract). tongue.gif

finally can save around rm40++ per month.
Any good offers for 200Mbps 24-months re-contract?

jjj2
post Nov 10 2025, 02:07 PM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(LuckyLim @ Nov 9 2025, 01:22 AM)
Hmm what if they give me  1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router).

But I alr have a ZTE ONT (outside cable to this router).
Can I still use the  1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router) and connect to the ZTE ONT?

Wan from ZTE ONT to Lan 1 ,  1 unit of ONT (combo of ONU & Router) ??
If you are subscribing to TIME BB (FTTx), the ONU/ONT given will be Huawei ones, where the fiber will be directly connected to this ONU/ONT.
I'm not sure what do you mean by outside cable to this router...
Anyway you can configure your ZTE ONT to AP mode and connect to anyone of the port of the Huawei ONT (in the case if you are given a combo, ONT) from Time.
leezhijiang
post Nov 10 2025, 03:11 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(twice1020 @ Nov 8 2025, 05:27 PM)
no issue in penang, IPv6 enabled
Hmm.. . Mine is Puncak Alam Selangor. On 600 Mbps.
westlife
post Nov 11 2025, 12:16 AM

14,235 posts

QUOTE(eauyong @ Nov 10 2025, 01:45 PM)
Any good offers for 200Mbps 24-months re-contract?
dun know. need to wait till 1 day before 15 dec 2025 only i can call them to ask. tongue.gif
a-ei-a
post Nov 11 2025, 12:36 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Sep 5 2025, 01:24 PM)
It very much depends on your unit size & your budget.
Looking for AX23, hope it's easy to setup
https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...er/archer-ax23/
laochuan597
post Nov 11 2025, 10:46 AM

25 posts

Have scheduled for FTTR installation,

current combination offered is parent node huawei V163 and child node K153. CS told me existing ont+router unit will not be compatible with FTTR device and these devices cannot be set as bridgemode. I checked that FTTR device all is wifi 6. Anyone has idea about the performance and wall penetration? I have no much choice either as my home do not pull extra LAN cable during renovation and wifi 7 mesh also hardly settle connection issue of second floor.

Also what is the reliability and durability of these fttr device

This post has been edited by laochuan597: Nov 11 2025, 10:53 AM
jjj2
post Nov 11 2025, 11:56 AM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Nov 11 2025, 12:36 AM)
Looking for AX23, hope it's easy to setup
https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...er/archer-ax23/
Yes, very easy.
jjj2
post Nov 11 2025, 11:57 AM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(laochuan597 @ Nov 11 2025, 10:46 AM)
Have scheduled for FTTR installation,

current combination offered is parent node huawei V163 and child node K153. CS told me existing ont+router unit will not be compatible with FTTR device and these devices cannot be set as bridgemode. I checked that FTTR device all is wifi 6. Anyone has idea about the performance and wall penetration? I have no much choice either as my home do not pull extra LAN cable during renovation and wifi 7 mesh also hardly settle connection issue of second floor.

Also what is the reliability and durability of these fttr device
Hi, you may check back previous posts on this FTTR.
laochuan597
post Nov 11 2025, 03:33 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 11 2025, 11:57 AM)
Hi, you may check back previous posts on this FTTR.
Do you provide the solution of own FTTR? if yes maybe can pm me the quotation. I worry if I subcribe time fttr, I hardly switch to other ISP after contract end. mean must be using time device/protocol after end of contract
jjj2
post Nov 11 2025, 04:01 PM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(laochuan597 @ Nov 11 2025, 03:33 PM)
Do you provide the solution of own FTTR? if yes maybe can pm me the quotation. I worry if I subcribe time fttr, I hardly switch to other ISP after contract end. mean must be using time device/protocol after end of contract
Hi..we do...but not recommended as once you converted to FTTR, you will be 'stuck' with limited devices that can be used for this type of deployment.
Basically it works the same across multiple ISP that supports FTTR, the fiber medium can be reused, Eg. one day you migrate to CelcomDigi or others ISP that supports FTTR, but not normal devices (Routers/AP) that commonly available in the market.

laochuan597
post Nov 11 2025, 05:05 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 11 2025, 04:01 PM)
Hi..we do...but not recommended as once you converted to FTTR, you will be 'stuck' with limited devices that can be used for this type of deployment.
Basically it works the same across multiple ISP that supports FTTR, the fiber medium can be reused, Eg. one day you migrate to CelcomDigi or others ISP that supports FTTR, but not normal devices (Routers/AP) that commonly available in the market.
I read your comment about avoiding fttr and use lan cable but I have not choice left, impossible to hack wall to hide the conduit for lan cable now. other than time, which isp provide device for fttr also?
a-ei-a
post Nov 12 2025, 09:47 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 11 2025, 11:56 AM)
Yes, very easy.
Can this be done on my own or I need Time CS to do the changes on the existing Time Huawei modem router?
tcwan
post Nov 12 2025, 10:25 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Nov 11 2025, 04:01 PM)
It's been a while I looked into the whole FTTR solution and it's pros and cons.
(I didn't see the point for my place since I've already laid out CAT-5e during renovation previously).

Anyway, for anyone wanting a more technical explanation, I went down the rabbit hole trying to understand the FTTR stack and why someone will be stuck with this solution once you commit to it.

Basically the issue comes down to the use of the single flexible fiber for connecting the main unit to the end points. The single fiber requires the use of bi-directional optical signalling over the one fiber.

Currently the most common network equipment that operate with multiple optical signals (wavelengths) over the same fiber is GPON technology, so the FTTR equipment basically extending GPON to the room.

There are bi-directional (dual-wavelength) SFPs available for Ethernet switches/routers, but I don't believe that they will work over the fibers used in FTTR.

There is also an alternate Polymer Optical Fiber (POF) technology but that uses a different type of fiber than what is used for FTTR AFAIK and is not (yet) bidirectional. In addition, I have not even heard anyone talk about POF for home networking around here.

This post has been edited by tcwan: Nov 12 2025, 10:29 AM
ChenKaiWen
post Nov 12 2025, 10:36 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(tcwan @ Nov 12 2025, 10:25 AM)
It's been a while I looked into the whole FTTR solution and it's pros and cons.
(I didn't see the point for my place since I've already laid out CAT-5e during renovation previously).

Anyway, for anyone wanting a more technical explanation, I went down the rabbit hole trying to understand the FTTR stack and why someone will be stuck with this solution once you commit to it.

Basically the issue comes down to the use of the single flexible fiber for connecting the main unit to the end points. The single fiber requires the use of bi-directional optical signalling over the one fiber.

Currently the most common network equipment that operate with multiple optical signals (wavelengths) over the same fiber is GPON technology, so the FTTR equipment basically extending GPON to the room.

There are bi-directional (dual-wavelength) SFPs available for typical switches/routers, but I don't believe that they will work over the fibers used in FTTR.

There is also an alternate Polymer Optical Fiber (POF) technology but that uses a different type of fiber than what is used for FTTR AFAIK and is not (yet) bidirectional. In addition, I have not even heard anyone talk about POF for home networking around here.
I believe you can use the fibre as it’s just using usual SC connector. Like GPON, there’s a splitter hub connecting to main router, then into the other units. You can get a SFP switch to replace that splitter.

If me, I would buy transparent SC fibre from taobao or other platforms if u can find them. Then use bidi SFP or use a media converter to connect your devices. The only problem is the tool to glue the fibre, it’s quite expensive. So hot glue is your friend here.
tcwan
post Nov 12 2025, 12:12 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ChenKaiWen @ Nov 12 2025, 10:36 AM)
I believe you can use the fibre as it’s just using usual SC connector. Like GPON, there’s a splitter hub connecting to main router, then into the other units. You can get a SFP switch to replace that splitter.

If me, I would buy transparent SC fibre from taobao or other platforms if u can find them. Then use bidi SFP or use a media converter to connect your devices. The only problem is the tool to glue the fibre, it’s quite expensive. So hot glue is your friend here.
Hmm. I'm a bit wary of using bidi SFPs with fiber that was not designed for it (Note: this not my area of expertise). Mainly because of the laser power output, since it's going to be ~ 100 m while the SFP optical receivers I referenced are rated for > 3 km. If there are bidi SFP versions for in-building connections of 100 - 500 m then that would be possible I guess.

Edit: Apparently, the minimum fiber distance can be 2 m even for long range SFP modules. So maybe the FTTR fiber can be reused after all (barring connector mismatch issues etc assuming that you can re-terminate them).

This post has been edited by tcwan: Nov 12 2025, 02:01 PM
jjj2
post Nov 12 2025, 05:23 PM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(laochuan597 @ Nov 11 2025, 05:05 PM)
I read your comment about avoiding fttr and use lan cable but I have not choice left, impossible to hack wall to hide the conduit for lan cable now. other than time, which isp provide device for fttr also?
Others are CelcomDigi & Unifi.
jjj2
post Nov 12 2025, 05:25 PM

3,598 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Nov 12 2025, 09:47 AM)
Can this be done on my own or I need Time CS to do the changes on the existing Time Huawei modem router?
Once you have requested the CS to change your ONT to bridge mode, then you can configure your own router with the given PPPOE credentials.
Plug in the WAN port of your router to the LAN1 of your ONT.

663 Pages « < 659 660 661 662 663 >Top

0.0223sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:39 AM