The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V2, Welcome to the big screens.

chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 01:32 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Slyp @ Oct 5 2018, 12:11 PM)
Hi guys for those using the regular Xs, how’s the battery life?
im upgrade from 7 plus (just change battery during June).. i would say 7 plus battery life better compare to xs...
chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 03:12 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 5 2018, 01:37 PM)
Hardly surprising as the XS has a smaller battery. Should have gone for the XS Max
nope.. im happy with xs... xs max too big for 1 hand operation... in fact quite difficult for 7plus sometimes.. i couldn't imagine xs max
chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 03:22 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 5 2018, 03:15 PM)
Yeah, the X and the Xs seems to be the sweet spot for single-handed operation, just a pity about the smallish battery.
1 thing bad bout xs is when im using it right now.. no one ever notice that.. haha.. space gray btw
chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 03:31 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 5 2018, 03:28 PM)
Should have gone for the Gold to stand out! (Same as how some 6S/6S Plus male owners went for Rose Gold to distinguish it from the 6, even though Rose Gold is pink - I'm looking at you, TOMEI-R )
6grams lighter than the Xs Max. 7+ is lighter coz glass heavier than aluminum...
haha is ok la.. i stick to black for my every iphone(still in my drawer from ip4)... i scare i will regret getting gold for the short term hype.. btw... stop waiting and get it right now.. Buy it earlier, Enjoy it earlier
chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 03:52 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(pandagear @ Oct 5 2018, 03:46 PM)
This year's Nomad leather cases are thinner and lighter compared to the previous iPhone X models. Much nicer in my opinion but drop protection is reduced from 10ft to 6ft for the new models
for this nomad leather cases, the side is leather like ori leather case or is rubber?
chrischiang
post Oct 5 2018, 04:03 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(hensky @ Oct 5 2018, 03:56 PM)
back is leather, side is rubber
QUOTE(pandagear @ Oct 5 2018, 03:56 PM)
Sides are TPU. Less wear and tear compared to the Apple case but doesn't look as seamless
ahh! thanks.. then i'll stick with apple case... just wait it to launch in malaysia...
chrischiang
post Oct 6 2018, 11:50 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Slyp @ Oct 5 2018, 04:24 PM)
thanks for your reply dude. then i'd better opt for XR.  hmm.gif
better hands on XR before grabbing 1 unit.. the display is different...

QUOTE(yclam5729 @ Oct 5 2018, 04:42 PM)
I use reachability a lot in Xs Max when I need to go back on top left and when I need to 'swype' with one hand, i use one hand mode for the keyboard. No doubt it is hard for one hand, still the display, no words can describe.
using reachability mean you need 2 step to do the thing... that why i opt with xs... before i decided.. i tried with my 7plus to 1 hand from most top side.. fail. and i gave up on xs max...

chrischiang
post Oct 8 2018, 11:07 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 6 2018, 01:39 PM)
Will probably wait for telco set..people who take contract and sell the phone...maxis sets are the same as normal sets coz they dont offer zerolution on new launches...thus the phones will not be locked..
Haha yea... biggrin.gif
no need to worry about malaysia telco set.. even is zerolution.. is normal unlock set... no locked set practice in malaysia...

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 7 2018, 01:13 PM)
I know sweat.gif, but apparently T&L are AP sets which means if I have problem with the phone, only way to claim warranty is through T&L, even if I’m in Hk I can’t send in to apple store directly l...can I?
i believe if yours is hk set and you walk in to apple hk.. surely can claim.. afterall still ori iphone bought in hk...

So now pull the trigger... Buy it earlier.. enjoy it earlier thumbup.gif
chrischiang
post Oct 12 2018, 09:32 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Stochastic @ Oct 12 2018, 09:19 AM)
Hi all sifu, the screen protector is same for X and Xs but not for the case due to the camera design right?
yes.. correct...

i just got my baseus PD powerbank.. working great with ori apple cable.. no fast charge with the type-c cable come with the powerbank...

and this.. the price that iphone will be selling in malaysia.. inside source from friend...
chrischiang
post Oct 12 2018, 09:39 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 12 2018, 09:38 AM)
I got this not so bad to charge my laptop as well
i going to try charge my laptop... just got it.. havent play around much
chrischiang
post Oct 12 2018, 10:35 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 12 2018, 10:27 AM)
Sorry What is dtp? I’m noobs 😅
cost price for the shop selling iphone...
chrischiang
post Oct 12 2018, 11:05 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 12 2018, 10:56 AM)
Price not too much different from hk set if shop price selling at that price. But wait. Is those price applying to aasp or phone shop?
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 12 2018, 10:59 AM)
Apple products are controlled pricing items. AASPs cant sell below RRP.
yup that correct... that price dtp price is the price they get stock from apple... they earn the price diff i guess...
chrischiang
post Oct 16 2018, 09:18 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ Oct 12 2018, 06:21 PM)
Im planning to get one also. brows.gif

My xs already covered with dbrand skin, so need to worry bout camera lens
eh mind to share some pic on the side and round edge there? want to try dbrand skin but not sure how they handle round edge...

QUOTE(dikae @ Oct 13 2018, 09:31 PM)
Oi apa ni...don’t jump out of the boat la...

Btw I’m enjoying the longer and slightly wider screen on the max, compared to the X...can read so much more now brows.gif
hmm.. i tot Xs max and xs will have the same viewing content?

0.0902sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:21 AM