PCI Slots damaged & random shutdown, ~consequences of OC ?

TSkalakatu
post Jun 2 2007, 11:18 AM, updated 19y ago

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

Hello guys.
Just wanna share some of my experiences here.

My motherboard, Biostar TForce 570U got 3 slots of PCI.
I never use the bottom one since that is the place for my UV CCFL switch.
I placed my soundcard (Creative SoundBlaster 5.1) at the 3rd slot from the bottom.

Unfortunately, my PC cannot detect the soundcard anymore AFTER I overclocked my PC on the last 3~4 months.

So I changed the soundcard to the 2nd slot from the bottom.
Everything went fine, until yesterday, my PC cannot detect it again AFTER I overclocked my rig to 2.7GHz.

I did try to un-install and re-install it back, took it out and placed it back, but nothing happened. The system refused to detect my soundcard.

So I would like to know, is this consequences of overclocking ?
And why did this thing happened ? I didn't touch any of PCI part during overclocking.
Hope you guys can help me solve this problem.

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Jun 4 2007, 06:22 PM
TSkalakatu
post Jun 3 2007, 01:24 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

sorry for the late reply..

for the first damage, that time i didnt update my bios yet, and there was no option for pci clock in BIOS..

after i updated the bios, there is an option, and it default clocked at 100MHz..
and to be honest, during overclocking, i never touched it..
the 2nd damaged happened after the bios was updated..

so since i never touched anything regarding pci clock during overclocking, i never expect this thing would have happened.. sad.gif

TSkalakatu
post Jun 3 2007, 01:43 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jun 3 2007, 01:28 PM)
I facing 1 of USB port cant function.Dunno is overclocking side effect?
it could be..but i cant guarantee yet..

anyway, im currently facing a crappy sound produced from my onboard soundcard sweat.gif

and one more question, can i send this motherboard to RMA ? im asking this becoz the damage might came from the overclocking...
TSkalakatu
post Jun 3 2007, 08:06 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 3 2007, 05:40 PM)
I had done oc on my Gigabyte 478 mobo and sent to RMA. After 1month they just change to new one. I think no problem to sent for RMA.
what was the damage on ur gigabyte motherboard ?

well, i doubt they will help me RMA it easily since they seems very knowledgeable with overclocking and its consequences..sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Jun 3 2007, 09:09 PM
TSkalakatu
post Jun 3 2007, 09:08 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 3 2007, 08:32 PM)
just try u luck laa.. lastime i oso get my mobo RMA thru them but they like now ive done somethin' mod to my mobo.. very skillful la they  laugh.gif
QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 3 2007, 08:36 PM)
If I am u I just be some newbie that know nothing about overclocking though.
Be innocent and just keep them help u RMA the mobo. The result is up to the manufacturer not them. This is what I think.
yup indeed they are skillful..
well, ill try to act n00b, but im not confident since they already knew that i bought that motherboard for the purpose of overclocking doh.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 3 2007, 08:58 PM)
lol.. that what ive done when they ask me..  thumbup.gif  whistling.gif
hope there is none of their staff come across to this tread..
agreed..better i edit my post above flex.gif

TSkalakatu
post Jun 4 2007, 06:16 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

another problem occurred.. sweat.gif

now my system suffering a random shut down..the pc will just 'padam' like blackout..
it will occur anytime, when watching anime, when listening to winamp, even when idle.. doh.gif

im pretty sure its not becoz of temperature, since currently im running my pc with the default setting, no overclocking..

is it happened becoz of virus or perhaps hardware failure ? sad.gif

if hardware failure, which one might be; motherboard or processor ?

thanks in advance smile.gif
TSkalakatu
post Jun 4 2007, 07:55 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jun 4 2007, 06:56 PM)
I would suspect the RAMs or bad power supply. Tried running on 1 stick at everything stock speed/voltage. My brother uses this board at 2.5GHz DDR1000 and I'm going to ask him to try out his PCI ports. The T-series board promotes overclocking so I wouldn't suspect the board at fault.
currently everything's running on stock.. sad.gif
i dun think its power supply..power supply wont get damaged by overclocking right ? especially its not chapalang psu..

will try on ram..maybe use 1 stick on time and see how..

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Jun 4 2007, 06:56 PM)
You've got the 8-pin power connected?
of course..how can i be able to use the pc if that part not connected sweat.gif
TSkalakatu
post Jun 5 2007, 02:09 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 5 2007, 12:04 PM)
Running at stock and still got problem like random shutdown. Try to google some maybe even microsoft site have solutions. If cannot overcome, just test every hardware component. Maybe one of the component has failed. Or just reinstall Windows.
weird..last night no shut down at all..it only happened before 9pm.. rclxub.gif
ok, ill google it and see how..

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 5 2007, 01:00 PM)
random shutdown most proberly is hardware failure.........
which do u think is failure ? is it my motherboard, or my processor, or ram ?
TSkalakatu
post Jun 5 2007, 02:33 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(emilz @ Jun 5 2007, 02:19 PM)
i vote for ur mobo tongue.gif
thanks for the vote laugh.gif
i think i need to create a poll sweat.gif

anyway thanks..
will examine later smile.gif

Added on June 5, 2007, 6:16 pmUpdate;

I sent the motherboard to RMA just now. Luckily those guys didn't ask much.
He just asked only 1 question - Do you overclock ?, so I said I don't know how to overclock. tongue.gif
They said Biostar is quite fast, around 2 weeks my motherboard will be ready.
So I wont be able to frequently online like before. Now using my dad's PC to surfing.

Thread closed.
Will reopen again if still got problem after RMA it.
Thanks for the contribution. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kalakatu: Jun 5 2007, 06:16 PM

0.0198sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:33 AM