Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

svchia78
post Dec 23 2022, 10:46 PM

973 posts

Is anyone using prepaid U40 plan for hotspot through a modem (like Huawei B618, tp-link etc etc)?

The U40 plan includes hotspot but it doesn't work on my Huawei B618 (not modded). I checked APN was set correctly.

Edit: 😄 found out that U mobile plans doesn’t support hotspot through non-smartphones.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Dec 23 2022, 11:08 PM
svchia78
post Dec 24 2022, 04:24 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Created On 21/1/2021 @ Dec 24 2022, 12:53 PM)
How is the speed?
As advertised. First 3GB full speed. Then will be at 6Mbps.
svchia78
post Jan 9 2023, 09:33 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(syukaro @ Jan 9 2023, 08:56 PM)
what plan you using now then?
Testing TuneTalk Bebas 55 for 1 month at RM68. Advertised up to 18 Mbps... but never reached 8 Mbps. But it is consistent connection and unlimited hotspot using any device.

Quota is 80GB at max speed (in my case <8 Mbps). Thereafter "unlimited" at 256 kbps, so said Tune's TnCs.

Most likely will dive in for 12 month upfront subscription at RM55/ month. This is the closest it gets to that RM35 unifi bebas.

Or maybe would switch tu Unifi Air.
svchia78
post Aug 10 2023, 03:22 PM

973 posts

Some phone owners begging for VoLTE pun tak ada...
svchia78
post Aug 10 2023, 05:32 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Aug 10 2023, 04:02 PM)
Afaik, VoLTE or Vo5G and IMS (not SMS) requires 4G/5G Mobile Internet data whereas 2G voice calls and SMS do not require such Mobile Internet data.

Some smartphone users who have Home Fiber Internet and VoIP fixed/immobile phone lines (eg 03- XXXXXXX for Selangor), subscribe to the cheapest prepaid Mobile phone plans and topup only (eg RM5 every 3 months) just to keep their Mobile phone line valid or active, in order to be able to receive voice calls or SMS via 2G. The VoLTE setting may interfere with the receiving of 2G voice calls.
....... Hence, these users often ask about maximum validity period given by the celcos.
I have Yoodo and Digi numbers on grace period (inactive) and VoLTE still work on both lines without data.

Perhaps U Mobile is different.
svchia78
post Nov 29 2023, 01:05 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(enviro @ Nov 27 2023, 08:51 PM)
Umobile  sent me sms saying  my phone cannot receive calls anymore. Ask to upgrade.
What phone model you are using?
svchia78
post Dec 2 2023, 07:42 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(alexleow81 @ Dec 1 2023, 05:10 PM)
U Mobile. If you wanna come out such plan, please la be fair to others, please also include Semenanjung as well. Don't discriminate la. Only Borneo get cheaper price and more data compared to Semenanjung.
It is because of poorer infrastructure on this side of the pond. The telcos make it cheaper with 'more' data that in real life probably not possible to finish anyway.

Semenanjung has been enjoying the good things since long time ago, so it is fair to focus on East Malaysia now to balance things up.

Hotlink is having a similar offer for Sabah, too.

Competition is good.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Dec 2 2023, 07:43 AM
svchia78
post Dec 4 2023, 12:27 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Dec 4 2023, 12:07 PM)
can i just purchase this and put inside 5g modem/router function as hotspot?

does it work like that? hmm.gif

No work with modem/ router hotspot unless your modem/ router has been *ahem*-ed.

Full terms and conditions here.
svchia78
post Jan 10 2024, 10:24 PM

973 posts

Can replace esim using Umobile app?
svchia78
post May 19 2025, 05:09 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Colada @ May 19 2025, 05:00 PM)
Hi All, I hope you can help with a UMobile Data SIM problem I'm having.
I've been using a UMobile Data SIM in a (no brand) 4g Router for several months and it worked fine. Last week the old router died and I bought a new TP-Link MR200 LTE Router. This router has a SIM slot.

When I inserted the UMobile SIM it would not connect to the mobile network.
I looked through all the possible config options, tried some, but still no connection. This is the same SIM that worked perfectly in the old router just days ago.

I figured maybe the new router is faulty.
So I took the SIM card from my mobile phone (Digi network) and tried that in the new router. Worked straight away!

I put the UMobile SIM in my mobile phone - it worked right away (allowed personal hotspot allowed connections from all devices).

So - new the router works (with a Digi SIM).
The UMobile SIM works (with mobile phone, data mode).
But the UMobile SIM refuses to work in the router.

I've dug deeper and tried selecting network Band manually (1,3,7,8), also tried dropping the router to accept 3G only. Upgraded the Router Firmware - nothing works.

Anybody seen this before? Any suggestions?
Perhaps you can confirm what is the actual U Mobile plan that SIM is on and check its T&Cs?

The old "no brand" 4G router was or wasn't *ahem*-ed?
svchia78
post May 20 2025, 04:13 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Colada @ May 20 2025, 02:46 PM)
I asked them about their higher speed 50RM package, which they said would be compatible with the router.
Are they gonna bet their job on such confirmation/ promise/ representation?

Better and safer to read the T&Cs at UMobile's website rather than believing what others say, including those working in UMobile store.

UMobile is very particular when when it comes to what plans will work on devices other than a smartphone.

TnCs of current UMobile Prepaid Plans

A snippet: -

Paragraph 6.

This post has been edited by svchia78: May 20 2025, 04:23 PM
svchia78
post May 21 2025, 02:21 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Colada @ May 21 2025, 01:22 PM)

So there you go folks, if you didn't already know it, be careful when buying a 'branded' 4G LTE router to use with a prepaid SIM.
We all should always remind ourselves to read TnCs of the SIM's plan, instead, and be more wary of sellers of 4G/5G modem-routers. Some sellers tell you outright they are selling *ahem*-ed modem routers - berlambak in local online shopping platforms.

"Branded" 4G/5G modem routers (like TP-L) if purchased from legit sources are normally no problem, if your SIM's plan has none "restriction-to-use-on-smartphone-only" to start with.

0.0322sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:10 AM