Umobile Thread V11, Your Passion Drives Our Unlimited Ideas

chkwong
post Jan 26 2019, 04:49 PM

411 posts

Has anyone had any unpleasant experience of port out from U mobile? I did mine yesterday and until today still in progess. Last time, did port out from M and C, both completed within few hours. Simple and straightforward.

However, port out from U Mobile takes ages. I got call from their customer rep asking me why port out. Told them speed was slow at my area. So after giving them useful feedback, they cancelled my port out. Got sms from U Mobile tat it was my request to cancel port out. Bla**dy h***, felt kena conned. So, I call back again U Mobile cust care and complaint, and they said will port out and look intoy complaint. And until now, no news.

Am frustrated with this kind of excuses from U Mobile.
chkwong
post Jan 26 2019, 05:25 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Jan 26 2019, 04:54 PM)
If cancelled, you will have to re-submit the request yourself and reply the confirmation sms.
Point is, I did NOT make the request to cancel port out.

Yes, I asked for resubmit and re-confirm SMS again. This just slows down the whole process again. Pretty BS to me, and wasted some $$ to make calls to both U Mobile and TT for re-submit.

chkwong
post Mar 9 2019, 10:22 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(KKLeong @ Mar 9 2019, 09:14 AM)
Switched from celcom prepaid reload 30 per month to GX50 a few day ago. Internet speed (YouTube and web browsing) wasnt bad at all consider i working at pasir gudang and living at JB. With unlimited call, i not worry about calling anyone anymore.
Try using for another month see if you still get the same experience. Mine, was ok for the first month, after that it went downhill. Port out dy. Good luck.
chkwong
post Mar 10 2019, 10:04 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(jjjeantang @ Mar 9 2019, 09:57 PM)
i always use power's free 1 gb... so far nothing to complain as it's free....
but don't ever try to use their svcs on gps while going the place u unfamiliar..... confirm holland-ed..... rclxub.gif  shocking.gif  doh.gif
Haha... agreed with u. Their GPS can go all over.
chkwong
post Mar 11 2019, 07:33 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(seanswn @ Mar 11 2019, 03:21 PM)
GPS have no relationship with the Mobile Provider. It is due to your phone that cannot capture the location of the signal.

Mobile Provider do not provide GPS signal.
Initial gps signal is assisted. If u used and tried various Telco then u will experience why some locks faster than others.

chkwong
post Mar 11 2019, 07:42 PM

411 posts

Also, if u want to lock gps faster, you can try use supl.google.com / 7276 in your A-gps android settings. This could lock gps faster than the default phone settings.
chkwong
post Mar 13 2019, 11:52 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Mar 13 2019, 08:05 AM)
Yes calculation error is related with telco not gps.

Gps only tell the phone where you are. It requires data to retrieve data to bring you to your destination by giving route and most gps app don't load entire Malaysia map only within your area
If you are using China made phones, it could be the A-GPS is pointing to china based server. Try changing that to google ones, and it can be much faster than the phone trying to fetch a-gps data from china. However, if you are in China, you may need the China ones as Google ones are likely banned. For example, Xiaomi phones are using China based a-gps data, once you change the setting to google ones, the gps will lock much faster than the default settings and much accurate too.
chkwong
post Feb 12 2025, 08:33 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Feb 11 2025, 03:40 PM)
Best way is to buy a prepaid sim and try it yourself for a month. Then you decide whether  the coverage is good enough in areas which you frequent.
Yep, that's right. Get a prepaid sim and test it out. Also, different phone different signal too. You may ask someone that they get great coverage but could be very different on yours. So, prepaid sim is the better way. No fuss, no guesswork.

0.0260sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:21 PM