SUSpetpenyubobo
post Aug 31 2023, 05:12 PM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Aug 29 2023, 08:26 PM)
ini namanya pakej terpaling menganjing lol
You can use the other more expensive plans and be the real anjing. laugh.gif

Support the more expensive and being anti competition first time I hear people like you.
jiaen0509
post Aug 31 2023, 07:14 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Aug 30 2023, 08:31 PM)
So RM58 plan 200GB usable in SG ID TH...
But no more 15GB data global roaming ?
B40 yang perlu Rahmah no need travel. No need free 15GB roaming.
SUSlurkingaround
post Aug 31 2023, 07:29 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((aniq8676 @ Aug 29 2023, 07:11 PM)

"Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah"
RM 58/bln
200 GB
Samsung Galaxy A14 / Honor 90 Lite 5G
QUOTE((budi1413 @ Aug 29 2023, 08:26 PM)
ini namanya pakej terpaling menganjing lol
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Aug 31 2023, 05:12 PM)
You can use the other more expensive plans and be the real anjing. laugh.gif

Support the more expensive and being anti competition first time I hear people like you.
QUOTE((lurkingaround @ Aug 31 2023, 11:46 AM)
As per https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/deals/5g-rahmah#mass - The Best Pakej 5G Rahmah , this offer is like Postpaid U68 except for 200GB data quota monthly (increased from 100GB), RM10 rebate during the 24-months contract, which contract is because of the subsidized 5G device-bundle at RM240 per 5G device, and free 15GB international roaming is limited to only 3 Asean countries.
....... So, after 24 months, it will be back to RM68 per month.
There are a few negatives or not-very-Rahmah about U Mobile's Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah and other celcos' 5G Rahmah Package, as if mobile subscribers are being used as guinea pigs for DNB's 5G baited net-trap. Of course, some people may welcome them.

In 1 or 2 years' time, 5G device prices should be coming down to earth, like the prices of 4G devices today. It's quite foolish for us to be tied down to a 24 months' contract or 36 months' contract (YES) by the "subsidized" 5G "device-bundle" when presently U Mobile's Postpaid plans are no-contract, ie stand-alone U38, U68 and U98 plans.

Like I said before, 4G + LTE-A speeds of about 100Mbps are good enough for most subscribers. In 1 or 2 years' time, the advertised 5G speeds of about 500Mbps will not be attainable when the 5G network becomes congested especially during peak traffic hours and the weekends in urban areas, as is happening today with the advertised 4G speeds and 4G networks of the celcos.

Since 4G/5G networks are prone to traffic congestion during peak hours which results in very low speeds, the celcos should not oversell their phone plans by outselling each other with price wars, ie not until they have put up many more 4G/5G cell towers, especially in densely-populated urban areas like Klang Valley.

Personally, I'm still on Postpaid GX50 and as a casual home subscriber I won't be upgrading to the Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah or U68. Why pay more and be tied down when I don't need it.? Others may need it.
....... My preference is I will wait for the prices of 5G devices to "normalize" and for the next better offer, if any.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Aug 31 2023, 07:43 PM
jiaen0509
post Aug 31 2023, 07:53 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Aug 31 2023, 07:29 PM)

There are a few negatives or not-very-Rahmah about U Mobile's Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah and other celcos' 5G Rahmah Package, as if mobile subscribers are being used as guinea pigs for DNB's 5G baited net-trap. Of course, some people may welcome them.

In 1 or 2 years' time, 5G device prices should be coming down to earth, like the prices of 4G devices today. It's quite foolish for us to be tied down to a 24 months' contract or 36 months' contract (YES) by the "subsidized" 5G "device-bundle" when presently U Mobile's Postpaid plans are no-contract, ie stand-alone U38, U68 and U98 plans.

Like I said before, 4G + LTE-A speeds of about 100Mbps are good enough for most subscribers. In 1 or 2 years' time, the advertised 5G speeds of about 500Mbps will not be attainable when the 5G network becomes congested especially during peak traffic hours and the weekends in urban areas, as is happening today with the advertised 4G speeds and 4G networks of the celcos.

Since 4G/5G networks are prone to traffic congestion during peak hours which results in very low speeds, the celcos should not oversell their phone plans by outselling each other with price wars, ie not until they have put up many more 4G/5G cell towers, especially in densely-populated urban areas like Klang Valley.

Personally, I'm still on Postpaid GX50 and as a casual home subscriber I won't be upgrading to the Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah or U68. Why pay more and be tied down when I don't need it.? Others may need it.
....... My preference is I will wait for the prices of 5G devices to "normalize" and for the next better offer, if any.
The 5G device that offers for Package Rahmah can easily found at around RM600. While the telco still need pay RM240 with 24 months contracts for 60/mths.

I don’t feels it helps B40, instead it earn B40 $
l0k0
post Sep 1 2023, 02:53 AM

63 posts

Waw, they bar on one month sharp now.
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 1 2023, 02:47 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((scorgio @ Aug 31 2023, 09:16 PM)
Anyone using YES sim w unlimited data on those modified 4G router?

Can the 'modified' router fool the system that it's in phone & not hotspot sharing?
QUOTE((JLA @ Sep 1 2023, 08:06 AM)
welcome to the club
rclxm9.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3978281/+4540 - post #4543

Fyi, if YES can detect illegal use of unmodded and modded 4G/5G modems and other illegal devices/apps/methods on it's affordable phone plans, U Mobile likely also can. YES informs the subscriber about it but does U Mobile also do the same.?

How do other celcos respond to such illegal use.?

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 1 2023, 06:37 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 1 2023, 07:08 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((digitalifelesss @ Aug 28 2023, 07:54 AM)
I just saw the umobile 5g home, it says can use in router, can hotspot no restriction, can use with LTE device, 1TB no speed throttle at ONLY RM68

Seriously this sounds too good to be true. Seriously is this really
- can use for PC?
- can use on old 4G LTE router?
- CAN FINALLY KILL THE GOAT AWEFUL DIGI i150???

I need to know!! I need it NOW! Tired of paying Digi for shit service yet so expensive...
Even if just getting it and use on 4G line only (no 5g coverage) is already better than paying 160 for digi...
QUOTE((digitalifelesss @ Aug 28 2023, 09:29 AM)
Speed is fine for 4g. Family member using umobile for long time already

Dont have any 5g device to test 5g though, but from their coverage map, dont have coverage foe 5g. See if i can find someone with 5g phone to test. If got then i might get a new router.
QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ Aug 28 2023, 10:54 AM)

BURN DIGI BURN!!
RM1k saving a year on bills isnt joke for me.
Finally all the complaint to mcmc yield some result (maybe) 😂🤣😅😆😁🙏
What 4G speeds are you getting during off-peak and peak network traffic hours.? Have you tried 5G speeds.?

Some celco subcribers have recently complained of getting only about 2Mbps 4G speeds during peak traffic hours in urban areas when their phone plans are for unlimited speed.

Ads from celcos are usually not trustworthy or over-promises. Eg U 5G Home, Fiber-like speeds.? .......

https://soyacincau.com/2023/06/23/u-home-5g...for-rm68-month/ - 2023/06/23 - u-home-5g: u-mobile-offers-unlimited-5g-wireless-broadband-with-no-speed-cap-and-no-contract-for-rm68-month
.... In terms of speed, U Mobile said it offers at least 100Mbps download on 5G as Digital Nasional Berhad guarantees a minimum of 100Mbps across its nationwide 5G network. On 4G, U Mobile says its 4G network can offer 23Mbps average speeds according to Ookla speedtest. ...

It's common knowledge that mobile 4G/5G networks or cell towers are quite prone to traffic congestion during peak hours in urban areas, as happening now and in the past for 4G networks and will soon be also affecting DNB's 5G network. That is why celcos impose data caps and FUP to limit heavy-users on affordable phone plans while telcos for Fiber Internet usually do not need to.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 1 2023, 07:13 PM
trent666
post Sep 1 2023, 08:05 PM

422 posts

Hi guys.

I can't get 5G. Can you please advise me?

Phone: Redmi K60
SIM: New card
Plan: Postpaid 38

Thank you
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 1 2023, 08:31 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(trent666 @ Sep 1 2023, 08:05 PM)
Hi guys.

Thank you
Hope this info helps, .......

https://firmwarespro.com/5g/xiaomi-redmi-k60-detail - How to Turn On 5G on Xiaomi Redmi K60

Do your locations have 5G coverage.?

Note that DNB's 5G cell towers on the low and mid bands transmit on Band 28/700MHz which is LTE (has much less bandwidth capacity = around 800Mbps for sharing) and Band 78/3.5GHz which is 5G NR (and has about 6Gbps of bandwidth capacity). The low-band 28/700MHz/LTE has longer range and better object/wall penetration whereas the mid-band 78/3.5GHz/5G NR has much shorter range and not-so-good object/wall penetration.. .......

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_Nasional

To check DNB's 5G cell tower locations .......
https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=1H...3618747933&z=14
....... If your location is >500m from the nearest 5G cell tower, afaik, you may not be able to receive 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz but can only receive the much limiting LTE Band 28/700MHz.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 1 2023, 11:03 PM
luqman98x
post Sep 1 2023, 08:50 PM

606 posts

Hi guys.

Thank you

Device doesn't support LTE B28... which is a must to use 5G in Malaysia for now. Don't confuse with 5G n28

Change your phone or wait until DNB/telco start using 5G SA (Standalone) mode
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 1 2023, 10:11 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

Hi guys.

Thank you
QUOTE(luqman98x @ Sep 1 2023, 08:50 PM)
Device doesn't support LTE B28... which is a must to use 5G in Malaysia for now. Don't confuse with 5G n28

Change your phone or wait until DNB/telco start using 5G SA (Standalone) mode
The website ....... https://www.devicespecifications.com/en/model/fbef5b79 - Xiaomi Redmi K60 says the device supports both DNB's LTE B28/700MHz and 5G NR B78/3.5GHz.

Maybe DNB does not approve the Xiaomi Redmi K60 5G device as "tested and authorized".

UPDATE: ....... DNB says the Xiaomi Redmi K60 is not a supported 5G device. .......
https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/interactive-map

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 1 2023, 10:30 PM
luqman98x
post Sep 1 2023, 11:48 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 1 2023, 10:11 PM)
The website ....... https://www.devicespecifications.com/en/model/fbef5b79 - Xiaomi Redmi K60 says the device supports both DNB's LTE B28/700MHz and 5G NR B78/3.5GHz.

Maybe DNB does not approve the Xiaomi Redmi K60 5G device as "tested and authorized".

UPDATE: ....... DNB says the Xiaomi Redmi K60 is not a supported 5G device. .......
https://www.digital-nasional.com.my/interactive-map

Better refer from manufacturer website instead: https://www.mi.com/redmi-k60/specs. No LTE B28 support... that website you linked mistakes Redmi K60 with its global equivalent (POCO F5 Pro)

At least that website has form to submit corrections, which I did.

This post has been edited by luqman98x: Sep 2 2023, 01:05 AM

MNF0
post Sep 2 2023, 07:06 AM

904 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Aug 31 2023, 11:46 AM)
As per https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/deals/5g-rahmah#mass - The Best Pakej 5G Rahmah , this offer is like Postpaid U68 except for 200GB data quota monthly (increased from 100GB), RM10 rebate during the 24-months contract, which contract is because of the subsidized 5G device-bundle at RM240 per 5G device, and free 15GB international roaming is limited to only 3 Asean countries.
....... So, after 24 months, it will be back to RM68 per month.
U68 hotspot quota is the same as the FUP (100GB) or from different basket?
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 2 2023, 11:39 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

Hi guys.

Thank you
QUOTE(luqman98x @ Sep 1 2023, 11:48 PM)
Better refer from manufacturer website instead: https://www.mi.com/redmi-k60/specs. No LTE B28 support... that website you linked mistakes Redmi K60 with its global equivalent (POCO F5 Pro)

At least that website has form to submit corrections, which I did.
'luqman98x' is quite correct.
....... Afaik, Malaysians have to bear in mind that there are (self-imported) China models and local (eg Malaysian) models for China-branded smartphones. M'sians should always buy the local models of China-branded smartphones from local retailers or celcos.

I just came across this fuller info on DNB's non-standalone or NSA 5G network, .......

https://dgtlinfra.com/5g-standalone-sa/ - 5G Standalone (SA): What is it? and How Does it Work? - 23 Feb 2023
.... 5G Non-Standalone (NSA) Architecture

5G non-standalone (NSA) is the first version of 5G network architecture, considered to be a “steppingstone” to the “true” 5G network that is 5G standalone (SA). As the name suggests, 5G NSA is not “standalone”, meaning it is designed to be deployed on top of existing 4G LTE network infrastructure.

5G NSA enables the 5G RAN and its New Radio (NR) interface to be deployed and to connect to a 4G LTE network, meaning 4G radio access for control plane signaling and an evolved packet core (EPC) network. Importantly, in this architecture, the 5G radio (NR) cannot connect to the 4G LTE control plane core network on its own. Instead, the 5G radio depends on the 4G LTE eNodeB (eNB) macro cell base station for all control plane signaling. While the 5G radio (NR) is utilized for the user (or data) plane.

Globally, 5G NSA has been primarily used by wireless carriers to quickly and easily deliver 5G services to end users. With 5G NSA, wireless carriers have been able to offer introductory 5G services to their customers, while using this transitionary time to resolve any issues in the 5G RAN and, in parallel, maintain the stability of the rest of their 4G LTE network. For end users, the initial benefits of using 5G NSA have been better coverage and enhanced throughput over 4G LTE services. ...

= 5G subcribers of DNB via the celcos need 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz, in order to receive 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz on their 5G devices.

Question is, LTE Band 28/700MHz has much longer range than 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz - if 5G subscribers are out of range of 5G NR Band 78 but within range of LTE Band 28, are they still covered by 5G wrt receiving 5G Internet data.?

https://encikkunci.wordpress.com/2021/04/14...ed-end-of-2021/ - 2021/04/14 - 5g-bands-that-are-going-to-be-used-in-malaysia-expected-end-of-2021
= seems DNB is riding on YES's 4G LTE infrastructure, ie DNB's 5G cell towers are mostly co-located with YES's 4G LTE cell towers, which are usually erected in government schools.

UPDATE: ....... Seems, 5G NSA at Band 78/3.5GHz has quite a short range or coverage, .......

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/5g-sa-perfor...mohamed-eladawi - 5G SA Performance Vs. 5G NSA in the initial phase - 28 May 2023
= afaik, if we are out-of-range of 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz (bandwidth capacity of 6Gbps) but within-range of 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz (bandwidth capacity of only 800Mbps), we will only get maximum 4G LTE speeds of 30Mbps-150Mbps that are also very prone to network traffic congestion during peak hours in urban areas.
....... My guess is the normal range of 5G cell towers transceiving on 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHZ is about 500m whereas for 5G cell towers transceiving on 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz is about 1km/1000m.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 2 2023, 08:09 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 2 2023, 12:06 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((aniq8676 @ Aug 29 2023, 07:11 PM)

"Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah"
RM 58/bln
200 GB
Samsung Galaxy A14 / Honor 90 Lite 5G
QUOTE(MNF0 @ Sep 2 2023, 07:06 AM)
U68 hotspot quota is the same as the FUP (100GB) or from different basket?
For Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah, afaik, the 200GB quota can all be utilized as Ultra Hotspot 5G, as advertised above = same like for U68's 100GB quota.
....... In this case, the quota = FUP.

Afaik, the FAQ and T&C say that after the allotted quota (eg Postpaid U38, U68 and U98) or FUP (for unlimited data plans, eg Prepaid U25, U35 and U40) has been used up, the subscriber will be throttled to 512kbps or 0.5Mbps.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 2 2023, 08:15 PM
ben3003
post Sep 3 2023, 11:12 AM

10,859 posts

Last i call umobile they say still maintain the existing package and new 200gb is rahmah. But now inside usage cannot see edi. But the website got say global roaming 15gb, i think tat also applies to u38 now? Wanna call the customer service but the umobile line seems like cannot get option to reach them lol shit

Based on the plan summary, there is still 15gb roaming. But not shown in the usage summary lol

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 3 2023, 11:22 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 3 2023, 02:57 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2023, 11:12 AM)
Last i call umobile they say still maintain the existing package and new 200gb is rahmah. But now inside usage cannot see edi. But the website got say global roaming 15gb, i think tat also applies to u38 now? Wanna call the customer service but the umobile line seems like cannot get option to reach them lol shit

Based on the plan summary, there is still 15gb roaming. But not shown in the usage summary lol
From U Mobile website, ie the Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah gives 200GB(.?) International Roaming in ID, SG and TH only. .......

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Sep 3 2023, 03:23 PM
ben3003
post Sep 3 2023, 03:02 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 3 2023, 02:57 PM)
From U Mobile website, ie the Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah gives 15GB International Roaming in ID, SG and TH only. .......

There say is sharing from high speed data oh. The new package suppose to get 200gb sharing for indon sg and thai roaming. Then the 15gb is wat i dunno.. maybe the internationally for other country still get 15gb?

Damn feel like kena scammed by umobile lol.

This post has been edited by ben3003: Sep 3 2023, 03:17 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 3 2023, 03:28 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Sep 3 2023, 03:02 PM)
There say is sharing from high speed data oh. The new package suppose to get 200gb sharing for indon sg and thai roaming. Then the 15gb is wat i dunno.. maybe the internationally for other country still get 15gb?

Damn feel like kena scammed by umobile lol.
Above EDITED: ... It's likely 200GB International Roaming in ID, SG and TH only, ie no more 15GB of Int'l Roaming in 30+ countries.

Like I said before, there are a few negatives or not-very-Rahmah about this Pakej 5G Terpaling Rahmah, ie mainly to benefit DNB, the celcos and 5G device manufacturers.

SUSlurkingaround
post Sep 3 2023, 04:55 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE((lurkingaround @ Sep 2 2023, 11:39 AM)
'luqman98x' is quite correct.
....... Afaik, Malaysians have to bear in mind that there are (self-imported) China models and local (eg Malaysian) models for China-branded smartphones. M'sians should always buy the local models of China-branded smartphones from local retailers or celcos.

I just came across this fuller info on DNB's non-standalone or NSA 5G network, .......

https://dgtlinfra.com/5g-standalone-sa/ - 5G Standalone (SA): What is it? and How Does it Work? - 23 Feb 2023
.... 5G Non-Standalone (NSA) Architecture

5G non-standalone (NSA) is the first version of 5G network architecture, considered to be a “steppingstone” to the “true” 5G network that is 5G standalone (SA). As the name suggests, 5G NSA is not “standalone”, meaning it is designed to be deployed on top of existing 4G LTE network infrastructure.

5G NSA enables the 5G RAN and its New Radio (NR) interface to be deployed and to connect to a 4G LTE network, meaning 4G radio access for control plane signaling and an evolved packet core (EPC) network. Importantly, in this architecture, the 5G radio (NR) cannot connect to the 4G LTE control plane core network on its own. Instead, the 5G radio depends on the 4G LTE eNodeB (eNB) macro cell base station for all control plane signaling. While the 5G radio (NR) is utilized for the user (or data) plane.

Globally, 5G NSA has been primarily used by wireless carriers to quickly and easily deliver 5G services to end users. With 5G NSA, wireless carriers have been able to offer introductory 5G services to their customers, while using this transitionary time to resolve any issues in the 5G RAN and, in parallel, maintain the stability of the rest of their 4G LTE network. For end users, the initial benefits of using 5G NSA have been better coverage and enhanced throughput over 4G LTE services. ...

= 5G subcribers of DNB via the celcos need 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz, in order to receive 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz on their 5G devices.

Question is, LTE Band 28/700MHz has much longer range than 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz - if 5G subscribers are out of range of 5G NR Band 78 but within range of LTE Band 28, are they still covered by 5G wrt receiving 5G Internet data.?

https://encikkunci.wordpress.com/2021/04/14...ed-end-of-2021/ - 2021/04/14 - 5g-bands-that-are-going-to-be-used-in-malaysia-expected-end-of-2021
= seems DNB is riding on YES's 4G LTE infrastructure, ie DNB's 5G cell towers are mostly co-located with YES's 4G LTE cell towers, which are usually erected in government schools.

UPDATE: ....... Seems, 5G NSA at Band 78/3.5GHz has quite a short range or coverage, .......

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/5g-sa-perfor...mohamed-eladawi - 5G SA Performance Vs. 5G NSA in the initial phase - 28 May 2023
= afaik, if we are out-of-range of 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz (bandwidth capacity of 6Gbps) but within-range of 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz (bandwidth capacity of only 800Mbps), we will only get maximum 4G LTE speeds of 30Mbps-150Mbps that are also very prone to network traffic congestion during peak hours in urban areas.
....... My guess is the normal range of 5G cell towers transceiving on 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHZ is about 500m whereas for 5G cell towers transceiving on 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz is about 1km/1000m.
QUOTE((jinaun @ Sep 3 2023, 07:30 AM)

This is maxis 5G in taiping inside the house speed , dnb maps shows nearest 5g tower was about 500 meters away. In comparison 4G was abt 47mbps.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5404697 - post #3
UPDATE & correction: ....... "= afaik, if we are out-of-range of 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHz (bandwidth capacity of 6Gbps) but within-range of 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz (bandwidth capacity of only 800Mbps), we will only get maximum 4G LTE speeds of 30Mbps-150Mbps that are also very prone to network traffic congestion during peak hours in urban areas.
....... My guess is the normal range of 5G cell towers transceiving on 5G NR Band 78/3.5GHZ is about 1,000m/1km whereas for 5G cell towers transceiving on 4G LTE Band 28/700MHz is about 1.5km/1,500m."

494 Pages « < 424 425 426 427 428 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:31 AM