K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 18 2022, 04:59 PM)
rm68 with 100GB only?
Yep.

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Aug 18 2022, 05:06 PM)
Wow.

This plan looks like shit now.
Agreed, the hotspot quota is seriously a joke, older plans like GX68, P99 etc. had at least 30-50GB hotspot quota iirc.

When 5G launches, I wouldn't be surprised if they say only newer plans can use 5G to push those using older plans to upgrade.
xperiaDROID
post Aug 19 2022, 01:22 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(lambox105 @ Aug 18 2022, 09:36 PM)
By that time maybe already got newer plans

Let's see when 5g fully implemented in this country

Better enjoice older gx38/gx68/p99/p139 for now
Yeah, better stay put while you still can since they're not doing auto-switching this time like they did with the P38 plan.

QUOTE(NF2M @ Aug 19 2022, 12:21 AM)
It is a shitty plan then.
They themselves also know it's shitty so they had to hide it deep in the FAQ. icon_idea.gif
xperiaDROID
post Aug 19 2022, 03:31 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Aug 19 2022, 09:04 AM)
That’s why its network is slow for a reason.
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 19 2022, 09:20 AM)
they should know their capability b4 throwing in the package, ie big hotspot. inb4 give a more expansive 5G package but don't anticipate bigger hotspot allocation
They have set the wrong priorities, for example both U Postpaid 68 and 98 have free 15GB roaming data, they could've used it for the hotspot quota instead so at least people can use more hotspot. Correct me if I'm wrong, but how often does an average Malaysian travel abroad especially in this situation anyways? Even if one travels abroad, they can either afford to roam or just get a tourist SIM card from that country instead.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 19 2022, 09:19 AM)
hopefully other telco give more offer, hence I can jump to them for 5G
I wouldn't put my hopes high since DNB is gonna suck the telcos dry once they accept the deal, and then telcos will probably try to bring the burden to us consumers so they still can get profit, U Mobile is already doing this now by giving pathetic amount of hotspot quota.

But hopefully still, some competition will remain so consumers can have more reasonable choices.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 19 2022, 03:35 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 19 2022, 11:25 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 19 2022, 04:00 PM)
related to DNB, from news I read somewhere, if the telco can't accept the proposed package, it will open our market to abroad players to join here. more rival = better offer to the user
I wouldn't mind if there will be more players, but I feel what they said is more like a way to threaten the telcos to accept the deal. It's just too unrealistic for a new company to set up a telco business here from scratch, even if it really happens, imagine how do they start with the network coverage? 5G coverage has not even reached half of the population yet and would take years to reach the masses, and it's already too late to start with 4G too.

QUOTE(incredibless @ Aug 19 2022, 04:23 PM)
That is what I caught by surprise. I been using Umobile since last year on the GX68 package with hotspot 10gb (promo). During last year, many of the
workforce still practices work from home and I still can rely on my home broadband. Right now they had downsized to 5GB and if I am constantly at outside or sometimes need a quick connection the hotspot 5gb data is not enough [zoom,teams and work stuff] and I need to top up 3GB [few times] which end up pays almost the same as other telco price. Thus, I may be porting back to other telco at least without any worry on the hotspot consumption.
You can still stay with the current GX68 plan since they won't force users to switch to the newer plan yet.

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 19 2022, 04:48 PM)
Yeah the roaming is useful for some only.

I’m going to the UK next month to do masters and it will be great for me, especially the free non Wi-Fi calling incoming roaming calls.

I normally travel to France and Italy by rail and now even UK networks need to pay for European roaming after brexit. For me I can just switch to umobile and use this free roaming.

Real steal for 68
Good for you, it's definitely a great deal for those who travel a lot of course.
xperiaDROID
post Aug 24 2022, 01:41 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 23 2022, 05:12 PM)
been to U Postpaid since 2012 until now. Is it good if switch to the Yes plan? Attracted to their 5G plan. not using Iphone
As usual for all telcos here, it depends on your area. From my experience few years back when using Yes 4G, the coverage is not that good, there are frequent dead spots and even straight no signal in most basement car parks and underground places, there were also times that I had full bar but calls couldn't come in, it's the worst telco for me.

You can probably try ordering their free SIM to test first (if still available) before completely porting in

https://firstto5g.yes.my/Register/DiscoverFT5G

QUOTE(nas @ Aug 24 2022, 12:38 PM)
Any issues receding TAC sms now?
Works fine for me so far in KL.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 24 2022, 01:41 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 28 2022, 10:39 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Aug 28 2022, 05:52 PM)
Just hope U will be one of the 4 early to enable the 5G service
They already highlighted 5G areas in their coverage map, so it's highly likely they will be in the early gang.

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/why-u-mobi...rk/coverage-map
xperiaDROID
post Sep 17 2022, 04:04 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Sep 16 2022, 07:26 AM)
Hi guys!

I'm currently using Postpaid P48. I enjoy the unlimited Video ONZ, Music ONZ, App ONZ and unllimited calls. However, I never exceeded 15GB of internet usage per month based on my billings (this already includes Video, Music and App ONZ).

Is it worth it to switch to the new U38 plan? Any downside?
If your general usage is less than 15GB and never used up the 5GB quota from Video ONZ, then it should be sufficient for you.

The main downside for the new Postpaid 38 plan is there's a 5GB hotspot quota, so it will be a dealbreaker if you rely on hotspot a lot.

QUOTE(nas @ Sep 17 2022, 02:48 PM)
Still now news from U on the status of 5G availability?
No news yet, usually there will be news on the start of a new week.

The only thing that can be seen so far is they're still tweaking their coverage map page for 5G.

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/why-u-mobi...rk/coverage-map

Few days back my phone was connected to probably one of DNB's 5G NSA tower, but it was only able to run on 4G, U Mobile hasn't enabled access to 5G for the time being.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 17 2022, 04:12 PM
xperiaDROID
post Sep 24 2022, 11:20 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Sep 24 2022, 10:56 PM)
My friend said today Cheras got 5G signal already, anyone can confirm?
I'm in Cheras, still no 5G for me.
xperiaDROID
post Sep 26 2022, 12:06 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Sep 25 2022, 09:22 PM)
My friend is using 5G on Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5g
have you enable the on phone?

I'm using Redmi Note 10 5G, enabled 5G on settings since the beginning, already tried refreshing network and everything but still connected to 4G.

Could it possibly be that your friend is in the area where they enabled 5G for testing? Another thing is Huawei phones are usually well-optimized in terms of network, so that could also be the case. hmm.gif

xperiaDROID
post Sep 26 2022, 04:58 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Sep 26 2022, 02:09 PM)
Mine does not have too
He said he just port in to the new U38 package

and i am on P99 package
later i need to ask CS whether is it because of plan different, rest assure and let me confirm with them first
I'm also on the new U38 plan, your friend is probably the lucky one chosen to be part of their limited trial I guess? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 26 2022, 04:59 PM
xperiaDROID
post Sep 26 2022, 05:44 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Sep 26 2022, 04:59 PM)
I think need to change SIM card to use DNB5 G

from the information of Celcom trial, those selected postpaid users also need to change SIM card to use the 5G network
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think SIM card nowadays are already compatible with 5G, hence no need to change SIM unless it's too old.

When U Mobile was having their 5G trial in Berjaya Times Square back then (when DNB didn't exist), my SIM was able to connect to their 5G network.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Sep 26 2022, 05:45 PM
xperiaDROID
post Sep 26 2022, 07:35 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Sep 26 2022, 05:49 PM)
I believe our 4G sim technically can be used on 5G network, it depends on the Telco arrangement and DNB arrangement.

You see Yes previously have 4G plan and their 4G sim card cannot register on 5G network, even 4G LTE 700Mhz also cannot register, so I believe they did some setting on checking the SIM card number and decide whether allow to register on DNB network or not.
Almost forgot about the Yes issue, hopefully it won't be much of a hassle for those on other telcos. sweat.gif
xperiaDROID
post Oct 14 2022, 09:32 PM

K
3,966 posts

I don't get it, I'm in 5G area with 5G plan but I'm still not getting 5G yet while I'm seeing more and more people getting 5G recently, even U Mobile CS not willing to give a clear answer.

Wonder what's happening. sad.gif

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Oct 14 2022, 09:38 PM
xperiaDROID
post Oct 15 2022, 12:26 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Saya anak Malaysia @ Oct 14 2022, 05:44 PM)
is umobile still the cheapest?
Not really anymore, but still decently priced unlike Maxis. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 14 2022, 05:51 PM)
Never care about speed limit, always use plan that have quota, no worry speed is limit

Cannot brain later 5G launch, yeay finaly got 5G line
But speed is limit
I believe those who choose plans with unlimited data don't really care much about 5G, they can basically use more data as long with acceptable speed, anything above 6 Mbps should be "cukup makan" nowadays.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Oct 15 2022, 12:26 PM
xperiaDROID
post Oct 31 2022, 11:15 AM

K
3,966 posts

U Mobile users can enjoy 5G services from 3rd November, here are the supported plans

https://soyacincau.com/2022/10/31/u-mobile-...-prepaid-plans/
xperiaDROID
post Oct 31 2022, 04:20 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(mnibar @ Oct 31 2022, 01:34 PM)
so supported device still follow DNB supported device list? no iPhone .
iPhone need to wait for telcos to submit request to Apple for carrier update, now that CDU is on board, it shouldn't take too long.
xperiaDROID
post Nov 1 2022, 02:27 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Oct 31 2022, 08:27 PM)
Yea only for selected plans. My current plan P99 not able to enjoy 5g as per customer service.  They state only those plans stated with 5g can have 5g access. So disappointed.
They're trying to push those on older plans to go for newer 5G plans, but the 5GB hotspot quota is seriously a dealbreaker for some, especially those on P99.
xperiaDROID
post Nov 2 2022, 04:48 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ Nov 2 2022, 04:39 PM)
Typo today already 2nd Nov, any 5G signal?
Not yet for me, will wait until midnight and see.

QUOTE(neekun @ Nov 1 2022, 07:27 PM)
To make it worse, supp line used to be RM20...now with new plan its RM38. I need data plan for iPad hence need to sub to supp line...
Might as well go for cheaper prepaid plans from other telcos.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Nov 2 2022, 05:03 PM
xperiaDROID
post Nov 3 2022, 12:18 AM

K
3,966 posts

U Mobile's 5G page is up, but I still can't connect to 5G though.

https://www.u.com.my/en/personal/why-u-mobi...etwork/5g-for-u

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Nov 3 2022, 12:27 AM
xperiaDROID
post Nov 3 2022, 01:03 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Nov 3 2022, 12:27 AM)
They acrivate for millions of subscribers...
Just wait patiently bro....u will get it by 8am...
Connected to 5G now, speed still isn't that stable though.

Another thing is that once I switch back to wifi and then back to mobile data again, it will stay on 4G for a like around 10 seconds then only it will go back to 5G.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Nov 3 2022, 01:22 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0350sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:08 AM