QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 26 2023, 07:40 PM)
Seriously, my first gen vios that I traded in for City when it was 13 years old was much more quieter than City.
Honda City Gen 6.0/6.1 V10
Feb 26 2023, 08:14 PM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Mar 4 2023, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(cse2k @ Feb 28 2023, 08:35 AM) Hi guys wanna ask for City E spec what tyre is recommended? I saw some forum recommended Michelin XM2 and Goodyear Triple max 2… I’m looking to replace stock tyres I replaced my V spec with Triple Max 2. It's quiet and comfortable, but my mileage is really low.I used to use XM2 (there was no XM2+ back then) and I'd stay away from this model from now on. The tyres tend to harden and crack after 2 years even with my low mileage and always parked in shaded car park. |
Mar 5 2023, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Mar 5 2023, 03:35 PM) Personal feedback, Honda city V spec (16inch) using Goodyear ATM2 currently, travelled 40k mileage so far in 1 year (mainly highway travel 280km weekly) If I were doing your kind of mileage, I'd go for XM2 and change after 2-3 years. It gets really noisy after 20k usage, on rough/normal roads(not those newly paved ones) it's really loud inside the car Now that it is almost hitting the thread wear indicator (I suspect around 45k mileage), I'm surveying for another tyre. Contemplating between Michelin xm2+ vs UC7 Mainly inclined to xm2+ due to its durability for my high mileage, otherwise I need to change tyre every 1 year Please advise between these 2, or suggest me any other tyre model |
Mar 5 2023, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(bbhing98 @ Mar 5 2023, 06:22 PM) As people say Michelin XM2+ will harden over time (which explains the durability), will it have similar road noise as my goodyear ATM2? I had tried XM2 (not the plus version) up to 50-60,000km and it was noisy but not to the point of deafening. I cannot compare with the ATM I'm using at the moment as the mileage is < 5k now.currently the road noise is a bit unbearable especially on rough roads where the roaring noise is really bad To be frank, the cracking/chipping worried me more than the noise (hence the reason for me to change them despite still having OK-ish thread balance) but in your high mileage car, I don't think chipping is your issue as you'd probably need to change it after 3 years max. |
May 11 2023, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(eikozai @ May 8 2023, 05:41 PM) Totally up to you. You can service out of SC, but follow the service schedule and items. This CVT filter is something I cannot understand. It's not stated in the periodic maintenance chart too. Macam no need to change forever. Have you changed CVT filter outside? Is it a very complicated job?Personally, for fluids changes, i'll just go back SC, especially CVT oil. If u intend to change the 2 CVT filters, only outside workshop can do, SC dont do replace the filters in gearbox. Other wear and tear parts, jus go outside reputable workshop will do. Cheaper. |
May 11 2023, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(contestchris @ Apr 30 2023, 02:36 PM) Another question - for the engine oil, I saw that the Honda SC has 4 levels/grades, and they were charging me for the highest grade. My mileage is lower than yours, but I opted for "upgrade" of engine oil. In my invoice, I see the oil stated as 0/20 which I prefer over the 0/30 one.But when I ask them why so much more expensive than the official service schedule price, they said the service schedule using the lowest grade (RM106.84). Is this true? Is it bad to use the engine oil as per the service schedule? - car is serviced every 6 months (with mileage around 5k) - car is used mainly for city driving |
May 12 2023, 12:35 PM
May 12 2023, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(SMH @ May 12 2023, 01:58 PM) I ask prices of 4L pack from SC counter (buy for other car), and its really more expensive 0/30w than 0/20w. Perhaps the package price is for dino oil, hence the 0/20W fully synthetic is considered upgrade. I remember asking before and this is what I can vaguely recall.Check from some online official store also like that. Despite lower price, yet SC marked 0/20w as 'upgrade'. But I am in favor of lower viscosity oil, engine feels 'lighter'. So its good for me. |
May 17 2023, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ May 16 2023, 01:19 PM) Hi all, A photo would be good for us to compare with our car.Would like to know anyone else have the same problem as mine? The driver's door protruded out a bit, so it gave the impression as the door is not close properly, eventhough it is indeed close properly and tightly. I not quite sure what shall I do in this case, seems like needed to go back to CS to ask them to adjust the door back. But I would like to know anyone faced the similar issue? |
May 17 2023, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(homicidal85 @ May 17 2023, 01:56 PM) I am at a honds specialist right now changing my city GM6's CVT filter and strainer. Logic dictates that a filter will need to be changed because it filters (duh) dirty stuff. But HM doesn't think so. Even the petrol filter requires changing in their schedule, but not the CVT filter. I asked why this cvt filter replacement is not part of the official honda service schedule and the rep at the cpunter said because Honda SC do not provide the service. So it begs the question, why not? Is it because no need to change of no issue? In the end, I changed anyway coz i read online at US website that the CVT filter needs to be changed every 30-50k miles (50k-100k km). But why is it not in the honda maintenance schedule? Anyone know? I don't trust outside workshops when it comes to critical parts like CVT so I'm in a dilemma too. 1) Can you advise what type of CVT fluid to be used for GM6 and how many litres needed during CVT filter replacement? 2) is it possible to "not drain" all the fluid during filter replacement, so we only need to top up a bit? |
May 17 2023, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(homicidal85 @ May 17 2023, 02:41 PM) the workshop im at looks professional. really big, clean shop, a lot like honda SC. the guys working seem to know what they are doing too. its in JB but I imagine you can find similar honda specialists in other places too. Thanks for the detailed explanation. 1. need to use Honda HCF2 CVT fluid. cannot use any other fluid. typical bottle size is 3.5L which is enough for CVT fluid service. But for filter replacement, you will need a bit more because the mechanic will actually need to overflow the CVT fluid till it drips out of the port a little bit. most people buy an additional 0.8L bottle so total becomes 4.3L. I bought a 4L tin can of HCF2 instead on lazada. The workshop isnt complaining so I think 4L is enough. my understanding is they only need to overflow a little bit. 2. not possible because the filter is part of the fluid flow. the moment you remove the filter, the fluid will flow out. so you need to time the filter replacement with one of your CVT fluid service intervals. My ride is 4 years plus but mileage is 34,000km. I have changed the CVT fluid twice at Honda SC (40k or 2 years) and this filter is bothering me. Can't imagine the dirt caught for those who changed at 40k mileage, followed by 80k and using ori filter. |
May 18 2023, 02:29 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Mechanic just pumped out to low level and fill up the reservoir? No need to drain from somewhere? Can DIY? |
May 18 2023, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ May 18 2023, 01:16 PM) There you go.. the pic. You can see that the door is a bit protrude outward, giving the impression that it isn't been shut properly. Only this door has the issue, the rest no issues. Mine does not have this issue as I don't remember ever having to double confirm the door is closed, as in your case. |
May 18 2023, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 18 2023, 03:42 PM) no he did pumped out manually till dry. At least you're able to find someone who knows what he's doing, especially since hybrid isn't as common as regular ICE version.then pour in new fluid. actually this job can DIY (can learn in Youtube) but i am not that expert, hence just pay the money for him to do. some more i don't have the precious time to do it. |
Oct 18 2023, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(delphine.88 @ Oct 2 2023, 12:11 AM) Oh ya, I’ve changed tie rod and rackend too. I have the gluk gluk sound coming from the front of the car when driving on uneven cement parking floor (no road noise, so can hear clearly). SC checked and said caused by damaged front absorber mounting. Had this sound for long time, but difficult to replicate during test drive with SC foreman until the sound grew louder.From your lists, I think only left lower arm and steering rack could possibly make that noise when go over bump. Lower arm seems higher possibility due to the ball joint. Pretty sure other gm6 owners will encounter this kind of noise too. Anyone? This part wasn't covered under warranty, so I had to spend RM300-plus to replace at SC. Strange thing is I am not able to detect any anomaly on the old mountings. |
Nov 29 2023, 03:28 PM
Nov 29 2023, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(ckalvin @ Nov 21 2023, 03:24 PM) Hi, my car alarm has some issues just a week ago. Is yours pre or FL GM6? Got cabin intruder alarm?My car is 2015 v spec with keyless remote. Now everytime I lock the car, within a min the alarm will triggered.( For 9 cycles of alarm sound). It will then trigger at around 11am+-( sometimes) I have to let it. Anyone has the experience of this problem, or know any accessories shop that has experience fixing the problem. Preferable around subang jaya area. I been to 4 shops to check on issues, 2 told me need to leave car to check for days, the other one say donno what's problem. The last one without inspection, just heard the condition direct told me it's alarm sensor problem, need replace it or they do something to bypass the alarm. Or should I send to Honda service center that they has machine to inspect the alarm issue? Appreciate any advise on this matter, thanks! |
Jun 10 2024, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Mar 15 2024, 08:25 PM) Anyone encounter “klok2” sound on even the slightest uneven road surface from the front near driver side? Send to mechanic no issue on absorbers, stabiliser or even row arms? Car only 54k km… could it be the front callipers which mechanic also check no unusual lose nuts etc Thanks QUOTE(eikozai @ Mar 15 2024, 09:55 PM) absorber mounting.. got top and bottom.. I kena mine, top claimed warranty then ok for a while.. after warranty I go out of SC check, apparently its the bottom one torn.. I did share in older post here.. been half year, no more kluk kluk noises, only rattling noises from interior plastics after that~ I had this klok2 sound from early days of getting the car, but I noticed the sound only appeared when the car/engine is cold, as in when I just started driving in the morning. Hence wasn't able to show to the foreman during servicing. It was only during another warranty claim that required the car to be left overnight that they managed to pin point the fault.They told me it was caused by front absorber top mounting, but it wasn't claimable under warranty so I had to pay RM300-plus for the replacement. As I took back the defective mounting, I could not detect any obvious tear or defect on the old mountings but it did solve the klok klok issue. FF to today: the sound came back, and also only when the car is cold. SMH liked this post
Jun 10 2024, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 10 2024, 10:36 PM) That rubber rub on the chasis metal everytime we tirn the steering. My personal guess us that it get worn down overtime hence leaving gap that promoted freeplays. When i claimed mine during warranty ladt time, there’s no sign of torn also. But its like this one, dont last long. My kluk2 sound happens when the car is going straight too. You said your bottom mounting (I think it's called isolator?) was bad. How much did you pay to change it at outside workshop? 6 years old, mileage less than 45k km. |
Jun 11 2024, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 11 2024, 12:37 AM) The SC claimed for me for the top mount during warranty. It didnt resolve the problem, the kluk kluk returned in a month after replaced. This is the part I changed too. There is a scratch/indentation but not crack on the old mounting. Kind of too fast for it to happen again. After warranty expired, i went to outside workshop to check, and they do a front suspension disassembly to check. Found the lower mount to be the culprit. Show me its torn also. I did posted here the photos in earlier post. They charged me RM100/side include labor. Original Honda part. I find it reasonable for this charges since they take time to test drive with me, do a tear down and check faulty part. Then assemble back everything to pitch perfect condition. Been almost a year already, still in good condition. Your car mileage so low also got such problem. Come to think about it, i first complaint to SC also about 45k mileage time. Dragged 3 years never resolve by SC. Claim this and that for me, but still same. My car also 6yo. Just renew roadtax insurance 1 week back. 2018 car. Edit: it's the top mounting, as the SA showed me the schematic drawing. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by mushigen: Jun 11 2024, 10:29 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0459sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:20 PM |