Just bought a book from book depository

SUSArmata
post Sep 20 2018, 06:10 PM, updated 6y ago

315 posts

Anyone know how much Kastam charges or tax %?

My book costs RM45.10
Rhetoric
post Sep 20 2018, 06:14 PM

514 posts

bookdepository cheaper and better than bookurve?
SUSArmata
post Sep 20 2018, 06:17 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Sep 20 2018, 06:14 PM)
bookdepository cheaper and better than bookurve?
not sure about bookurve

but i saw other books..when compared with popular, book depository's price are very good

thus i bought from book depository
TreyLey
post Sep 20 2018, 06:26 PM

364 posts

Anyone bought from book depository before?
Rhetoric
post Sep 20 2018, 06:52 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Sep 20 2018, 06:17 PM)
not sure about bookurve

but i saw other books..when compared with popular, book depository's price are very good

thus i bought from book depository
i only used bookurve. they have great services. but your link seems like cheaper by RM5 for the same book after i did the comparison.

wanna know why it stated as RM66 but you said it cost RM45?.

also afaik kastam doesnt tax it.

SUSArmata
post Sep 21 2018, 08:57 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Rhetoric @ Sep 20 2018, 06:52 PM)
i only used bookurve. they have great services. but your link seems like cheaper by RM5 for the same book after i did the comparison.

wanna know why it stated as RM66 but you said it cost RM45?.

also afaik kastam doesnt tax it.
i think you saw the one that says CD-Audio?

below's what i got from my link..but price increased by 30 cent..probably conversion rate..

ahchun
post Sep 21 2018, 09:00 AM

MiddleAge
1,115 posts

QUOTE(Armata @ Sep 20 2018, 06:10 PM)
Anyone know how much Kastam charges or tax %?

My book costs RM45.10
never kena b4. bought few times d.
SUSArmata
post Sep 21 2018, 09:00 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Sep 21 2018, 09:00 AM)
never kena b4. bought few times d.
thanks bro. few ppl also said wont kena tax...

kind of good news..considering i saw the some book in local book shop more expensive by rm20..
kelvin8810
post Sep 21 2018, 09:02 AM

136 posts

nope, i never got taxed by kastam buying books from book depository.
SUSArmata
post Sep 21 2018, 09:07 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(kelvin8810 @ Sep 21 2018, 09:02 AM)
thanks bro! so excited to get my 1st book from book depository lol
cyclone9
post Jan 22 2019, 07:40 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,947 posts

QUOTE(kelvin8810 @ Sep 21 2018, 09:02 AM)
I order by books on early Jan 2019 but till now didn't get. They ask me to check with POS malaysia if they receive any mail from them. How?
kelvin8810
post Jan 22 2019, 03:11 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 22 2019, 07:40 AM)
I order by books on early Jan 2019 but till now didn't get. They ask me to check with POS malaysia if they receive any mail from them. How?
if i remembered correctly, it took almost a month for my books to be delivered. perhaps try to wait a little longer since you placed your order just early this month.
avanpiper
post Feb 14 2019, 09:29 PM

165 posts

No custom charge. I've bought several times since few months ago. About the delivery, the fastest it reached me was about 2 weeks, but only once. The rest took about 3-4 weeks. Nothing like that trepidation you suffer not knowing if they'll ever reach you lolz but they all did so far for me.
Level 60 Wizard
post Feb 15 2019, 04:25 PM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 22 2019, 07:40 AM)
Same like above for my 2nd book as well. i think it took me longer than 4weeks.

regardless, during that time i emailed to the help desk and they got back to me pretty fast. and yes, they asked me to check with my local post office as well which i told them the local post office might not know as well.

few days after that i got my book.

so i guess it takes longer than usual sometimes.

Speaking of which, i have another book on the way since 2-3 weeks ago. but i have faith it will arrive eventually. With the price they are giving on some books, it's cheaper by 50% buying locally...so i guess worth the wait. Unless you're dying to read same day..then local book store it is then
cyclone9
post Feb 15 2019, 04:37 PM

2,947 posts

my books didnt arrive since 9th jan. they told me they will deliver the books again, estimate delivered by end feb
Level 60 Wizard
post Feb 19 2019, 09:35 AM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Feb 15 2019, 04:37 PM)
my books didnt arrive since 9th jan. they told me they will deliver the books again, estimate delivered by end feb
well i am still waiting for mine. but i am sure it will be delivered. maybe delayed.

i dont want to file a claim to bookdepository as i am afraid if they found out that shpment to malaysia kept missing, they might pull us OUT from their list.

i remember encountering the same close to 15yrs ago...most of the companies ship to everywhere except malaysia. When i enquire, it was because of high fraud rate.

everything they sell, they have to ship twice..coz its either never reach, or missing, or faulty upon arrival.

dont want the same to happen to bookdepository as i really like their low priced books nod.gif
cyclone9
post Feb 19 2019, 10:42 AM

2,947 posts

QUOTE(Level 60 Wizard @ Feb 19 2019, 09:35 AM)
well i am still waiting for mine. but i am sure it will be delivered. maybe delayed.

i dont want to file a claim to bookdepository as i am afraid if they found out that shpment to malaysia kept missing, they might pull us OUT from their list.

i remember encountering the same close to 15yrs ago...most of the companies ship to everywhere except malaysia. When i enquire, it was because of high fraud rate.

everything they sell, they have to ship twice..coz its either never reach, or missing, or faulty upon arrival.

dont want the same to happen to bookdepository as i really like their low priced books nod.gif
I just receive 1 out of 6 books I order since 4/Jan/2019. At least they need to have tracking number barcode for the package sent.
Level 60 Wizard
post Feb 19 2019, 10:51 AM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Feb 19 2019, 10:42 AM)
I just receive 1 out of 6 books I order since 4/Jan/2019. At least they need to have tracking number barcode for the package sent.
ok. your situation are indeed a lot more dire than mine. i have received at least 2 out of 3.

agree. something like DHL, FEDEX or even post laju so we know the status would be great. but i guess maybe due to free shipping they are using the cheapest method without tracking?
cyclone9
post Feb 19 2019, 11:37 AM

2,947 posts

QUOTE(Level 60 Wizard @ Feb 19 2019, 10:51 AM)
ok. your situation are indeed a lot more dire than mine. i have received at least 2 out of 3.

agree. something like DHL, FEDEX or even post laju so we know the status would be great. but i guess maybe due to free shipping they are using the cheapest method without tracking?
even free shipping package I saw there is barcode.
Level 60 Wizard
post Feb 19 2019, 01:36 PM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Feb 19 2019, 11:37 AM)
even free shipping package I saw there is barcode.
hmm. but somehow we're unable to trace the book they ship to us right? because i remember asking for which tracking service i can check and was told there's none.

0.0151sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:04 PM