Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

eugenelimys
post Oct 14 2018, 11:41 PM

637 posts

I just refunded my Dell XPS 13 haha.. The laptop is great, but I opt-ing for a 16gb ram laptop..
Since Im getting my money back, so maybe I can try out another laptop?
Budget about 7k. I can get student price as well..
Looking for 13inch or 14inch. Light laptop( no more than 1.5kg ) and a small power brick just in case I need to bring it.
Prferably with decent battery life, around 7-8 hours preferably.
Will be mainly using for college and some lightroom stuffs haha..

EDIT: Adding this in

1. Budget : 7.5k to 8k
2. Usage : Mainly for college, watching videos, and lightroom. Maybe Stardew Valley
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) : Preferably 13/14 inch. Battery life expect to last me at least 6 hours. Some days I need to bring to college and I'll be there from 8am till 5pm. Prefer to be light weight and thin.

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Oct 15 2018, 05:02 AM
eugenelimys
post Oct 15 2018, 12:59 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 15 2018, 12:06 AM)
Lenovo Thinkpad T480s? The default IPS panel has low sRGB, if you upgrade to WQHD you might lose some battery life. Comes with optional 10W MX150. i5 8250U can handle 3.4GHz all core under load (with some undervolt) in this model

BTW, how do you refund it?
I think its part of their 14 days refunds policy. I have some issue with the keyboard so I just buat complain and say I wanna return due to keyboard and thinking of getting a 16gb ram ver of it ( I got the 8gb ver. felt not enough )

Not gonna game on it to be honest.. just gonna use it for college and some work.. and doing some lightroom haha

Wouldnt the X1 Carbon be better?
Would the X1 Carbon be better than XPS 13?

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Oct 15 2018, 04:59 AM
eugenelimys
post Oct 15 2018, 02:24 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 15 2018, 01:20 PM)
Too expensive IMO...nothing special except for the optional HDR panel
True.. To be honest, if it's without the student discount, it's kinda pricey.. Why can't dell have more discount.. Haiz..

And there's people actually told me to get surface book 2.. Damn that shit is pricey af

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Oct 15 2018, 02:25 PM
eugenelimys
post Oct 16 2018, 04:44 PM

637 posts

Just being plain curious,

You guys think if it's worth to import razer blade 15 to use? Or there's other better laptops out there?

Was thinking of the 1060 144hz ver
eugenelimys
post Oct 16 2018, 05:37 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 16 2018, 05:19 PM)
Their quality control very bad actually, rosak very fast, if you go reddit razer its all complaints, that's why I'm scared a little also, here no flagship store
I didn't check their reddit before.. Didn't expect to be that bad tbh.

I thought it'll be nice to get the mercury white edition but if it's this shitty maybe time to bail lol.. All the reviews online are like giving the laptop such decent reviews... Maybe reviewers units are the good ones while the customers are the shit ones lol
eugenelimys
post Oct 16 2018, 08:40 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 16 2018, 06:21 PM)
That's a fact actually

Conclusion: DON'T buy Razer laptops
Its kinda disappointing tbh. Its like there's finally a MacBook of Windows laptop then they ruin it themselves LOL
eugenelimys
post Oct 19 2018, 04:06 PM

637 posts

Hmm, ZM, what do you think of the Lenovo's warranty? Is it good?

And is their 500nits qhd hdr screen better than the 4k screen on xps13?
I'm stuck between the 2

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Oct 19 2018, 04:16 PM
eugenelimys
post Oct 19 2018, 05:40 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 19 2018, 05:09 PM)
From my experience, not bad. Carry in and onsite are good. It really depends on luck and location

You mean which model with HDR? UHD panel in XPS 13 has really slow response times. Excellent overall colour quality though.
The X1 Carbon Qhd hdr 500 nits
eugenelimys
post Oct 19 2018, 05:51 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2018, 05:24 PM)
if u r comparing the thinkpad x1 carbon dolby display bs xps 13.. then thinkpad hv slightly advantage...warranty wise lenovo commercial onsite r same as DELL n HP commercial..

their consumer onsite n call in support still behind DELL la...

u wan the dolby display i hv good price.. just get a project on thinkpad x1 dolby display
Yea.. I'm comparing between the two for those display haha..

Was tempted by those two but can't make a choice la.. Haha.. Both are nice laptops and their brands are great too.. Lol

Which would you recommend tho, bro?
eugenelimys
post Oct 19 2018, 06:13 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 19 2018, 05:54 PM)
lenovo... i hv special price..

dell.. i hv dfo.. very hard to choose which 1 to recommend u

haha..

lenovo hv better display

dell hv better build , 2 type c port
Ohh.. I don't know how to pick actually haha..
I'll prolly pick based on warranty dy ba... Warranty service fastest is Dell?
eugenelimys
post May 27 2019, 01:44 AM

637 posts

1. Budget : 7-8k
2. Usage : light gaming on the go(DotA), coding(Java, C++), Photoshop and lightroom
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Display: 13-15inches
Battery Life: 5 hours min.
Weight: <= 2kg excluding brick
No numpad plz ( else would had gotten prodigy haha)

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: May 27 2019, 01:45 AM
eugenelimys
post May 27 2019, 10:11 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ May 27 2019, 09:41 AM)
This will limit your options

Prefer gaming laptop or performance/workstation laptop (less GPU power)?
Dont mind gaming laptops or performance/workstation laptops haha.. its just light gaming and some light photoshop or lightroom.. So I dont I would need a rtx 2060? haha..

no numpad is mainly just personal thing >< cuz with numpad, my hands had to slightly slant to the left whenever I type, which I feel not that comfortable when typing...
eugenelimys
post May 27 2019, 10:14 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 27 2019, 09:08 AM)
I would actually wait for the new X1 Extreme Gen 2 or can pick up the good one for 4k. The battery life is a bit short of 6 hours - but for 4K...it's pretty fine
The new X1E2 looks sick haha.. But had to wait for July release and not sure when will arrive in Malaysia haha.. Currently my Surface book charging port got some issue, sometimes can charge sometimes cant, need to "move" it to the correct spot then only can charge.. Maybe can tahan a bit longer la.. Will try to have more patience with it haha..

Yeap, I wanna go for 4k panel biggrin.gif Seriously tho, I wanted the oled 4k panel... haiz..

0.0947sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:56 PM