Notebook Recommendation Thread v.31, Need To Buy Laptop... Please Come In

Heaven68
post Oct 12 2018, 04:11 AM

Hi all sifus, I would like to ask which laptop would better suit for my work.

I'm currently into cyber security (penetration test), but I'm currently not sure if I will be needing macOS. Definitely I will be using Linux Distro for this kind of thing (boot through VM), but then is it necessary to have macOS to study the security of it? I can't find any straight answers to this as there are pentesters using Mac as well as PC. Kindly enlighten me on this because a lot of people says that if I were to go for Mac, basically I can use macOS, Windows, and Linux on it too, while for Windows laptops, I can only run Windows and Linux. The question is whether it is necessary to have macOS.

Also, I do a bit of graphic design and video edits too. And for the time being, I don't have any specific budget, however, I need it to be powerful as well as portable and light weight (I'll be carrying it around), I would personally opt for the 15" laptops due to higher specs and performance as I'll probably run a few VMs (virtual machines), but still I'd listen to any suggestions/recommendations that you guys have for 13" laptops.

I'll be using the laptop for many years, so it's best to suggest me the most recently released ones with 8th generation Intel processors.

Below are the list of laptops that I personally have in mind:
1. Lenovo X1 Extreme with NVIDIA 1050 4GB (1.7kg)
2. MacBook Pro 15" 2018 with Radeon 560X 4GB (1.8kg) mac has high second hand value
3. Dell XPS 15 9570 (most probably I'll skip this due to complaints of thermal throttling)
4. MacBook Pro 13" 2018 (not sure if 13" will be too small for my kind of work and also it doesn't have dedicated graphics card)

Heaven68
post Oct 12 2018, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Oct 12 2018, 09:18 AM)
The best option would be no1 and no2. But for option no2, make sure you're good with butterfly switch on it as you'll be typing a lot and need to be fast too.
If it's going to be my long term laptop, I think it won't be an issue as I'll get used to it in time. However, I'm just worried about the reliability, any complaints for the 2018 version?

And I don't like the touch bar though, but I won't have a choice if I need one with high specs for Mac.

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 12 2018, 01:31 PM)
Preferred max weight and minimum battery life?
Preferably less than 2kg, and it's best to have more than 6 hours of battery life, but it probably won't be an issue for me since I'll be carrying the charging brick around.
Heaven68
post Oct 12 2018, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 12 2018, 06:14 PM)
If you don't need macOS, don't buy Macbook. Whether you need it or not, I cannot give you an answer since I'm no expert in OS related things

X1 Extreme (or P1) is a good choice. I'll suggest a strong CPU and 16GB RAM

If you need more GPU power and battery life isn't a concern, these are OK too:
1. Illegear Onyx
Need to do some fan speed adjustments
No TB3
Poor battery life

2. Gigabyte Aero 15 (imported by ArmoryX)
Mediocre cooling, needs LM+undervolt
Possible minor QC issues
Great battery life

3. MSI GS65
OKish build quality
Good enough battery life

4. Clevo P950EP6 (from Level51 or ArmoryX)
OK-good build quality
OKish battery life

Thin and light gaming laptops will have worse cooling (due to thin chassis) and maybe worse build quality too (again, due to thin chassis). You must undervolt new 8th gen CPUs and if possible, do a repaste.

One question, do you need Quadro GPU?
I'll prefer GTX over Quadro as I'm not using any CAD softwares. By the way, how is the after-sales service of Lenovo? I see that they do provide on-site warranty, but any comments on it?

0.0170sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:22 AM