Home Networking Maximum WiFi Speeds, ... or why my wifi so slow?

jitbeng
post Oct 21 2021, 03:51 PM

302 posts

Hi Sifus,

Just upgraded to 800 unifi. Router is Tp link AC1200 by Telekom. Bandwidth set to 80. 5ghz connection with channel selection @ 48. Checked with wifi analyzer...no overlapping with neighbors @ this channel 48.

My phone is Samsung A51 Exynos9611, 8mb ram & Android 11.

Using Speedtest my wifi max speed I got is 250 with phone about 1ft away from router. Using cable connection with a laptop can reach 800. May I know at what max wifi speed my phone should be abled to get with this router by Telekom?

I was thinking of getting the tplink AX73 AX5400 to replace the existing router. With this new router will it give a max wifi speed of up to at least 350 maybe up 500 lol.

Thank you very much for your kind understanding and cooperation.

This post has been edited by jitbeng: Oct 21 2021, 03:52 PM
jitbeng
post Oct 22 2021, 01:07 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Oct 21 2021, 04:23 PM)
First of all, your phone only had 1x1 antenna which means the fastest speed you could get on the 5GHz is 433 Mbps (especially your phone doesn't support wireless AX). Higher end phone typically comes with 2x2 antenna which could go up to 866 Mbps for AC and 1201 Mbps for AX. So far I don't see any device with more than 2x2 antenna configuration due to space constraint in the phone.

Upgrading router probably doesn't do any good as you are limited to 433 Mbps because:
1. Your phone only had 1x1 antenna configuration
2. Your phone only support up to AC
Many thanks
jitbeng
post Nov 10 2021, 12:38 PM

302 posts

I changed my router from tplink archer AC1200 supplied by TM to Tplink AX5400 archer A73 which I bought. Previously my Samsung A51 can get 250mbps down. My unifi is 800mbps. Now with the new router can get 335mbps down. Increase from 250 to 335.

Now the problem is cannot connect to my Xbox Series S using lan cable to this new router. Previously with the old router was abled to using lan cable. Btw there was no problem connecting using WIFI with the new router. Help will be much appreciated. Thank u very much.

jitbeng
post Nov 10 2021, 03:57 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 10 2021, 02:53 PM)
Did you connect the ethernet to the port that was meant for IPTV?
I connect to LAN 1. May I know which port is for IPTV?

jitbeng
post Nov 10 2021, 07:42 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 10 2021, 04:27 PM)
You could find out the port assignment in the router setting under the VLAN settings. Typically it's either 1 or 4. It seems like you had plugged it into port assigned for IPTV.

I didn't realized for the Archer A73 IPTV is Lan1 lol. I don't have IPTV cause my package comes with only Internet.
And I noticed Lan4 is VOIP. So only 2 Lan ports for internet use. 1 is for Xbox and the other for Desktop computer. I wanted to use Lan4 for Android TV but don't know how to configure for internet.
jitbeng
post Nov 12 2021, 01:46 PM

302 posts

It worked!!!

I emailed to Tplink support and got replied as follows:-

1.Login to web management (IP address 192.168.0.1

2.Click Advanced

3.Network

4.IPTV

5.Tick Enable IGMP Proxy,Tick Enable IPTV, after that ISP Profile Select custom-Vlan internet 500& PRIORITY 0

-Vlan VOIP 400 & PRIORITY 0

-Vlan IPTV 600 & PRIORITY 0

6. IGMP Version change from v2 to v3

7. Save
jitbeng
post Nov 12 2021, 01:47 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Nov 10 2021, 08:02 PM)

From the Emulator, it seems you could select it manually. Give it a try.
It worked!!! I managed to change the IPTV and Voip port to internet port.

I emailed to Tplink support and got replied as follows:-

1.Login to web management (IP address 192.168.0.1

2.Click Advanced

3.Network

4.IPTV

5.Tick Enable IGMP Proxy,Tick Enable IPTV, after that ISP Profile Select custom-Vlan internet 500& PRIORITY 0

-Vlan VOIP 400 & PRIORITY 0

-Vlan IPTV 600 & PRIORITY 0

6. IGMP Version change from v2 to v3

7. Save

This post has been edited by jitbeng: Nov 14 2021, 12:07 AM

0.0153sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:51 PM