Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

pokchik
post Oct 3 2018, 10:59 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

Dear sifus,

I'm just being curious..

AC1300UHP is stated to be fit for 300Mbps speed, but looking at the ASUS MY youtube:

It seems that it's able to clock up to 540Mbps DL speed.

Does this mean that it's able to fit for 500Mbps Turbo option?

Or.. is it just that I'm probably missing the fact that the speedtest video is just showing 1 device connected
and with real world option where probably 4-5 simultaneous device connections may strain the AC1300UHP?
pokchik
post Jan 5 2021, 07:49 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Jan 3 2021, 03:49 PM)
Would to ask I currently have Asus rt ac68u. What would be my options to setup a mesh WiFi? I am on Unifi 500.
1x RT-AC68U? do you have coverage problems now - how bad is it?

Q1 : how much are you willing to spend?

Q2 : what is your target - WIFI 6? or WIFI 5 is okay?

Q3 : how big is your house, and why do you want to opt for mesh?

pokchik
post Nov 7 2023, 02:26 PM

1,304 posts

Dear sifus & readers,

I would like to get some feedback for my current issue.

TLDR;

- 1x RT-AC86U spoilt, considering a replacement or a total revamp of my network devices.

Streamyx History:

- I spent some hundreds RM to have a stable Streamyx/DSL wifi/modem.
- Changed high-dB antennas and whatnot.. but still shaky performance.
- I won the RT-AC86U from AsusMY contest back in 2018 and used it, paired with the blue wired DSL modem by TM (the older one).
- The performance was TOP NOTCH. 10/10, all my complaints about Streamyx being slow suddenly were solved with this router.

Unifi History:

- My Taman started its Unifi infra and I quickly converted to 100Mbps (later 300Mbps).
- Bought another RT-AC86U to utilize its AiMesh (1x unit place on 1st Floor (Main), 1x unit placed on Ground Floor (Mesh))
Note: I didn't do anything like add additional fans or anything, but I do clean it up once in a while from dust.
- Again, the performance is TOP NOTCH. 10/10.

SWU3.0 Story:

- Re-contracted with SWU3.0, currently with 300Mbps (500Mbps upgrade now).
- RT-AC86U started showing problems after 5yrs of usage, particularly the Mesh node.
- The mesh node finally died on me - when I switch it on, only Eth4 LED turns on but nothing else. Nada.

- The Main node still is surviving.
- I even tried for a week with TM's Dlink 3060Z, it performs well on the first day but after a week, my connection is laggy,
on-off devices disconnected, my voice conferences got cut-off, etc. - WTS TM Mesh Router pair.

What I would like to do:

- I wanted to enforce again my home network, with a few options :

1. Purchase another RT-AC86U

Pros Cons
- Plug & play - Old tech
- Relatively cheap - Possibility of refurbished hardware
- My old trusty network again! - Unreliable? (heard that more people had problematic units), surprised that I managed to survive up to 5yrs

2. Purchase RT-AX86U Pro

Pros Cons
- Plug & play - Price (RM1.5k)
- Successor of RT-AC86U

When I talk about Price as cons - it's not that I can't afford it, I just thought what if I go for..

3. Purchase Deco XE75

Pros Cons
- WIFI 6E kononnya future-proof - Will it be as reliable as my old RT-AC86U mesh network stability?
- Tri-band Mesh - I've read in a global forum about some unreliability

4. Try out TPLink Omada

Pros Cons
- A whole new ballgame - Price will shoot up to RM3-5k I guess
- I assume that it's semi-enterprise grade reliable - Overdo things since I'm not an IT guy, though I like to fiddle, particularly PCs and home networks
- On the long run, I might want to expand further with CCTVs and DVRs

Any feedbacks/inputs are very well appreciated.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Nov 7 2023, 02:32 PM
pokchik
post Nov 7 2023, 06:17 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 7 2023, 04:31 PM)
since u are using asus router…why not just replace it TUF-AX4200 and settle with it.

got extra budget just run lan cable all over your house.
you know what - that is a good proposal.. how come I totally missed out this router?

from specs, it's almost comparable with the trusty RT-AC86U as wel..
alright, will be assessing it a bit..

This post has been edited by pokchik: Nov 7 2023, 06:17 PM
pokchik
post Nov 8 2023, 07:59 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Nov 8 2023, 02:17 PM)
AI Mesh rules are simple: When setting up a mesh network, it's best to use the same model and technology for all routers and nodes. Mixing different models and technologies can cause compatibility issues and affect performance.
aw man.. thanks for the heads-up, i would guess as much..

0.0204sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:50 AM