Home Networking WiFi Router Discussion Thread, Updated for 2023

BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 5 2025, 04:51 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Mar 5 2025, 03:59 PM)
this router price never drops, is it common for routers to not drop price?
it's because the same price range wifi7 router doesn't have a big leap in improvement compared to last gen of wifi6.

now all manufacturers learn the bad practice from the black jacket guy. instead of using latest model with greater performance to replace old model at same price, now they selling old model at the same price and latest model at a more expensive price.
ktek
post Mar 5 2025, 09:08 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 06:15 PM)
Guys tp link is better or d link is better?
dlink i fed up liao
tplink still ok from mid range above.
stock also plenty from northern zone
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Mar 6 2025, 04:45 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 5 2025, 09:08 PM)
dlink i fed up liao
tplink still ok from mid range above.
stock also plenty from northern zone
Hi. Thanks for the feedback, very much appreciate it
Omochao
post Mar 8 2025, 12:21 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(legendgod @ Mar 5 2025, 12:01 AM)
Guys would appreciate if could advice for 3storey 22x70 wifi setup? Only normal users family of 3 like web browsing and tv netflix etc. There is no time coverage so most probably go for tm or astro. Will the stock router be enough
I assume 1st floor will be the optimum router position right? The previous owner has cat6 wiring done for g floor living hall & 2nd floor rooms. How does mesh wifi works? Really noob in all these
Not sure what's the stock router that you will be getting, so no comment on that, but if they are giving you D Link or other than the usual like TPlink or Asus, then you will definitely face a long run of issues and headaches once getting it.

If you have cat6 wiring infra works done with proper trunking. Then I would suggest to use the ethernet cables to backhaul all of your routers/aps/mesh.

Mesh wifi is just a marketing term for easy roaming/pairing of multiple routers/repeaters/APs.

The main purpose of the "mesh" term is that whenever you go from one spot to another spot, you do not have to change WiFi SSID or face disconnection from the SSID. It will sort off help you to roam from one spot of the house to another spot seamlessly.

For a family of 3, you got to decide which floors are you going to be using the most, and which floor requires the most of out your wifi. And also your ISP subscribed speed. Then only you can narrow down to which type mesh and its rating AX1800/AX3000/AX6400 etc.

Just stick with WiFi6, is more than enough for the next 2-3 years.
Deravis
post Mar 11 2025, 07:46 PM

Hi there, currently I got the stock router from Maxis' for Huawei (LG8245X6-12). However, my current PC is I believe far end of the router, and it's borderline unusable in gaming & at night especially.
I have like 10 APs atm.
Speed - 100Mbps

Is the stock router useless, or should I upgrade? If upgrade, what's the best for widerange?

This post has been edited by Deravis: Mar 11 2025, 08:49 PM
tropik
post Mar 12 2025, 06:51 PM

500 posts

Sifus,

I'm using Asus TUF AX4200 as the main router, located at ground floor.

Also having a Huawei EchoLife WA8021V5 set as AP, wired to the Asus, located at the back of upper floor.

Both set with the same SSID.

My issue is, my S23U phone can switch to the Huawei and connectivity works fine.

But when I go downstairs, it switches back to Asus but without internet.

What is the problem here?
Do I need to change the SSID for the AP?
ben3003
post Mar 13 2025, 07:30 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(tropik @ Mar 12 2025, 06:51 PM)
Sifus,

I'm using Asus TUF AX4200 as the main router, located at ground floor.

Also having a Huawei EchoLife WA8021V5 set as AP, wired to the Asus, located at the back of upper floor.

Both set with the same SSID.

My issue is, my S23U phone can switch to the Huawei and connectivity works fine.

But when I go downstairs, it switches back to Asus but without internet.

What is the problem here?
Do I need to change the SSID for the AP?
diff router better don use same ssid.
fakerdemit
post Mar 16 2025, 12:07 AM

227 posts

Hi all, is Asus RT-AX86u Pro still worth it in 2025? I’m looking to upgrade my router to 4x4 configuration
chocobo7779
post Mar 16 2025, 08:31 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

blacktubi Any way to set the Skyworth GN630V into media bridge mode or even repeater mode? I can't seem to find it in the router settings sweat.gif
Looking to repurpose it as a repeater icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Mar 16 2025, 08:45 AM
TSblacktubi
post Mar 16 2025, 08:24 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 16 2025, 08:31 AM)
blacktubi Any way to set the Skyworth GN630V into media bridge mode or even repeater mode?  I can't seem to find it in the router settings sweat.gif
Looking to repurpose it as a repeater icon_idea.gif
Don't think there's this feature in the firmware
TSblacktubi
post Mar 16 2025, 08:30 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Mar 16 2025, 12:07 AM)
Hi all, is Asus RT-AX86u Pro still worth it in 2025? I’m looking to upgrade my router to 4x4 configuration
I would say it's even more worth it at the current discounted price.

AX86U PRO checks all the boxes. Flagship grade coverage, tried and tested firmware, able to support a ton of clients on 2.4GHz. Most importantly, it's super stable and I think that's important for a router.

The latest RT-BE86U is only slightly faster in terms of WiFi performance. While CPU got a huge performance bump, it does't matter unless you are using those ASUSWRT bells and whistle.
fakerdemit
post Mar 17 2025, 01:28 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 16 2025, 08:30 PM)
I would say it's even more worth it at the current discounted price.

AX86U PRO checks all the boxes. Flagship grade coverage, tried and tested firmware, able to support a ton of clients on 2.4GHz. Most importantly, it's super stable and I think that's important for a router.

The latest RT-BE86U is only slightly faster in terms of WiFi performance. While CPU got a huge performance bump, it does't matter unless you are using those ASUSWRT bells and whistle.
Thanks - I'm not considering WiFi 7 routers yet since I don't have any WiFi 7 devices. I'll cross that bridge when I actually own compatible device haha

I just realised something when comparing specs, the RT-AX86U Pro only offers 4x4 on its 5GHz channel, while the AX6000 provides 4x4 on both channels. Looking at the specification sheets, these routers seem quite similar otherwise. My guess is that the AX86u has a newer processor.

For someone seeking the best value option with strong performance, would you also recommend the TUF AX6000?
TSblacktubi
post Mar 17 2025, 10:07 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Mar 17 2025, 01:28 AM)
Thanks - I'm not considering WiFi 7 routers yet since I don't have any WiFi 7 devices. I'll cross that bridge when I actually own compatible device haha

I just realised something  when comparing specs, the RT-AX86U Pro only offers 4x4 on its 5GHz channel, while the AX6000 provides 4x4 on both channels. Looking at the specification sheets, these routers seem quite similar otherwise. My guess is that the AX86u has a newer processor.

For someone seeking the best value option with strong performance, would you also recommend the TUF AX6000?
I will go for the RT-AX86U Pro if budget is not an issue. It is indeed better than TUF-AX6000 in every way possible.

And, the RT-AX86U PRO is Broadcom based. I personally prefer Broadcom based routers for their stability.

The RT-AX86U Pro will outperform the TUF-AX6000 in terms of 2.4GHz raw speed, client density, interference mitigation and range.
MasBoleh!
post Mar 19 2025, 10:13 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 17 2025, 10:07 PM)
I will go for the RT-AX86U Pro if budget is not an issue. It is indeed better than TUF-AX6000 in every way possible.

And, the RT-AX86U PRO is Broadcom based. I personally prefer Broadcom based routers for their stability.

The RT-AX86U Pro will outperform the TUF-AX6000 in terms of 2.4GHz raw speed, client density, interference mitigation and range.
Does this 1 sufficient to cover 2 storey landed?
TSblacktubi
post Mar 20 2025, 09:05 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 19 2025, 10:13 PM)
Does this 1 sufficient to cover 2 storey landed?
Should be fine

1 unit at center of home in open area (not under stair case)
MasBoleh!
post Mar 20 2025, 11:27 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 20 2025, 09:05 AM)
Should be fine

1 unit at center of home in open area (not under stair case)
I planned to put it under the staircase, seems like I need to find another cabinet to place it inside. What shall I do if I got no choice but to place it under the staircase?

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Mar 20 2025, 11:27 AM
TSblacktubi
post Mar 21 2025, 08:55 AM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 20 2025, 11:27 AM)
I planned to put it under the staircase, seems like I need to find another cabinet to place it inside. What shall I do if I got no choice but to place it under the staircase?
That's really the worst spot to put a router. Staircase is full of metal rebar literally acting like a faraday cage

Need to put another router outside either as wireless mesh node or wired mesh node
MasBoleh!
post Mar 21 2025, 10:06 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Mar 21 2025, 08:55 AM)
That's really the worst spot to put a router. Staircase is full of metal rebar literally acting like a faraday cage

Need to put another router outside either as wireless mesh node or wired mesh node
Thank you notworthy.gif

Even Asus aimesh also support wireless mesh? I watch its guide in YouTube, seems like I need to connect I believe a Cat6 cable from the router to the first floor router

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Mar 21 2025, 11:02 AM
TSblacktubi
post Mar 21 2025, 05:00 PM

-
8,399 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 21 2025, 10:06 AM)
Thank you notworthy.gif

Even Asus aimesh also support wireless mesh? I watch its guide in YouTube, seems like I need to connect I believe a Cat6 cable from the router to the first floor router
Wired always better than wireless

Aimesh can support wireless
babylon52281
post Mar 23 2025, 09:28 AM

2,673 posts

Want to ask; is WIFI7 receiver compatible with WIFI 6E broadcaster as in both will able connect in 6GHZ band?

301 Pages « < 289 290 291 292 293 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:41 AM