post Nov 14 2022, 09:01 PM

Blow Water First Class
3,813 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 14 2022, 07:32 PM)
Why not Huawei 5G router?
confusing to ppl who duno how to pick

370 tak de n28 band if not mistaken

372 and 373 i forgot what difference already

actually unicom vn007+ pun tak recommended for the moment, tak support nsa if not mistaken. *also no support n28*

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Nov 14 2022, 09:28 PM
FusionXY
post Nov 14 2022, 09:19 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,698 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 14 2022, 09:01 PM)
confusing to ppl who duno how to pick

370 tak de n28 band if not mistaken

372 and 373 i forgot what difference already

actually unicom vn007+ pun tak recommended for the moment, tak support nsa if not mistaken.
brows.gif
GBP56
post Nov 15 2022, 03:59 PM

44 posts

Hi all, can I get your opinion on which mesh Wi-Fi I should get for my situation?

House type: Condo
Size of house: 3000sqft single floor
Internet Speed: 500Mbps

I plan to use 5-6 mesh Wi-Fi as access points to cover the whole house. It’s a bit of overkill but the reason is because I can’t place them at central points, only corners of the houses which limits the coverage of each AP.

Should I:
1. Get 3-4 new Tenda MW12 (~RM1200 for 4 units) to combine with my existing MW6, or

2. Get all new Deco X50 (~RM2600 for 6 units)?

I’m already using the Tenda MW6 (2 pack) in my current house, it’s decent, no complaints/issues for the past 2 years. For my usage, the Tenda is definitely sufficient, but I’m concern of it’s longevity, especially when using more APs. Would the Deco X50 be better to future proof it a little bit?

vkashin
post Nov 16 2022, 12:26 PM

231 posts

Good day all
would like to get an opinion regarding wifi network at home

I am currently running TP-Link AX20, on unifi 800Mbps subscription.
House type : intermediate double storey

i can get nearly full speed on wifi at the ground floor, but signal on the first floor is not as strong as on the ground floor. I am wondering is it better to get another AX20/onemesh router to boost the signal, or might as well change to mesh wifi solution i.e. Deco X20?
king_coolice
post Dec 1 2022, 07:20 PM

221 posts

Hi, I would like to seek for suggestion.

House type: Condo
Size of house: 1153sqft
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 15
Internet Speed: 100mbps
Budget: below RM300

Currently was on TIME 100Mbps plan with HG8145V5 + 1 unit of WA8021V5 at Mesh 1 location. Speed Test using my pnone in master bedroom only shows 30-40mpbs with 5Ghz band.
So I purchased another WA8021V5 Mesh to put in the master bedroom (Mesh 2), but the outcome is still the same.

Was deciding to ditch the 2 WA8021V5 mesh and change to the following setup:
Option 1. Purchase a new router (tplink AX20/AX23 or Mercusys MR80X), use the HG8145V5 as modem and bridge to the new router.
Option 2. Purchase 2 deco mesh, 1 connect to the HG8145V5 by LAN cable and another one put at the original Mesh 1 location.

Which one should be better as I'm worried with option 1, the 5Ghz coverage is not far enough to reach master bedroom.
SUSnatx001
post Dec 2 2022, 08:56 AM

121 posts

Are you guys having problems with port forwarding?
Max
post Dec 2 2022, 11:48 AM

1,684 posts

QUOTE(natx001 @ Dec 2 2022, 08:56 AM)
Are you guys having problems with port forwarding?
Nope (public ip)
sHawTY
post Dec 2 2022, 12:22 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(king_coolice @ Dec 1 2022, 07:20 PM)
SNIP
That's because the Huawei MESH system that you're using is relying on WiFi backhaul, thus the reduced speed
You want full speed at all corners, you need to connect each MESH router using Ethernet

None of the aftermarket routers you're looking at can fix your issue either

If you want full speed on WiFi, you need to get MESH routers with tri-band capability. And those aren't cheap
The cheapest would be Deco X90 and a 2-piece set will cost you around RM1K

So you have 2 choices:
1. Connect all MESH devices using Ethernet cable (cheaper but uglier unless you hack the wall but that would cost a lot of money too)
2. Buy MESH devices with tri-band capability

Your current Dual-Band MESH system:
1 x 2.4GHz for your devices to connect
1 x 5GHz for your devices to connect & also being used for the MESH routers to connect with each other (this is why you're getting slower speed)

Tri-Band MESH system:
1 x 5GHz for your devices to connect
1 x 5GHz/6GHz dedicated WiFi backhaul for the MESH routers to connect with each other

There's also another cheaper MESH router with a tri-band capability but its hardware is limited to WiFi 5 (WiFi AC)
It's Deco M9 Plus which is around RM779 for 2 piece pack

And no, your budget is not gonna get you anything that will fix your issue

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 2 2022, 04:44 PM
OlgaC4
post Dec 2 2022, 12:30 PM

4,255 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 2 2022, 12:22 PM)
That's because the Huawei MESH system that you're using is relying on WiFi backhaul, thus the reduced speed
You want full speed at all corners, you need to connect each MESH router using Ethernet

If you want full speed on WiFi, you need to get MESH routers with tri-band capability. And those aren't cheap

So you have 2 choices:
1. Connect all MESH devices using Ethernet cable (cheaper but uglier unless you hack the wall but that would cost a lot of money too)

Tri-Band:
1 x 2.4GHz for devices
1 x 5GHz for devices
1 x 5GHz/6GHz for dedicated WiFi backhaul

There's also another cheaper MESH router with a tri-band capability but its hardware is limited to WiFi 5 (WiFi AC)

Hack with Cat6E can support wifi 7 also later. or wifi 10
celciuz
post Dec 3 2022, 07:18 PM

13,509 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 2 2022, 12:22 PM)

So you have 2 choices:

Your current Dual-Band MESH system:
1 x 5GHz  for your devices to connect & also being used for the MESH routers to connect with each other (this is why you're getting slower speed)

Tri-Band MESH system:
1 x 5GHz  for your devices to connect
1 x 5GHz/6GHz dedicated WiFi backhaul for the MESH routers to connect with each other

I’m current looking to set up Mesh wireless for my new home, I’m considering ASUS XT8 probably 1 unit upstairs and 1 unit downstairs. And I have Cat 6 backbone available.

Is there better choices for the price that’s worth considering? Or could I get something more worth it by adding the budget a little? ~20%
sHawTY
post Dec 3 2022, 09:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 3 2022, 07:18 PM)
SNIP
With CAT6 Ethernet backbone, you don't even need the XT8. You can go with XD4 tri-pack so you can have bigger coverage all over the house and still have some money leftover

There's absolutely no need to get anything above 2x2 MIMO nowadays because no Wi-Fi 6 devices is capable of supporting more than 2x2
Even desktop PCI-e Wi-Fi 6 cards is limited to 2x2

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 3 2022, 09:19 PM
celciuz
post Dec 3 2022, 11:24 PM

13,509 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 3 2022, 09:16 PM)
With CAT6 Ethernet backbone, you don't even need the XT8. You can go with XD4 tri-pack so you can have bigger coverage all over the house and still have some money leftover

There's absolutely no need to get anything above 2x2 MIMO nowadays because no Wi-Fi 6 devices is capable of supporting more than 2x2
Even desktop PCI-e Wi-Fi 6 cards is limited to 2x2
Gotcha notworthy.gif
Once the nodes are on the same cat6 network, there's no need for tri-band already? Does the XD4 handle routing well? I'll be connecting quite a few devices on the network via a switch.
sHawTY
post Dec 4 2022, 07:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 3 2022, 11:24 PM)
SNIP
How much devices?
By the way, the switch you're using, it's an unmanaged switch right?

celciuz
post Dec 4 2022, 12:45 PM

13,509 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 4 2022, 07:15 AM)
How much devices?
By the way, the switch you're using, it's an unmanaged switch right?
I listed down about 25 devices in the network excluding the nodes, should be 3 unmanaged switches around the different spots.
sHawTY
post Dec 4 2022, 05:50 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,628 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 4 2022, 12:45 PM)
I listed down about 25 devices in the network excluding the nodes, should be 3 unmanaged switches around the different spots.
25 devices is still on the low side
I'm using almost 100 devices out of my old GT-AC5300 and it's still running perfectly. And that's a 5 year old router

By the way, those 3 switches is connected to one another right?

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 4 2022, 05:52 PM
lovingforyou
post Dec 4 2022, 09:59 PM

360 posts

Hi, im using 3 unit Deco X60 for my place for few months.
But recently i facing backyard area is unable to connect wifi.
After checking, due 2nd & 3rd deco is too far, the 3rd deco always not connected with other Deco.
I tried re-position 2nd & 3rd deco, problem solve so far, but doesn't stable.
Im thinking to add on another 2 unit of Deco X90, 1 unit which will be set as main and another unit X90 placed within main deco range.
So it will be total of 2 unit X90 and 3 unit X60, is it recommended with this setup?
Will there be any problem mixing different model of Deco ?
What is maximum Deco i can link them together?

This post has been edited by lovingforyou: Dec 4 2022, 10:00 PM
Gaza
post Dec 7 2022, 11:22 PM

474 posts

Hi everyone. I'm currently using unifi 300mbps and my router is located at the red X and i find the connection is not strong at the back room/back toilet at the yellow X. Currently i'm using Asus RT-AC86U router and generally i'm happy with the performance of the it but since its been a few years and i'm thinking of upgrading my router.

Assuming i dont change the location of the router,
1. If i get mesh will it help my wifi coverage? And where would be the ideal location of the mesh unit? Previously i thought mesh more applicable for multi storey houses but i see some ppl recommend for larger single floor units like condo as well.
2. Since i play online shooters (my PC is in the back room with the yellow X) quite often will mesh be worse performance for gaming than gaming router? Is the trade off for better coverage worth it?

Edit: Please recommend router budget RM1k or below, thanks.

This post has been edited by Gaza: Dec 8 2022, 10:58 AM
pakarbu
post Dec 8 2022, 07:17 PM

124 posts

Hi, anyone know if Digi zyxel ex3300-t0 can be use with other isp? Is there any software/hardware lock?
YoungMan
post Dec 8 2022, 10:18 PM

5,393 posts

QUOTE(pakarbu @ Dec 8 2022, 07:17 PM)
Hi, anyone know if Digi zyxel ex3300-t0 can be use with other isp? Is there any software/hardware lock?
No hardware lock. I have tried it with Unifi and it is working. Just that you need to change the vlan to Unifi vlan.
xCryptik
post Dec 9 2022, 06:26 PM

549 posts

RT-AX1800HP Dual-core (4 VPE) Processor Long Antenna.
RT-AX55 1.5GHz quad-core Processor Short Antenna.

Which one would you guys choose?

275 Pages « < 239 240 241 242 243 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:14 AM