Review.. pretty decent for the cheap price
Ok i will survey. Thanks yea ...
cannavaro
post Aug 6 2020, 02:43 PM

CATTENACIO
3,001 posts

QUOTE(zalezale @ Aug 6 2020, 02:31 PM)
Ok i will survey. Thanks yea ...
another option is dlink covr c1202 (2 pack)
our_team89
post Aug 8 2020, 06:12 AM

959 posts

House type: Landed
Size of house: single storey semi d. About 2100 sqft
Features required: need VPN for specific device (home tv for netflix)
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6 (usually only 3-4 at the same time
Internet Speed: 100Mbps
Budget: rm300++ max, if can reduce the cost much better

Hi sifu, looking for router to replace my current unifi as it already shows random disconnect. I'm not heavy gamer, just need wider range wifi as my current wifi can only cover up until 3/4 of my kitchen.

Prefer to have vpn for specific device as i want to use netflix on my tv but normal network on other device.
Was looking for asus rt ac59u but not sure if it fulfill these requirements or not
TSblacktubi
post Aug 8 2020, 11:24 AM

-
7,508 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Aug 8 2020, 06:12 AM)
Size of house: single storey semi d. About 2100 sqft
Features required: need VPN for specific device (home tv for netflix)
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 6 (usually only 3-4 at the same time
Internet Speed: 100Mbps
Budget: rm300++ max, if can reduce the cost much better

Hi sifu, looking for router to replace my current unifi as it already shows random disconnect. I'm not heavy gamer, just need wider range wifi as my current wifi can only cover up until 3/4 of my kitchen.

Prefer to have vpn for specific device as i want to use netflix on my tv but normal network on other device.
Was looking for asus rt ac59u but not sure if it fulfill these requirements or not
Archer C80 from TP-Link performs better than ASUS RT-AC59U.

RT-AC59U won't allow VPN for selected device only. Only high end ASUS models come with VPN fusion do that.
puawk1
post Aug 8 2020, 11:52 AM

27 posts

Yesterday my 18 months old China unit Asus AC86U went off by itself, then resume working after power off and power on the power supply. Looks like it is giving sign......

I need to buy a spare unit, thinking of buying ASUS AC86U again as it serves me well. Any recommendation for other ASUS router at about the same price range as AC86U, and with better performance?

I would say this AC86U is a good router. It provides coverage for every corner of my 2 and a half story house. There is no dead spot, the download speed is 30+ Mbps at the weakest spot, and most time more than 60+ Mbps for other spots. My plan is only Unifi 100 Mbps.
micwin1437
post Aug 8 2020, 01:56 PM

1,147 posts

Just purchased online for Netgear Nighthawk RAX80. Hope it will serve me well....
gotgiant
post Aug 9 2020, 05:19 PM

707 posts

Hi just upgrade from unifi 30mb to 100mb

Tried using tplink ac1200 using lastest eu fimware
-speed flatuacted( previously serve me good during unifi30mb)

After using netis netis dl4480v1 orange colour router
- i get better speed and stable

Unifi - 100mb gonna upgrade 300mb in future

Budget - strictly below 400

House type -apartment 1000sq / 3rooms

Phone usage - yes , i want to use TM house phone (free call)

Usage streaming 4k and gaming(steam, fps) and android tv box

Any suggestions?

Dont want mesh

Thank you

This post has been edited by gotgiant: Aug 9 2020, 05:28 PM
bonez_xy
post Aug 11 2020, 12:39 PM

520 posts

now using asus DSL-N12E with unifi lite 8mbps.
going to upgrade to 100mbps this week.
is my asus router can be use for new unifi 100mbps?
or just use the tm given one.
tq
slaveone
post Aug 11 2020, 02:04 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Aug 11 2020, 12:39 PM)
now using asus  DSL-N12E with unifi lite 8mbps.
going to upgrade to 100mbps this week.
is my asus router can be use for new unifi 100mbps?
or just use the tm given one.
tq
use the one provided by TM
peter32
post Aug 11 2020, 09:22 PM

心旷神怡
1,154 posts

Size of house: 2 storeys & 22x65 ft
Features required: Parental control; USB for printer
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 3 wireless, 2 cabled to 3 cabled max
Internet Speed: 30Mbps (maybe upgraded to 100Mbps max in future)
Budget: Less than RM300

Current setup is Maxis home fibre, to change to unifi soon. Key issue is I cannot set up parental control for the current set up (can't change third party router for maxis with voip phone intact). Now I use another router set up to be repeater upstair (connected via network cable), but have to change wifi node manually whenever we go upstair. If possible I would want to avoid that. Ie one good wifi router that can cater for upstair.

So plan to use a third party router, able to cater for kids 2 zoom sessions simultaneously with one more cabled connection at the same time. That would be more or less max connection capability for now.

This post has been edited by peter32: Aug 11 2020, 09:35 PM
puremage111
post Aug 12 2020, 12:51 PM

234 posts

Already have this existing AC86U
Its fine in the living room, can reach 500mbps with lan
100-300 mbps with wireless (depends 2.4-5ghz)
But once i go into my room, the max speed i get is 10-20 and the ping on gaming is disastrous

Tbh i am not even sure why does this happens
It's a single floor 1500 sqft building yet the further it distance, the speed is getting trashed
I always thought if AC86U could support up to a 2-3 story building, it could definitely cover and support a single floor building

If im looking to get a mesh setup
Any suggestions?
Do i get back a same AC86U or what

House type: condo
Size of house: 1500 dual key concept, single floor
Features required: not really
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 10-20
Internet Speed: 500mbps
Budget: fine with any

This post has been edited by puremage111: Aug 12 2020, 12:53 PM
TSblacktubi
post Aug 12 2020, 01:28 PM

-
7,508 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Aug 12 2020, 12:51 PM)
Already have this existing AC86U
Its fine in the living room, can reach 500mbps with lan
100-300 mbps with wireless (depends 2.4-5ghz)
But once i go into my room, the max speed i get is 10-20 and the ping on gaming is disastrous

Tbh i am not even sure why does this happens
It's a single floor 1500 sqft building yet the further it distance, the speed is getting trashed
I always thought if AC86U could support up to a 2-3 story building, it could definitely cover and support a single floor building

If im looking to get a mesh setup
Any suggestions?
Do i get back a same AC86U or what

House type: condo
Size of house: 1500 dual key concept, single floor
Features required: not really
Number of devices connected to WiFi: 10-20
Internet Speed: 500mbps
Budget: fine with any

AC86U should be capable of up to 500Mbps on short distance with most Wireless AC devices.

Your RT-AC86U seems faulty to me.
puremage111
post Aug 12 2020, 05:21 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 12 2020, 02:28 PM)
AC86U should be capable of up to 500Mbps on short distance with most Wireless AC devices.

Your RT-AC86U seems faulty to me.
So what should i do? I tried factory reset, changed channel
Is my antenna spoilt or what
Cause the distance of network strength if compare to my old landed house is pretty weak now

I heard my friend said that because condo walls are much thicker because of concretes thus i get the poor performance when i am in the room
Is this true?

Thanks mate
TSblacktubi
post Aug 12 2020, 05:28 PM

-
7,508 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Aug 12 2020, 05:21 PM)
So what should i do? I tried factory reset, changed channel
Is my antenna spoilt or what
Cause the distance of network strength if compare to my old landed house is pretty weak now

I heard my friend said that because condo walls are much thicker because of concretes thus i get the poor performance when i am in the room
Is this true?

Thanks mate
Where you buy you RT-AC86U from?

Send it back to RMA
puremage111
post Aug 12 2020, 05:47 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 12 2020, 06:28 PM)
Where you buy you RT-AC86U from?

Send it back to RMA
Shopee or somewhere
I forgot
And if not mistaken, mine is china set as the default language was Chinese when it arrive

Can i still sent for RMA check?
And if warranty is already voided
How much would it likely cost for the whole thing to be diagnosed and repair?
Ty

TSblacktubi
post Aug 12 2020, 09:49 PM

-
7,508 posts

QUOTE(puremage111 @ Aug 12 2020, 05:47 PM)
Shopee or somewhere
I forgot
And if not mistaken, mine is china set as the default language was Chinese when it arrive

Can i still sent for RMA check?
And if warranty is already voided
How much would it likely cost for the whole thing to be diagnosed and repair?
Ty
I doubt you can claim warranty if it's a China set.

This is why I don't recommend getting ASUS China set.

ASUS Malaysia don't repair routers here, they swap one to one.
cannavaro
post Aug 13 2020, 10:30 AM

CATTENACIO
3,001 posts

TM is now offering 2 units of deco m9 plus for RM35 x 24 months = RM840. Cheaper than most stores I believe.

slaveone
post Aug 13 2020, 11:14 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Aug 13 2020, 10:30 AM)
TM is now offering 2 units of deco m9 plus for RM35 x 24 months = RM840. Cheaper than most stores I believe.
have a link...? cant find any info at their website
cannavaro
post Aug 13 2020, 11:48 AM

CATTENACIO
3,001 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Aug 13 2020, 11:14 AM)
have a link...? cant find any info at their website
unifi community forum

CODE

Important Notes:

New Mesh Wi-Fi TP-Link Deco M9 Plus @ RM35/month is only applicable at selected sales channels: TMpoint / Reseller (during New Installation order only) / 100 / LiveChat.
   Applicable to all existing unifi customers (both Residential & Business).
   The customers will have an option to add, up to a maximum of five (5) Mesh Wi-Fi in one unifi service account, subject to existing customer’s subscription to other devices.
   Customer will receive the device via courier upon completion of order within 5-9 working days.
   The charges of RM35/month will be included in customers’ unifi bill for 24 months.
   Device Warranty Period is 3 Years from the Manufacturer.
   Other unifi and Mesh Wi-Fi T&C remain the same as per existing.

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Aug 13 2020, 11:49 AM
ceras
post Aug 14 2020, 08:38 PM

606 posts

Just wondering if anyone had upgraded from Tenda AC18 to Huawei AX3 quad core? I wonder if there will be marked improvement with the change. Considering going down this path. ....

275 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:37 PM