Health Are air purifiers a waste of money?

TShappyday119
post Sep 17 2018, 12:02 PM, updated 6y ago

363 posts

Thinking to get a Xiaomi Air Purifier for bedroom.

Are air purifiers a waste of money?

I don't have allergy, asthma or anything.

Is it just a hype?

What do you think?
krayden
post Sep 17 2018, 12:04 PM

568 posts

The only purifiers that actually does anything are the types that have hepa filter.

cedyy
post Sep 17 2018, 12:09 PM

1,351 posts

imo, they do purify the air.

This post has been edited by cedyy: Sep 17 2018, 12:09 PM
tsg_7
post Sep 17 2018, 12:11 PM

2,223 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Sep 17 2018, 12:09 PM)
imo, they do purify the air.
You do mind to share your case when u got the purifier compare when u do not have it that time?
SUSslimey
post Sep 17 2018, 12:12 PM

6,914 posts

well............borrow one to try?
magnesium
post Sep 17 2018, 12:15 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:11 PM)
You do mind to share your case when u got the purifier compare when u do not have it that time?
When my air refreshener blow, it automatically working
cedyy
post Sep 17 2018, 12:21 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:11 PM)
effective in removing dust and odour. i had stubborn durian odour in car for a few days. left the air purifier in the car overnight and the smell had reduced significantly in one night. repeated for another day and it was almost gone.

also, i have one in the wardrobe to help control fungus which used to plague my clothes especially those not worn for sometime.
tsg_7
post Sep 17 2018, 12:22 PM

2,223 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Sep 17 2018, 12:21 PM)
effective in removing dust and odour. i had stubborn durian odour in car for a few days. left the air purifier in the car overnight and the smell had reduced significantly in one night. repeated for another day and it was almost gone.

also, i have one in the wardrobe to help control fungus which used to plague my clothes especially those not worn for sometime.
So meaning it has to be in closed condition.
Lion Cut
post Sep 17 2018, 12:58 PM

192 posts

i have xiaomi gen1 and coeay air purifier..i can say they are effective
i have 2 indoor cats and when friends come to my house they all r suprised coz dont have any cat smell
actly i want the air purifier to trap n catch my cats long fur only
cedyy
post Sep 17 2018, 02:36 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:22 PM)
So meaning it has to be in closed condition.
All purifiers are supposed to work in enclosed condition. Theres effective area stated for different models
Eurobeater
post Sep 17 2018, 05:27 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,184 posts

As long as u are just as healthy and fine without the purifier, then perhaps there is no need to buy one. Unless, you need one because of odours or someone in the house as some medical condition
cedyy
post Sep 18 2018, 10:50 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(Captain1 @ Sep 18 2018, 10:27 PM)
What brand and model did work the magic?
Is it a HEPA filter or ion type?
Sharp FPF40LW with hepa filter and ionizer
Wonder_Me
post Sep 19 2018, 12:15 PM

137 posts

Well it changes a lot cause I own a very fluffy cat.
The air are much breathable and not much sneeze since I got 1.
ExCrIpT
post Sep 20 2018, 03:20 PM

1,665 posts

I think usually ppl with indoor pets will get one to control the smell and also to trap the fur of the pets. I got myself one cuz i have a bunny running around and it helps but i wonder whether it will work that efficiently in a room with windows open or nto.
cloudchng
post Sep 20 2018, 03:23 PM

287 posts

dont really know whether they are working as advertise but my home have many units. maybe just to comfort myself.
cassian948
post Sep 20 2018, 03:26 PM

890 posts

If got child in house - air purifier is must have to avoid developing asthma on the child, because mould can grow in house make air is not clean.
yhcyber
post Sep 20 2018, 03:29 PM

472 posts

I got the Xiaomi Air Purifier 2, good for dust and sensitive nose, as my area now full of constructions and lots dust that causes bad air quality, turn it on in closed living room and you can feel the differences.
jusbella
post Sep 20 2018, 03:31 PM

2,845 posts

I use atmosphere sky. It's a wise investment.
river.sand
post Sep 20 2018, 08:26 PM

3,788 posts

QUOTE(Captain1 @ Sep 18 2018, 10:55 PM)
Good choice. I was considering an ionizer only. HEPA bags can be expensive (or at least my impression). Thanks for sharing.
If I were not mistaken, ionizer doesn't work well in high humidity environment.
Malaysia's climate is humid.
luvjim
post Oct 16 2018, 12:24 PM

last resort
1,031 posts

What makes you think you need an air purifier?

0.0140sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:08 PM