Apple Watch Series 4 Official Discussion Thread, All new. For a better you.
sigheart
Sep 13 2018, 09:28 PM
Getting both this and the new iPhone. Hopefully they will have sufficient stock on launch.
But tbh I am more excited to get my hands on the series 4 watch rather than the new iPhone. 😅
This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 13 2018, 09:30 PM
sigheart
Sep 13 2018, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 13 2018, 08:37 PM) Don’t know my 42mm watch band can fit 44mm AW or not... They already said during the presentation all previous gen Apple watch bands will fit.
sigheart
Sep 19 2018, 07:19 PM
Reviews for the Apple Watch 4 are beginning to trickle in. This is now a must purchase for me.
sigheart
Sep 21 2018, 06:33 PM
All I see are iPhones being brought it.
No one bringing in some import Apple Watch sets for sale?
This post has been edited by sigheart: Sep 21 2018, 06:33 PM
sigheart
Oct 3 2018, 04:25 PM
Guess I’ll be lining up for the Apple Watch instead of the iPhone this year. Feels weird.
sigheart
Oct 10 2018, 05:59 PM
Too bad no stainless steel for GPS only version.
Don’t think I’ll ever be in a situation where my mobile will not be in close proximity to me so having cellular on the watch is pretty useless to me.
sigheart
Oct 11 2018, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Oct 11 2018, 04:06 PM) Stainless Steel silver....but I am waiting for MY to confirm not launching Stainless Steel first...  No need to wait bro, just make an order from SG. Think someone posted SIRIM approval is only for the 40mm and 44mm GPS only model numbers. Can say almost confirmed Malaysia won’t be bringing in any cellular models which effectively rules out any chance of SS models being brought in.
sigheart
Oct 11 2018, 06:30 PM
If you guys can’t wait I do see some Apple watches popping up randomly on Carousell. Can check there from time to time. But those are really scalpers.
Be prepared to pay easily rm300 to rm400, or maybe more on top of SG rrp.
sigheart
Oct 11 2018, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(terrancehah @ Oct 11 2018, 10:22 PM) Just a quick ask, AW4 Nike version does come with GPS-only version, just like the old series 3, right? Am an avid runner, the Nike watch face and reflective watch band really appeal to me the most🤔 Yes, it comes in GPS only, that’s the model I’m targeting as well since my Apple Watch will be used strictly for sports and workouts. And yeah I like the Nike watch faces as well. This post has been edited by sigheart: Oct 11 2018, 10:33 PM
sigheart
Oct 16 2018, 12:42 PM
Don't quite recollect Malaysia having pre-order a week earlier through the Apple website like this before. Even for the iPhones.
In a dilemma now whether to camp and just pre-order online on the dot pre-order starts or queue on release date itself.
sigheart
Oct 19 2018, 03:10 PM
Decided to just place my order with MY apple store for the Apple Watch. Delivers 29 October.
sigheart
Oct 19 2018, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(dragna @ Oct 19 2018, 03:21 PM) When i selected the unit i want it showed delivery 26/10. Then during payment it showed 15/11.. haha.. gonna buy from stores straight, pointless to wait that long for shipment. Yea the Space Gray mostly got pushed back to 15/11...silver and gold models still can get 29/10. When I selected my units it showed 24/10 but when checkout changed to 29/10...but ok la still acceptable. Better go queue early man, I suspect there won't be many stocks at stores either.
sigheart
Oct 24 2018, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Oct 24 2018, 11:38 AM) The shipping date moved from original 15 Nov - 23 Nov to 9 Nov - 16 Nov. Anyone getting sooner for Nike+ Grey? I bought a sports band and sports loop Nike+ 44mm space gray. Delivery states 29 Oct and the status is preparing for shipment already. I’m hoping they would arrive at the courier facility on Friday so I can go collect them personally.
sigheart
Oct 24 2018, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(PHI_1.618 @ Oct 24 2018, 10:16 AM) Are we going to be able to see some sample in the Apple retailers this weekend? Samples will be up at retail as soon as it’s official launch this Friday 26/10 so yes definitely will have display units for you to play this weekend.
sigheart
Oct 25 2018, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(mhs87 @ Oct 25 2018, 03:50 PM) new delivery date was given on my email by apple, 29/10 but from the tracking by UPS its 27/10 which is earlier, finger cross Mine has been shipped and the delivery has changed from 29/10 to 26/10 which is tomorrow. Really fingers crossed.
sigheart
Oct 25 2018, 08:00 PM
Placed mine as soon as preorders went live on the dot lol
sigheart
Oct 26 2018, 10:53 AM
I just received mine, delivered by Apple my.
Was sceptical at first that they would be able to deliver by today but looks like they did.
sigheart
Oct 26 2018, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Oct 26 2018, 10:59 AM) Delivery before noon, nice. So unboxing and setup done? Yup didn’t expect them to deliver so quick. Initially didn’t know what to expect because apple website stated 26/10 but UPS still says 29/10. But out of the blue they appeared and delivered it. Apple’s estimated delivery is even more accurate than the courier doing the delivery themselves.... Haha not yet. Sipping coffee while waiting for it to be fully coated at Mobile Outfitters right now.
sigheart
Oct 26 2018, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(mhs87 @ Oct 26 2018, 02:03 PM) how much for the coating? Coating is 130 for full protection including the sides and heart rate monitor with lifetime warranty. The film will not affect the heart rate monitor whatsoever. My Apple Watch will be used primarily for workouts and sports so not so comfortable using it naked lol Overall it looks ok and am pretty happy with it. Cutouts are pretty precise as well. Hard to even notice anything is on the watch unless you bring it up close and scrutinize. Need to run some errands for now will try and post some pics later in the evening or tonight. This post has been edited by sigheart: Oct 26 2018, 02:11 PM
sigheart
Oct 30 2018, 03:16 AM
Sharing my experience after 3 days with a fully coated Apple Watch from Mobile Outfitters and my advise is - Coat the front and sides, ceramic back is optional but do not coat the heart rate sensor.
- All was fine on the first day right after I coated it, but after awhile it felt uncomfortable, the watch stuck to my skin and it was tugging at my bulu lol Thought it was too tight so I loosened it but it was worse wearing it loose, it was rough and it rubbed my wrist with friction and caused irritation. Thought I wasn't wearing it right so just shrugged it off took it off and ended the day.
- Second day wore it to the gym and after a few reps, my goodness it felt so sticky and hot on the wrist. Super rough and grimy. Started pulling at my wrist bulu badly. The irritation was horrible as well. Got pissed and ripped off the film on the heart rate sensor, cleaned it a bit and put it back on. And my goodness it was like I just put on a different watch.
- Third day - after a whole day and I felt like I could leave the watch on my wrist forever.
The coating is just like your phone non tempered glass regular screen protector. It can be abrasive on your wrist especially when it gets sticky from your sweat or wrist heat. What is more I believe the film traps heat as well. Also my regular heart rate readings were consistently 10+ BPM higher than after I had the film removed from the heart rate sensor, so the film might affect accuracy somewhat. There is a longer pause as well before your watch starts charging after attaching the charger.
Now with the sapphire back touching my skin, it feels so much cooler and the watch slides around effortlessly with no friction if I decide to wear it a little looser and able to adjust the position of the watch from time to time. Bulus were no longer harmed. Watch also starts charging almost immediately after attaching the charger.
I am considering taking out the layer on the ceramic back as well now. The heart rate sensor and the entire ceramicback really do not need any coating in the first place tbh. Sapphire glass and ceramic are incredibly scratch resistant. Plus those parts will be on your wrist most of the time anyway.
TLDR - Get the front and the sides coated will do. Ceramic back, optional but the heart rate sensor is a major no go for coating. You might even get a cheaper price with only the front and sides coated. The front and side coating did come in handy once for me yesterday when I accidentally hit either the side or front screen of the watch when trying to stop a lift door from closing when I was rushing. I'm convinced there would've been at least some scratches had it not been for the coating.