918 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Dec 20 2018, 01:41 PM
SUScute_miao
post Dec 23 2018, 05:04 PM

Look at MY STARS!!!!!!!!!
1,438 posts

wow.. mind sharing how much need to have to prepare a newborn?
roy_zu
post Dec 24 2018, 12:43 PM

#TimeToLead
2,337 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Dec 23 2018, 05:04 PM)
wow.. mind sharing how much need to have to prepare a newborn?
Here is mine since the start of wife's pregnancy till baby born + postnatal :

1. Medical checkups in private hospital - RM 3k
2. Delivery at Putrajaya (FPP) C-Sec - RM 3.5k
3. Baby's things (Clothes, playpen, stroller, car seat, feeding bottles, breast pump) - RM 6k
4. Diapers + Formula milk for the first 3 months - RM 1.5k

Total : RM 13k

Monthly expenses :
1. Daycare - RM 1.5k
2. Diapers + Formula milk - RM 300 - 400
3. Clothes, Feeding bottles - RM 100 - 200
4. Misc - RM 200

Total : RM 2.1 - RM 2.3k

Additional Monthly (If you financially ok after all these expenses)
1. Medical Insurance : RM 250 - 300
2. Savings (ASB, FD, SSPN ) : RM 500 - RM 1k
SUScute_miao
post Dec 24 2018, 12:54 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Dec 24 2018, 12:43 PM)
Here is mine since the start of wife's pregnancy till baby born + postnatal :

1. Medical checkups in private hospital - RM 3k
2. Delivery at Putrajaya (FPP) C-Sec - RM 3.5k
3. Baby's things (Clothes, playpen, stroller, car seat, feeding bottles, breast pump) - RM 6k
4. Diapers + Formula milk for the first 3 months - RM 1.5k

Total : RM 13k

Monthly expenses :
1. Daycare - RM 1.5k
2. Diapers + Formula milk - RM 300 - 400
3. Clothes, Feeding bottles - RM 100 - 200
4. Misc - RM 200

Total : RM 2.1 - RM 2.3k

Additional Monthly (If you financially ok after all these expenses)
1. Medical Insurance : RM 250 - 300
2. Savings (ASB, FD, SSPN ) : RM 500 - RM 1k
wow

quite a lot need to prepare
roy_zu
post Dec 24 2018, 02:04 PM

#TimeToLead
2,337 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Dec 24 2018, 12:54 PM)
wow

Deleted. Forgot not /k tongue.gif

This post has been edited by roy_zu: Dec 24 2018, 03:31 PM
SUScute_miao
post Dec 24 2018, 02:39 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Dec 24 2018, 02:04 PM)
Not easy mate. And i always wonder how some people can afford to have a dozen... Hehe
kful.. i got suspended bcz i say tht
SUScute_miao
post Dec 24 2018, 02:45 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Dec 24 2018, 12:54 PM)
wow

need to prepare at least 20k before have planning.

cannot simply play creampie
roy_zu
post Dec 24 2018, 03:36 PM

#TimeToLead
2,337 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Dec 24 2018, 02:45 PM)
need to prepare at least 20k before have planning.

cannot simply play creampie
Still 3rd trimester not much expenses. Since you are required to follow-up at your local Klinik Kesihatan, you might as well continue doing the check-up there if want to save money on private check-ups. Big chunk of the expenses goes to delivery and buying baby things.

I know having first child will be an roller coaster ride, but either one of the parents should really track the expenses and eliminate all unnecessary purchases
SUScute_miao
post Dec 24 2018, 03:48 PM

1,438 posts

tq for all the info...

i will preparr for it

did u consult o&g before planning get a baby? or main tembak then once kena just consult?
TSlowlowc
post Dec 24 2018, 11:18 PM

918 posts

I missed out baby lotion. What is baby lotion/oil to recommend?
plumberly
post Dec 25 2018, 12:34 PM

4,612 posts

My 2 cents from my experience years back ...

[quote=lowlowc,Sep 12 2018, 02:41 PM]

1. Electronic Breast Pump - Medela/Avent? Is RM500 enough to buy a good one?
*** Dont get the hand pump. Believe me, it can be very tiring after a few pumps. So get a battery operated pump. Will be very useful when the hubby spends the night with the baby while wife can rest peacefully in another room. No need for both to be in the same room to look after the baby at night. Just rotate the shift, one night wife, one night hubby etc.

6. Baby bath tub stand - is it better to have this? I wonder if it's stable enough.

*** This is the stand for the bath tub? Looks scary & unsafe to me. Best to just use the bath tub on the floor.

14. Feeding bottle - which one is good Tommy Tipee, Avent or any brand? Glass or non-glass? Or I should wait after baby's birth since I will be latching while on maternity leave.
*** Check the labelling at the bottle bottom if it is plastic. Only used 4 or 5 labelling (safety concerns on type of plastic they use).

15. Sterilizer. Some friends say it's a must, some say just use hot water. Which one to believe? What brand to recommend? My budget is RM200+-.
*** We used only hot water for our 3 kids.

Welcome to the parent's club!
Zephyr_Mage
post Dec 26 2018, 12:16 AM

Validating
5,444 posts

Hi, my LO is 3 weeks old. I understand that night = lights out, but I need some light to help with nappy changing. I hear that red lights are good for maintaining sleep. Do you know where I can find one? Or can I just use a salt lamp?

TSlowlowc
post Jul 13 2019, 11:31 PM

918 posts

Hi all, my little one is 6 months old now and I think I should update this thread. These are the things I would recommend to have.

1. Electric Breast Pump - If you have the budget, definitely go for double breast pump! At first I thought the difference between single and double is the time only but no. Double pump actually yield more milk.

2. Baby Cot - We had Ikea's Sundvik. It's ok, but now my baby can roll over, it seems a bit small for him to move around. If have the 1k, 2k budget and would like your baby to sleep longer in cot, go for those bigger type.

3. Baby Seat - We went for Graco and love it!

4. Playpen - for bringing along when we travel or go back hometown. We bought My Dear RM270+, so far so good. Can fold into a cylinder size for traveling. Need to buy matress for it, make sure to buy mattress 'for playpen' not cot.

5. Baby bath tub - Using Ikea's cause it already has anti slip bottom.

6. Baby bath tub stand - Definitely get one if 1. the person going to bath the baby has back or knee problem or 2.The mother delivered via c-section. After c-section quite hard to squat down. Just make sure to test if it's sturdy. I bought an iron shelves from Ikea and used it as stand.

7. Baby bath support - very useful for first time parents handling newborn. Depending on baby's size. If baby is premature/underweight, best to get the pillow type. If baby is normal size, use the netting type.

8. Baby blanket - we bought the baby sleeping bag. Turned out too warm for baby. Just buy a flannel type for colder temp and the muslin type for non-airconditioned room.

9. Baby mattress - addon with mattress waterproof liner.

10. Diaper changing mat - Ikea. The one made from all plastic, easy to clean.

11. Diaper changing table - we didn't buy but use my workdesk as changing table, with the changing mat on top of it. Diapers put into drawer. Very handy.

12. Baby stroller - Got Combi Cozy for rm720 during promo. Now i wish we had buy Combi Handy cause it's higher. Combi is light and easily folded in 2 steps. But it takes up a lot of car boot space. Also not suitable for putting shopping stuff on it because it's very light.

13. Newborn diapers - pls ask around if your friends have any leftover, so you can use and see if your baby is suitable. Don't buy too much. My favorite if Mamypoko Airfit and Merries. But both are expensive. Genki is ok and cheaper, but cutting is small. My baby is wearing Mamypoko S, but need to wear M for Genki.

14. Feeding bottle - which one is good Tommy Tipee, Avent or any brand? Glass or non-glass? Or I should wait after baby's birth since I will be latching while on maternity leave. - We had bought Avent, MAM, Dr Brown, Kuku and found Simba is the only one my baby can take. My baby was premature and cannot stand quick flow teats. Simba is the only one we found to have the smallest size teats - Double S, and it's PPSU material.

15. Sterilizer. Some friends say it's a must, some say just use hot water. Which one to believe? What brand to recommend? My budget is RM200+-. - Definitely buy the one with dryer function. Because steam sterilizer will produce a lot of water droplet, they dry up very slowly.

16. Milk warmer. - If you're feeding breastmilk in bottle, definitely buy one. Dipping them in hot water is slow and sometimes require changing water, waste of time.

17. Baby clothing - just buy a few long sleeves and long pant plus a few short rompers. Get a few newborn, then 6-12mth size

18. Thermometer - get the traditional Omron armpit thermometer. We bought an expensive no-contact infrared thermometer, but it's too sensitive, keep showing our baby having 'fever'.

19. Pacifier - buy one especially if baby likes to use mummy as 'human pacifier'.

20. Yuyi oil - We bought TYT because it's not 'spicy' on skin. Some other mummy recommended Tropika Minyak Telon

21. Baby carrier - I bought a Moby wrap but only manage to use it for short time after my baby learns how to turn his head around. Wouldn't stay still. Buy a non-wrap type carrier if you plan to bring baby anywhere especially travel and shopping. Hispter is not reommended becauce they're not ergonomic.

22. Baby monitor - since baby still sleeps in our room (in his cot) haven't buy one.

23. Plenty of wet wipe. But buy small packs to test and see which one is suitable for baby. Pureen failed, Anakku ok. Favorite is Wetty.

24. Baby bottle brush - buy the one that can be rotated.

25. Baby bottle liquid washer

26. Baby detergent - we used NUK

27. Again for breastfeeding mummies - breastpad, milk storage bottle (if pumping), nursing bra and handfree pumping bra.

28. Baby toiletries - just buy one organic head to toe. We used Buds

29. Nappy cream - have 2 types. One milder version to prevent like Aleva and Buds. Another stronger version (contains zinc oxide) to cure like Sudocream.

30. Baby nail clipper

31. If have budget get a ROckaroo or Mamaroo. Very helpful if your baby like to be in motion.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Jul 13 2019, 11:34 PM
jerren
post Aug 8 2019, 10:06 PM

886 posts

QUOTE(Mrs.A @ Dec 17 2018, 08:14 PM)
I have the full pack of sleep training+pregnancy+toddler training programs, I’ll send you later. Read it + understand it + practice. Every baby can be taught to be a good sleeper. But it’s not happened in a night. Discipline is the key.
hi, can I have the programs also? wanna prepared earlier for all these..
crazeeclan
post Aug 13 2019, 12:07 PM

542 posts

Im about to be a father soon. My wife due on mid of Sept. The journey of me to prepare my kids out to this world as below. Since my wife in on IVF, the expenses is much higher.

1. IVF procedure - RM20,000
2. Weekly check up - average RM400 / visit x 33 week = RM13,200
3. Supplement for mum and baby - average RM300/month x 8 = RM2,400

Total up to date = RM35,600 and increasing

Baby Things.

1. Baby cot x 2 - RM 430 x 2 = RM860
2. Baby feeding bottle x 10 - RM 600( need to put at nanny,parents and own house)
3. Stroller - RM1,299
4. Baby carrier - RM590
5. Bath tub/bath support/toy/pillow/etc - RM3,000
Confinement Center - RM20,000 for28 days

Total = RM 26,292+++

Delivery at private hospital

1. C section - RM10,000++

Easily i spend nearly RM60,000 on everything onnce my kids is deliver. sweat.gif

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0156sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:46 PM