LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship Thread V2, USA GP Live on RTM
TSlinkinstreet
Jun 19 2007, 04:14 PM
Red Bull Addict
We will wait untill france. BMW should be closer to the Ferraris at the track. The relationship between teammates are also under close control. Unlike the Ferrari drivers Massa and Kimi, the McLaren duo do share telemetry data and does debriefing together, which might indicate why they are so close to each other (performance wise) during sundays compared to the Ferraris.
And I do think Kimi, Fernando and Lewis has not shown their full potential yet. Why? consider that Lewis is still a rookie and there is still much he should learn. Kimi and Fernando are still strugling to cope with cars and tyres that does not suit them (too much in Fernando's case that he was forced to change the way he drive). I wonder what will happen in 2 years time when all three have fully acclimitised with the cars and surrounding. Nobody can get near them IMO. Massa? well he has the knowledge of teh car already but if he wants to win, i think this is the season to do it when Kimi is still not fully comfortable with his Ferrari
Jasonist
Jun 19 2007, 06:17 PM
heard the news from Lite FM, US might resume their F1 event in next year calendar...
-= Virgil =-
Jun 19 2007, 07:25 PM
Hamilton tries to cool title talk QUOTE Lewis Hamilton maintains that he is still not thinking about winning the world championship, despite extending his points lead with his second consecutive race victory at Indianapolis.
The 22-year-old Briton beat McLaren team-mate Fernando Alonso in a straight fight on Sunday to move into a 10-point lead at the top of the drivers' standings.
He now patently has to be considered a real contender, if not the favourite, to clinch the title in his first season of Formula 1.
But Hamilton did his best to deflect the weight of expectations after his latest win, insisting that talk of the championship endgame is premature and that he hasn't changed his approach since the beginning of the year.
"I wouldn't say my goals have changed," he said.
"As I said, I came to the season with an open mind just trying to do a good job.
"Yes, we're seven races into the championship, I have to be smart and realise that I'm running at the front and there is a possibility of winning the championship.
"But I still think it's far, far too early to even think about it or get any hopes up.
"Anything can happen during the season; I just have to try and remain consistent and try to keep on winning.
"But, you know, as many points from each race is good for the team and also for me.
"So I'm sure that's what Fernando and I are going to try to do."
Despite his determination to keep a tight rein on expectations and take each race as it comes, Hamilton admits that his success - he has now finished on the podium in each of his first seven grands prix - has exceeded his wildest dreams.
"I never expected to... I hoped maybe I would get a podium at some point but I've been on the podium for the last seven races. It's just insane," he said.
"I find it very, very hard to come to terms with everything.
"So I'm not reading stuff that's going on in the papers, I'm just focusing on trying to enjoy it without any of the other stuff confusing me.
"But I don't think anyone expected me to do as well as I'm doing." SourceThis kid is getting on my nerves. Why?! He just keeps winning and have been on the podium for several times in 7 races! He must be one down to earth kind of guys or he is just good at the art of deflection. Still not a bad thing as Lewis is getting comfortable with the media around him and the Macca team for once. Good to just hear him say anything. This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 19 2007, 07:26 PM
bearbear
Jun 19 2007, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(-= Virgil =- @ Jun 19 2007, 07:25 PM) Hamilton tries to cool title talk SourceThis kid is getting on my nerves. Why?! He just keeps winning and have been on the podium for several times in 7 races! He must be one down to earth kind of guys or he is just good at the art of deflection. Still not a bad thing as Lewis is getting comfortable with the media around him and the Macca team for once. Good to just hear him say anything. I don't remember him finish outside the top 3 since he is into F1
adrian0229
Jun 20 2007, 12:26 AM
wat is hamilton win WDC? he has the ability to win it..rly hope to c schumi fight wif hamilton..dunno who will win
SUSRaikkonen
Jun 20 2007, 12:44 AM
He talks a lot Some fans were sick with James Allen when he gave too much coverage on Lewis
cyandre82
Jun 20 2007, 12:50 AM

if lewis win the wdc..no more f1 for me hehehehe retired like shumi better hahaha lol
-= Virgil =-
Jun 20 2007, 01:50 AM
^ Makes you think that almost anyone can be the champions of the F1 race eh...
This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Jun 20 2007, 01:51 AM
cruel_boy
Jun 20 2007, 05:09 AM
i dont see anything wrong if lewis were to win WDC
SUSRaikkonen
Jun 20 2007, 06:53 AM
If...if he wins it this season, hope it'll be the only title for him
sqwerk2
Jun 20 2007, 09:19 AM
based on his performance so far, IMO lewis is the best investment made by mclaren, since he was nurtured by them long ago. alonso, not really.
faris21
Jun 20 2007, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 19 2007, 04:14 PM) We will wait untill france. BMW should be closer to the Ferraris at the track. The relationship between teammates are also under close control. Unlike the Ferrari drivers Massa and Kimi, the McLaren duo do share telemetry data and does debriefing together, which might indicate why they are so close to each other (performance wise) during sundays compared to the Ferraris. And I do think Kimi, Fernando and Lewis has not shown their full potential yet. Why? consider that Lewis is still a rookie and there is still much he should learn. Kimi and Fernando are still strugling to cope with cars and tyres that does not suit them (too much in Fernando's case that he was forced to change the way he drive). I wonder what will happen in 2 years time when all three have fully acclimitised with the cars and surrounding. Nobody can get near them IMO. Massa? well he has the knowledge of teh car already but if he wants to win, i think this is the season to do it when Kimi is still not fully comfortable with his Ferrari i`m agree with you,Kimi and Fernando look still need time to learn about their new car,Lewis had no problem with that(Mercedes car) cos he already drive Mercedes junior team car since Dennis spot his talent in late `90 anyone know what tyre Minardi use in 2001???if it Michelin that mean this is first year Fernando drive car with Bridgestones tyre
bysquashy
Jun 20 2007, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(faris21 @ Jun 20 2007, 09:56 AM) i`m agree with you,Kimi and Fernando look still need time to learn about their new car,Lewis had no problem with that(Mercedes car) cos he already drive Mercedes junior team car since Dennis spot his talent in late `90 anyone know what tyre Minardi use in 2001???if it Michelin that mean this is first year Fernando drive car with Bridgestones tyre Its easy for Lewis to learn the new tires compared to Alonso.
faris21
Jun 20 2007, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(bysquashy @ Jun 20 2007, 12:10 PM) Its easy for Lewis to learn the new tires compared to Alonso. even Micheal Schumacher lost 4 second when winter testing for 1999 season at Barcelona circuit when FIA chance the tyre supplier from GoodYear to Bridgestones bcos he driving style not suitable with Bridgestones,he need time to fix it,it happen to Alonso now
adrian0229
Jun 20 2007, 12:36 PM
tyre rly big influence? last time i use goodyear but now i use sime tyre...not different oso  (crap) hahahaha
SUSRaikkonen
Jun 20 2007, 02:32 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, we haven't seen Lewis in the wet correct? Wish to see how good he is in the wet. QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Jun 20 2007, 09:19 AM) based on his performance so far, IMO lewis is the best investment made by mclaren, since he was nurtured by them long ago. alonso, not really. IINM, more than 10 years he's nurtured by Ron Dennis. QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jun 20 2007, 12:36 PM) tyre rly big influence? last time i use goodyear but now i use sime tyre...not different oso  (crap) hahahaha You drove this beast:  Mana sama lieh
faris21
Jun 20 2007, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jun 20 2007, 12:36 PM) tyre rly big influence? last time i use goodyear but now i use sime tyre...not different oso  (crap) hahahaha u must drive in 90degree corner at 150km/p then you will feel the different
kapitan
Jun 20 2007, 05:30 PM
LOL... of course it makes a different.
You try going 100+ KMH in rainy days using Sime tyres and then using another car with GoodYear Eagle F1 and feel for yourself. Every tyres got different. But if you switch from a cheapo Michelin to a cheapo Goodyear, of course cant feel lar. Try the performance tyres and feel it yourself.
SUSRaikkonen
Jun 20 2007, 06:59 PM
FIA may change aero rules Wednesday 20th June 2007 QUOTE The FIA is considering a radical plan to allow flexi wings in Formula One should teams reject its plans to push for a standard chassis.
The FIA is adamant that it wants more road-relevant, energy efficient engines, with talks currently being held to frame regulations from 2011 onwards.
The FIA is also keen on a wholesale overhaul of car regulations, with a standard chassis central to their vision of reducing costs and improving competition.
Meetings are set to take place after the British Grand Prix where the FIA hopes to discuss their plan and, should the teams be unhappy, come up with some alternate proposals.
"We believe that a standard chassis is the best solution," wrote Mosley in a letter to team bosses. "The competition would then be between drivers armed with rival, fuel-efficient drive trains but otherwise in equal cars. Painted differently and with different sponsors, the cars would look as different as they do today to anyone but an expert.
"But if the teams want to continue to make individual chassis, we need some proposals which really do meet the four agreed objectives of road-relevance, safety, cost reduction and improving the show. We also need to ensure the survival of the independent teams."
He admits that teams are highly unlikely to accept the proposal but insists that only a radical solution will benefit the sport, thus his proposal to allow flexi-wings, something that has been banned in F1 for many years.
"One example of radical change would be to permit moveable aerodynamic devices," added Mosley. "Arguably, the safety problems of 40 years ago no longer exist.
"Modern Formula One technology is sufficiently mature to eliminate the risks of both passive and active aero devices. Moreover, the FIA is already confronted with ever-more sophisticated moving bodywork. Engineers appreciate that when subjected to a force, everything moves - it is just a question of how much.
"Immense time and effort is currently going into making bodywork which moves enough to enhance performance, however slightly, but not enough to excite the interest of the regulator or rival teams. This is not satisfactory; it is wasteful, expensive, ultimately pointless and contrary to sporting fairness.
"With moveable aero devices, both active and passive, designers would have an incentive to build a car which the driver could adjust to optimise performance when following another car. This would facilitate wheel-to-wheel racing.
"There are also a number of areas where active aero could be road-relevant, for example cooling systems. But part of any discussion on moveable devices would have to be how to contain the resulting increase in performance.
"In the hope of starting a useful debate on a new approach to chassis design with variable aerodynamics, we are preparing a discussion paper similar to the one on engines.
"Among other things this will look at the implications of moveable devices and any changes to engine output, which might become necessary in order to contain speeds. This paper will be circulated as soon as it is ready.
"We think it might perhaps be useful to follow it up with a discussion in the second week of July (after the British Grand Prix), at which each team would be given an opportunity to present its ideas (ideally in writing beforehand) and answer questions on future Formula One regulations, either alone or jointly with other teams." http://www.planetf1.com
kapitan
Jun 20 2007, 11:38 PM
This year already one tyre. Next year already one ECU. They want one chasis somemore. Next would be one owner I guess.