86 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

LYN Official FIA F1 World Championship Thread V2, USA GP Live on RTM

TOYO
post Jul 10 2007, 11:48 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(Ferrari looks to improve first lap pace )
17 April 2007

With a four week gap to the next race in Spain, all eleven teams will be hard at work with testing and developments, as well as sorting out the odd mystery. For Ferrari top of the list is addressing its first lap pace problem that leaves it at risk of being passed by McLaren.

"We can't talk about a specific problem but an optimisation that has to be done on the first lap and in handling the car," said Ferrari technical director Mario Almondo. "Kimi's driving style is something that we are evolving in the direction of better performance and use of the car and the package of the car plus the tyres and this, as I said, is a normal and natural process that takes more time."

"The only thing that we can do is work as hard as we can with our development programme," he added. "There will be an important aero package and a few other things. We have an aerodynamic test at Vairano and then in Barcelona before the race. It's up to our competitors to do more than what we are going to do. I cannot make any prediction on what we have to do."

source

QUOTE(Kimi warns - Ferrari has made 'considerable' improvement)
08 May 2007

Kimi Raikkonen can't wait to get back on the track at Barcelona, where the Spanish GP will be held on 13th May. After a week of testing at the Circuit de Catalunya, where he set the pace on his two days at the wheel, Raikkonen warned rivals that Ferrari has made a considerable step forward.

"We were able to improve the F2007 considerably, because the new components work really well and the car is now much closer to my style of driving," Raikkonen said. "I'm much more optimistic now: we can attack the best way possible, as my friend Markku Alen usually says. It's true that you never know how competitive you really are compared to the other teams during the test sessions; obviously for that we have to wait for the qualifying and the race; but the lap times give us some hints."

"As I already said over the last weeks, we have to improve the performance in qualifying," he added. "It was not really easy for me to get all the potential out of the car on a single lap, because we never managed to prepare it at the best. Now I'm really happy about the steps forward: although it's really difficult to overtake another car, even when it's slower, it makes things a lot easier when you want to win, when you can start from the front."

source

like i said before,do more reading...u dont have to be engineer to know this tongue.gif

Added on July 10, 2007, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(BuFung @ Jul 10 2007, 11:41 PM)
totally anti-kimi and non fact talking... 

Kimi flatted the tyre because he "over cook" the corner??  go n find that race and watch again la... 

beside, seem you have a better judge than Kimi or even the McLaren team that time.. you seem to know Kimi sure blow his suspension that time.. that is Kimi "tidak apa" attitude??  Do u still remember how long Kimi carry on with his car that race before the suspension cannot sustain?  You know which lap the suspension blow?? 

come one..  talk fact here..
simple,why montoya don't have that problem?...n why only that left suspension broken? there is 4 suspension rite? n of course all are mostly identicall especially front right n left...

This post has been edited by TOYO: Jul 10 2007, 11:56 PM
blah1134
post Jul 11 2007, 12:13 AM

563 posts

????

i tot such thing is common in F1 ????
teams building car that has characteristics towards their drivers requirements. so if a driver spend more time at the factory or testing on track, doesnt the car will suit him better ? cause that driver is the one who is giving feedback to the engineers ? engineers always need driver's feedback, that's why they need test drivers. doesnt it make sense to all of u ? even mclaren did that, do you guys remember during winter testing, when mclaren wants alonso to test for them earlier ? just to make sure their car will suit alonso.

i also believe sooner or later ferrari will build their car towards kimi. maybe it's already happening. reason is simple, KIMI IS THE REAL DEAL ! that's why he is paid more than massa. of course ferrari would not announce that they will built a car for kimi only, that would cause alot of stir in the team or even the media. what TOYO said and mcchin said is also considered one of the facts. u cant 100% doubt that will not happen.

advanced, chill man, don need to ask ppl to stfu la, you guys have been bashing mclarens all week. now you cant take a little criticism ? bah it's not even a criticism.

Added on July 11, 2007, 12:19 amadui .... kimi flat spot his tyre la ! that's why the suspension broke by the vibration from the tyres. the fact is KIMI overcooked the corner and flat spot his tyre. and of course it's the drivers fault.

but it's not his "tarak apa" attitude that cause that. he is willing to gamble and risk it. ah well he almost made it that time, when the suspension broke my heart also broke.

This post has been edited by blah1134: Jul 11 2007, 12:19 AM
SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 12:22 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(blah1134 @ Jul 11 2007, 12:13 AM)
????

i tot such thing is common in F1 ????
teams building car that has characteristics towards their drivers requirements. so if a driver spend more time at the factory or testing on track, doesnt the car will suit him better ? cause that driver is the one who is giving feedback to the engineers ? engineers always need driver's feedback, that's why they need test drivers. doesnt it make sense to all of u ? even mclaren did that, do you guys remember during winter testing, when mclaren wants alonso to test for them earlier ? just to make sure their car will suit alonso.

i also believe sooner or later ferrari will build their car towards kimi. maybe it's already happening. reason is simple, KIMI IS THE REAL DEAL ! that's why he is paid more than massa. of course ferrari would not announce that they will built a car for kimi only, that would cause alot of stir in the team or even the media. what TOYO said and mcchin said is also considered one of the facts. u cant 100% doubt that will not happen.

advanced, chill man, don need to ask ppl to stfu la, you guys have been bashing mclarens all week. now you cant take a little criticism ? bah it's not even a criticism.

Added on July 11, 2007, 12:19 amadui .... kimi flat spot his tyre la ! that's why the suspension broke by the vibration from the tyres. the fact is KIMI overcooked the corner and flat spot his tyre. and of course it's the drivers fault.

but it's not his "tarak apa" attitude that cause that. he is willing to gamble and risk it. ah well he almost made it that time, when the suspension broke my heart also broke.
hehehe... tongue.gif
ryosuke
post Jul 11 2007, 12:25 AM

1,142 posts

I still remember that incident, indeed more or less is kimi fault...he actually jam brake quite a lot of time and run out of track a few times....as a result the flat spot on the tyre actually doing some damage to his suspension and in the end the suspension gave up. And i dun see any tak apa attitude on him (or maybe my eyes wasn't sharp enough)...anyway that is 2 years ago and it is useless now to dig it back and argue with it. kimi, alonso, lewis, massa all are human, they will make mistake no matter what...so just live with it k? icon_rolleyes.gif
BuFung
post Jul 11 2007, 12:33 AM

8,407 posts

yah.. it is his fault not to pay attention to the back marker... he flat spot the tyre that corner when he overtaking the suckest world champion that time..

that world champion been lapped but look like wanna race with people lapped him...

that few final lap he push like mad since alonso chasing him down... that is what u call "tidak apa" attitude??? I am damn not agree with this.... the suspension hold >6 laps in my memory and it blow in front of grand stand of the FINAL LAP....

I truely respect the fighting spirit he have and Ron Dennis said he will do the same and support Kimi decision....

not like people who talk like god who sure know the suspension will blow off that time.....

SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 01:32 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

British media make first turn against Lewis
Link ~ http://www.planetf1.com

Typical fanatics rolleyes.gif
silvermagic
post Jul 11 2007, 01:41 AM

64 posts

Hi guys - fellow F1 fans~

1st of all, I'm a BIG fan of Kim - the Iceman. I support Ferrari team now due to the Iceman. I'd been a fan of McLaren team since the Flying Finn, Mika, days...

Read the following if free:

The man Hamilton should fear

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport...one/6265966.stm

Ferrari president Luca di Montezemolo describes Kimi Raikkonen as the driver "everyone fears" - but the Finn has done little to justify that description this season.

The man regarded as the world's fastest racing driver has struggled to adapt to Ferrari following his move from McLaren as replacement for Michael Schumacher.

:
:
:

But it is clear who is potentially the most dangerous Ferrari driver as long as the man Di Montezemolo calls "the real Raikkonen" has indeed finally emerged - there have already been murmurings from within the team that Raikkonen has forced them to re-evaluate their understanding of what is possible, even with Schumacher as their reference point.

Raikkonen's inconsistent form this year has gone a long way to underlining why, while he is regarded as the fastest driver in F1, it was Alonso who started this year regarded as the best (a position which will be under threat from Hamilton if things carry on as they are).

While there is no doubt about Raikkonen's pace, his application out of the car is another matter - both at the circuit and away from it, where his fondness for what might euphemistically be called liquid refreshment is well known.

Raikkonen's dominant victory at the first race in Australia hid the problems he was having adapting to Ferrari - and particularli to Bridgestone's tyres.

Alonso had similar problems at McLaren, as the Japanese rubber is designed with a different philosophy from the Michelin tyres they had grown used to over the previous years and requires a fundamental change in driving style.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So the Iceman is the WORLD's fastest "drunken master" racing driver thumbup.gif

The British media(BBC & ITV) also stated that "Raikkonen's is seen as arguably the fastest driver in the world" icon_rolleyes.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Top ten drivers in Formula 1 with fastest laps

Place - Driver - Fastest laps

1 Michael Schumacher - 76
2 Alain Prost - 41
3 Nigel Mansell - 30
4 Jim Clark - 28
5 Mika Hkkinen - 25
6 Niki Lauda - 24
7= Juan Manuel Fangio - 23
7= Nelson Piquet - 23
9 Kimi Rikknen - 22
10 Gerhard Berger - 21

OTHERS:

Fernando Alonso - 10
Felipe Massa - 5
Lewis Hamilton - 1

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

8 races to go... if the Iceman could get few more fastes laps... then he might overtake Mika in the ranking at the end of this season...

That's the reason why they've labelled the Iceman "the world's fastest racing driver"...

GO GO Kimi!

SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 01:57 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Actually, Kimi has 21 fastest lap.

http://www.f1complete.com

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jul 11 2007, 02:06 AM
-= Virgil =-
post Jul 11 2007, 03:04 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

You're scaring me with that fonts buddy.
Still Kimi is quite a daredevil himself, he just pushes the car so hard that it the McLaren machines are having a hard time coping with his attitude..
Luckily the Ferrari car are able to withstand it, if not, we might see Ferrari struggling with reliability issues doh.gif
blah1134
post Jul 11 2007, 03:44 AM

563 posts

it should be alright, since nowadays cars are very reliable already.

you wont see kimi smoking on track as much as in 2005 season. smile.gif

Added on July 11, 2007, 4:01 am
Mclaren fastest at SPA FRONCORCHAMPS !

Spa Francorchamps - Test day 1 - 10 July 2007:
1. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren Mercedes - 1'46.613 (+ 0.000) - 81 laps
2. Robert Kubica - BMW Sauber - 1'47.059 (+ 0.446) - 81 laps
3. Felipe Massa - Ferrari - 1'47.469 (+ 0.865) - 63 laps
4. Ralf Schumacher - Toyota - 1'47.878 (+ 1.265) - 70 laps
5. Nelson Piquet Jr - Renault - 1'47.996 (+ 1.384) - 50 laps
6. David Coulthard - Red Bull Renault - 1'48.243 (+ 1.630) - 53 laps
7. James Rossiter - Super Aguri Honda - 1'48.287 - (+ 2.624) - 60 laps
8. Vitantonio Liuzzi - Toro Rosso Ferrari - 1'49.179 (+ 2.575) - 64 laps
9. Nico Rosberg - Williams Toyota - 1'49.288 (+ 0.109) - 60 laps
9. Christian Klien - Honda - 1'49.419 (+ 2.915) - 63 laps
10. Giedo van der Garde - Spyker Ferrari - 1'49.712 (+ 3.099) - 53 laps

my fav track, cant wait to see them racing there biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by blah1134: Jul 11 2007, 04:05 AM
SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 08:25 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Renewed Spa.

I believe Massa will top it in the end.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jul 11 2007, 08:30 AM
evofantasy
post Jul 11 2007, 11:07 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

lol one day kimi will be so crazy till he can drift an F1 car lol...
they dun really build cars towards racer but more to tuning and setting up...
advanced
post Jul 11 2007, 03:15 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 11 2007, 11:07 AM)
lol one day kimi will be so crazy till he can drift an F1 car lol...
they dun really build cars towards racer but more to tuning and setting up...
yes ofcourse team dont build the car for driver,but do the setup for driver
-= Virgil =-
post Jul 11 2007, 03:46 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

The newly refurbished SPA circuit eh..
About those times clocked in by the drivers in the testing in SPA, i think it more than just the time that matters. First of all, it is just testing and they could be testing on different fuel load, different drivers, etc.. its all about getting those kilometers and just trying to improve the car setup of course.
advanced
post Jul 11 2007, 03:52 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Jul 11 2007, 01:57 AM)
Actually, Kimi has 21 fastest lap.

http://www.f1complete.com
should be 22 including british gp
SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 04:02 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

QUOTE(advanced @ Jul 11 2007, 03:52 PM)
should be 22 including british gp
But if you look at the link...'after British GP'
All list updated after British GP.
And beside Kimi's name 'New 2007'.
Means, updated already.
So, 21 it is.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jul 11 2007, 04:05 PM
advanced
post Jul 11 2007, 04:08 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Jul 11 2007, 04:02 PM)
But if you look at the link...'after British GP'
All list updated after British GP.
And beside Kimi's name 'New 2007'.
Means, updated already.
So, 21 it is.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fastest_lap
SUSRaikkonen
post Jul 11 2007, 04:29 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

hmm.gif
Which one is it?
I've contact the web site and they'll confirm it later.

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Jul 11 2007, 04:40 PM
wk1168
post Jul 11 2007, 04:46 PM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Jul 10 2007, 09:55 AM)
eh!!!!  where renault & briatore, too shy this season ...

whistling.gif
got la.... briatore said he is ready to take alonso back in... he want to take MSC in also..... day-dreaming too much.. he is sooooo desperate now.... rclxms.gif tongue.gif
Hornet
post Jul 11 2007, 05:09 PM

What?
4,251 posts

QUOTE(TOYO @ Jul 10 2007, 09:22 PM)
do lot more of reading man...dun just read sumting that only say gud thing about kimi or ferrari laa...read everything about f1
So Mr Britannica, where in the article mention that ferrari are building their car around Kimi? You think Massa would have just sit back and enjoy being Number 2? He's not even Number 2 yet for god's sake.

When you have a new driver like Kimi in a Ferrari or Alonso in the McLaren, you'll have to fine tune the car to their driving style. And by fine tuning means the way it's being set up, handling and stuff like that. It does NOT equate to developing aero and suspension/transmission hardware to suite their driving style.

The difference here is that all cars are tuned to each driver's style. Kimi car is tuned to his style while Massa car is tuned to his. And this cannot be done with just the few laps during each grand prix weekend as that time has to be spent to tune the car to the track conditions instead. So fine tuning the car to the drivers style is done during the hundred laps of testing.

Did any of those meant that the development of the car is biased towards Kimi? Why not build a McLaren for him instead.

QUOTE(TOYO @ Jul 10 2007, 11:48 PM)
source
source
like i said before,do more reading...u dont have to be engineer to know this tongue.gif

Added on July 10, 2007, 11:56 pm

simple,why montoya don't have that problem?...n why only that left suspension broken? there is 4 suspension rite? n of course all are mostly identicall especially front right n left...
Suspension broke because of the vibration of the flatspot. The main reason? tires are not allow to change for that particular season. Once you flatspot a tire, it tend to lock up at that very same spot making situation worse. That incident wasn't a one off and rather was a key issue about the safety of these new rules FIA came up with to spice up the circus show. Eventually, that rule lasted for one year only.

If you were to count the number times a drivers flatspot their tires, you'll lost count each race. Everyone flatspot their tires every once in a while. Its just that the tires got change and furthermore, with tire changes, the tire doesn't have to be ridiculously hard that made it easy to lock the tires up badly.

Just like alonso, kimi is a world champion material. If you wanna dig out all Kimi's weakness, Alonso has them too even in this season. But what's the point right? Its the result that matters. There's no need to go as far as accusing Ferrari of developing their car for kimi just cause his winning now and he's not in your "ILoveThem" list

86 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:38 PM