21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V1, Welcome to the big screens.

attw
post Sep 15 2018, 05:39 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 15 2018, 05:36 PM)
You could buy unlocked sets if you walk into Apple Stores in the US or you could buy through Apple Stores online. Locked sets are telco subsidized units bro.
Ya, but the physical Apple stores in US sell locked sets too, hehe.
attw
post Sep 15 2018, 07:23 PM

32,468 posts

Celcom and DiGi has teased it

https://www.soyacincau.com/2018/09/15/iphon...ng-celcom-digi/
attw
post Sep 15 2018, 09:55 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 15 2018, 09:28 PM)
pointless when those telcos didnt mention a thing on eSim adaption. render the ‘dual-sim’ function useless
True, doubt they will have it anytime soon.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 15 2018, 09:41 PM)
the hottest color this year - GOLD
agree?
Just because it wasn’t available for the X last year? Hehe. I’m most likely gonna go for just the Xr this time around but if I’d have to pick for the Xs, I’d pick Space Grey again smile.gif
attw
post Sep 15 2018, 10:27 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 15 2018, 10:21 PM)
somehow the gold color this year is really very golden and if im not mistaken, even the stainless steel side is gold color
Yeah, that stainless steel sides is the reason I picked Space Grey over Silver, coz it looked better and more subtle than the shiny chrome sides of the Silver laugh.gif

I had a Gold 8 Plus and it wasn’t that nice, looked bit more like peach for me. Maybe need to see the Gold Xs first, like you said, maybe it’s more golden!
attw
post Sep 16 2018, 10:21 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Sep 15 2018, 11:54 PM)
High Five! Space Grey ftw! Bold and classy... anyway, i'm pretty sure there will be (RED)Products next year...  icon_idea.gif
Yeah, agreed. Space Grey is classic and timeless but I have a sneaky feeling you're also right about a Product Red for the Xs and Xs Max 6 months down the road laugh.gif

QUOTE(fadzly @ Sep 16 2018, 12:03 AM)
not sure. saw space grey still great.. but of course, people will want something different than iphone x. thus they might opt for gold more than space grey.
Gold seems to be selling out in most markets thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Yen8on3 @ Sep 16 2018, 03:12 AM)
Let the Roulette rolling. Would you pay RM6,000 for a LG OLED?  laugh.gif

Apple to use LG Display as second OLED maker for iPhone XS, XS Max
You'd be surprised. Some people actually prefer LG OLED TVs over Samsung smile.gif
attw
post Sep 16 2018, 11:25 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ Sep 16 2018, 11:09 AM)
Oooo..can be shipped to E.Malaysia or W.Malaysia also la bro?
If can a lot of people from MY would gave ordered di, don't have to layan those scalpers smile.gif
attw
post Sep 16 2018, 12:06 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 16 2018, 11:29 AM)
Too big for me, now my 128gb still have so much left.
This is not points to get 512gb unless I really needs focus videos.
That's another plus point of going with the Xr - got 128GB smile.gif
attw
post Sep 16 2018, 04:45 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 16 2018, 01:21 PM)
Smartphone technology has already reached a level where major improvements and breakthroughs are hard to come by. Manufacturers can also claim so much as better battery life, a faster processor, better screen and resolution, better camera etc where except battery life, you wont really notice a difference in your daily usage of the phone. While I don't blame them for the  above, it is the increase in price which is the real issue. Some companies are really over their heads where they dare to price their products exorbitantly without fear of consumer backlash and reprisal. As consumers continue to buy their products, the more bold they become and the pricier their products get. The only thing you you as consumers can do, is to simply not buy. Lets see what is the outcome of the sales of this generation of the Iphone and if they could achieve their targeted sales volume.
QUOTE(666devil @ Sep 16 2018, 02:14 PM)
Same2 la. Look at Samsung note9? See the sales? Go outlet see if anybody.
And then all the Chinese brands follow iPhone design. Reached phone design limitation.
But look at Apple Watch.m, still so much potential. It’s the hype of the event, overshadowing Iphone. Here is the article with same observation:

https://www.theverge.com/2018/9/15/17861934...phone-xs-max-xr
Ya, both of you are absolutely right on the money. Smart phones have all reached some sort of plateau where most of the stuffs they can do is same old, same old already, unless of course if you want something gimmicky like Oppo's slide out camera smile.gif Reason why people don't give Samsung as much flak as they give Apple for keeping things the same is that Apple keeps increasing the price every time they release a minor upgrade into a phone. I thought their customers would punish them last year when they priced the iPhone X so high but it ended up being their best seller instead. This year they released the Xr as a cheaper alternative and I think that's quite smart of them. But ya, unless the market responds poorly (like how they did to the S9/S9+) Apple might get away with it. Again.
attw
post Sep 17 2018, 07:36 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Gan0721 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:43 AM)
dual physical sim will be their booster for SEA market if their sales going slow after a few month.. lets see..
And also Product RED color for the Xs and Xs Max.
attw
post Sep 17 2018, 02:31 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ahwang12321 @ Sep 17 2018, 07:56 AM)
Hi guys
Can recommend me which iPhone to buy

No matter hw many times I change to Android, I still prefer iPhone..I think because of app quality..also tired with android bugs..phone will slow/lag after a year plus..using pixel 2 now.. still fast but so many problem with the phone..screen blue tint prob is still ok for me..but then come another bug..latest is no notification sound which is really annoying..only advantage of android is their camera and fast charging

Last highest model iPhone I used ip7 plus.. reason selling.. too huge.I think those bezel really big make it uncomfortable but then when I change to iphone se I feel like toy phone so small, change to 6s ..feels ok but the battery really sucks after iOS 11 .other reason is the Touch ID didn’t work that well for me but I think my finger hard to register..even pixel 2 also sometime not work.. only Samsung phone works well with my finger for some weird reason
Surprised to read about your problems with Pixel 2, since it had rave reviews. Anyways, it is the one phone I will never try as long as Google doesn't make it official here.

I'd probably go for a heavily discounted iPhone X now if I were you, but if you can wait, then why not wait and check out the Xs and Xr when it launches here.
attw
post Sep 17 2018, 02:38 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Sep 17 2018, 11:47 AM)
The iPhone 8 RRP is 2899 and Plus version 3299. IMHO The XR will be priced much higher...at least 4K++.
I think the base XR will go for RM3699 or RM3799 here, won't make sense to go above RM4000, based on the world wide pricing of the Xr announced in the first wave countries so far.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 17 2018, 02:34 PM)
Bro... Pixel 2 memang a lot of issues bro. Tak boleh pakai also.  laugh.gif
Is it? Really curious. Anyways, no more trying Huaweis and Samsungs for me next year. Don't tag me with anymore Qoo10 deals ya, hahaha...
attw
post Sep 17 2018, 05:46 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Sep 17 2018, 04:39 PM)
Apple did not use UFS. They use NVME Pcie for their internal storage. Also Apple having absolute control on the software and hardware have always been a bonus. This is why they trail-blazed the competition in internal storage.
The good news is Apple adapted their SSD controller used on the macbook pro and optimized it for their iPhone. This is why u have insanely superior, never seen before internal storage speeds on a phone.
We'll know more after this week... all the tear down videos will start cropping up...

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 17 2018, 05:46 PM
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 08:03 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2018, 07:03 AM)
https://www.cultofmac.com/576949/iphone-xs-...-first-weekend/

iPhone XS preorder volume fails to impress analysts

I believe many are waiting for the cheaper XR model ??
Which means we should be getting it here very soon laugh.gif

I'm one of those waiting for the cheaper XR models.
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 08:10 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2018, 08:07 AM)
Bro.. U will be going back to stoneage with the 720 dpi screen and single camera with the XR. laugh.gif

U sure u wanna do that?  rolleyes.gif  and pay good money for it too.
Yup, the plan is to upgrade to the next iPhone flagship next year when I sign a new contract with maxis. Besides, I wanna test the phone's endurance - Apple claims it lasts 1.5 hours more than the 8 Plus, which should be very impressive!
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 08:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2018, 08:17 AM)
Get the XS Max.. To avoid upgrading again later.  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
Will still upgrade anyway... Bad habits die hard laugh.gif

QUOTE(arshad @ Sep 18 2018, 08:42 AM)
Should I get the old X or Xs? It's less than 1k difference anyway
In my opinion, either get the Xs Max, or the current X is sufficient, if you don't need the latest and greatest.
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 10:32 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Sep 18 2018, 08:56 AM)
Thats what I thought. Still contemplating. Get the X and upgrade the phone next year laugh.gif
Sounds like a plan smile.gif

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Sep 18 2018, 09:32 AM)
i guess those who wait for XR, better dont get during pre-order... wait for hands on demo unit.. and see with your own eyes.. are you ok with the low res...
probably yes... because 8plus was full HD screen, surely consume more battery...
Yeah, curious to see the tear downs that will reveal the battery sizes for these new gen of iPhones, but the Xr will only come next month...

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 18 2018, 10:51 AM
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 10:45 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Sep 18 2018, 10:42 AM)
i am waiting for huge discount on X model...but not sure how low will it get to...

and also 64Gb or 256Gb...which to choose since we can upload photos + videos onto google drive and icloud
Officially 4,299 for 64GB, 4,999 for 256GB now. Problem is also how long the stocks will be available before eventually selling out smile.gif
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 10:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(yclam5729 @ Sep 18 2018, 10:49 AM)
I am pretty similar to you but I got started iPhone 2G in 2007, resale value of used iPhone is so good allowing me to change every year. But iPhone X is going to be the most 'losses' I have on iPhone, will find out this weekend.

I am also interested in AW4, but hopefully telco in mys support esim soon else defeat the purpose of dual sim.
Yeah, the higher the price of the phone, the more it depreciates in value. Also same for cars laugh.gif
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 11:21 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2018, 10:58 AM)
For the price I got my 256GB when it first launced... doh.gif  cry.gif
My 256GB from Lazada still cheaper, RM4,888 smile.gif
attw
post Sep 18 2018, 11:51 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Sep 18 2018, 11:25 AM)
been using for a year now...left with 150gb

if X 256gb is around 4.5k i can consider
Maybe can get during Lazada’s 11/11 Sale?

QUOTE(yclam5729 @ Sep 18 2018, 11:28 AM)
The resolution is like 6, 6s, 7 or 8 326ppi. If one can accept that resolution, bigger screen with that price will be value for money, not to mention FaceID is huge different user experience. Please don't go and look at ppl's OLED iPhone screen then XR user will be ok.

XR going to be a hit as the price is merely US$50 more than 8 plus, it is a huge upgrade from 8 and not upgrade from 8 plus since the single camera, 326ppi mimic 4.7" iPhone rather than 5.5" 401ppi resolution and dual camera since 7+
Yes, it’s important to note that while the size is almost the same as the Plus models, I also think that Apple’s intention is for the Xr to replace the regular models which has the same resolution and single camera setup.

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:57 PM