CPU Heatsink Roundup V2

TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:11 AM, updated 19y ago

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Hi here I come again, the long waited roundup that we mention to do earlier. Well...lets cut the crap and proceed to the roundup smile.gif

Test Bed:
Processor: Intel C2D E6700 L628A303 @ 3.2GHz @ 1.368 Vcore
Mobo: Asus P5B 0701
Memory: Team Xtreem Micron D9GMH DDR2 Special OPB Edition
Graphic Card: XFX 6600 GT
PSU: FSP Fortron Epsilon FX700-GLN PSU
HDD: Maxtor 20GB IDE 5400 RPM Hard Drive

Contenders:
1. Tuniq Tower 120
2. Scythe Infinity
3. Scythe Ninja
4. Scythe Mine
5. Scythe Andy Samurai Master
6. Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX
7. Silverstone NT05

Software Used:
Everest Ultimate Edition 2006
Orthos Beta
Windows XP SP2

Test Method:
1. This time I have gotten myself a temperature probe to measure the ambient temperature and we found out that the ambient actually fluctuating a lot. The result will include the ambient temperature as well for better judgment. The result might not be 100% accurate as it might be affected by the mounting method, temperature fluctuations and user error.

2. The Fan speed is kept at the speed of 1600 rpm as the main objective of this test is to find out the best heatsink that can be operate in silent mode.

3. The Idle Temperature is measured after the system left open for 5 minutes and the Load Temperature is measured after 10 minutes of Orthos Stress. Everest Ultimate Edition 2006 was used to get the value of the temperature for each of the criteria, idle and load.

4. This test will be a open bench like what we did on the first roundup, TIM that is used is Arctic Ceramique also as it doesn't need any curing duration. This time the amount of TIM that I applied will be slightly more as many forumer mention that the amount that I applied is too little.

5. The mounting mechanism that will be used in this roundup will be the original mounting mechanism.

Disclaimer:
This roundup is only conducted to show how is the new heatsinks in the market perform under the power hungry cpu and to help some folks to decide which heatsink they should get. The result is vary and subjective, the same heatsink used might work fine on your rig but not on mine. So please dont flame me when the heatsink doesnt work on what u expected smile.gif

Picture of the amount of TIM that is applied this time

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: May 31 2007, 10:19 AM
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:15 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Scythe Andy Samurai Master

This heatsink featuring 6 thick heatpipes that is connected from the thin shinny copper base to large area of aluminium fins and is blown by a 120mm fan. The fan is provided by the scythe but it was not used as the same fan (SS FM121) will be used in the roundup for all the heatsinks. Lets go the the pictures now smile.gif

The TIM was spreaded pretty big area eh smile.gif

The base of the heatsink

Scythe Infinity

Namely the highest end heatsink that is provided by the Scythe, they have 10 heatpipes. The introduction of this heatsink is on the v1 roundup, plz check it out there. so now lets go straight to the pictures smile.gif

The vanilla cream spreaded pretty evenly as well^^

The Base icon_rolleyes.gif

TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:16 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Scythe Ninja

Lets go straight to the pictures as the introduction has been done on v1 smile.gif

Close shot of the TIM spreaded on the CPU

The heatsink base....

Scythe Mine

Another heatsink that is featured in v1. So lets go to the eye candy smile.gif

Nice pressure applied smile.gif

The base smile.gif

TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:16 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX

Another v1 heatsink. This is not the same heatsink that is tested in the v1 roundup and I found out that this heatsink doesnt really provide contact as good as the one in the v1. I wonder why... ohmy.gif So lets go to the main point smile.gif

Silverstone NT05

Got this little heatsink for free during a lucky draw in a LanParty^^. It was laying in my cupboard so i just take it out and run a test on it. It a small heatsink but I am sure it work like a charm compared to the Intel stock heatsink. It provided dam nice pressure as u see in the picture. When the fan ran at full speed, about 4500 rpm. the temperature is on par with the gigantic heatsink, just that its a bit noisy smile.gif

Dont be suprised:)

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: May 31 2007, 10:20 AM
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:17 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Tuniq Tower 120

Namely the king of air cooling for more than 1 year. Have discovered about this heatsink 1 year back but got scared by the size of it that time. This heatsink is build to kill, the physical quality of it is superb. When I first gotten it I asked myself "WHY DIDNT I GET IT WHEN I FIRST SAW IT!!!!". If I have gotten it that time i wouldnt have to go through so many hassle to keep changing the heatsinks sweat.gif
Oh Well... This king uses 6 heatpipes only and it has a lot of thing and nice shaped fins. The fan is installed into the middle of the heatsink. They call this as midship convention. There is not clearance problem for me but mounting it sometime might be a pain in the ass. especially when u doin it in the casing sweat.gif Ok here is the eye candies smile.gif

Very balance pressure applied I must say smile.gif

It look like it spreaded in dam small area, actually its not, it just that the base is too big sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: May 31 2007, 06:52 PM
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:17 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

Results

Results for v1

New Result

Conclusion

I am sure you guys noticed that why is there so many Scythe heatsink featured. Make no mistake I am not sponsored, so I wont be siding any party. All heatsink were contributed by the forumers. This might be the last air cooling roundup that I will be conducting as I am moving to watercooling soon^^. Hope you guys find this roundup helpful for choosing the heatsinks and don't scold me if you guys find that its useless tongue.gif

PS: For v1 Roundup please proceed to v1 Roundup, thanks for viewing smile.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: May 31 2007, 10:32 AM
SUSAllnGap
post May 31 2007, 10:26 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

actually the NT-05 can perform much better if the fins were soldered to the heatpipe.....

for such a compact cooler, it definitely can be considered good isnt it ?
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 10:29 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

yeah good pressure and good performance but in a high cfm fan la.... 4k man... dam noisy
kmarc
post May 31 2007, 01:15 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Great roundup! thumbup.gif

That's what I thought. TTBTVX couldn't possibly be better than the rest (in V1 roundup). V2 is logically more accurate I believe.

I had wished a noctua would have been included.

BTW, how is it that you people are living in a 20-21'C ambient temp??? Not cold aaaa? blink.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 31 2007, 01:15 PM
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 01:34 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

it was 20 - 21 coz i on my aircond....adjust the temp to the lowest...u see the tuniq.... the ambient raised coz i cant tahan and go and off the aircond liao sweat.gif
well ttbt vs is really a good hsf la.... it just that this one didnt give enough pressure smile.gif

This post has been edited by sup3rfly: May 31 2007, 01:34 PM
LittleGhost
post May 31 2007, 02:48 PM

臭小鬼
4,234 posts

sup3rfly,

mind doing a passive test between each tower sinks?

Thanks smile.gif
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 03:00 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

dont think most of them can run passively.... as the tuniq also will fail if running passive + prime...summore all the hsf give back to ppl already... >.<
toughnut
post May 31 2007, 03:53 PM

3,239 posts

finally the results.... hmmm, seem like TTBT VX still can hold on its own. actually thinking of getting Tuniq but you mention its big.. how big actually? the size big because of 12cm fan built inside?
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 04:54 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 31 2007, 03:53 PM)
finally the results.... hmmm, seem like TTBT VX still can hold on its own. actually thinking of getting Tuniq but you mention its big.. how big actually? the size big because of 12cm fan built inside?
well the dimension of it is around a size of a normal psu....but dun worry there is not clearance issue between the mobo unless ur casing is too small icon_rolleyes.gif
kmarc
post May 31 2007, 05:38 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ May 31 2007, 01:34 PM)
well ttbt vs is really a good hsf la.... it just that this one didnt give enough pressure smile.gif
Ya, I know the TTBT is a good HSF. It was one of my choices when I was deciding on which HSF to buy (couldn't get other HSF due to my mobo's different layout). Finally went for the Noctua as it has a silent setup.

That's why I was hoping that the Noctua was included.... sad.gif
james2306
post May 31 2007, 08:25 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,120 posts

hey, im thinking of getting scythe infinity...
my oni concern is weather my mobo can take the weight? how is the mounting for it?
TSsup3rfly
post May 31 2007, 08:35 PM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ May 31 2007, 08:25 PM)
my oni concern is weather my mobo can take the weight? how is the mounting for it?
the mounting same like the stock cooler...clip type..
Are_keem
post May 31 2007, 11:40 PM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ May 31 2007, 08:25 PM)
make sure it wont block your psu intake and interfere with rams..
because my ninja is blocking psu's intake and nearly block 1st DIMM slot..
take note mine is ninja, not infinity. and also bear in mind, infinity is bigger than ninja..

** ignore this if you have a big big casing such as gigabyte 3D aurora 570 or other full-tower casing.

-adios-
james2306
post May 31 2007, 11:44 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,120 posts

ic... thx, my 2nd worrry, can my mobo take the stress? its quite a heavy thing...
Are_keem
post Jun 1 2007, 01:04 AM

I'm riders, not rempit
2,123 posts

QUOTE(james2306 @ May 31 2007, 11:44 PM)
ic... thx, my 2nd worrry, can my mobo take the stress? its quite a heavy thing...
there's already a thread about this. try to search around.. icon_rolleyes.gif
but IMO, scythe's older mounting mechanism (which using the backplate) is more secure.. those 4-pins looks not reliable to hold the HS on the mobo unsure.gif

** ops, a bit offtopic here.. sorry notworthy.gif

-adios-

This post has been edited by Are_keem: Jun 1 2007, 01:04 AM
irangan
post Jun 1 2007, 10:10 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

The Scythe Andy Samurai Master on the review belongs to me and I used it before I get myself a Noctua U12F. Trust me.. Even though, it used those push pin method as its mouting but it is very tight and put damm alot of pressure. Back plate mounting only needed if your heatsink is real heavy.

DaRkSyThE
post Jun 1 2007, 12:07 PM

4,809 posts

the tuniq tower 120 has 3 heatpipes, not 6 smile.gif
p.s. please keep the thread cleaned. its only been a day and there has already been so many useless posts here

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Jun 1 2007, 03:03 PM
rainingzero
post Jul 11 2007, 11:09 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jun 1 2007, 12:07 PM)
the tuniq tower 120 has 3 heatpipes, not 6 smile.gif
p.s. please keep the thread cleaned. its only been a day and there has already been so many useless posts here
erm..i also got confused with the heatpipe def actually. at CM webpage, for hyper 6+ they claim it got 6 heatpipe.but when i count, it only three...
very2 confused la.... sweat.gif
TSsup3rfly
post Jul 12 2007, 11:13 AM

Techno Slave
1,561 posts

well.....3 heatpipes but 6 contact point to the fins smile.gif
simcheking
post Aug 22 2007, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(sup3rfly @ Jul 12 2007, 11:13 AM)
well.....3 heatpipes but 6 contact point to the fins smile.gif
Try to see and compare both of this test:-

http://xbitlabs.com/articles/coolers/displ...ex_5.html#sect0

http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?...eid=2082&page=3

with the fan 1200rpm, i think Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme is the best of all
imraneuf
post Oct 23 2007, 11:39 AM

well, good thread about heatsinks and fans..

I got questions though,

i've bought a new Celeron D 420 @1.6GHz (socket 775)

after installed it, i've found out that my computer suddenly shut down automatically.

so i run a few test to check which hardware that cause the problem and found out that the CPU is the cause of the sudden shut down. below are my test results:-

Activity CPU Temperature (in degrees)

1) MP3, watch DVD, open Microsoft Office 38 - 50 (my pc still work out fine)

2) playing games, install new software >65 (and my pc will suddenly shut down)

thus, my question is, can you give me any suggestion what heat sink and TIM can I use for my CPU overheat problems and what are the prices?

do I need to upgrade the system fans too? if so what system fans do you suggest?

and lastly, any other solutions that you can suggest?

Thanks, and really appreciate if you can give suggestions ...

blonely
post Nov 12 2007, 12:36 AM

212 posts

is the infinity original mouting cannot support its weight and cant put enuf pressure?
a1098113
post Jan 31 2008, 11:29 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@all
why dont someone test the CM Hyper 212 heatsink, i personally think its good.
sukatra_aicaca
post Feb 3 2008, 03:41 PM

Forever Alone
1,180 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Feb 1 2008, 12:29 AM)
@all
why dont someone test the CM Hyper 212 heatsink, i personally think its good.
yes i agree..coz i'm the hyper 212 user icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by sukatra_aicaca: Feb 3 2008, 03:41 PM
alive88
post Feb 14 2008, 11:49 AM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

need help here..anyone here use tuniq tower 120?

want to know will it affect my mobo if its on vertical?which mean in the casing..coz its heavy(768gm!)and summore,the clip for am2 doesnt look promising..afraid will break anytime

xixo_12
post Feb 14 2008, 01:29 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

i have the idea.. lend me ur tuniq.. maybe can mod the clip from sumting2 from Uni bengkel..haha
alive88
post Feb 14 2008, 05:12 PM

1,406 posts

thats a good idea..tomorrow mybe the clip will arrive...then u came to my house and take a look at it
xixo_12
post Feb 14 2008, 05:14 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

r u sure sampai??.. tomorow going back seremban la.. then go kl.. then late nite sunday only at here
alive88
post Feb 14 2008, 05:56 PM

1,406 posts

ala..tau la busy skang...i think so..ive banked him another rm5 for things that is not my fault...he text me this morning..----sent it---- thats all..haha...tuniq already a month in my hand..now berhabuk already
xixo_12
post Feb 14 2008, 06:04 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

what another rm5 for his mistake?? vmad.gif
nak kena dia nie laugh.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Feb 14 2008, 06:05 PM
alive88
post Feb 14 2008, 07:20 PM

1,406 posts

what to do bro..kena tindas saje...i
ve been nice to them,but they step on my head..
coolkwc
post Feb 21 2008, 09:53 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/02/20/cpu...er_charts_2008/
a1098113
post Mar 8 2008, 12:32 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

hmm this thread needs to be focused on cooling topics... by the way CM hyper 212 works really well with push-pull strategy.
matyrze
post Apr 24 2008, 11:47 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

guys..
wanna ask about suitable fan that can be mounted on our hsf..
is it really better to mount a fan with higher rev compared to lower one??
ive read sumwhere that high rev fans can cause low presure air around the hsf, causing less efficient heat transfer..
dun know this true or not..hope sifus can help me verify this..

thx notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Apr 24 2008, 12:43 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

high rev doesn't mean high air flow... high air flow also doesn't mean better cooling performance as u need sufficient time for heat to transfer from the hsf to the air... u need to see the specification of the fan.. there got show the air flow volume... hope that helps...
matyrze
post Apr 24 2008, 03:43 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

air flow volume is denoted as cfm in fan's specs rite?
hmm.gif but like u said, sufficient time is required for heat transfer..
so does it means that we have to find the balance between air flow rate and time of the heat transfer?
sory if my question is difficult to answer..
got free time, so i do some thinking about how to maximize cpu's air cooling tongue.gif so many ideas popped out tongue.gif

http://www.xigmatek.com/product/air-hdts1283.php

why xigmatek put air pressure value in specs for d product above?

thx notworthy.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Apr 24 2008, 03:56 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

what i meant is ... there is a maximum airflow effect for every cooler... even if u put a higher cfm fan the performance of cooling doesn't increase.. like i have 2 x silverstone fm121 fans on my ifx-14 cooler... i turn the fan up to 60% and above gives the same results... erm.. how do i say this.. pressure... more pressure = better as more pressure allows more air to be moved through the resistance more easily...
matyrze
post Apr 24 2008, 10:44 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

owh..ur explaination are same with my theories smile.gif
thx alot for ur explaination notworthy.gif

but i will do some test la..i will mount my panaflo fans to my sigmatek hsf..
see how is d difference..
tomolo i'll report

ndgoh
post Oct 15 2008, 01:23 AM

928 posts

V3 coming?
acther
post Aug 26 2009, 05:14 PM

317 posts

Can anyone tell me what's the best low profile heatsink for i7 ? =P
OC4/3
post Aug 27 2009, 01:08 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(acther @ Aug 26 2009, 05:14 PM)
Can anyone tell me what's the best low profile heatsink for i7 ? =P
AXP140?
aizax007
post Jul 21 2010, 10:52 PM

119 posts

Questions!!!!!!!!!!
What is the thermal compound ice fusion... is it better??
kakicam
post Feb 7 2011, 03:31 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(aizax007 @ Jul 21 2010, 10:52 PM)
Questions!!!!!!!!!!
What is the thermal compound ice fusion... is it better??
i've used ice fusion before. not recommended for users with room full of dust coz it tends to get polluted by dust when u open the cap. better buy those in syringe type. my 2 cents

0.0286sec    1.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:20 PM