Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

~minchinini~
post Jun 24 2010, 11:42 PM

39 posts

Hello darling..

I'm in early 20s, Fyi my upper teeth is kinda tak "tersusun" (something like most of the japanese girl teeth).

When to consult dentist last month, she asked me to put on braces on top part and need to extract 1 teeth..

My main concern is, one of my friend's friend >< which had braces before.. and the thing is the upper teeth "senget" after removed the braces.. -May I know what caused this?
~minchinini~
post Jun 25 2010, 12:09 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jun 25 2010, 12:05 AM)
Your friend didn't wear retainers continuously
The dentist will provide the retainers..?
~minchinini~
post Jun 27 2010, 12:44 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 27 2010, 11:32 AM)
hlee09: Did doctor told you the differences between Damon and Lotus brackets?

Ya usually after meal, I dont dare to open my mouth until I get to go washroom to rinse the food... But the food will still stick to my brackets and teeth because it needs brushing... sometimes banyak "ma fan" (troublesome)...
Didnt know wearing braces so ma fan..

May I ask what is the different betweeen Lotus and Damon brackets other then the prices differences..
~minchinini~
post Jun 27 2010, 09:06 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(hlee09 @ Jun 27 2010, 07:25 PM)
karynkhoo : i just bought a compact mirror with 2x magnifying mirror and LED light. super useful to check my teeth thumbup.gif

tomatonz & minchinini :

yeah, he did explained to me the difference. according to him, if i ask him last year which bracket system he recommend, his answer will be damon 3MX (btw, the damon 3 we talked about b4 is actually damon 3MX. dr said damon 3 has been phased out long ago, even its production has been stopped. damon 3 is half metal, half ceramic while damon 3MX is fully metal).

but as time progress, he found alot of problem with damon 3MX. as for lotus, he has tested many times on his patients and found it more efficient than damon 3MX. infact, he said lotus technology is similar to damon Q (the latest version of damon). but becos damon Q is newly released in the usa and the price is sky-high, he does not bring in damon Q yet. he said when we use lotus, we're like using damon Q but in another brand name. one more thing, becos lotus's company is not as well-known as damon's, they manage to keep the price low unlike damon which has been well commercialised & marketed.

so, minchinini...the price for damon 3MX and lotus is actually same...6000 for whole set.

he oso explained to me some technical details but i dun reali understand so i dun wan to repeat here in case i gav the wrong info. something to do with the locking system i think? hmm.gif

anyway, i'm happy with my braces and i dun think i look ugly with it  icon_rolleyes.gif
The dr that I visit didnt explain to me about damon braces. She only ask me to put on lotus braces which cost me RM4.8k for whole set..
~minchinini~
post Jun 27 2010, 10:15 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 27 2010, 09:16 PM)
~minchinini~: wah RM 4.8K is cheap neh... when did you ask the doctor?
Last month? The dr is my friend's friend..
~minchinini~
post Jun 28 2010, 08:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(hlee09 @ Jun 28 2010, 08:03 PM)
U're rite! i remember dr told me tat oso. n u reminded me of another thing. dr said lotus is easier to fine-tune towards the end of treatment, thus lotus produce nicer finishing than damon 3MX.

minchinini : 4.8k is super dirt cheap! go get it!

luckily i'm not the only 1 who had the "white glue". i tot it was caused by my pesto spaghettini  sweat.gif

btw, i have some questions about dental wax. i seem to use it up pretty fast, so i dun think tat free box given by nurse can last me until next appointment. is it available from pharmacy ie guardian, watson?

n how often u all change the wax? i throw it away once i take it out for meals or brushing teeth. nurse told me i can re-use until it's non-sticky but i cant coz i find it too gross.
I'm going to get the upper part which only cost me half of the price smile.gif .. But after I go thru this thread.. Having braces is not an easy job.. But I do wish to have a nice smile.. SIGH..

This post has been edited by ~minchinini~: Jun 28 2010, 08:09 PM
~minchinini~
post Jan 19 2014, 09:08 PM

39 posts

Hi all,

Is there any good orthodontist to recommend in Subang Jaya?

On side note, I'll be getting marry next year. Is it possible to remove the braces just for the pre wedding picture?

0.1776sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:15 AM