Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

jayyen
post Nov 19 2008, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(fiza_love @ Nov 18 2008, 10:00 PM)
the brackets for damon 2 are fully metal,like traditional braces but it doesnt use rubber bands...
the brackets clips rather than using rubber bands to move the teeth...
this is how it looks like...

for damon 3, the brackets are 40% metal and 60% ceramic so it wins in terms of aesthetic values...
i think damon 3 is basically the upgraded version of damon 2...
but anyway,here's a pic for better view laugh.gif

sources:
Damon 3
Damon 2

and for the pricing yeah, you can check the first page but different clinic charge differently so good luck finding the best dentist~!  rclxms.gif

hope it helps~! icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi there, im using the Damon 3 braces and my ortho is Dr.Jagjit Singh.
Cost me RM 7000 including retainer.
No extraction needed for my case.
The Damon 3 system normally doesn't involve extractions unless ur teeth condition is real bad.
this system causes less pain and treatment time shortened by 6mths..hope this helps =)
jayyen
post Nov 19 2008, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Nov 19 2008, 11:36 AM)
You may share with us the detail of Dr. Jagjit Singh (Contact, location, etc) smile.gif

The cost of RM7000 is quite expensive for Damon 3, when is this prices ?
Dr.Jagjit has 3 clinics around Subang Jaya, OUG and Klang.(depends on your preferences)
So if you want to see him, the tel no is 03-56316884.
Make sure you set the appointment as soon as possible, this ortho of mine is a super busy man.
His schedule is always damn packed =)

This price was quoted to me just last month, October 11
Just had my braces on for one month one week..
Nevertheless, i can c some changes in the upper canine =)

Will be meeting him on dec 6 for first adjustment =)
jayyen
post Dec 4 2008, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(-jEssica- @ Dec 4 2008, 12:31 AM)
owh, there is a new way now.
no x-ray, no nid to remove any tooth, no pain.
sounds good but cost MYR 6k++ sad.gif sad.gif
Yup, agreed with KentCP..
Xrays are needed to actually see whether there are ny hidden teeth as well as ur teeth's alignment.

One thing I've noticed for sure is that,the orthodontist needs an Xray for those who wanted to put on braces because one of the major problem caused while having orthodontic treatment is the position of your wisdom tooth and it will caused alot of problems if its malpositioned or are impacting on other tooth.

In my case,I'm using the Damon 3 System. Yup, it cost a lot more than the traditional braces and i do not have to go through any extractions.Experience only a lil' discomfort as compared to my friends =)

hope this info helps!!

Have a great day =)

jayyen
post Jan 12 2009, 10:12 AM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jan 12 2009, 02:30 AM)
whats the difference between In-Ovation and Damon dear? My Dr. only told me bout Damon ler... rolleyes.gif
Hi All,

I've just started a blog on my bracing journey =)

I wanted to pen down all the details on the progress of my braces so that I can look back and track at the progress of my braces before I forget totally on the details of it =)

I hope my blog will serve as a platform for us to exchange thoughts as well as an encouragement platform for others to get braces done...I've procrastinate way too long (5 years to be exact) before getting my braces done once and for all..

Do drop by my blog if you guys are free and give me some comments on how i can improve my blog more =)
http://my-braces-journey.blogspot.com

Have a nice day people =)

jayyen
post Jan 12 2009, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 12 2009, 10:26 AM)
Nikki's In-Ovation is clear ceramict ype..the bracket is transparent, so not easy to notice from a distance. Prices also a bit expensive than Damon. THe Damon 3MX that using by me is full metal without ceramic. http://www.ormco.com/index/damon-products-damon3mx-2
Nikki,
Yes.. from your recent photo, we can see your improvement already !! it is noticeable ! Thanks for your support smile.gif We are just living in reality world.
Hi Kentcp,

Seems like we are using the same type of braces.

How many months have u got ur braces on? =) how's ur progress???
jayyen
post Jan 12 2009, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jan 12 2009, 02:12 PM)
thanks kentcp.. did u extract any tooth?

Added on January 12, 2009, 2:14 pm

Hi jayyen, ur condition is slightly similiar as mine ler.. Do u need to cabut gigi? Mine need to extract 4!!  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hi Leng-Leng,

Nope. In my case, no extraction is required.From what i understand from my ortho, he mentioned that there's normally no extraction needed if you use the Damon system. But that varies with different individuals who uses the Damon type. Extraction will be needed if your teeth condition is wayyy to crowded..This is to make space for your teeth to move.

My ortho says he'll see the progress of the teeth on the lower jaw in the next appointment. (cos i have crowded teeth on the lower jaw as u can see in my blog). might need to go thru extraction if there's no progress at all...i hope i dun have to go through extraction =( im scared of it hehe...

but anyway Leng-Leng,when is ur extraction?? Do keep us posted with your condition and progress ya =)

Take care and have a nice day =)
jayyen
post Jan 12 2009, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jan 12 2009, 04:18 PM)
My extraction is on this THurs!!  rclxub.gif

Hmm...my Dr. said i need to extract 4 teeth but she didnt mention that Damon doesnt require to extract so much unless the condition is too bad. Cos at that time I havent decide which type of braces I wana do...  unsure.gif 

Hope no extraction need to be done for me ler...  sweat.gif
Hi Leng-Leng

No worries.. I believe ur othodontist knows what's best for you and your teeth =)

As mentioned earlier, different people will have different kind of orthodontic treatment.

So, r u going to get the Damon type braces?=) mine is the same as Kentcp.

Sorry ya...just got the chance to follow up with this thread after a while not checking into this forum =)

Anyway...no worries on the extractions this thurs ok..we are all here to support you =)

hehe...
jayyen
post Jan 13 2009, 08:18 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 13 2009, 02:39 AM)
Jayyen,
Actually, i did applied from government during secondary school. The Dr. said need to extract 4 teeths. So, i went to the 1st appontment, the lady Dr. try so hard to extract my 1st teeth on left.. end up, she asked another dr. (lady also) to extract my teeth. The 2nd Dr, close to my ear and said" you must relax, so that we able to extract you teeth..if I also can't extract the teeth..no one else able to do so in here"..I was so scare, that time the teeth already half way pulled by 1st dr. So, i try to calm down and relax..Lucky, the 2nd dr. can extract it out easily. After that, I told my mum, i don't want go for 2nd appointment for 2nd teeth.  This is my story lo..  One thing i learned, must relax your muscle, else the Dr. not easy to pull the teeth. Since your jaw already no feeling by medicine injection, just open mouth big and trust the Dr. Let Dr. complete the job, this will help better.

I don't need to extract teeth for this Damon system. You may saw my photo on pages 1 post by Green_Apple, the first 2 photo is taken on 9th Jan 2008. Besides the teeth no straight, i had the over bites issue as well.

One year had over, here i post another photo taken on 10th Jan 2009. smile.gif  Green_Apple, Where are you ? Long time no news lioa.. Your recent photo also a bit out of focus but i think is almost done and very nice ady.

I just visited Dr. How to fix my bracket noon, he said my upper able to hit on the bracket, so he put a small bite stop at my back of teeth to prevent the upper touch the lower bracket. I went to drink hot milo during tea time...the bracket loose again.. Hai.. need to set another appointment on this Thursday lunch time.
Hi Kentcp,

Same here...my ortho says no extraction is needed in my case BUT...he stil wana see my progress in the next appointment...cos as mentioned, he says my lower jaw is a lil' bit crowded...

wow!!ur teeth is straight and nice edi =) im so jealous! =P i baru three months only...haiz...still have one year plus to go...

Kent, i realized that the teeth on my lower jaw are a lil' slanted a bit to the left (can be seen in my blog)...did u experience the same thing?
Scary ler suddenly see my teeth shifting...
jayyen
post Jan 13 2009, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 13 2009, 01:34 PM)
ya.. i am also have the slanted a bit issue.. but from time to time, it will adjust back to normal.. No worry. If you do worry, just tell the Dr. He will explain what is his plan to do. smile.gif

Wow.. you guys can log in this thread whole day ya.. haha.. but good to see you all sharing info and support each other..

Added on January 13, 2009, 1:35 pm

ya.. i am also have the slanted a bit issue.. but from time to time, it will adjust back to normal.. No worry. If you do worry, just tell the Dr. He will explain what is his plan to do. smile.gif

Wow.. you guys can log in this thread whole day ya.. haha.. but good to see you all sharing info and support each other..
hehe...i guess all of us are super excited with each other's progress.

that's what this forum is for...to support each other and to share info..

to be honest, a few days before i had my braces on, i found this thread =) so glad to know that a lot of ppl is going thru the same bracing journey as me =)

i totally agree with white tulip...i used to be shy to smile with my teeth visible before braces were put on..but after braces were on, i showed them off proudly hehe =) smile and smile and smile with my teeth and braces visible to the whole wide world haha...

after all, the more u hide it,the more ppl will find out...so might as well show it off and ppl will tend to forget that u've had braces on =) it's just a phase that others will forget real soon hehe..

leng-leng and nikkidateddy, eat kenyang kenyang only extract =) hope u guys are doing well with the extraction..keep us posted =)

cheers people...have a great day ahead

Added on January 13, 2009, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 13 2009, 01:34 PM)

Added on January 13, 2009, 1:35 pm

hehe...i guess all of us are super excited with each other's progress.

that's what this forum is for...to support each other and to share info..

to be honest, a few days before i had my braces on, i found this thread =) so glad to know that a lot of ppl is going thru the same bracing journey as me =)

i totally agree with white tulip...i used to be shy to smile with my teeth visible before braces were put on..but after braces were on, i showed them off proudly hehe =) smile and smile and smile with my teeth and braces visible to the whole wide world haha...

after all, the more u hide it,the more ppl will find out...so might as well show it off and ppl will tend to forget that u've had braces on =) it's just a phase that others will forget real soon hehe..

leng-leng and nikkidateddy, eat kenyang kenyang only extract =) hope u guys are doing well with the extraction..keep us posted =)

cheers people...have a great day ahead

This post has been edited by jayyen: Jan 13 2009, 02:40 PM
jayyen
post Jan 13 2009, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(white_tulip @ Jan 13 2009, 02:46 PM)
nod.gif

Btw, jayyen, i have just visited ur blog... very good la u... created a special blog for ur braces journey... surely become the follower of ur blog... keep up the good effort ya!  rclxms.gif
Hi white tulip,
Thanks for the compliment =)

I rili wana pen down all the details of the journey in my blog..so that i can look back and feel worth it to spend so much $$ and going thru the pain and all hehe...

Thanks for visiting too =)

Rili hope that it will serve as a platform for us to encourage each other thru this "hardship period" hahaha...

Do giv comments so that i can improve more on the blog..
stay tuned...will be updating more on oral health..it used to be damn pain during flossing haha =)
Some might find it gross la...
jayyen
post Jan 13 2009, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jan 13 2009, 04:06 PM)
Jayyen, do u mind me for asking...you are a gal or guy? hehehehe blush.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Haha, leng-leng...I'm a gal =)
jayyen
post Jan 13 2009, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 13 2009, 07:50 PM)
Haha.. you can see her photo ma..(if you find the way)

Jayyen is a pretty gal smile.gif Don't ask me how ya.. unless she give me permission to say so..
Haha...no la..just an ordinary gal living an ordinary life =)
Haha...anyway, nice to know all of u thru this forum...at least i dun feel that having braces is weird haha...
Now i feel proud that I have clique of gang in this forum =)

hehe...
jayyen
post Jan 14 2009, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jan 14 2009, 11:19 AM)
Kentcp you stalker.... shocking.gif
hahaha....oh ya, how u know? i try to investigate Jayyen's blog. No pictures also,....
all of u gt tricked by kent edi la...haha, there's no pictures of me at all...gt pictures ter-show lubang hidung only hahaha...

dun wori...once my braces is off...i show my face hahahah

have a great day ppl...lunch now...makan makan =)

Added on January 14, 2009, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(jayyen @ Jan 14 2009, 12:19 PM)
all of u gt tricked by kent edi la...haha, there's no pictures of me at all...gt pictures ter-show lubang hidung only hahaha...

dun wori...once my braces is off...i show my face hahahah

have a great day ppl...lunch now...makan makan =)
Guys and gals..

Updates...
i've added 4 new links under the Braces Blogs category in my blog..hope all of you find it beneficial =)
you can have a look at different kinds of braces that others have used as well as their progress..

for leng-leng,its an inspiration source for u since u'll be getting braces soon =)

This post has been edited by jayyen: Jan 14 2009, 01:14 PM
jayyen
post Jan 14 2009, 02:33 PM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 14 2009, 02:15 PM)
Hahaha.. ok.. you had hide the info.. I just viewed your photo via other web service wink.gif

By the way, good info on the link at your blog ya..
hehe kent...i wana stay low profile ler =)
jayyen
post Jan 15 2009, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jan 15 2009, 05:30 PM)
Extract 3 batang? Then it will not symmetric?
Yeah lo leng-leng...3 batang gigi?? sounds weird to me =P
normally ppl extract 4 lo..

hmm...its ok...ur ortho knows what is best for u =)

jayyen
post Jan 16 2009, 08:24 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jan 15 2009, 11:47 PM)
Hi Bugsy,
No worry.. i am using Damon system and went for gym for few month on last year. No problem at all.
Yup...No worries bugsy =)
u can still do whatever exercise u want..
But after my braces were put on, i'm more careful when i'm running on the treadmill...takut terjatuh only =)
and you might just wana lower down ur treadmill speed =)

other than that,it's definitely OK to continue going to gym...
jayyen
post Jan 23 2009, 02:37 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Jan 23 2009, 11:40 AM)
White_tulip, yeah finally I already extracted all 3 teeth that supposed to be pulled off! Now im feeling better d... juz tat the separator make my teeth feel abit pain but i bliv it would be better later on~~  tongue.gif
As for now, the hole on my lower jaw is so OBVIOUS lah! even when I talk also can see the hole.. I tot it can be covered by my lower lips but  cry.gif  cry.gif
Leng-leng,good to know that u're doing well with ur extraction biggrin.gif

take care ya..

and to all,HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR =)
jayyen
post Feb 2 2009, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(green_apple @ Jan 30 2009, 04:30 PM)
nope. I still drink coffee, tea as usual, soft drinks occasionally. Just make sure you keep your mouth, braces and teeth clean, then should be ok.  smile.gif
Agree with green apple...i still drink coffee as usual, and i still drink my soft drinks too =)
Just take good care of ur oral hygiene,it should be fine =)
jayyen
post Feb 2 2009, 02:07 PM

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Feb 2 2009, 12:57 PM)
Oh i see i see... thanks for the info hehe.. I'll be putting on my braces on this coming thurs... rolleyes.gif
Hehe Leng Leng,
Welcome to the club.
Dun be too nervous though. I was freaking the day before I had my braces on.And to my disbelief,the process of glueing the brackets and stuff doesn't involve pain at all..Pain or I would rather say the feeling of "tightness" due to the effect of flimsy wires only kicks in the 3rd day.Anyway, no worries about that too =)

Just think of the day ur braces will be off (even though it might be too early =P)

Take care =)

jayyen
post Feb 13 2009, 04:22 PM

QUOTE(white_tulip @ Feb 13 2009, 11:26 AM)
Welcome to the club!

Anways,
Here goes my update...

I've done with my second extraction few days ago... it was 2 teeth on upper jaw... the extraction process was smooth and less numbness encountered... i wud say, blood came out heavier that last time... i slept early that nite after taking pain killer n anti-histamine... then the next day, blood stopped and things were just fine... thank God...

Separators have been removed... bite-stoppers are still there... its okay, i love my bite-stopper hahahha... and i had power chain installed on both front teeth... it feels a bit tight but im getting used to it... will see my ortho in a month time... my set of teeth has shown lotsa progress... again, thank God... cant wait to see more progress after this...  icon_rolleyes.gif

What about others? This forum is pretty quiet now... i bet everyone is busy...  tongue.gif
Hi All,
Yes,I've been super duper busy with work and only managed to drop by now, cos it's Friday and I kinda feel lazy edi hehe =)

First of all, I've not update my braces blog since the last adjustment last Saturday.
My ortho had just changed the ligatures on both my left and right upper canine. He did not do anything to the wire for the lower jaw. I'll be seeing him again in 6 weeks times.

Anyway,it's Friday people..
have a great weekend and Happy V day hehe =)

oh ya,before i forget...leng-leng is going to get her braces tomorrow, am I right?
Leng-leng, do keep us posted!! =)

0.0609sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:54 AM