Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

LookingforHome
post Aug 6 2013, 09:55 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(oneavaya @ Aug 4 2013, 01:21 AM)
Hi all,

I'm new in this and interested in wearing braces and also do something on my gum (they look appealing).

Anyone here can recommend any good orthodontics in Klang area?

Thank you very much.
Try to survey around and see if the doctor is available for consultation: discuss your case. They will ask you to take a x-ray and mould for better review.
Call up the clinic and ask them the price, payment, no. of patients, do they take credit card and so on. When u are at their clinic, observe around and see any patients to talk about their treatment.
Then you will have an idea on the treatment, clinic and doctor.

Happy surveying. I made few phone calls before drop by their office.
Sometimes, general dentist have specialist coming over to their clinic for ortho treatment, i do not like this because if anything drop off from the braces, I will ask who to look for?

My cousin sis did her at emmanuel klang for 4k traditional braces (4 years back), no idea how much it cost now. Mine currently about 5.5k (self-lig) at KL.

Dr. Choo at Berkeley is one of the Klang's orthodontist... no idea how much she charged, but the patients having long queue. or u can check out http://www.mao.org.my/list-selangor.htm

LookingforHome
post Aug 6 2013, 10:00 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Jjdesu @ Jul 8 2013, 02:11 PM)
Hey peoples! Any of u tried ss2 Wong orthodontist? How was it? she quoted me 5.2k for everything except if there's wisdom tooth appears within the process which must be extracted
5.2k fr traditional braces or self-lig?

LookingforHome
post Aug 6 2013, 10:02 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(RuFusS @ Jul 3 2013, 08:28 AM)
Just installed mine yesterday... total was 4.5k... paid rm2200 upfront.. rm200 for xray and moulding, rm500 deposit, rm1500 downpayment.. balance another 2.5k by installment of rm150/month.. mine is self ligating braces.. colorfull brackets.. no extraction needed for my case.. did everything in 1 appointment.. hahaha.. Vijay dentistry in section 3 shah alam... no pain whatsoever... just some discomfort... I think I'll get use to it in time...
Yes, sect 3 shah alam... I came to know this clinic through a friend

LookingforHome
post Aug 6 2013, 10:04 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(mandarinoriental @ May 27 2013, 12:54 PM)
hi! looks like most here seeked out private clinics to do their braces, did anyone opt for government clinics?
Have to be under 17 years old (schooling) and waiting list is about 4-5 years
LookingforHome
post Aug 7 2013, 09:47 AM

60 posts

anyone experiencing pains but do not want to take ice-cream, try yogurt or riped banana.... to me, it worked.

1st day, no pain but stiff gums.
2nd day, the pain kicks in but i still chew chew soft food. Banana is really testing my gums to deal with pain. Such a soft fruit, but i can't chew properly. Rice in soup and porridge with fish - almost 45 minutes to finish 1 meal... Can't imagine i took so long for it... Exercise your gums, brush, massage and chew soft foods....
3rd day, i am free of these pains.. Having crackers dips into milo for breakfast....

to be exact, ripe banana (soft).... potasium to helps on muscle pain works on gums too....
other foods rich in potassium - moderate portion includes: oranges, potatos, melons and raisins... but i can't chew oranges/ melons/ raisins... gonna make fruit juice then

Drinks lots of water - china's barli cool down our body, reducing the possibility of mouth ulcer

This post has been edited by LookingforHome: Aug 7 2013, 09:53 AM
LookingforHome
post Aug 12 2013, 09:34 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(meme00 @ Aug 9 2013, 09:17 PM)
i'm also looking for a reliable orthodontist for braces.
has anyone been to dr reuben (whitesmile) lately?
call for an appointment and check out .... you will be glad if you ask the orthodontist rather unsure....
LookingforHome
post Aug 12 2013, 09:44 AM

60 posts

PJ area: You can try to ask for
David Orthodontic Clinic Sdn. Bhd. - Damansara Perdana
Nice Smile Orthodontic Clinic www.dentalnicesmile.com - not mistaken, doctor was also attached to Sunway
Klinik Ortodontik Rohanah - Kelana jaya (also can check this doctor at UMKL Private Wing)
Procare
Wong Orthodontic Dental Clinic
Kaur Dental & Orthodontic Clinic
Lim Dental (Damansara Perdana)
Sim & Hooi Dental Centre

Happy Surveying.....

LookingforHome
post Aug 12 2013, 02:23 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Aug 12 2013, 11:33 AM)
Im planning to put on braces. Any good ortho to recommend? Hopefully not too expensive too.

Area around gombak, kepong, kl, pj also can.
Expensive... any price range?
Traditional metal - 3.5k-6k (metal to ceramic)
Self-lig- about 6-10k (metal to clear)

Nowadays, treatments are pretty affordable with deposit of <2k, monthly installments at 100-300/month....

Kl
http://www.mao.org.my/list-kualalumpur.htm

Selangor
http://www.mao.org.my/list-selangor.htm
LookingforHome
post Aug 15 2013, 08:28 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Mollai @ Aug 15 2013, 07:51 AM)
How I wish if it was as easy as you said. My case is pretty severe. First ortho I went to consult was Dr Hou in Kepong, she said my case have to go for surgery which cost about 40-50k  shocking.gif (surgery is to adjust my jaw, because I have an underbite)

Then I consulted Dr Lim in Selayang (LKM Dental), he said he could do braces for me, fix my underbite, but my outstanding jaw will still be there unless I go for surgery to fix it. He quoted me as below

6500 - Brackets
180 - Xray
700 - Screws (I need to put two screws on the side on my lower jaw.. anyone had this too?)
1200 - Extraction of my lower jaw wisdom teeth
300 - Extraction of my upper jaw wisdom teeth
300 - filling and other stuffs before I do the braces

Total = 9180

And this is not including other miscellaneous stuffs.

So damn expensive  cry.gif
Omg... so expensive for jaw surgery!

Is yr case something like this?

This post has been edited by LookingforHome: Aug 15 2013, 09:07 AM

LookingforHome
post Aug 15 2013, 08:40 AM

60 posts

Don't be too sad. You can try to read this forum:

http://www.bracesreview.com/forums/traditi...races-only.html

http://saybraces.blogspot.com/2011/05/unde...races-only.html

Or to check out with other orthodontic specialists

This post has been edited by LookingforHome: Aug 15 2013, 08:50 AM
LookingforHome
post Sep 14 2013, 09:49 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(viviane @ Sep 12 2013, 04:58 PM)
Had my x-ray and moulding today, but doctor said i need to go through root canal treatment before install my braces...

Actually, what is root canal treatment? Doctor explained to me and i still not really understand... Any advice? Cost?
Hopefully, this is helpful
http://www.realself.com/question/put-braces
LookingforHome
post Feb 6 2014, 08:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Dreamx @ Jan 7 2014, 05:01 PM)
Hi all, may I know which doctors can provide a clear advice during consultation? Any recommendation on those that can be reach using public transport in KL? icon_question.gif
As I'm stil undecided whether to put on braces or not.  sweat.gif
My dentist advice me to consider about it but I think to seek advice from orthodontist first.
where u prefer?

This post has been edited by LookingforHome: Feb 6 2014, 08:54 AM
LookingforHome
post Feb 6 2014, 08:30 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(jenstudios @ Dec 23 2013, 12:20 PM)
Hello guys any recommendations to do braces in kl or cheras area..excluding  whitesmile..
Dentist at Bandar Sri Permaisuri

LookingforHome
post Feb 6 2014, 08:46 AM

60 posts

Damon braces - after 6 months.
Result membuatkan aku rasa sakit tu berbaloi...

Setahun lagi, monitoring... kalau next 15 bulan gigi "rajin bergerak" ... akan dapat buka braces sebelum aidilfitri tahun depan....

LookingforHome
post Feb 11 2014, 05:41 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Feb 8 2014, 03:13 PM)
how much is ur Damon braces and may i know who is your orthodontics?
5.5k for the package excluding retainer, extraction (depends number of tooth: 80/each), x-ray 99 (tung-shin) and moulding rm40
1.7k (upper) and 1.7k (lower after upper teeth moved which took me 3-4 months before installing lower)
Tak famous pun but really careful and care his patients- Dr. Pang at Pang Dental Klinik (Sri Permaisuri)
LookingforHome
post May 3 2014, 01:23 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(hamsterr88 @ Apr 29 2014, 11:52 PM)
Just put on bracers with Dr Khor from Ooi & Khor in Kota Kemuning..
I chose the self-ligating bracers..
But the problem is i'm not feeling the totally unbearable pain..
is it normal?
And what are you guys daily oral care?
Do you all brush your teeth after every meal and only use specific type tootbrush?

Thanks..
initially, brush after meal. later, i brush only brush twice a day
after meal, just gargle and clean with tap water

normal toothbrush.. i started with 6 years old toothbrush (soft and small), then change adult toothbrush (very soft - Colgate/ Systema/ whatever brands as long as it "soft" or "extra soft") and now using a charcoal Darlie toothbrush (soft)... remember to change your toothbrush every two months and i can observed that there are vast improvements when using different types of toothbrushs - personal opinion.

pains are normal.. and we have different level of pain tolerence
LookingforHome
post May 5 2014, 09:02 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hamsterr88 @ May 4 2014, 02:15 AM)
Which is the better toothbrush for you?
I've bought alot of oral-B toothbrush prior the braces.. =( .. they dont seem to work
i just used whatever brands available in the market - darlie, colgate, systema except oral-b
even the cheap and hard toothbrush from the hotel for two weeks.. just try whatever available because different pressure needed to stimulate our gums.. do bite/chew (it is an exercise to your gum)

saw yr post - "installed" in april, it may takes another 3-4 months
did your ortho extract any of yr teeth(s)?

This post has been edited by LookingforHome: May 5 2014, 09:05 AM
LookingforHome
post May 6 2014, 08:30 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hamsterr88 @ May 5 2014, 11:50 PM)
wait.. when you say it may takes another 3-4 mths.. you mean the pain is incremental??
blink.gif

For me, it is incremental, but once all teeth moved into position, it's just feeling great after that...
i have teeth growing at 4th month (surprised at the age of 31), and the dentist just wait and see how and which way it "grow"

LookingforHome
post May 6 2014, 09:43 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(hamsterr88 @ May 6 2014, 10:22 AM)
oh wow..
that's unique lolx.. my dentist did not tell me to pull out any teeth and did not let me know if i have any wisdom tooth.
Should i assume that i do not have it as wisdom tooth should be quite apparent in the x-ray right?
i have three removed - 1 in the 2nd month, and 2 at the mid-way.
for the sake of beauty, aiiiii

0.0805sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:22 PM