154 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Bottom

Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

hlee09
post Jun 28 2010, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 28 2010, 08:26 PM)
hlee09: I am using second box of the wax box that i bought from clinic for RM 6 per box cuz I was there to glue back one of my bracket... I change it often too depending on what i eat... if I had things with curry or sambal, sure the wax become orangy and yellow because of the oil, so definitely have to change. Now wax doesnt help me that much cuz after I had teeth extraction, the wire gets longer at the back of my teeth and it's poking me too hard... Even if i put dental wax, it doesnt protect me long as it used to... so i'm getting it cut 2moro... cant tahan liao...
u mean we dun have to take out the wax when we eat?

i have the same problem with the wire at the back.. it's starting to poke me too sad.gif

Added on June 28, 2010, 9:06 pmbtw, is it tat we're not supposed to eat food tat requires chewing in the first week after braced? it's my 3rd day today n my teeth are feeling quite weak especially when i chew. i had only porridge and mushroom soup until now (after the pesto spaghettini tongue.gif ) but now i'm reali reali craving for my indomie... *sigh*

This post has been edited by hlee09: Jun 28 2010, 09:06 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 29 2010, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(hlee09 @ Jun 28 2010, 08:37 PM)
u mean we dun have to take out the wax when we eat?

i have the same problem with the wire at the back.. it's starting to poke me too  sad.gif

Added on June 28, 2010, 9:06 pmbtw, is it tat we're not supposed to eat food tat requires chewing in the first week after braced? it's my 3rd day today n my teeth are feeling quite weak especially when i chew. i had only porridge and mushroom soup until now (after the pesto spaghettini  tongue.gif ) but now i'm reali reali craving for my indomie... *sigh*
Hey dear.... is not that u're not suppose. U can eat if u manage to. We suggest u not to eat solid food bcos most probably ur teeth will be weak. Just like most of us. Some may feel 'no pain' or 'no feel'. IF no feel, why dont eat? If u feel sick of porridge, eat noodles like keoy teow. It's smooth and easy to swallow.

All noodles should be ok, like pasta, dry mee or soupy mee.... Rice abit mafan cos will get stuck in between brackets easily. Steaks and all requires chewing so maybe ur teeth wont have the 'strength' to chew also...
tomatonz
post Jun 29 2010, 09:32 AM

i never take out the dental wax cuz if i take out, the wire will poke me even more because when i eat, there are lot of "creative moments" by the cheek (so poke here and there) haha... I change the dental wax when necessary.

Kesian during the first week, my teeth were too weak to chew on anything. Cannot chew rice, apatah lagi vegetables and meat.. Whole week I had mee sua soup with egg inside the soup and I was eating so slow that myself had tired jaw haha...

And then i think second week my teeth were also weak but not as week as 1st week and one of my friend had her birthday lunch at pizza hut! Aiyoh.. I couldn't chew on pizza so I ordered lasagna... basically i was just swallowing the lasagna and them others had pizza... sad.gif ... haha...

Slowly when I felt my teeth became stronger, that time la, i went and try everything that i could think of.. haha.. including fried anchovies & mamee (aiyoh), fried sotong oso i gasak haha which I know I should not try but hey life is too short haha... But I take very long time to finish my food until sometimes i get tired jaw haha...

My condition is also similar to hlee09 where I only have my upper teeth braced but 2 teeth extracted already la... Dunno when my lower teeth will be braced... I think that time lagi suffer cuz both upper and lower teeth will be weak during first few weeks...

Pain is good cuz it is a sign that the teeth are moving... people said you will lose weight after you pakai braces but I dont see that happening to me YET! Maybe cuz what im going thru is just the initial stage, not yet the complicated stage where screws will be installed la, then pakai powerchain la this and that. I have gummy smile so doctor said the screws will improve the condition... dengar pun takut...

How bout you guys?

This post has been edited by tomatonz: Jun 29 2010, 09:39 AM
kentcp
post Jun 29 2010, 10:47 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 29 2010, 09:32 AM)
i never take out the dental wax cuz if i take out, the wire will poke me even more because when i eat, there are lot of "creative moments" by the cheek (so poke here and there) haha... I change the dental wax when necessary.

Kesian during the first week, my teeth were too weak to chew on anything. Cannot chew rice, apatah lagi vegetables and meat.. Whole week I had mee sua soup with egg inside the soup and I was eating so slow that myself had tired jaw haha...

And then i think second week my teeth were also weak but not as week as 1st week and one of my friend had her birthday lunch at pizza hut! Aiyoh.. I couldn't chew on pizza so I ordered lasagna... basically i was just swallowing the lasagna and them others had pizza... sad.gif ... haha...

Slowly when I felt my teeth became stronger, that time la, i went and try everything that i could think of.. haha.. including fried anchovies & mamee (aiyoh), fried sotong oso i gasak haha which I know I should not try but hey life is too short haha... But I take very long time to finish my food until sometimes i get tired jaw haha...

My condition is also similar to hlee09 where I only have my upper teeth braced but 2 teeth extracted already la... Dunno when my lower teeth will be braced... I think that time lagi suffer cuz both upper and lower teeth will be weak during first few weeks...

Pain is good cuz it is a sign that the teeth are moving... people said you will lose weight after you pakai braces but I dont see that happening to me YET! Maybe cuz what im going thru is just the initial stage, not yet the complicated stage where screws will be installed la, then pakai powerchain la this and that. I have gummy smile so doctor said the screws will improve the condition... dengar pun takut...

How bout you guys?
I have gummy smile, that's why need to installed screws.. and it works.. smile.gif

tomatonz
post Jun 29 2010, 02:14 PM

Hi kentcp, great to hear that the screws are working!!

I read about your previous posts about gummy smile and you needed 4 screws if i'm not mistaken right? Dr said I need 2 screws on top.

Erm, just curious, has it shorten your upper gum but the height of your exposed teeth still the same? Or your teeth height becomes longer liao because the gum is forced to go up or something.. haha, hope you can understand...

And what is the screws for? To put rubber band?
karynkhoo
post Jun 29 2010, 02:54 PM

tomatonz & hlee09: I've been using the same box of dental wax for >1 year n I've swallowed most of it biggrin.gif For me if I don't swallow it, 1 piece can last for 1 day. Don't really like the experience with dental wax. If you have the time, cutting it will be a much better solution.

tomatonz: I put on 5kg after having braces... What an undesirable outcome...

hlee09: I think it's normal for ur teeth to still feel weak on 3rd day. You can slowly try to chew something soft to get used to the pressure. Normally, I try to slowly apply pressure by biting teeth to teeth. I somehow feel it helps. After such training, I can eat normal food after 3rd day.

This post has been edited by karynkhoo: Jun 29 2010, 03:01 PM
tomatonz
post Jun 29 2010, 03:32 PM

wah karynkhoo, dont scare me ah haha add 5 kgs...?? I think i know why if it happens to me... haha... because 1st week after tightening, cannot eat anything, but after the teeth and gums are stronger, ah then "Let the FEAST begin!!!" Haha...

Wow, you use the same box for more than 1 yr? Yeah i also sometimes accidently swallow the dental wax... is it okay ah for our health? Oh I had my wire cut off already today cuz it has been a nuisance and it was done by nurse there! You guys cut wire by nurse before?

This post has been edited by tomatonz: Jun 29 2010, 03:32 PM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 29 2010, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 29 2010, 02:14 PM)
Hi kentcp, great to hear that the screws are working!!

I read about your previous posts about gummy smile and you needed 4 screws if i'm not mistaken right? Dr said I need 2 screws on top.

Erm, just curious, has it shorten your upper gum but the height of your exposed teeth still the same? Or your teeth height becomes longer liao because the gum is forced to go up or something.. haha, hope you can understand...

And what is the screws for? To put rubber band?
If u hav already some of the previous post, u would hav know tat i hav those screws also. I have 2.
And u're right, the screws are for the powerchain (not rubberband) to hang on. Hook on the brackets and pull back to the screws. Its like it will flatten ur gum abit.

Most pobably dr will use transparent powerchain so its not so obvious lo. But transparent powerchain stained very easily...
tomatonz
post Jun 29 2010, 06:42 PM

Hi NikkiDaTeddy, oh yes, I remember now that you have 2 screws! Thanks for the correction about the powerchain... I see how long have you had the screws for if you dont mind me asking? Did it hurt when you first had them and does it hurt now as well?
karynkhoo
post Jun 30 2010, 01:23 AM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 29 2010, 03:32 PM)
wah karynkhoo, dont scare me ah haha add 5 kgs...?? I think i know why if it happens to me... haha... because 1st week after tightening, cannot eat anything, but after the teeth and gums are stronger, ah then "Let the FEAST begin!!!" Haha...

Wow, you use the same box for more than 1 yr? Yeah i also sometimes accidently swallow the dental wax... is it okay ah for our health? Oh I had my wire cut off already today cuz it has been a nuisance and it was done by nurse there! You guys cut wire by nurse before?
Yes, u r right! BIG FEAST when my teeth are stronger. Even before they get stronger, I eat ice-cream and cakes biggrin.gif So make sure don't learn from me if you don't want to add 5kg tongue.gif

I not sure if there'll be any side effect if swallow too much dental wax. I believe anything tat's meant to be used in the mouth, should be safe... Yes, the nurse (should be Julia) just cut my wire for me 2 days ago. I think she has been working there for quite long.
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 30 2010, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 29 2010, 06:42 PM)
Hi NikkiDaTeddy, oh yes, I remember now that you have 2 screws! Thanks for the correction about the powerchain... I see how long have you had the screws for if you dont mind me asking? Did it hurt when you first had them and does it hurt now as well?
I have those screws on since dr. extracted two of my upper tooth. Cos since he need to use anesthetics ma so together lo. With anesthetic, u wont feel anything at all. I was watching doctor's hand turning and screwing in and i dont feel scared. In fact teeth removing was more scary.

And then u most probably wont feel any pain from the screws also...mayb just numb feeling. And When its still new, u'll feel funny cos there are two new dot behind ur lips. Imagine, u hide two rice there....
kentcp
post Jun 30 2010, 09:36 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jun 30 2010, 09:00 AM)
I have those screws on since dr. extracted two of my upper tooth. Cos since he need to use anesthetics ma so together lo. With anesthetic, u wont feel anything at all. I was watching doctor's hand turning and screwing in and i dont feel scared. In fact teeth removing was more scary.

And then u most probably wont feel any pain from the screws also...mayb just numb feeling. And When its still new, u'll feel funny cos there are two new dot behind ur lips. Imagine, u hide two rice there....
Haha biggrin.gif a brave lady ~ tongue.gif I am scare.. may be scare on blood tongue.gif
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 30 2010, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jun 30 2010, 09:36 AM)
Haha biggrin.gif  a brave lady ~  tongue.gif  I am scare.. may be scare on blood tongue.gif
Haha...i'm serious...teeth removing more scary. hahaha...
tomatonz
post Jun 30 2010, 09:54 AM

karynkhoo: Haha! Ah I think my wire was cut by Julia too, not so sure...

NikkiDaTeddy: Oh your treatment came quite fast ya. Unlike mine, so far it has been 2 months wearing upper braces and only had 2 teeth extracted. Maybe cuz everyone's teeth condition is different and the treatment needed also different. However I will try to be patient... susahnya... haha... Oh yeah I read back your older posts where just had your braces, I think I am going through the same emotions - excited and wanted the teeth to move fast and see result instantly haha...

When I first got braces - May 2010

June 2010 - after 2 upper teeth extraction - cannot see from front view but the tiger tooth is slowly moving towards the back

I just can't imagine how my teeth will look like after 2 yrs... what a long wait... well better late than never...

Sorry for the ugly pics but just like to share maybe there are people who can relate to me to share their treatment journey... smile.gif

This post has been edited by tomatonz: Jun 30 2010, 11:09 AM
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 30 2010, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 30 2010, 09:54 AM)
karynkhoo: Haha! Ah I think my wire was cut by Julia too, not so sure...

NikkiDaTeddy: Oh your treatment came quite fast ya. Unlike mine, so far it has been 2 months wearing upper braces and only had 2 teeth extracted. Maybe cuz everyone's teeth condition is different and the treatment needed also different. However I will try to be patient... susahnya... haha... Oh yeah I read back your older posts where just had your braces, I think I am going through the same emotions - excited and wanted the teeth to move fast and see result instantly haha...

When I first got braces - May 2010

June 2010

I just can't imagine how my teeth will look like after 2 yrs... what a long wait... well better late than never...
Yes yes... Keep up the spirit... Better late than never. I'm extremely happy with my decision to go for braces. Cos now i smile and laugh confidently without having my hand to cover my mouth. Although ppl says covering mouth is more 'lady'. But i just like to laugh without covering. Hehehe....
tomatonz
post Jun 30 2010, 11:19 AM

NikkiDaTeddy: Did Dr tell you when you will be "debraced"? You have come a long way, this year should be your second year already ya! So can expect to be "debraced" end of this year right...?
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 30 2010, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(tomatonz @ Jun 30 2010, 11:19 AM)
NikkiDaTeddy: Did Dr tell you when you will be "debraced"? You have come a long way, this year should be your second year already ya! So can expect to be "debraced" end of this year right...?
When i first consult dr. How, he told me 1.5 to 2 years. Coming Oct is 2 years for me. But so far he didnt say anything abt debrace. And i didnt ask.
kentcp
post Jun 30 2010, 11:26 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Jun 30 2010, 11:21 AM)
When i first consult dr. How, he told me 1.5 to 2 years. Coming Oct is 2 years for me. But so far he didnt say anything abt debrace. And i didnt ask.
Duration may extend a bit.. as for my case, my teeth got some tiny gap and caused food stuck inside sometime. Dr. How said cannot remove braces, else he can't help after debraces.. so, i been waiting month by month.. the gap seem reach a point that not really want to close.. I almost give up and accept the 98% result will do..wink.gif
NikkiDaTeddy
post Jun 30 2010, 11:28 AM

QUOTE(kentcp @ Jun 30 2010, 11:26 AM)
Duration may extend a bit.. as for my case, my teeth got some tiny gap and caused food stuck inside sometime. Dr. How said cannot remove braces, else he can't help after debraces..  so, i been waiting month by month.. the gap seem reach a point that not really want to close.. I almost give up and accept the 98% result will do..wink.gif
Really ah? actually me too...the gaps just wouldnt close....sight.... i also scared my treatment will delay a bit. Cos of the gummy treatment came along...
tomatonz
post Jun 30 2010, 12:32 PM

Is the gap due to teeth extraction guys?

154 Pages « < 87 88 89 90 91 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:08 AM