Bracesians' Place, Bracesians' Support Group

karynkhoo
post Nov 8 2010, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(missdream @ Nov 8 2010, 03:10 PM)
can i have DR.how address and contact number. thank you.
http://drhowkc.com/

How’s Orthdontics& Dental Surgery
64-1, Jalan Telawi Bangsar Baru, 59100 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 603 - 2284 5529 Fax: 603 - 2284 7687
karynkhoo
post Nov 10 2010, 12:01 AM

QUOTE(missdream @ Nov 8 2010, 05:19 PM)
may i know wat is the different between damon 3, ceramic brace and in-ovation c ??
-damon 3 and in-ovation c are different brands for self-ligating braces
-self-ligating braces can be from different material; metal or ceramic. ceramic is near to teeth colour hence will look like transparent from far
karynkhoo
post Nov 10 2010, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 10 2010, 01:19 AM)
In-ovation is available wit metal brackets or ceramic bracket. The in-ovation C is ceramic.

However, If I'm not mistaken, there  Is also another type of ceramic braces that is not in-ovation. And this type of ceramic braces is consider the older type of braces and many find this system slow.

Oh by the way, I visited dr how's clinic today to fix a fallen (again ) bracket. Apparently dr how is busy and another dr fixed it for me. Probably is dr Raymond that u talked abt?

He is quite gentle. I dint feel any pain while he 'clip' in the wire....
ops, sorry, I tot in-ovation c is the brand name.

I also left out on traditional braces, which is less effective comparing to self-ligating braces. There are metal and ceramic type for traditional braces as well.

I went to Dr. How's clinic jst now, Dr. Raymond did a reposition for me. He's very gentle, careful and patient.
karynkhoo
post Nov 10 2010, 10:25 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 10 2010, 05:43 PM)
its the separator or donut. It to create space between teeth so that the rest of the teeth can move...
separator will come off when it has already done its job. so when it comes off, don't worry, jst let it be. dr how put 17 separators for me, all came off by themselves.

karynkhoo
post Nov 11 2010, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 11 2010, 09:08 AM)
He glued my bracket at my front teeth that day. This morning, i found out that my teeth got worse, crooked and its longer than the other....
My next appt is 2 weeks later...Should i wait until then...
Last week Dr How repositioned 1 bracket for me, on the same day, i found tat it got worse, bcame more crooked. I waited for 1 week for the tooth to stabilize and i went to adjust it again yesterday, although my next appointment is 2 weeks later. I think better don't readjust immediately, will be very painful and that tooth will bcome sensitive, i experience that b4, too much adjustments in too short period of time. I think 1 week gap should b ok.

karynkhoo
post Nov 15 2010, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(cutegal0886 @ Nov 15 2010, 03:05 PM)
just another question...

i asked few doctor about braces... some ask me take our the wisdom teeth b4 wearing braces, some said no need ... can wear braces with wisdom teeth...

so which one is better?
I think the need of wisdom teeth extraction depends on your condition. For my case, I extracted 1 wisdom tooth when having braces. I was advised by my ortho to remove my wisdom tooth before the completion of my braces treatment.

Added on November 15, 2010, 4:05 pm
QUOTE(cutegal0886 @ Nov 15 2010, 09:43 AM)
which mean metal or clear ceramic will be more effective of tightening the tooth?
My ortho told me that metal works slightly faster than ceramic braces, but the difference is not significant. Most people say that metal/ceramic works the same, no difference. Hence, I think even though there might me slight difference, that is negligible.

This post has been edited by karynkhoo: Nov 15 2010, 04:05 PM
karynkhoo
post Nov 23 2010, 02:54 PM

I went to see Dr. How yesterday and he said I can debond anytime. I thought can debond yesterday, but he said there are too many patients waiting, not enough time to do debonding.

I have to make another appointment for debonding. Unfortunately, Dr. How is really busy. His schedule is really packed until next week. I can't wait anymore, hence I opt for Dr. Raymond to debond for me tomorrow. Finally... I can take off my braces... Hope everything goes smoothly.

To the seniors here, I've some questions... I was told during consultation last time that I need to do another time of x-ray and mold after debonding. Is that true? After that, can I take back my mold and x-ray (before and after braces)?
karynkhoo
post Nov 23 2010, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(eeling_82 @ Nov 23 2010, 06:02 PM)
I just extracted a tooth and it was painful. The doctor gave me one course (which is two shots) of LA. I wonder if i can ask for 2 course (four shots total) of LA for my next appointment?
Or anyone can suggest sedation dentist?
My wisdom tooth was extracted at Dr. How's. He gave me 3-4 shots (forgot exact count) and it's painless.
karynkhoo
post Nov 26 2010, 12:14 AM

I've just de-bonded yesterday. Here's my before and after photos.

Type of braces: Damon 3MX, without extraction
Duration: 17 months

This post has been edited by karynkhoo: Nov 26 2010, 10:20 AM
karynkhoo
post Nov 26 2010, 10:17 AM

Thanks Nikki and pikeydude smile.gif

Nikki, I understand what you mean. That's why I hesitated for >10 yrs before deciding to go for it. If it's more serious, I wouldn't have waited until this old...
karynkhoo
post Nov 26 2010, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Nov 26 2010, 10:26 AM)
Icic... Then shame on me. LOL. Cos my condition was much more serious.  tongue.gif
Anyway, luckily we waited. The technology now is much better than years ago.
karynkhoo
post Dec 2 2010, 01:11 PM

Thanks Ken, advanced and tomatonz all the wishes.

Ken, how long has you been wearing the retainer? 3 months already? I was told to wear it 24/7 for 3 months (except when eating and brushing teeth). I wonder if it's ok to wear it only at night. It's a bit troublesome to take it off everytime before eating, especially when on the move.

This post has been edited by karynkhoo: Dec 2 2010, 01:12 PM
karynkhoo
post Dec 6 2010, 11:59 PM

QUOTE(d_chew @ Dec 6 2010, 01:38 PM)
Two questions please.

I click can't see the photo. I remembered I used to be able to view it. I have login though.

2. How did you get the picture/photo? You asked Dr How for it after treatment?

Thanks again.
1. You have to refer to my original post #1920 to see the photos.

2. I asked for the photos from the staffs.

Added on December 7, 2010, 12:02 am
QUOTE(Xp3rT @ Dec 5 2010, 02:17 PM)
Mean whole treatment won't excess 6.5k rite unless need to extraction.how about retainer?around how much.
For my case, xray+mould+photos cost around RM300++, forgot the exact amount. Need to do the same thing before and after treatment, which mean RM300++ x 2. I think you might exceed 6.5k a bit. First set of retainer is FOC, included in the treatment cost. I was told that subsequent replacement of retainer (if required) costs around RM250 for Dr. How's in-house patients.

This post has been edited by karynkhoo: Dec 7 2010, 12:02 AM
karynkhoo
post Dec 9 2010, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(Anespian @ Dec 8 2010, 06:27 PM)
Just curious, are you getting the regular metal braces, hence the need to extract 4 teeth? I was informed to extract 2 teeth by another ortho. Then was informed no need to do so when decided to go for self litigating types.
I think it depends on individual. If the teeth is too crowded, extraction is required even for self-ligating braces. For my case, I went to 3 other orthos before I went to Dr. How. They said I need to extract 2 or 4 teeth. Finally, I went to Dr. How and he told me that my case doesn't require extraction.
karynkhoo
post Dec 21 2010, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(NikkiDaTeddy @ Dec 21 2010, 10:58 AM)
Yes, its quite complicated. I think we are in the same boat. Anyways, for those who are curious, click spoiler below for pictures.

I had the pics in B/W cos i dun wanna gross you out...  blush.gif
OMG... did Dr How explain the purpose of doing this?

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0254sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:54 AM