5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

No future as Programmer ?, Advice needed

ubsacc2004
post Jun 5 2007, 04:16 PM

No life without MUsic
1,860 posts

but some of my fren work for 4 yrs onli can get rm2K >.
so sad.its oso depends on ur company.
eveli 2 years jump is a gud ting too at least ur current company wont give u increment rm500.
python_king
post Jun 6 2007, 11:46 AM

195 posts

another programmer here..
just want to ask, what is the market price for a Java developer with 1 year exp?
silentwolf34
post Jun 6 2007, 12:04 PM

to me, definitely the demand is there... espescially if u r good in C/C++. again excluding SAP guys... u can only get good pay if u r working with very big company, such as SCOPE, arthur andersen etc..

generally, if u r good in C/C++, get yourself experienced in embedded programming & network programming... get knowledgable in security areas..

i myself actually a reluctant programmer... but i find it becoming useful stepping stone for me to become a consultant, may be by the age of 35-40... and working as a senior consultant with arthur andersen is a five figure income job... as i was told by a fellow manager ini AA.

i suggest those those who are into network programming, proceed to getting certificates... may be CISSP, if u got money go for SANS certificates.. if u have 5 years experience in programming, espescially in network and embedded, then u good enough to stand out among hundreds that apply for that post...

Added on June 6, 2007, 12:10 pmanother guideline that i always use for salary average for programmers, excluding SAP... start with 2k, for every year completed after the second year, add RM500... thus for completed 5 years experience, u should be around 2k + (500 x (5-1)) = RM4k

why i start counting after 2nd year, because usually companies considered those having only 1 year experience is in the same group as freshies.

this is an average out scenario, so many programmers start with salary lower than 2k, around 1.8k only...

This post has been edited by silentwolf34: Jun 6 2007, 12:10 PM
say_it
post Jun 6 2007, 01:31 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Jun 6 2007, 11:46 AM)
another programmer here..
just want to ask, what is the market price for a Java developer with 1 year exp?
It is depends on your qualification and which company you're working in.

python_king
post Jun 6 2007, 01:35 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Jun 6 2007, 01:31 PM)
It is depends on your qualification and which company you're working in.
how abt degree holder, working in sdn bhd with exp in J2EE..??
edwin3210
post Jun 6 2007, 01:39 PM

lll
808 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Jun 5 2007, 04:16 PM)
but some of my fren work for 4 yrs onli can get rm2K >.
so sad.its oso depends on ur company.
eveli 2 years jump is a gud ting too at least ur current company wont give u increment rm500.
i work not more than one month already got RM2k + doh.gif

This post has been edited by edwin3210: Jun 6 2007, 01:41 PM
stargate
post Jun 6 2007, 02:55 PM

215 posts

My company turn over rate for programmer is high. Every year, programmers come and go. Like what the others have said, don't become a programmer if you've no interest in it. If you love what you're doing, I don't think any problem will be an obstacle.

So, a lot of job advertisements for programmer doesn't mean it is a good thing.
darun
post Jun 6 2007, 03:17 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Jun 6 2007, 01:35 PM)
It depends on company. Thats the problem with the industry here in Malaysia, I'm not sure about other countries, but there is absolutely no industry standards in determining the wage of a software developer.

Heck even the titles are not standardized. A system analyst in one company can have a totally different role and job scope in another. Totally. As in nothing even remotely related.

Whats worse, is that some small companies let their own employee make up the title, i've been in one like this before. Funny part is the HR or hiring ppl for the IT industry seem to be oblivious to this and treats former job title as an absolute yardstick to measure someone's worth. The industry is a mess.
say_it
post Jun 6 2007, 05:02 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Jun 6 2007, 01:35 PM)
I assumed you're talking about local based company.
It is around rm2k-2.5k.
poklang
post Dec 23 2013, 10:58 AM

41 posts

bump
SleeepyHead
post Dec 23 2013, 12:33 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(blue_heaven @ May 30 2007, 02:32 PM)
Hi All,

Need your golden advice.  unsure.gif

Heard many people said there is no future work as programmer / technical field. Is there true?

People always said programmer is under paid, work long hours, no claim for OT... But due to that a lot of people do not like to work as programmer and cause there is high demand for programmer in the market ( especially C++ or C). Please correct me if I am wrong.

I see there is a lot of cases whereby my friend who studied IT end up choice work marketing, business, sales, project management.... because of they believed there is no future to be IT

How you guys think? Is that true? Anyone have a good example who work as programmer get extremely high pay?
i believe ur friends have no balls to pursue IT rather that "because of they believed there is no future to be IT" tongue.gif
I'm IT graduated and more than half of my course mates ended up doing something else because they
do not have passion or interest in pursuing IT or simply "scared" hahaha.

Gabbidon
post Dec 23 2013, 12:59 PM

29 posts

strange...

we hardly hear this complain from other professions like lawyers, doctors, engineers or accountants...

quovadis123
post Dec 23 2013, 01:02 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Gabbidon @ Dec 23 2013, 12:59 PM)
strange...

we hardly hear this complain from other professions like lawyers, doctors, engineers or accountants...
I believed because anyone can become programmer, and it doesn't need cert as long as they're good.
Common people are too afraid of their rice bowl taken away.

Maybe hardly heard complain because lawyers, doctors, engineers, accountants d rice bowl really depends on their cert.
cazorla81
post Dec 23 2013, 01:36 PM

176 posts

What an old thread tongue.gif

But i agreed on most Darun post. After 10 years of working in IT industry i can strongly feels in general, "techie" are earning way lesser than "talkies" locally.

Even after 5 years, MY IT industry still a mess as before. Nowadays even fresh grad can call themselves SA, not System Analyst but Solution Architect...sigh...

This post has been edited by cazorla81: Dec 23 2013, 01:38 PM
quovadis123
post Dec 23 2013, 01:44 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(cazorla81 @ Dec 23 2013, 01:36 PM)
What an old thread tongue.gif

But i agreed on most Darun post. After 10 years of working in IT industry i can strongly feels in general, "techie" are earning way lesser than "talkies" locally.

Even after 5 years, MY IT industry still a mess as before. Nowadays even fresh grad can call themselves SA, not System Analyst but Solution Architect...sigh...
Clearly mentioned from you're from IT.
How is IT now? Very competitive?
frontierzone
post Dec 23 2013, 01:57 PM

735 posts

Thread
We have another thread to tie in here, which I think is related, they do have some good points there. If these 2 threads are merged, would be good.
JosephChua
post Oct 10 2015, 04:40 PM

17 posts

I am currently working as a support and programmer at a manufacturing plant. From what I can see is that programmer seem to be at the bottom of the organization hierarchy which indicates a low pay, whereas Business Analyst or the one at the management level have a better pay and rarely involve with programming. So I think that at some point you need to go to the above hierachy for better pay and I dont think that you can do program well when u age as your mind has been deteriorated and they can easily replase you with fresh grad that surrounded by latest tech... mega_shok.gif mega_shok.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 10 2015, 05:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(JosephChua @ Oct 10 2015, 04:40 PM)
I am currently working as a support and programmer at a manufacturing plant. From what I can see is that programmer seem to be at the bottom of the organization hierarchy which indicates a low pay, whereas Business Analyst or the one at the management level have a better pay and rarely involve with programming. So I think that at some point you need to go to the above hierachy for better pay and I dont think that you can do program well when u age as your mind has been deteriorated and they can easily replase you with fresh grad that surrounded by latest tech... mega_shok.gif  mega_shok.gif
Well, you need to programming games for Pusat hiburan keluarga near your house, pay are quite good thumbup.gif
My cousin gets offer recently of rm10000 per game icon_idea.gif
kenji.san
post Oct 12 2015, 10:26 AM

30 posts

Hi, I think its not there's no future for programmers. Malaysia is becoming more and more reliant on technology. If anything, Malaysia needs more programmers. Its just a matter of how good of a programmer you are.
khew
post Oct 12 2015, 10:50 AM

24 posts

If you really are competent and have solid experience (3-4 years) in one or more languages like C#, Java or C++, you should be able to get around 4-5K Singapore dollars in S'pore. If you are into firmware, you can probably fetch a higher price. Also, another factor is domain knowledge. If the company you interviewed for matches your domain, then you can probably fetch highed pay too.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0208sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:57 PM