Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

victorywp
post Dec 6 2022, 04:14 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Dec 5 2022, 09:31 AM)
My Maybank 2 Amex also received new card, existing card expire on Feb 2023.

I remember last round of expiry, I receive new card at very last minute, guess this round they send 2 mths earlier.
they must have learned it from last year. last year's mail posting got affected very badly. few banks sent out my renewal cards 1 month earlier before my expiry. but until my cards expiry arrived i still have not received those cards, so i called and they said probably lost in delivery, so replaced new ones for me. in the end i received 8 cards one shot arrived from all the affected banks. doh.gif

so it's better for them to send out 2 months in advanced so that we users wont be affected. last year was a very bad experience for me because if normal renewal, my cards number will still be maintained. but due to cards replacement after i called, so i need to update all my auto bills with the new card numbers. bangwall.gif
victorywp
post Dec 6 2022, 04:25 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Dec 5 2022, 08:31 AM)
received mbb card without request for card replacement.
Is that mbb randomly replace card for user to prevent fraud case?
i have different experience than you. whenever they replace a new card either by renewal or replacement, that's usually fraud cases happened.

last year when i received my renewal card, i activated it right away. after few days, i received notifications that the card has been used for some online thingy.i only activated it without using it yet. so i called maybank and got it blocked & replaced right away. and i got refunded back the amount.

then this year same thing happened but it was my wife's card. she received it but hasnt activated it yet. but then she received notification that the card has been used for the same online thingy i faced last year. but for her case, the transaction didnt went through because wrong cvv was entered. so she called maybank and got it blocked & replaced right away.

the suspicious part was that the hacker entered the new cvv of our cards! in my case, because i have activated my card, so that transaction went through. for my wife's case, she hasnt activated her new renewal card, so that transaction didnt went through since the new cvv was still not valid before activation. coincidence or insiders job?
victorywp
post Dec 6 2022, 06:23 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Dec 6 2022, 05:08 PM)
Very obvious that's insider job, it's good to go through our cc statement at least once a month
And it's not possible that it's a courier guy's job. Because the courier pack is using cybershield plastic with each of it has its own barcode. So it's not easily replaceable once it's tear off, unlike those normal courier packaging that you can easily buy one and seal up again.
victorywp
post Dec 9 2022, 09:49 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(leo99 @ Dec 9 2022, 08:55 AM)
Nope. Actually this is my first CC.
Yupe, it came as a pair. But not sure why the visa has different name in m2u. Btw, anyone can confirm it should have been “maybankard 2 visa”?
Where do you sign up these cards? Direct at a branch?

Tip: If you don't need the visa card, you don't need to activate it or you may just cancel it, although they came as a pair.
victorywp
post Dec 9 2022, 02:29 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(leo99 @ Dec 9 2022, 12:53 PM)
I see. Will call CS to check
Yes, direct at branch. Thought post SST, maybank 2 cards will always come in pair, if cancel both also kena cancel, cannot cancel only one, no?
Can, from the day they imposed the rm25 tax, i straight away cancel the other unused card. They cant ignore our request to cancel the other card, unless they are willing to pay that rm25 for us, in the form of loyalty or whatever they want to call it.
victorywp
post Dec 9 2022, 02:40 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 9 2022, 02:33 PM)
That was in 2018.. Now it seems no longer possible.
Oh really?? So those who managed to get the other card cancelled were considered as the lucky group? rclxm9.gif
victorywp
post Dec 14 2022, 03:52 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(joehann @ Dec 14 2022, 03:19 PM)
Thank you for the recommendation. May I know what it mean for online spending? is it spending on shopee/lazada? if spending for petrol at pump station entitled or not for the cash back?
you can read the t&c in detail here: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...an-Card_PDS.pdf
victorywp
post Jan 31 2023, 06:38 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(savvyaunty @ Jan 31 2023, 03:46 PM)
Treat Points can't be combined due to the different conversion rate. I have both M2P and M2Card Plat and the TP balance is calculated independently for air miles conversion.
Different conversion is on the points collection. For points redemption, the conversion rate is the same. Thus points can be combined for redemption.
victorywp
post Apr 25 2023, 03:12 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(z|nk @ Apr 25 2023, 02:11 PM)
Mbb really very arrogant. Been using it almost 5 years and pay on time . Never bother to increase my limit . Sigh
they can't do it without your consent.
victorywp
post May 28 2023, 09:10 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(kakalaku @ May 26 2023, 09:55 AM)
Is linking your AMEX card on Fave, and paying via QRpay using Favepay with the payment method being AMEX eligible for weekend 5% CB?
Yes, i always did this at places that accept Favepay.
victorywp
post Aug 24 2025, 06:58 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

Anyone else face problem using amex at aeon big? I tested at 3 different outlets namely subang jaya, seksyen 23 shah alam, bukit rimau. All can't.

This post has been edited by victorywp: Aug 24 2025, 06:59 PM
victorywp
post Aug 25 2025, 10:13 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 24 2025, 08:00 PM)
1. new card? activated already? payment with pin?

2. expired?

3. enough credit limit?

4. called maybank CS to ask why the card got declined at 3 separate locations/outlets? probably amex got downtime?
Not new card, not expired, enough credit limit, called mbb to complain about the verifone terminal but they said I'm the only one who complained about it. Duh.
victorywp
post Aug 25 2025, 10:19 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 24 2025, 10:48 PM)
This happened like 3 months ago. At AEON BIG, the Verifone terminal couldn’t process AMEX PayWave, but inserting the chip worked. I also experienced the same issue at BHP with the same terminal I think VX520 terminal. The problem still hasn’t been resolved until now.
Yes, i faced this for the past 3 months too. The verifone silver terminal contactless works sometimes if the amount is small like rm10. And inserting card also randomly and occasionally working and not working especially with bigger amount like rm200. I can easily used contactless or insert card with amount rm200 at restaurants or jaya grocer that using the black terminal without any issue. For the past 3 months I complained aeon big but they take no action. I went to different outlets all also the same as they don't bother to change their old terminal.
victorywp
post Aug 30 2025, 10:38 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 25 2025, 10:39 PM)
Yes, no action was taken. I even had another issue with the cashier before. That time, I wanted to use ShopeePay because I didn’t bring my AMEX physical card. But the cashier simply pressed “cash payment” without asking me the payment method. Since I had already applied my RM5+5 voucher, they said cannot void the bill.

They forced me to pay cash,, but I insisted not to. Finally, they returned me RM10 in cash and I walked away with nothing. All this happened because their terminal cannot accept AMEX contactless (I was using Apple Pay), and the cashier simply pressed cash payment on their own, without checking.
You mean in a way you've converted your rm5+5 vouchers into cash?

So now the only way to use amex at aeonbig is to pay by shopeepaylater?

This post has been edited by victorywp: Aug 30 2025, 10:38 AM
victorywp
post Aug 30 2025, 11:43 AM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 30 2025, 10:45 AM)
Yes. By right they can’t return the voucher to me since they already finalised the bill - cash.

But I insisted do not want to pay in cash. In the end they have no choice and return me RM10 in cash.
Received rm10 cash was even better lol.

Since can't directly use amex at aeonbig anymore, so the only option is to use spaylater & pay back using amex on weekends.
victorywp
post Aug 31 2025, 12:51 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Aug 30 2025, 08:11 PM)
Can still use the AMEX, but with Physical card and insert chip.
I tried rm200 failed at all aeon big outlets, no matter contactless or insert card. Lower amount rm50 also failed. Rm10 passed even contactless.
victorywp
post Aug 31 2025, 01:00 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

Have anyone checked before what is the mcc code when we use amex to pay spaylater bnpl?
victorywp
post Aug 31 2025, 08:01 PM

V.I.P
11,741 posts

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Aug 31 2025, 03:26 PM)
Back in 2023 it was this:
Going to assume things haven't changed smile.gif
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 31 2025, 06:22 PM)
as of July 31, still MCC 5964
Oh, sorry for missing that post. Thanks a lot for the update.

0.0658sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:00 PM