78 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 05:06 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 1 2018, 06:10 AM)
Implementation of Sales Service Tax (SST)
01 SEPTEMBER 2018

Dear Valued Cardmembers,

Please be informed that an annual Service Tax of RM25 will be imposed on all Credit and Charge Cards effective 1 September 2018. This is in accordance with the Service Tax Act 2018.

Cardmembers may opt to pay the Service Tax using Maybank Points. Service Tax redemption can be made once it has been reflected in Cardmembers card statement.

Cardmembers may redeem through these channels:

- Complete the TreatsPoints redemption form / Membership Rewards redemption form and email it to maybankrewards@maybank.com.my
- Walk-in to any Maybank Card centres or branches.
- Call us at Maybank Group Customer Care as per telephone number at the back of your card.

Click here for more information.
Terms & Conditions:

- Service Tax RM25 redemption is equivalent to 10,000 TreatsPoints/Membership Rewards
- Service Tax redemption can only be made once it is reflected in the Cardmembers’ card statement.
- Cardmembers are allowed to redeem limited to the number of Principal and Supplementary Cards under his/her account.
QUOTE(toysRash @ Sep 3 2018, 05:02 PM)
i've called cs and they said sst will be charge in my sept statement, cannot waived absorbed what soever, so i straight away cancel my m2 cards.
but still keep my barcelona & ikhwan.

anyone got the diff version of story?
the maybank cs manyak lansi ar? not friendly like uob..
first time i call them...
no story. it's a fact.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 05:13 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Sep 3 2018, 05:10 PM)
You can click at the << to first page.
do u even know what you are replying about?
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 05:16 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(toysRash @ Sep 3 2018, 05:14 PM)
he also never mention about treatpoint redemption for sst, only ask me to redeem item if not point burn...
thats y still keep my ikhwan card...

mad.gif  mad.gif
you didnt check the fact first.

unless your m2c have 20k TPs to waive both cards' SST, then no difference anyway.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:14 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 3 2018, 09:02 PM)
is it "worth" to spend 10k TP for service tax?
if u spend properly with amex (for trx eligible for 5X TP), you'll earn 5X TP anyway. easy to achieve.

i'm more interested to know if m2c TP can be used to redeem SST waiver for FCB VS instead.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:17 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:16 PM)
Based on previous implementation, TP can be pooled from different cards except for the MBB VS.
i'm referring to current sst. there's a clause that's kinda ambiguous.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:20 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:20 PM)
Which clause?
Can share?
read the sst faq. search back.
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:31 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:23 PM)
clause 11

FCB VS has no TP feature, even mbb system cannot query TP balance based on FCB VS card number (accidentally passed my FCB VS card to query when redeeming TPs earlier)
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:44 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(UncleTinsel @ Sep 3 2018, 09:37 PM)
Hmm...it says SST redemption by using treat points is only applicable to cards that has treat point feature.

If I re-iterate based on written words, SST for FCB can't be redeemed with treat points because FCB is not eligble for treat points. That's how I understand this.
exactly, that clause piqued my curiosity laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Sep 3 2018, 09:51 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Sep 3 2018, 09:47 PM)
So, in short, we can’t use TP earned From AMEX to pay m2visa / master Card SST as well?
m2c visa/mastercard can earn TP mah, so can redeem.

whether we can cross-card redemption, is something unclear.
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2018, 10:10 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(kovin @ Sep 4 2018, 08:53 AM)
when bank will charge SST for CC? is based on expiry date of the card?
Since my card until 2021 so not necessary to pay for now right?

only for new application after 1st September or card renewal.
"KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 30 — A service tax of RM25 will be imposed on either new credit card users or those who renew their credit cards from September 1 onwards, the finance minister has ordered."
mbb's sst charging is based on EXPIRY MONTH. your "2021" is the year, not the month.

refer FAQ: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...ardsSST_FAQ.pdf

i've double-confirmed this with MBB CS few mins ago.

new card: SST charged immediately, and subsequently anniversary based on expiry month.
existing card: based on expiry month, including all subsequent cards that follows the 1st card's expiry month.
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2018, 10:16 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 4 2018, 10:14 AM)
A particular day of the expiry month, not on 1st day or the last day of the expiry month.
i mentioned expiry month, not any specific date
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2018, 10:29 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:33 PM)
I'm sorry as I don't have that particular card and I'm not aware of that.

But RM 25 CST redemption is using only one redemption code in the TP redemption form:
My guess only that it could be able to pool from other existing card(s) if you have it.
QUOTE(UncleTinsel @ Sep 3 2018, 09:37 PM)
Hmm...it says SST redemption by using treat points is only applicable to cards that has treat point feature.

If I re-iterate based on written words, SST for FCB can't be redeemed with treat points because FCB is not eligble for treat points. That's how I understand this.
QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 3 2018, 09:48 PM)
That's why cybpsych claimed that it's ambiguous.

By the way, MBB2 Visa/Mastercard has TP but you may not have enough to redeem the RM 25 CST with 10k TP.

Who can be the kind soul to give a call to CS for clarification.
Thanks!
QUOTE(UncleTinsel @ Sep 3 2018, 09:57 PM)
FAQ 11 states "The redemption is applicable to cards that are awarded with TreatsPoints or
Membership Rewards Points."

FCB Features state "TreatsPoints is not eligible for this card".

Membership reward points are only applicable to AMEX Charge Cards.

So for me, it's pretty clear. SST redemption with TreatPoints not possible for this (FCB) card.

Just my reasoning.
received callback from MBB regarding my call this morning about FCB VS SST TP redemption from other cards' TPs....

answer: YES

essentially, TP is accumulated at user-level, then it can be redeem for all mbb cards under the user.
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2018, 10:36 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(hakkai0810 @ Sep 4 2018, 10:31 AM)
sorry not so und the bolded part, let says i have 3 conventional mbb card.
Card A - approved on Mar 18
Card B - approved on June 18
Card C - approved on August 18

Base on the bolded part , does it mean that all my 3 card will kena SST on Mar 19? Thanks.
based on my checking with MBB, yes

if you look at your Card B and Card C, the expiry month/year actually follows Card A's expiry month/year.

for SST, it'll be based/tracked from card's expiry month, and then the SST RM25/card will be charged on the 15th of that expiry month.

my problem with this method is for new card.

Card A: expiry month March. to be imposed SST on March 2019.
New Card D: applied this month Sep 2018, SST imposed immediately, but the expiry month follows Card A's expiry month on March.

What will happen in March 2019 for Card D then? hmm.gif confused.gif

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Sep 4 2018, 10:36 AM
cybpsych
post Sep 4 2018, 10:58 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Sep 4 2018, 10:44 AM)

SO I assume if under same calendar year, SST charged once only.
QUOTE(TongCN @ Sep 4 2018, 10:53 AM)
You wont get charged since you already "advance" charge for the year 2019 (March renewal)
if charged once, then ok also.

got little loophole with slightly longer period before next sst is charged.
cybpsych
post Sep 5 2018, 08:14 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

cybpsych
post Sep 6 2018, 05:17 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Sep 6 2018, 05:12 PM)
We got both visa and amex cc. Can we cancel one of it?
old question, 1 answer: no
cybpsych
post Sep 7 2018, 10:00 AM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 2 2018, 10:06 AM)
just sharing my recent purchase.

went senq, bought a new laptop using amex @ 25 Aug (Sat). converted directly to maybank 6mth installment (without additional fee). maybank terminal. printed mbb receipt showing installment amount + last month amount.

today, ZERO cashback received for Amex (was expecting full RM50)  bye.gif

TP-wise, if i counted correctly, 1X TP credited few days after purchase. i guess the remaining 4X TP after statement generated (?), which is this weekend.

1st installment falls on this weekend. will monitor on 2 Oct if my Amex gets cashback for the installment amount that falls on weekend smile.gif
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Sep 2 2018, 04:11 PM)
thanks for sharing.

i'll give MBB a call as well.

**update: CS filed a report. she suspected due to some error during SST cutover on 1 Sep. Asked about EPP, the cb is based on the actual full amount, not the installments later. **
received RM50 cb adjustment.

fyi sj0217 alexwsk
cybpsych
post Sep 7 2018, 12:33 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 7 2018, 12:20 PM)
yours is normal installment (ezpay) and not EPP, right?

FAQ post 2 listed:
22. For EzyPay via Amex aka installments during weekend, cash rebate and treats points will be given for the FULL AMOUNT one shot and not by the monthly installments amount.

so i thk nothing to update for now
yes, actually no update in page 1. you were asking for my updates mah laugh.gif

my installment was from senq, direct conversion at merchant. full amount not posted in the card, pending 1st installment amount in coming statement.
cybpsych
post Sep 7 2018, 02:32 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

QUOTE(#Victor @ Sep 7 2018, 01:19 PM)
thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif Did u get cashback for other spending other than this installment? If yes, u are getting extra cashback  ohmy.gif
Have ur first installment already posted?
if u were able to quote this, then you should read what i wrote and quoted in the previous posts.
cybpsych
post Sep 7 2018, 10:11 PM

---------------------
65,264 posts

78 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.3771sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:08 AM