Asus Asus Zenfone Max Pro M1 Discussion V2, SD636 | 5000mAh Battery | 10H SOT

lazyman@home
post Oct 29 2018, 09:24 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(zenman @ Oct 29 2018, 05:54 PM)
No, I normally put it on airplane mode - which gives the same battery saving effect as battery saver (same % of loss, either way), except you don't receive calls and notifications on airplane mode.

I used battery saver mode to test 334 last night only because some of our friends here use this mode on a nightly basis.

How's your battery drain with 331 so far?
My battery drain is terrible at home. I do suspect is the poor reception at my home area, as at my office, the battery life is really good. See the pic I attach, I just put my phone on table and doing nothing and it drained about 10 percent over couple hours. Connected to WiFi though.

lazyman@home
post Oct 29 2018, 09:29 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 29 2018, 09:27 PM)
Show the "Phone Signal" tab to confirm radio signal reception quality...
This?

What's weird is before this I never have this problem. Maybe I remember wrong

lazyman@home
post Oct 29 2018, 09:38 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 29 2018, 09:32 PM)
yes... there we see 76% for no signal (aka "zero" connection to cell towers....) you need to compliant to your telco so that they improve the service...or else "blackmail" them to port out...LOL...

Luckily the 5,000mAh can survive the whole day even if the cell radio is very poor in your area...
Report? Don't bother. This kampung people they ignore. Previously I used celcom and can you believe that, some area here is no service, and at my office, I consistently having E, and I had GPRS ever. Damn I live in stone age.

Now I switch to Digi, and network a lot stable at my workplace. Only some part in my house is poor reception. At night in other room the battery drain is better. Lucky is 5000mah. My iPhone is charged at least twice per day
lazyman@home
post Oct 30 2018, 11:25 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(zenman @ Oct 30 2018, 07:26 AM)
I see your phone is deep sleeping only about 50% of the time. This is also probably why you're getting poor battery life. Same as others on 331. Even with Naptime, my phone sometimes took almost an hour to deep sleep.

Since 331 was dated 17th October and 334, the 19th, it's obvious that Asus is aware of the issue. A permanent solution by way of a full firmware update will likely be available soon.
Yeah, I do realize the phone doesn't want to sleep... Any idea what's the Android system? Using so much power...

This post has been edited by lazyman@home: Oct 30 2018, 11:25 AM

lazyman@home
post Oct 30 2018, 01:38 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 30 2018, 11:42 AM)
Use GSam, it will show you in detailed the individual processes under system.

Oh wait...you are already using GSam, tap the arrow on the right. It will show the processes.
Actually I have no idea what's that. Maybe just wait for the update

QUOTE(zenman @ Oct 30 2018, 11:47 AM)
The android system is...err...well, the android system. Not much you can do about that except deny background activity and data usage.

Look in settings->apps and notifications->show system.

I did the same for Google Play Services and Play Store as well.

Your phone's insomnia is due to the firmware. A solution should come with the next update or if you like, you can try updating to 344 which is actually a leaked pre release.

Works very well, though.
Yeah, not much that I can do. Just wait for the update. Should be pretty soon the OTA, since there are so many complaints
lazyman@home
post Oct 30 2018, 01:38 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 30 2018, 11:42 AM)
Use GSam, it will show you in detailed the individual processes under system.

Oh wait...you are already using GSam, tap the arrow on the right. It will show the processes.
Actually I have no idea what's that. Maybe just wait for the update

QUOTE(zenman @ Oct 30 2018, 11:47 AM)
The android system is...err...well, the android system. Not much you can do about that except deny background activity and data usage.

Look in settings->apps and notifications->show system.

I did the same for Google Play Services and Play Store as well.

Your phone's insomnia is due to the firmware. A solution should come with the next update or if you like, you can try updating to 344 which is actually a leaked pre release.

Works very well, though.
Yeah, not much that I can do. Just wait for the update. Should be pretty soon the OTA, since there are so many complaints

lazyman@home
post Oct 30 2018, 08:01 PM

484 posts

I updated too. From couple hours of standby, looks like a lot better than my previous problem where battery drain due to bad signal.
lazyman@home
post Oct 31 2018, 07:35 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 31 2018, 06:52 AM)
According to the new owner of my ex-M1P, the idle stand-by drain (for 334 firmware) is "zero" percent for the past 12 hours.... This is with Wi-Fi off and Data Saver option activated...

The M1P is deep sleep just like a kitty sleep-dead... LOL...

Hi sifu, where is the data saver option? I remember I seen it before, but now don't know where to look back...😅
lazyman@home
post Oct 31 2018, 08:13 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Oct 31 2018, 07:57 AM)
Just type the word "Data Saver" in the Search box....nowadays, we don't need to remember all the settings menu or paths or directory or hierarchy... Just type the keyword(s) in the search box ...
Thanks, nowadays so convenient already. Found it.

QUOTE(attw @ Oct 31 2018, 08:05 AM)
I can never achieve 0% battery drain in 12 hours... at least 2% tongue.gif
Same here. But I don't bother much. Excellent for me.
lazyman@home
post Oct 31 2018, 10:28 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(zenman @ Oct 31 2018, 10:06 AM)
Yeah, I'll just consider the energy savings and better reception a trade off. For now.  laugh.gif
yeah, i do realize the reception is improved a lot. and now my phone is still at 84% after 1 hour sot and 16 hours since last full charge.
lazyman@home
post Nov 2 2018, 09:50 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Nov 2 2018, 03:54 PM)
well, im the one who still having the issue with .334
the battery seems consuming more when it is in idle, especially during overnight. saw another similar case reported in xda...
Weird ya... In my case the battery life is a lot better than previously. Previous version drain me a lot during standby doing nothing. Another thing I notice is the reception improved a lot. Note that I do game a bit.

QUOTE(zenman @ Nov 2 2018, 04:00 PM)
Yup, exactly like it was before, with 327 but with a few new improvements as well. Even running processes have gone down from a constant 1.5GB to a steady 1.3GB, like before (even with the addition of a new, full time running app - Datally).

There are a few isolated cases where the battery consumption issue was not resolved but for most, including the fellas over on XDA are happy with it.

On my phone...

[attachmentid=10094814]
Yeah, I am quite happy with this version. I never wipe cache before. I now been unplugged 1day 4 hours and 5 hour sot, and still got plenty of juice. My sot mainly YouTube, pubg..

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
lazyman@home
post Nov 12 2018, 12:58 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 12 2018, 12:23 PM)
499 damn good deal ler. Now, back to 699.

I went for rn5 because I read it doesn't have dual band and cannot use wifi from a home Unifi.

Actually, is it cannot connect at all? OR can connect but cannot enjoy the faster speeds of 802.11ac that the M1 dun have?
If your home router is dualband, you can still connect. Connect to 2.4ghz instead of 5ghz. Refer to attachment. Screenshot is m1, pic is iPhone 7. For me speed still acceptable. 100mbps unifi

lazyman@home
post Nov 12 2018, 01:14 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 12 2018, 01:06 PM)
Thanks, i go check my router. Your unifi plan is 100mbps?
yup 'cos dun hv 802.11ac
Yes, mine is 100mbps. If you using the original router from unifi, I assume that is dualband band model. As mine and my mother in law are getting the second dualband router. Different plan.
lazyman@home
post Nov 12 2018, 05:33 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Nov 12 2018, 01:25 PM)
What model is your router? iirc mine rgx4400
The modem I got is tplink Archer c1200
lazyman@home
post Nov 12 2018, 07:33 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Nov 12 2018, 07:09 PM)
Same like mine. Cannot get the max speed as I am on the 100Mbps plan. Did you upgrade the firmware?
Errr, firmware of the modem? I don’t disturb that as I don’t really bother. Used to be only 10mbps and got upgraded to 100mpbs. So now getting 40-50mbps is good for me.
lazyman@home
post Dec 3 2018, 03:12 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Dec 3 2018, 03:07 PM)
Maybe ill skip this m2. M1 good enuff for me. Not much upgrade from m1
me too. i will skip this until 7 series snapdragon.
even this 3gb version is good enough for me as a backup phone and gaming phone. just set everything to low during gaming and it works like a butter.
lazyman@home
post Dec 25 2018, 03:04 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(zenman @ Dec 24 2018, 05:00 PM)
For those who wanna try Nova Launcher Prime, this is the time...on holiday sale at only RM1.49 now (normal price RM20).

Checkitout!

NLP on my M1:

[attachmentid=10145186]

[attachmentid=10145187]
Will this drain battery more? I just purchased it and playing the setting around. Felt battery drain quite fast
lazyman@home
post Dec 25 2018, 03:27 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(OzzyOzz @ Dec 25 2018, 03:13 PM)
About 4% of total app use or about 160mah from last full charge (13 hours ago)
I see. Maybe I try to use for few days and see how it goes
lazyman@home
post Jan 29 2019, 05:19 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(azhar75 @ Jan 29 2019, 05:14 PM)
What's so important about Garmin watch... Only one in 10,000 using it...(?) They're wasting their time but on the other hand, it's very good of them to attend such a request from minority...
I don't know how many people actually use Garmin watch. I personally use Garmin Vivoactive HR as my daily smart watch, even recently i do less sport. Quite a number of my colleague choose garmin as their smart watch also, as there is still not too much big brand for watch for them to choose from ~ apple watch, samsung, huawei, suunto... Among this, i am guessing garmin user will be more comparing to other. (Price of the watch is more than Max Pro m1)
lazyman@home
post Feb 9 2019, 03:34 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Feb 9 2019, 09:56 AM)
Ya, traditionally Asus has never been strong in the smartphone market in most countries - including ours. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I’ve not seen an Asus phone being bundled with any telco plans - not even as an RM1 Phone laugh.gif
I think I saw ROG on some Telco..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0981sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:56 PM