What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer?
Many thanks in advance..
Question on stamp duty exemption
Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
Hi sifus. We know that the stamp duty can be exempted for first home buyer.
What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer? Many thanks in advance.. |
Aug 29 2018, 05:53 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,203 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(lailailailai @ Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM) Hi sifus. We know that the stamp duty can be exempted for first home buyer. provided the SPA price for the house is below rm500k.What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer? Many thanks in advance.. you can get only half of the exemption. |
Aug 29 2018, 11:44 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
Jan 22 2019, 10:41 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
185 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,688 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Outer Space |
QUOTE(gbsaint @ Jan 22 2019, 10:41 AM) bro,the exemption for stamp duty follow SPA price or MV price?? S&P price.say market value rm550k,but purchase price SPA rm450k?? can get stamp duty exemption?? By the way, hanhanhan do you know of any latest Federal Government Gazette released for the subsequent stamp duty waiver as announce in budget 2019. Coz the current ones already ended on 31 Dec 2018. This post has been edited by AskarPerang: Jan 22 2019, 01:20 PM |
Jan 22 2019, 11:00 PM
89 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM) S&P price. Not exactly SPA price. Stamp duty will be calculated based on adjudication by LHDN. Most of the time will follow SPA but rarely, in cases whereby SPA price is way below MV, buyer might have to pay stamp duty for higher price.By the way, hanhanhan do you know of any latest Federal Government Gazette released for the subsequent stamp duty waiver as announce in budget 2019. Coz the current ones already ended on 31 Dec 2018. Real case i've seen client with SPA price 310k with current MV 460k, ended up paying stamp duty for 380k as adjudicated by LHDN. |
Jan 23 2019, 04:23 PM
1,203 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM) S&P price. here u go..By the way, hanhanhan do you know of any latest Federal Government Gazette released for the subsequent stamp duty waiver as announce in budget 2019. Coz the current ones already ended on 31 Dec 2018. its quite a lot of pages. |
Jan 27 2019, 04:05 PM
221 posts Joined: May 2017 From: Negeri Sembilan |
QUOTE(lailailailai @ Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM) Hi sifus. We know that the stamp duty can be exempted for first home buyer. Why don't just put your name and do not joint name with your wife?What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer? Many thanks in advance.. If your wife says that she afraid you might want to divorce her in future (which is just an example. I'm sure you & your wife will be together for a very very long time), you can just tell her that in Malaysia law, half of husband asset go to the wife. |
Jun 3 2019, 11:57 AM
Probation
9 posts Joined: May 2019 |
https://www.kuekong.com/%E5%8D%B0%E8%8A%B1%...8%8Estamp-duty/
you can get some info here but was written in Chinese |
| Change to: | 0.0167sec
5 queries