Question on stamp duty exemption

TSlailailailai
post Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM, updated 8y ago

Hi sifus. We know that the stamp duty can be exempted for first home buyer.

What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer?

Many thanks in advance.. biggrin.gif
hanhanhan
post Aug 29 2018, 05:53 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

QUOTE(lailailailai @ Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM)

What if my wife had bought an apartment for investment, and we have decided to buy another house by using joint name basis. Am I still entitled to get the exemption for stamp duty since i am still a first home buyer?

Many thanks in advance..  biggrin.gif
provided the SPA price for the house is below rm500k.

you can get only half of the exemption.
TSlailailailai
post Aug 29 2018, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Aug 29 2018, 05:53 AM)

Ahh. I see. Many thanks. rclxms.gif
gbsaint
post Jan 22 2019, 10:41 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(hanhanhan @ Aug 29 2018, 05:53 AM)

bro,the exemption for stamp duty follow SPA price or MV price??

say market value rm550k,but purchase price SPA rm450k??

can get stamp duty exemption??
AskarPerang
post Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(gbsaint @ Jan 22 2019, 10:41 AM)
bro,the exemption for stamp duty follow SPA price or MV price??

say market value rm550k,but purchase price SPA rm450k??

can get stamp duty exemption??
S&P price.

By the way, hanhanhan do you know of any latest Federal Government Gazette released for the subsequent stamp duty waiver as announce in budget 2019. Coz the current ones already ended on 31 Dec 2018.

This post has been edited by AskarPerang: Jan 22 2019, 01:20 PM
kb9
post Jan 22 2019, 11:00 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM)
S&P price.

By the way, hanhanhan do you know of any latest Federal Government Gazette released for the subsequent stamp duty waiver as announce in budget 2019. Coz the current ones already ended on 31 Dec 2018.
Not exactly SPA price. Stamp duty will be calculated based on adjudication by LHDN. Most of the time will follow SPA but rarely, in cases whereby SPA price is way below MV, buyer might have to pay stamp duty for higher price.

Real case i've seen client with SPA price 310k with current MV 460k, ended up paying stamp duty for 380k as adjudicated by LHDN.
hanhanhan
post Jan 23 2019, 04:23 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,205 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jan 22 2019, 01:17 PM)
S&P price.

here u go..

its quite a lot of pages.
jimmyng
post Jan 27 2019, 04:05 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(lailailailai @ Aug 28 2018, 11:01 AM)

Many thanks in advance..  biggrin.gif
Why don't just put your name and do not joint name with your wife?
If your wife says that she afraid you might want to divorce her in future (which is just an example. I'm sure you & your wife will be together for a very very long time),
you can just tell her that in Malaysia law, half of husband asset go to the wife.
i am yijie P
post Jun 3 2019, 11:57 AM

Probation

https://www.kuekong.com/%E5%8D%B0%E8%8A%B1%...8%8Estamp-duty/
you can get some info here but was written in Chinese

0.0218sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:43 AM