Can I request to change unifi router?

TSootik123
post Aug 28 2018, 12:09 AM, updated 8y ago

102 posts

I just subscribed unifi last year april and tm gave me a Dlink DIR 850L. The wifi speed fk me. 50mbps package cant load a 360p video on 2nd floor. Sometime when i play online game on upstair , it just keep lagging when someone using the wifi too to watch video. Since the warranty want to expire , so can i request change to other router like TP link c1200 because i heard many of them said better than this dustbin can in term of wireless connection ? Thx for ur reply πŸ˜‰ . Before ending now i also facing the issue after turbo-ed, the speed only max 90mbps for down and up. Uh , too tired alrdy to fix it , wasting my money buy a good cat 6 cable . But hopless , cant even get improvement . 500Mbps turbo wasted , money wasted , time wasted . SAD STORY 😒😒😒 2.4Ghz only get about 25mbps even i stand next to the router . Dafuq lol

This post has been edited by ootik123: Aug 28 2018, 12:10 AM
CyrusWong
post Aug 28 2018, 12:14 AM

1,647 posts

still within contract right? yes you can request them to replace it.
TSootik123
post Aug 28 2018, 12:16 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Aug 28 2018, 12:14 AM)
still within contract right? yes you can request them to replace it.
But i need pay anything ? I heard somebody say want to pay wat service fee, i don think worth it lol. Cry for my pain , still want pay for it
hafiez
post Aug 28 2018, 12:52 AM

2,980 posts

I used both router, all I can say -- better spend a bit money to get better router lah...
CyrusWong
post Aug 28 2018, 01:06 AM

1,647 posts

QUOTE(ootik123 @ Aug 28 2018, 12:16 AM)
But i need pay anything ? I heard somebody say want to pay wat service fee, i don think worth it lol. Cry for my pain , still want pay for it
you said upgraded to 500mbps edi right?

just request with the reason of router wifi not capable of deliver more than xxmbps while my plan is running 500mbps, pls upgrade my router.

there should be no additional charges at all

if you want to be sure, why not just live chat ask, easy. else you can facebook/twitter or call 100 or visit your nearest tmpoint, so many options.
Xefron
post Aug 28 2018, 08:13 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(ootik123 @ Aug 28 2018, 12:09 AM)
I just subscribed unifi last year april and tm gave me a Dlink DIR 850L. The wifi speed fk me. 50mbps package cant load a 360p video on 2nd floor. Sometime when i play online game on upstair , it just keep lagging when someone using the wifi too to watch video. Since the warranty want to expire , so can i request change to other router like TP link c1200 because i heard many of them said better than this dustbin can in term of wireless connection ? Thx for ur reply πŸ˜‰ . Before ending now i also facing the issue after turbo-ed, the speed only max 90mbps for down and up. Uh , too tired alrdy to fix it , wasting my money buy a good cat 6 cable . But hopless , cant even get improvement . 500Mbps turbo wasted , money wasted , time wasted . SAD STORY 😒😒😒 2.4Ghz only get about 25mbps even i stand next to the router . Dafuq lol
you asked TM to change also no point. All TM router cannot support more than 300Mbps throughput using 5Ghz band.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gCTgq5YnuT0

Even buying expensive wireless router still doesn't solve your problem. You need at least 2 WiFi access points and LAN as the backhaul between these 2 APs.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Aug 28 2018, 08:18 AM
SilentVampire
post Aug 28 2018, 08:52 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

Yes, you will need to pay something. Your current router does support the 500Mbps speed on wired connection, and TM does not promise you to get full speed on wireless connection. You are on your own. Read here on the first post about more info on wireless connection: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=89949937

No point if you stand near router and expect to get the best speed, as it doesn't work that way. 2.4GHz is full of congestion and interference. Read the link above.

For the best possible speed, get your own router. But as bro Xefron said, you won't be able to get the full speed unless you have a good router, with multiple AP, connected by LAN and not wireless mesh.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Aug 28 2018, 08:53 AM
wiraone
post Aug 28 2018, 09:05 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Aug 28 2018, 01:06 AM)
you said upgraded to 500mbps edi right?

just request with the reason of router wifi not capable of deliver more than xxmbps while my plan is running 500mbps, pls upgrade my router.

there should be no additional charges at all

if you want to be sure, why not just live chat ask, easy. else you can facebook/twitter or call 100 or visit your nearest tmpoint, so many options.
Good reason for TM to delay the turbo roll-out .. bye.gif
soulseeker6187
post Aug 28 2018, 09:37 AM

2,774 posts

if u as to change also no use.
all tm supplied router sucks.
better get better router urself.
CyrusWong
post Aug 28 2018, 10:01 AM

1,647 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 28 2018, 09:05 AM)
Good reason for TM to delay the turbo roll-out ..  bye.gif
coz last time in the unifi thread, i seen a few ppl request like this and they got the new router.
x3BabyLemon
post Aug 28 2018, 10:06 AM

99 posts

all tm free router crap...please spend some $ to buy smile.gif
tiongkeat
post Aug 28 2018, 10:45 AM

802 posts

you can request new router, and your contract automatically renew back to 24 months.
JuneResources
post Aug 28 2018, 11:00 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,179 posts

Yes, it is so called technical fees around RM50+...
It is depend on you whether you want to change or not.

If you want a better quality, then purchase your new by your own.
tiongkeat
post Aug 28 2018, 11:04 AM

802 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 28 2018, 11:00 AM)
Yes, it is so called technical fees around RM50+...
It is depend on you whether you want to change or not.

If you want a better quality, then purchase your new by your own.
if u refresh your contract back to 24 months, they will absorb tis rm50 thingy
JuneResources
post Aug 28 2018, 11:09 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,179 posts

QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Aug 28 2018, 11:04 AM)
if u refresh your contract back to 24 months, they will absorb tis rm50 thingy
Nope, last time I did contact with TM call center..

There are 2 options:-

1) Renew the contract 1 year, then pay the RM50 technical fees (Rather than say petrol fees whistling.gif ) for TM van comes to your place..

2) If don't want renew contract, then buy yourself modem...

If you say refresh the contract, then can absorb RM50.. Then it becomes DOUBLE standard?
Seems like no proper procedures. shakehead.gif
tiongkeat
post Aug 28 2018, 11:11 AM

802 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 28 2018, 11:09 AM)
Nope, last time I did contact with TM call center..

There are 2 options:-

1) Renew the contract 1 year, then pay the RM50 technical fees (Rather than say petrol fees whistling.gif ) for TM van comes to your place..

2) If don't want renew contract, then buy yourself modem...
If you say refresh the contract, then can absorb RM50.. Then it becomes DOUBLE standard?
Seems like no proper procedures. shakehead.gif
than not sure already lol. i confirmed with them many times, few agent told the ssame
JuneResources
post Aug 28 2018, 11:21 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,179 posts

QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Aug 28 2018, 11:11 AM)
than not sure already lol. i confirmed with them many times, few agent told the ssame
Then it is depend on your luck which agent assist you lah..

psychobitch
post Nov 7 2021, 07:15 PM

you won’t get a new router replacement even if you renew contract with unifi.

you only get a free router replacement if the existing one is faulty and you renew the contract.

so if you are asking unifi for a new router replacement while your existing router is still functioning you will end up paying RM 53 including sst to their technician for just coming over.

not a bad way to make money if you ask me.
technician comes over, tells you the router is still working no replacement and you pay him rm 53. basically you will be paying them for doing nothing.

if you try to terminate your current unifi account and register as a new user so that you will be entitled to new router and equipment. they will intimidate you by saying there might be no available ports after and probably they will make you wait on purpose.

unifi only takes care of new users, and abandoned their existing user. i been with unifi since they started and i pay 130+ a month just like my friend who only started using unifi for a year. but he has a router that is dual band and support 2.4 and 5g. new users get new equipments and existing user get stuck with dinosaur 2.4g huawei router.

and all of unifi router have backdoor access that lets unifi enter your router. you will see user name like TMguest in your router settings. and the best part of all you can’t update their router firmware.

0.0208sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:40 AM