Changing new batteries will be charged SST?

TSzzstormriderzz
post Aug 27 2018, 08:18 PM, updated 6y ago

119 posts

Bloody hell I called every Apple Service Providers all over the country from North to South, East to West, none of the store picks up phone.
I just want to ask whether there is any SST charges if getting Mac or Iphone batteries replaced after 1st September?
Anyone knows here?

This post has been edited by zzstormriderzz: Aug 27 2018, 08:19 PM
tarvalslain87
post Aug 29 2018, 02:34 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,045 posts

QUOTE(zzstormriderzz @ Aug 27 2018, 08:18 PM)
Bloody hell I called every Apple Service Providers all over the country from North to South, East to West, none of the store picks up phone.
I just want to ask whether there is any SST charges if getting Mac or Iphone batteries replaced after 1st September?
Anyone knows here?
Yes. Laptop batteries are proposed to have 10% SST.
phhweittt
post Aug 29 2018, 07:56 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Aug 29 2018, 02:34 PM)
Yes. Laptop batteries are proposed to have 10% SST.
So sad sad.gif
tarvalslain87
post Aug 30 2018, 05:54 PM

5,045 posts

QUOTE(phhweittt @ Aug 29 2018, 07:56 PM)
So sad  sad.gif
Yeap. No choice. On paper SST should provide savings compared to GST but knowing the market and industry, no one will reduce their price and instead increase their price
phhweittt
post Aug 30 2018, 08:37 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Aug 30 2018, 05:54 PM)
Yeap. No choice. On paper SST should provide savings compared to GST but knowing the market and industry, no one will reduce their price and instead increase their price
Burden for buyer. Hmm
sonypshomer
post Sep 6 2018, 08:28 AM

1,577 posts

I went to Swicth to ask for my macbook air 11 " battery replacement, and they quoted RM770 and that was few days before SST implemented.

tarvalslain87
post Sep 6 2018, 10:34 AM

5,045 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 6 2018, 08:28 AM)
I went to Swicth to ask for my macbook air 11 " battery replacement, and they quoted RM770 and that was few days before SST implemented.
So did they increase their price prior to SST? Dont get what you meant from your statement
sonypshomer
post Sep 6 2018, 01:17 PM

1,577 posts

QUOTE(tarvalslain87 @ Sep 6 2018, 10:34 AM)
So did they increase their price prior to SST? Dont get what you meant from your statement
i dont know, might as well buy newer macbook air if i were to pay battery for that price.
tarvalslain87
post Sep 6 2018, 04:10 PM

5,045 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 6 2018, 01:17 PM)
i dont know, might as well buy newer macbook air if i were to pay battery for that price.
Yea normally once you send into the service center, the price they charge gonna be expensive. Its Apple product biggrin.gif

So either you go out and change from a third party service center or pay that amount
wei
post Sep 6 2018, 05:59 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,491 posts

Say someone paid the MacBook Air 11" for RM2600 brand new.
The battery is one of the 3 most important component that keep the Mac running, besides the logicboard and display. If we split the unit up part-by-part, the battery replacement cost RM600-700 is merely 20~25% of what the whole Mac cost. Expensive? Maybe a matter of perspective.

If you are not paying for quality parts when you purchase the Mac. What else you paying for? The logo? wink.gif
limkj
post Sep 10 2018, 07:56 PM

236 posts

I just changed my iPhone 7 battery on the 6 September at Apple Service Provider. Price nonchange at RM121. Note previously with GST it was RM129.
TSzzstormriderzz
post Sep 10 2018, 08:46 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Sep 10 2018, 08:56 PM)
I just changed my iPhone 7 battery on the 6 September at Apple Service Provider. Price nonchange at RM121. Note previously with GST it was RM129.
oh wow. But your Iphone is under the their protection plan right?
limkj
post Sep 11 2018, 08:31 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(zzstormriderzz @ Sep 10 2018, 08:46 PM)
No. It’s out of warranty already. Just went to the Apple service provider and told them I want to change the battery.
limkj
post Sep 11 2018, 08:32 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(zzstormriderzz @ Sep 10 2018, 08:46 PM)
Deleted. Double
This post has been edited by limkj: Sep 11 2018, 09:04 PM

0.0170sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:58 AM